Going boozing with the girlfriend

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

I usually bring my girlfriend out if I'm going drinking with friends (I've got mostly male friends). The only one of the lads who used to have a problem with it is a bit of a plank anyway, so we didn't really listen to him, and the rest of the lads are grand with it. The lack of girls out when I'm out with the lads, though, is usually more to do with my friends' romantic prowess, rather than an aversion to having girlfriends around.
    It is largely to do with the fact that we've got mutual friends though, and everyone gets along. I could definitely see the unattraction if people didn't get along, but the same could be said for a particular lad, or lads.

Of course I love just the two of us going out drinking as well! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

I still feel people are neglecting the discomfort of sitting in a busy pub with drunken lotharios coming on to your girlfriend every half hour. Grabbing her hand as she's going to the toilet, asking her does she need a lift home and asking if her collar and cuffs match. If that sort of thing doesn't annoy you, you're not that attached to her. People might think it makes them uber laid back to say that they don't mind and their girlfriend can take care of herself, but deep down most guys hate it. There's not much you can do about it without getting in a fight, so alot of people take the "don't be possesive" or "grow up" stance. But I'm sure there's a few guys posting here who agree with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

That is very true, il gatto. It gets bloody annoying sometimes with all the drunken idiots coming over and trying their luck. Pubs tend not to be too bad most of the time - get the odd eejit over - and we're not really club people, so that doesn't pose a problem most of the time, but in a certain club a few weeks ago I found I couldn't let the girlfriend out of my sight without a mob of idiots getting very physical

Crubeens wrote:
    I think if Guinness asked women the same question the response would be very different
    You might be surprised? Me? Sometimes I just adore company, other times I just like to relax without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Oh, it's best to drink from the same glass I find when in a pub with your other. (Maybe that's just me and one of my little ways?):eek: :p

Demetrius wrote:
    Oh, it's best to drink from the same glass I find when in a pub with your other. (Maybe that's just me and one of my little ways?):eek: :p

A kiss between shared sips sometimes adds to the flavour.

And no, I will not cut my hair, even if you seek to take me on an Adverture of the Copper Beeches..."one of (your) little ways?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Oh the Copper Coast is nice! How did you know?

Some beer alright, or a Guinness (maybe a Coffee) depending on your taste

Demetrius wrote:
    Oh the Copper Coast is nice! How did you know?

Some beer alright, or a Guinness (maybe a Coffee) depending on your taste

I read...and remember one-liners... But her hair was red as if on fire... and the daughter locked away upstairs had a b/f who would never give up, no matter the odds against their relationship. Ultimately he won her, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

my ex didn't like my friends, so there was no problem in going out with her one night and my friends the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

sometimes i want a night out with the girls , sometimes I just want a night out with the boyf. If Im going out with the girls id always give him the option of coming along and he does the same for me if he is going out with the lads. Sometimes he will just want to go out with them so thats fine with me I understand that and Im the same. However if he started telling me on a regular basis that he was going with the lads and didnt want me to come there woul dbe trouble. Seen a few mates of mine where their OH goes out 'with the lads' ever week and they are not invited. Wouldnt be putting up with that at all! I get on great with his mates anyway - you can say pretty much anything in front of me - if they mention a girls legs look nice I will usually find myself agreeeing - in fact if I was out with my boyf and a good looking girl walked by and he didnt look Id be a bit concerned!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

in fact if I was out with my boyf and a good looking girl walked by and he didnt look Id be a bit concerned!!
    hah, I used to get in trouble for looking at women I wasn't ever looking at!! I'd just be looking in some random direction and she'd assume I was looking at some girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

I's say Siogfinsceal has things just about right. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Easygainer

xzanti wrote:
    I know for a fact my bf doesn't like going out without me... He very rarely does it and we are out together almost every Saturday night painting the town red... :D

That means he's whipped.

I don't like going out with my gf because she gets so jealous. She once accused me of coming onto a guy (who I've know since I was 4) in addition to every girl in my life (customers, classmates, old school friends etc.).

If a girl walks by in a mini skirt I have to either make an insulting comment on the girl to show I won't run off with her or else gouge my eyes out so I can't look.

Going out with the gf sucks - just cos you go out with the guys doesn't mean you're going to do anything untoward, but having a girl there certainly inhibits the ambit of conversation and makes your mates cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Easygainer wrote:
    She once accused me of coming onto a guy.

Hold on, your g/f accused you of coming onto a guy?? Were ye holdin hands or something??

She sounds a bit paranoid tbh :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Myself and the lads have two different types of nights, one where the ladies are all invited and one where they aren't, its an all or nothing thing.

Its not a thing where we all go out on the pull but just sometimes the lads like to go out with the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Crubeens

Orinally posted by Markdunne:
    hah, I used to get in trouble for looking at women I wasn't ever looking at!! I'd just be looking in some random direction and she'd assume I was looking at some girl

I used to think I was great a sneaking looks at women on the sly when I was with the girlfriend - but apparantly I'm crap. She told me the other day that she has always found my attempts at secret glances hilarious, and never bothered to pull me up on it. Now at least I can just stare at them straight!:D

All the girls here saying they think it'd be weird if their boyfriends didn't look at women or how they get on so well with his friends. Don't deceive yourselves. Most girls will eat the sh1te out of you if you even look near a good looking girl. And his friends might get on with you and like you, but if you weren't there they'd be having far more fun. And I don't mean trying to cheat. Just better craic.

jesus, dude. relax.

we all promise not to look anywhere in the vicinity of your girlfriend. honestly.

Jesus, dude? How very surf.
    I said nothing in that post about my girlfriend. I was just pointing out, as others have done in this thread, that, although they feel themselves to be accepted by their partners friends, there is an underlying restraint on behalf of the males in the group. I also made the point that the majority of women do not to find their partner looking at other women. I thought it was a fair comment. I couldn't be more relaxed if I was on tranquillizers. Maybe I neglected to put a smiley face at the end of my post and came across somewhat surly. Apologies.

apology accepted.

How very gracious of you:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

I grew up drinking with a large group of rugby playing boys, so most groups of lads my own age now are probably much tamer than the boys I was drinking with then! It never really bothered me, and still doesn't. Actually, when I was younger, it was always amusing watching one of my drunken friends tring to make a move on some girl while staying coherent :D I'd be quite a girly-girl too, I've no problem wearing sandals and a skirt going out if I feel like it, even if I'm with a group of lads for the night, but I'm very ok with laddish behaviour.

A bit of both tbh; in a relationship you both need time away from each other, but I usually prefer drinking in a group, be it my mates, his mates, or a random combination. A girl I live with was regularly told (nearly every week) by her then bf that she couldn't go out with him, it was just the lads. But then if he texted her at 1 am and she was out, she'd leave her friends rto join him and his mates wherever they were. When I first heard that, I knew that relationship couldn't last. No way would I let any guy treat me like that.