Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic - The Best Festival In Ireland!

• 19-07-2006 8:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

So, just over a month to go until Electric Picnic, and I reckon, all things considered, it's time for a bit of a love-in!

So who went last year? I did, and had a great time. The line-up was terrific, I loved every minute of the Arcade Fire and Flaming Lips sets - the only disappointment was the clash of Kraftwerk and Flaming Lips, and I still caught the end of Kraftwerk! This year's line-up is looking equally good, and it's 3 days this time too, wayhey!

A great vibe too, I was completely at ease the whole time. Everyone from the festival goers to the burger flippers to the security were very curtious and treated everyone like actual human beings, which is nice to see at a festival. Hopefully this will continue this year!

I loved the body & soul area, the silent disco is a brilliant idea, even that the festival area was shaped like a mushroom - brilliant!

So, what are your thoughts, memories and expectations for what is, undoubtedly, Ireland's best festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Have to say I'm slightly worried for it this year. With such glowing reports over the last two years I'm wondering if the festival might be getting a little too popular for it's own good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I dunno, the line-up is still the great mix of alternative, indie and electronic music, so it will only attract a certain section of the public anyway.

I'm not too worried about the dutch-gold drinking, celtic jersey wearing brigade showing up, as surely they can only afford to go to one festival every summer, what with having to keep themselves in john player, dutch gold and Ben Sherman shirts...

Plus, it is ingeniously scheduled on the weekend where all the little feckers are starting back at school. :D

Still, I'd say there's going to be an increasing number of the 17/18 just finished the leaving cert and still unable to moderate their alcohol consumption brigade about that might get a bit carried away with it.

Don't get me wrong, I'm looking forward to it massively but just have a little voice in the back of my head saying "don't get your hopes up Sleepy, they'll feckin ruin it if you do..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Its a secret .... /shut up.

I HOPE that it is as good as last year, which was amazing ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

There's not nearly enough dance/electronic stuff!

Has the bodytonic tent been announced yet? Fingers crossed for that one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Sleepy wrote:
    Still, I'd say there's going to be an increasing number of the 17/18 just finished the leaving cert and still unable to moderate their alcohol consumption brigade about that might get a bit carried away with it.

most of them are going to hifi

eps very own scum buffer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

Its sold out now so late comers will not be admitted.

I think HI:FI and the Bud Rising series of gigs with Daft Punk , Radiohead and Pearl Jam all on a week before will mean the same laid back chilled out crowd.

Emmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Yes there will be no Dutch Gold allowed on the campsite at the Electric Picnic.

Tuborg will be the cheapo beer of choice. It is the beer of kings after all.

Personally I'm looking forward to it. Just wish I could afford one of them there little cabin things. Or a tent. **** - how much do tents cost these days?

They're going very cheap in Dunnes at the moment Jeff.

dont forget that Electric Picnic has its own forums at

http://forum.electricpicnic.ie/

Come and chat about the line up, camping, drink, when you want the campsite to open and random stuff too.

Emmo

Sleepy wrote:
    They're going very cheap in Dunnes at the moment Jeff.

Tents or Tuborg?

Either way I'm there (once I get paid)

Tuborg is very hard to keep cold though.

Say you arrive on the Friday you have to keep cans cold for 3 days!

Emmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭cookie dough 61

Sold out before I could get my hands on a ticket... my own fault, I suppose. I had numerous chances to get one. I was gonna get it when I got back from Oxegen. Bugger! Gonna miss Josh Ritter again! :(

Last year (EP) was something else... and this yea 'on paper' looks like it'll be something similar. Its nice to be at a festival and not have to be on constant high alert. Its gonna be great....

Oh and I love that 'dutch-gold drinking, celtic jersey wearing brigade' quote.... really sums them up.... Id also add 'ole chanting' to that. At Oxegen it seemed to be the mating call of the w*nkers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Jeff: Steer clear of those Dunnes tents, if there's any rain, you're ****ed! :)

Hasnt rained ever for a POD event.

Emmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

In the odd chance that any of you are heading to France before EP, check out their large sports stores that litter the motorways. I got a grand tent fairly cheap there last year, better than what you get here for the same money but not so much better that you'd worry about bringing it to a festival.

I reckon I'll just bring a bit of auld bamboo and some bin liners and make me a grand tent out of that.

What say ye?

Also - Yo La Tengo!!!!

And - DJ Shadow? Will he be playing his new poppier kinda stuff?

There was a deadly camping shop on site last year that was pretty cheap.

Emmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

Ooh, I'm all excited now being a big EP virgin, I hope it lives up to my expectations!

Emmo wrote:

Emmo

winter party 00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

That was an indoor (1 tent) event

and it didnt rain that night anyway if my memory serves me :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭JaneHudson

odhran wrote:
    Ooh, I'm all excited now being a big EP virgin, I hope it lives up to my expectations!

Yeah me too. There is a documentary about it on BBC tonight so if we watch that we will know all. :cool:

nm wrote:
    That was an indoor (1 tent) event

and it didnt rain that night anyway if my memory serves me :confused:

it rained the afternoon and just before the end of the gig

JaneHudson wrote:
    Yeah me too. There is a documentary about it on BBC tonight so if we watch that we will know all. :cool:

unless youre gonna build a time machine youre not gonna see that program tonight

coz it was on yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Whats wrong with celtic Jersey's? I wore mine on the Friday night tis grand and light for when you're putting up tents and runing to and from the car a few times. Not everyone that wears them is a dutch gold drinking loud mouth trouble maker. Fact

Have been to the last two EP's and im looking forward to this one more then the last two after how good it was last year. Only six weeks left I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

electric picnic minus tom vek... gutted. Still an AMAZING line up though.

Jeff I was talking about the tents but it seems they're crap so I'd recommend having a look in your local Aldi / Lidl. Picked my tent up there last year and it was great value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Emmo wrote:

Emmo

You obviously weren;t at the second homelands:rolleyes:

no sorry.

Hasnt rained at one in two years?

Is that ok?

Emmo

Helix wrote:
    unless youre gonna build a time machine youre not gonna see that program tonight

coz it was on yesterday

curses! Now I am doomed to ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

the place was crawling with undercover cops last year - which kinda ruined the buzz for me a bit. Still was unreal - best festival ever. For those of you who like electronic music, ye should go see coldcut on sunday - probably the only decent electronic music act left still going from the glory days (in the same vein as underword/orbital/leftfield).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Layout for those who haven't seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Rich_Why

JaneHudson wrote:
    curses! Now I am doomed to ignorance.

Being Ignorant of what to expect when going to something like Electric Picnic for the first time is the best way to do it! :D I was there the first time it was on, the year it was only on for one day. First off Bus Eireann ****ed everyone over by refusing to sell tickets on the day leaving a couple thousand people stranded outside Customs House! We had to organise last minute lifts to Laois! And there was twelve of us so it wasn't easy. Then the thing was advertised as the Festival with no queues and turned out to have worse queues than Disney Land!:D But **** me was it a sweet day! Thousands of people all dancing in a field will beat Witness/Oxegen's thousands of people squashed together on a wasteland of wood chips for me any day!......Sorry I'm babbling! Guess I'm just looking forward to it!:D

Yeah, despite the problems with the first one I still had a great day. Jurassic 5 were just as good as I hoped they'd be.

Didn't make last years festival due to lack of funds and being waist deep in prep for a short I was directing. But by God this year I'm going to have me a good ol' time!

So... no woodchip, eh? ;)
    Seriously though totally looking forward as well. Mostly bought the tickets because of Belle & Sebastian now I am well pleased PJ Harvey is on the lineup as well.
    How do you come and go between gigs actually, is there a limit on how many people can be at each?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Haven´t got tickets and unfortunately I wouldn´t even have the time but with bands like New Order, Pet Shop Boys or Sparks I am sure it will be the perfect gig for an "electro freak" like me.

Have fun:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

JaneHudson wrote:
    How do you come and go between gigs actually, is there a limit on how many people can be at each?

No, pretty much the entire populus of the festival seemed to be in the tent the Arcade Fire played in last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ArcadeFred

As an EP virgin (:o) I don't really know what to expect even though I've heard all about it about a million times. But it better be good! Or I'll cry. Since Tom Vek cancelled, the only band I reeeeeeally want to see is Tapes n Tapes. Yeah Yeah Yeahs as well but I'll probably see them at Pukkelpop beforehand. Anyway, aside from the music, I want no lashing rain, no excessive heat, no puking/fires/people-with-accents-more-bogger-than-mine near my tent and then I will be happy! Bring. It. On.
    Sleepy wrote:
    I'd recommend having a look in your local Aldi / Lidl. Picked my tent up there last year and it was great value.

Our Aldi tent on Saturday afternoon of Oxegen:
    P7080005.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

JaneHudson wrote:
    So... no woodchip, eh? ;)
    Seriously though totally looking forward as well. Mostly bought the tickets because of Belle & Sebastian now I am well pleased PJ Harvey is on the lineup as well.

That's cool, I thought that PJ had retired from the live circuit? She's great live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

Sparks are the must see for me, beside being the first time I'll see them it'll be their first time in ireland, expect extreem oddness and great tunes. Fear clash with Graham Coxon though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

When did Tom Vek cancel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Phantron

Tom Vek cancelled a while back, I think due to recording commitments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Has anyone heard anything about Ticketmaster releasing more tickets closer to the date of the concert? I really can't hand money over to touts its against my religion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Is there more tickets?

It's a ticket nightmare at home, we got sfa for the town and it's like a warzone at every meeting trying to sort of what to do with them.

It should be a savage weekend if last year was anything to go by.

Don't forget to stop by Ramsbottoms for yer off_license needs :)

According to Electric on the EP forums they will not be releasing any more tickets.... of course that is not to say they won't....?! General consensus is they won't tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭speedy21

awww cant believe Tom Vek cancelled :(
    First I heard of it was now....
    Saturday really needs some more bands - it's a bit bland but Sunday is great.
    Anyone know when we can expect a timetable?
    The worst thing that could possibly happen is Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Pet Shop Boys both go on at the same time - and I've a horrible feeling this is whats going to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Someone was swearing blind on efestivals that there would be more. Also the fact that the lineup still hasnt been confirmed this late makes me think they are keeping a few announcements to help the last 1000 fly out or something.

Toast wrote:
    Someone was swearing blind on efestivals that there would be more. Also the fact that the lineup still hasnt been confirmed this late makes me think they are keeping a few announcements to help the last 1000 fly out or something.
    Aye just read that there ... I don't know what to believe anymore ... /oh wait I don't care I have tickets!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

Timetable is out on the 30th if I remember right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Hey,

An EP virgin and a camping anywhere virgin. I am thinking of bring down a hi-ace type thing and kipping in the back of that. Does anyone know where the WeekEnd Camping car park is? Is it the car park visible on the map thats been floating around I wonder? The directions for it sound like it might be miles away tho - "Turn off the N8 Cork road at Abbeyleix and take the R425 and at the fork take the R427." Will this be close enuff to wander back and forth to during the day? Or maybe I should just bite the bullet and get a tent :-) Any thoughts from anyone who has camped/slept in car b4?

Thanks,
    C