Electric Picnic - The Best Festival In Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

the place was crawling with undercover cops last year - which kinda ruined the buzz for me a bit. Still was unreal - best festival ever. For those of you who like electronic music, ye should go see coldcut on sunday - probably the only decent electronic music act left still going from the glory days (in the same vein as underword/orbital/leftfield).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Layout for those who haven't seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Rich_Why

JaneHudson wrote:
    curses! Now I am doomed to ignorance.

Being Ignorant of what to expect when going to something like Electric Picnic for the first time is the best way to do it! :D I was there the first time it was on, the year it was only on for one day. First off Bus Eireann ****ed everyone over by refusing to sell tickets on the day leaving a couple thousand people stranded outside Customs House! We had to organise last minute lifts to Laois! And there was twelve of us so it wasn't easy. Then the thing was advertised as the Festival with no queues and turned out to have worse queues than Disney Land!:D But **** me was it a sweet day! Thousands of people all dancing in a field will beat Witness/Oxegen's thousands of people squashed together on a wasteland of wood chips for me any day!......Sorry I'm babbling! Guess I'm just looking forward to it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Yeah, despite the problems with the first one I still had a great day. Jurassic 5 were just as good as I hoped they'd be.

Didn't make last years festival due to lack of funds and being waist deep in prep for a short I was directing. But by God this year I'm going to have me a good ol' time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭JaneHudson

So... no woodchip, eh? ;)
    Seriously though totally looking forward as well. Mostly bought the tickets because of Belle & Sebastian now I am well pleased PJ Harvey is on the lineup as well.
    How do you come and go between gigs actually, is there a limit on how many people can be at each?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Haven´t got tickets and unfortunately I wouldn´t even have the time but with bands like New Order, Pet Shop Boys or Sparks I am sure it will be the perfect gig for an "electro freak" like me.

Have fun:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

JaneHudson wrote:
    How do you come and go between gigs actually, is there a limit on how many people can be at each?

No, pretty much the entire populus of the festival seemed to be in the tent the Arcade Fire played in last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ArcadeFred

As an EP virgin (:o) I don't really know what to expect even though I've heard all about it about a million times. But it better be good! Or I'll cry. Since Tom Vek cancelled, the only band I reeeeeeally want to see is Tapes n Tapes. Yeah Yeah Yeahs as well but I'll probably see them at Pukkelpop beforehand. Anyway, aside from the music, I want no lashing rain, no excessive heat, no puking/fires/people-with-accents-more-bogger-than-mine near my tent and then I will be happy! Bring. It. On.
    Sleepy wrote:
    I'd recommend having a look in your local Aldi / Lidl. Picked my tent up there last year and it was great value.

Our Aldi tent on Saturday afternoon of Oxegen:
    P7080005.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

JaneHudson wrote:
    So... no woodchip, eh? ;)
    Seriously though totally looking forward as well. Mostly bought the tickets because of Belle & Sebastian now I am well pleased PJ Harvey is on the lineup as well.

That's cool, I thought that PJ had retired from the live circuit? She's great live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

Sparks are the must see for me, beside being the first time I'll see them it'll be their first time in ireland, expect extreem oddness and great tunes. Fear clash with Graham Coxon though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

When did Tom Vek cancel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Phantron

Tom Vek cancelled a while back, I think due to recording commitments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Has anyone heard anything about Ticketmaster releasing more tickets closer to the date of the concert? I really can't hand money over to touts its against my religion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Is there more tickets?

It's a ticket nightmare at home, we got sfa for the town and it's like a warzone at every meeting trying to sort of what to do with them.

It should be a savage weekend if last year was anything to go by.

Don't forget to stop by Ramsbottoms for yer off_license needs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

According to Electric on the EP forums they will not be releasing any more tickets.... of course that is not to say they won't....?! General consensus is they won't tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭speedy21

awww cant believe Tom Vek cancelled :(
    First I heard of it was now....
    Saturday really needs some more bands - it's a bit bland but Sunday is great.
    Anyone know when we can expect a timetable?
    The worst thing that could possibly happen is Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Pet Shop Boys both go on at the same time - and I've a horrible feeling this is whats going to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Toast

Someone was swearing blind on efestivals that there would be more. Also the fact that the lineup still hasnt been confirmed this late makes me think they are keeping a few announcements to help the last 1000 fly out or something.

Toast wrote:
    Someone was swearing blind on efestivals that there would be more. Also the fact that the lineup still hasnt been confirmed this late makes me think they are keeping a few announcements to help the last 1000 fly out or something.
    Aye just read that there ... I don't know what to believe anymore ... /oh wait I don't care I have tickets!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

Timetable is out on the 30th if I remember right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Hey,

An EP virgin and a camping anywhere virgin. I am thinking of bring down a hi-ace type thing and kipping in the back of that. Does anyone know where the WeekEnd Camping car park is? Is it the car park visible on the map thats been floating around I wonder? The directions for it sound like it might be miles away tho - "Turn off the N8 Cork road at Abbeyleix and take the R425 and at the fork take the R427." Will this be close enuff to wander back and forth to during the day? Or maybe I should just bite the bullet and get a tent :-) Any thoughts from anyone who has camped/slept in car b4?

Thanks,
    C

The site plan is up on the EP forums:

http://forum.electricpicnic.ie/viewtopic.php?t=11862

Might help ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Scoops

Phibsboro wrote:
    Hey,

An EP virgin and a camping anywhere virgin. I am thinking of bring down a hi-ace type thing and kipping in the back of that. Does anyone know where the WeekEnd Camping car park is? Is it the car park visible on the map thats been floating around I wonder? The directions for it sound like it might be miles away tho - "Turn off the N8 Cork road at Abbeyleix and take the R425 and at the fork take the R427." Will this be close enuff to wander back and forth to during the day? Or maybe I should just bite the bullet and get a tent :-) Any thoughts from anyone who has camped/slept in car b4?

Thanks,
    C

I would suggest buying a tent, you'll have more fun in the campsite then you will sleeping in the back of a van, last year it was a bit of a hike to get back to the carpark especially since you had to go out a different way to the way you come in which made for a longer walk. Only benefit of sleeping in a van is if the weather is terrible otherwise camping is the only way to go! More craic in the campsites anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭markcellardoor

folks, just back from Pukkelpop in Belgium. Massive Attack were absoloutely amazing. this alone will make EP an absolute hit. September 1st can't come sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,375 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

There's a paintball camp marked on that map.

Is that part of the Picnic?

Yeah - but of course it costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭holland501

You know how much? I'd say it'd be class...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

Whats wrong with celtic Jersey's? I wore mine on the Friday night tis grand and light for when you're putting up tents and runing to and from the car a few times. Not everyone that wears them is a dutch gold drinking loud mouth trouble maker. Fact

Celtic jerseys are the mark of scum. They're grand when you're out for a night of trouble making but when you want to take part in civilised society you're best leaving them at home. Everyone who wears them is a dutch gold drinking loud mouth trouble maker. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Toast

Cinema lineup announced. On 24hrs a day. Fantastic.

FRIDAY

Noon-2pm - Royal Tenenbaums (Wes Anderson 2004)
    2-4pm - The Life and Crimes of Citizen Ming
    4pm-6pm - Team America: World Police (Trey Parker 2005)
    6pm-7.45pm - The Proposition (John Hillcoat, 2005)
    7.50pm-10.15pm - Any Way the Wind Blows (Tom Barman, 2003)*
    10.15pm-12am - Anchorman : Legend of Ron Burgundy (Adam McKay, 2004)
    12am-2.30am - Pulp Fiction (Quentin Tarantino, 1994)

SATURDAY
    2.30am-4.30am - Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (Terry Gilliam, 1998)
    4.30am-6am - In the Mood For Love (Wong Kar Wai, 2000)
    6am-7.50am - Before Sunrise (Richard Linklater, 1995)
    7.50am -9.45am - Big Lebowski (Joel Coen, 1998)
    9.45am- 11.45am - Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (John Hughes, 1986)
    12pm -1.45pm - Waking Life (Richard Linklater, 2001)
    1.45pm-3.15pm - This is Spinal Tap (Rob Reiner, 1984)
    3.15pm-5.10pm - The Devil and Daniel Johnston (Jeff Feuerzig,2005)
    5.10pm-7pm - Edward Scissorhands (Tim Burton, 1995)
    7.pm-7.35pm - Irish Film Board presents…Six Shooter - Best Live Action Short Oscar®- 2006
    7.45pm-9.45pm - IRELAND SOCCER MATCH
    9.45pm-12.25am - Irish Film Board presents...Irish Talent on Film (Live action Short films)
    12.30am-2.40am - 2046 (Wong Kar Wai, 2004)

Sunday
    2.40am -4.15am - Mayor of Sunset Strip (George Hickenlooper,2003)
    4.15am-6.10am - Kill Bill:Vol 1 (Quentin Tarantino, 2003)
    6.10am -7.25am - Irish Film Board presents...Irish Talent on Film (Animation)
    7.25am-9.15am - The Devil and Daniel Johnston (Jeff Feuerzig,2005)
    9.15am-10.30am - This is Spinal Tap (Rob Reiner, 1984)
    10.30am-12.10pm - Weekend at Bernies (Ted Kotcheff, 1989)
    12.15pm-1.45pm - Zoolander (Ben Stiller,2001)
    1.45pm-3.15pm - Future Shorts
    3.15pm-5.40pm - ALL IRELAND HURLING MATCH
    5.40pm-7.40pm - Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (Terry Gilliam, 1998)
    7.40pm-10.45pm - Irish Film Board presents...Irish Talent on Film (Live Action short films)
    10.45pm-12.25am - The Rocky Horror Picture Show (Jim Sharman, 1975)
    12.25am-2.05am -Team America: World Police (Trey Parker 2005)

*Intro & Q&A with director Tom Barman (dEUS) to be confirmed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 flamingo

im really loving the idea of just kipping in the cinema tent! - between that and the silent disco, i'll be a happy bunny! never copped on to the night-time caravanpark raves last time either (dozy, i know!) but it's all gonna be class!

the only downer is that most of the gang i was planning on going with can't go now - BOOOOOO! - which is especially sh!t seeing as im gonna be a returning emigrant for the event, and was dying to spend some good quality time with my bestest friends, listening to some sweet music, before heading back to england on the tuesday ... hmmm!

ah sure, what's a gal to do?!

yay! it's soon! all we need now is for the weather people to swear on their lives that there's gonna be a miraculous and wonderous change in the climes just on time! - mind you, iv'e heard that the weather's supposed to pick up in september, so i'm just hoping that on the stroke of September, it'll bumph up a couple of degrees and dry out a smidgen!

yay!