Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going boozing with the girlfriend

• 15-08-2006 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭

Guinness carried out a big survey asking young men in the pub lots of interesting questions. One of them was whether they like bringing the girlfriend along when they're out on the town, and the vast majority said no.

Even though I have a great relationship with the g/f I must say I generally prefer going out on the piss without her - but I'd be afraid to tell her! I think if Guinness asked women the same question the response would be very different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Crubeens wrote:
    Guinness carried out a big survey asking young men in the pub lots of interesting questions. One of them was whether they like bringing the girlfriend along when they're out on the town, and the vast majority said no.

Even though I have a great relationship with the g/f I must say I generally prefer going out on the piss without her - but I'd be afraid to tell her! I think if Guinness asked women the same question the response would be very different

I met my bloke in college, we were mates before we got together, and we are still mates now.
    We don't do romantic drinks by candle light.
    We do p1ss up's with perks.
    I enjoy my nights when he is there, and I enjoy them weh he is not there too.
    Don't have a preference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I met my bloke in college, we were mates before we got together, and we are still mates now.
    We don't do romantic drinks by candle light.
    We do p1ss up's with perks.
    I enjoy my nights when he is there, and I enjoy them weh he is not there too.
    Don't have a preference.

Thats exactly how I like to do it too! Good description- piss ups with perks - like it!!:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I know for a fact my bf doesn't like going out without me... He very rarely does it and we are out together almost every Saturday night painting the town red... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

I prefer lads nights out. With my current gf or even past ones, it's a totally different "buzz" when you've got the woman with you.

It's not that I don't like going out with her too, it's just different... When it's just the boys or possibly even non-attached women (controversial point, debatable), I think there's a different atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

For me it depends what mood I'm in. If I feel like going out and getting wasted I definitely don’t want the g/f there watching me with her judging eyes :eek:

Then if it’s just a run of the mill night where things aren’t going to be getting out of hand its grand cos I know I'll be able to look after her and myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭SteamTrean

Yeah have to admit it. I do enjoy nights out without the lads the main reason I think is to do with a problem/comlex that I have. Here it is:

If I am out with the lads and one of them brings his bird. I am quitely unhappy about it. In the presence of most femmes, one has to excercise a certain amount of restraint. FOr example if Kevin brought his bird I couldn't say something like. "Kev, so you and jane still having that problem" or "Kev!, look at the legs (or whatever(not that I would be so juvenile)) on that!"

It's for this reason that I wouldn't like to take my GF out for a pish up with tha lads, I wouldn't want them being hindered because of our presence. In the above case ,.. I'd kinda be wishin' Kev had taken Jane to the cinema, even though Kev is a pretty funny, cool guy on his own.. If you get me.

Disclaimer:
    Any similarities between the characters in the above example and real people is purely coincidental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭Darren

Depends on the woman. Some will come out for the evening and whinge and moan. Some will be great fun. That's it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Crubeens

It's for this reason that I wouldn't like to take my GF out for a pish up with tha lads, I wouldn't want them being hindered because of our presence. In the above case ,.. I'd kinda be wishin' Kev had taken Jane to the cinema, even though Kev is a pretty funny, cool guy on his own.. If you get me.

I have to agree with you there as thats pretty much how I feel. And some of the lads I hang around with like to go pretty wild on a night out and I'm definitely concious that they're concious of my g/f being there.

The other difficulty is that I'm one of the only lads in my group who's going out with someone so its not like they're oftn bringing out their other half - it always seems to be me!

She loves hanging around with them so it can be a bit of a dilemma what to do when a night is on the cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i prefer going on the piss without the gf. i like to go out with my mates and get pissed and she doesn't like pissed vimes. its mutually beneficial. she goes out with her friends and i go out with mine. everybody's happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

Whenever I'm dating I dont really like going out as a couple. Going to dinner is fine and that kind of thing but when you go to the pub together you end up like an old married couple just staring at each other. Usually it ends up in an argument. That being said I used to have nights when I'd go meet up with the ex's friends and we'd all have a laugh and vice versa with my friends. It just wouldn't be a routine thing. You and your friends have your own thing going on on a night out and it's the same for anyone your with and their friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Crubeens wrote:

It depends on the person not the gender, and also what mood your in. Sometimes I just say to him I'm going out with the girls will be back later. And occasionly he does the same. But then again most of my freinds have boyfriends so if we all went to the pub theres no need to worry about being the only girl or guy there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It depends on how you want the evening to go. If I bring a gf with me, I am going to hang around her moreso than my friends. If I want to do that, then along she comes. When she is there or not there, two completely different types of a night out.
    If I want to hang out with my friends, she can't be there as I would only have eyes for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

If you want to get wasted, I doubt your girlfriend would want to go with you (unless she enjoys seeing you in pain:eek: ). Different situations I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Depends really, if Pigheads in the mood for cheating on his lovely Miss Piggy, he tends to leave her at home and call the lads, if I'm feeling loyal then its absolutely no problem if she comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Posted by Crubeens:

I much prefer to leave Hubby at home. When we go out he turns into a gigantic Ball and Chain, acting like I need to be his entertainment instead of making his own fun.

L4L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Maybe people just need girlfriends/boyfriends that are more fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Well, you can't be all things to that person at all times. You are after all individuals who are joined together.

My hubby hates the pubs. I love them. But we have many many other things in common. He goes hunting and fishng without me, I go pubbing without him. It works out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Crubeens

If I want to hang out with my friends, she can't be there as I would only have eyes for her

Your girlfriend obviously reads your posts ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Meh I like both really.

I like going out with my boyfriend as it's always a good laugh and we have a lot of the same friends.We're also not a lovey dovey couple so theres no discomfort for anyone else in the group.

Having said that I like for him to be able to go out without me and for me to be able to head out without him. You need to have a balance in the relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭eiretamicha

When we still lived in Ireland (and had the money to go out), my husband (then fiance') and I would go out together with his friends (a mix of girls and guys--usually couples). But when we get tipsy (and/or drunk), we end up all over each other, and I imagine that's not the most wonderful thing for our friends to have to sit and stare at. :p Better than his sister and her bf, I suppose, who do nothing but fight the whole time they're out.

Here in Florida, though, we don't go out much at all. Everything's too far away and no taxis, so we'd need a designated driver which sucks when both of yous want to drink! I don't like going out clubbing (there's really no pub scene here) without him because I HATE being groped, grabbed, poked, etc. Men here can be such pigs sometimes. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It entirely depends on the girl, some girls I've introduced to my friends and we've all had great nights out others I've kept away from them apart from the odd night out as they didn't really get on the first time they met. My mates aren't the type to tone things down when there's someone new on the scene, more the "let's tell Sleepy's new girlfriend every embaressing story we can think of about him!" type :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I love goin on the razz with the mot, altho i dont like when shes flirtin! shes get far too much attention!

If your in a relationship, why wouldnt you like going out with the other half if you get on so well???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I prefer going out without my boyfriend! Definitely have a better laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I'm comfortable going out for a drink with a boyfriend but would also go out with my friends by myself. I would also be equally as comfortable going out with my family for a few drinks either with or without a boyfriend but it is important that my boyfriend is able to go out with my family (who are very cool and whom I am very proud of).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Nights out with herself are to much hassle :(

Im always getting given out to for looking at other women when im twisted. End up having to go home early and argue.

Going out with the lads is a better craic, can get up to a bit of mischief and no good =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

If it's a quiet pub where you know everyone it's fine. I don't like going out on a Saturday to busy places though.I've noticed alot of girls here, saying they like going out with their boyfriends or without. Men aren't as keen on it. I hate my girlfriend going out without me. Hate it. I also don't like going out together anywhere busy because I'm a guy, and I know the attitudes, the thought processes and the body language of other guys. I've nearly got in a good few fights because of foul mouthed f##kwits hassling my fiance. It leaves you on edge, bad tempered and ruins your night. Having said that, went out on Sunday night and it was really busy and had no hassle, but I was still relieved to get home. I'm not paranoid or insanely jealous, but I've been around long enough and have been in enough conversations to know how men view women, and alot of them are complete bol###ks'. My better half doesn't understand the problem, but then why would she? She doesn't know how our minds work:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Not a fan of it meself... I never like having to worry about her or pay attention to her or anything like that. I'm just out to have fun myself, and have a laugh with mates.

Pighead wrote:
    Depends really, if Pigheads in the mood for cheating on his lovely Miss Piggy, he tends to leave her at home and call the lads, if I'm feeling loyal then its absolutely no problem if she comes along.
    :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

I don't have a boyfriend but if I did it would have to be someone I could party with. Maybe that stipulation is the reason I dont have a boyfriend. :confused:

I'm generally a very easy going person, I dont care if the guy im with flirts with other girls or gets so ****ed up I have to carry him home, just dosn't bother me. If I was to go out with someone i'd want them to be easy going too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I usually go out with my missus, largely because we have a huge pool of mutual friends and largely because I tend to have a better laugh when she's there!

We're good mates, we slag each other to bits, we can go off and disappear talkin to other people for ages without a problem and above all we don't get huffy on a night out - as most couple's we know would.

I'm the same person around her as I am around the lads, and she's always known me as that person - so I think that is the major difference.

My best mate is two different people - Jack the Lad/Source of all fun when he's out on his own & Somber/Clingy when he's with herself. While she does have a lot to do with his change in behaviour, I'd blame him for letting her change his personality. Seriously, if he's a fun person then he should be with a fun person.

Thats just my opinion though.. and I guess I am biased as every night she comes out with him they pi$$ me off. Often her excuses would include..

'Oh Michael*, I've such a headache, can we go home now?'

'Oh Michael, your friends are such eejits, do we have to go out with them?'

'Oh Michael, I know its your birthday night but I've to get up early in the morning so we have to go home now. Yes I know its only 12.30 but if you love me then you'll go.'

If I was him then you can be sure that I wouldn't wanna go out with my girlfriend!! Luckily I am very happy to go out with my missus.. in fact I'd feel that there was something missing if she wasn't there :D

*Michael may/may not be his real name.. actually who bleedin cares?!

These relationships where people have a nagging other half and have to have two personalitys etc. sound like alot of stress to me.

Connundrum, your situation is exactly the same as mine! My husband and I slag each other off and have a good laugh when we're out together (alone or with other people). I, too, feel like something's missing if I'm out without him. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I used to hate going out with my ex. I think it was because he didn't mix well with my friends.

or maybe your friends didnt mix well with him. Never thought of that did ya !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

connundrum wrote:
    My best mate is two different people - Jack the Lad/Source of all fun when he's out on his own & Somber/Clingy when he's with herself. While she does have a lot to do with his change in behaviour, I'd blame him for letting her change his personality. Seriously, if he's a fun person then he should be with a fun person.

Thats just my opinion though.. and I guess I am biased as every night she comes out with him they pi$$ me off. Often her excuses would include..

'Oh Michael*, I've such a headache, can we go home now?'

'Oh Michael, your friends are such eejits, do we have to go out with them?'

'Oh Michael, I know its your birthday night but I've to get up early in the morning so we have to go home now. Yes I know its only 12.30 but if you love me then you'll go.'

If I was him then you can be sure that I wouldn't wanna go out with my girlfriend!! Luckily I am very happy to go out with my missus.. in fact I'd feel that there was something missing if she wasn't there :D

*Michael may/may not be his real name.. actually who bleedin cares?!
    i have a friend like that and his name is Michael. it took him 8 years, 1 house, several cars and a baby before he copped on that she was a bint.
    he's with a nice girl now.

julep wrote:
    i have a friend like that and his name is Michael. it took him 8 years, 1 house, several cars and a baby before he copped on that she was a bint.
    he's with a nice girl now.
    What happened to the baby? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

they sold it for crack.

julep wrote:
    they sold it for crack.
    I actually know a guy whose parents traded him for a stereo when he was a baby. Fo' realz. :(

Hahaha......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

orla wrote:
    I used to hate going out with my ex. I think it was because he didn't mix well with my friends.

I hear that. "Little Miss Sit and Sulk" was my friends name for her. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I didn't like going out with my ex at all at all, but she loved going out with me!! Its over now anyway, thank god!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

il gatto wrote:
    and I know the attitudes, the thought processes and the body language of other guys. I've nearly got in a good few fights because of foul mouthed f##kwits hassling my fiance. It leaves you on edge, bad tempered and ruins your night. but I was still relieved to get home.
    il gatto wrote:
    I'm not paranoid or insanely jealous,

No, not at all :D

I don't have a boyfriend but if I did it would have to be someone I could party with. Maybe that stipulation is the reason I dont have a boyfriend. :confused:

I'm generally a very easy going person, I dont care if the guy im with flirts with other girls or gets so ****ed up I have to carry him home, just dosn't bother me. If I was to go out with someone i'd want them to be easy going too.

That's the bait. They all say that .. they may even mean it but sooner or later.. they'll hook you, reel you in, and leave you thrashing about, helpless and starving.. stuck in the corner of her local pub, a shell of your former self. The shadow of the man she chose to mould. *sob* *sniff*

Quote:
    Originally Posted by greenkittie
    I don't have a boyfriend but if I did it would have to be someone I could party with. Maybe that stipulation is the reason I dont have a boyfriend.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by SteamTrean
    That's the bait. They all say that .. they may even mean it but sooner or later.. they'll hook you, reel you in, and leave you thrashing about, helpless and starving.. stuck in the corner of her local pub, a shell of your former self. The shadow of the man she chose to mould. *sob* *sniff*

I have actually had that happen to me a couple of times... I think i've met this great fun guy, then a year down the line I start to wonder why we are sitting in again whilst I watch him play counterstrike all night. The crys of "fire in the hole" will haunt me forever.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

If I want to go out and get locked and talk cr@p with some good friends then I would prefer to do it alone. Many of my friends are from times before I met my gf...i.e. when I was free and single in the golden era ;) She would have met them a good few times alright but there is no point trying to explain the history of every in joke, etc... just ruins the flow of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

This thread is a bit depressing. It seems as if most of you don't like going out on the beer with your respective other.
    Why do you think this is?
    I genuinely do have a great night when I go out with my BF.
    We are not the type of couple that feels the need to be chained at the hip when we go out, in fact, it is not unusual for me to look at my watch and realise that I haven't actually spoken to my BF for about an hour or so, because we have both been off chatting to other people.

Generally,I like it when there is a bit of chaos thrown into an evening, and am a big believer in 'the more the merrier'.

However, there have been times when just the two of us have hit the local and found ourselves racing shots at the bar, exchanging the kind of stories that are only funny when your drunk, and just having a great laugh with one another.

I never used to really enjoy a night out with my ex, it would nearly always end in tears, for me, it was a lesson learned the hard way.
    I don't just want a boyfriend, I want a friend, someone I can be myself around and not have to tip toe around.

I have that now, and judging from a lot of the previous posts, I am a very lucky woman indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    Generally,I like it when there is a bit of chaos thrown into an evening, and am a big believer in 'the more the merrier'.

Perfect!!! Why aren't there more like you? :D I go out with quite a large group (possibly 15 to 20 people) and it's very hard to have conversations with a girl hanging out of you because she won't chat to others on her own. Yes you gotta make time for her too but not ALL of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

I'm genuinly shocked by this thread.

I can't imagine tolerating a boyfriend who wasn't fun to go drinking with, nor can I imagine being tolerated if I was taken out with the lads and sat and sulked the whole night.
    Maybe it's because I'm mostly mates with lads, so I'm used to drinking with lads, but I'd be pretty offended if I wasn't welcome, at least some of the time, when my (hypothetical) bf went out with his mates.

I'm genuinly shocked by this thread.

I can't imagine tolerating a boyfriend who wasn't fun to go drinking with, nor can I imagine being tolerated if I was taken out with the lads and sat and sulked the whole night.
    Maybe it's because I'm mostly mates with lads, so I'm used to drinking with lads, but I'd be pretty offended if I wasn't welcome, at least some of the time, when my (hypothetical) bf went out with his mates.

Your one of those. Girls who have lads as their main friend base. Find it hard to get along with girls? Sorry, although the lads do enjoy your company and you feel as though they don't hold back in your presence.. they actually do and would probably prefer if you'd get gone. This may not apply to you but in general; girls who see themselves as "one of the lads" generally aren't. Discuss.

I have actually had that happen to me a couple of times... I think i've met this great fun guy, then a year down the line I start to wonder why we are sitting in again whilst I watch him play counterstrike all night. The crys of "fire in the hole" will haunt me forever.

LOL!!! :D