Hi:Fi Ireland

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

Gotta say i wasn't too impressed with the prodigy, they were good and they always put on a good show, but the long gaps between songs was very annoying, Also for me they didn't play enought of their older stuff, I know they played live so some songs could be tricky, but still i think they only played Out Of Space from the Experience, not a big fan of Breathe or Firestarter, probably the worst songs to come off Fat of the Land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 madmurdock

I'd have to agree about the prodigy,

They were good but not as good as everyone made out, they had the best turn out though, I thought the crowd were brilliant,

Razorlight were decent, Ian Brown was quality as was Lisa Lashes, Eddie Halliwell and Carl Cox,

Vitalic on the main stage was class,

All in all a great weekend.

Was there one sign of trouble? No not at all, everyone seemed to get on great,

Maybe now the people who constantly bad mouth the dance music scene might just shut the f*** up!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 yrossiter

Well I am glad you all had the pleasure of not witnessing any bad goings on. Having attended raves and festivals for the past 13 years, I am well used to the fact that these type of gigs attract a rougher element but this weekend really took the biscuit. I have never seen so many scumbags in one area. I did kinda expect it. We slept in a van in the carpark and witnessed a bloke getting a bottle smashed over his head in the early hours of Sunday morning. When he got into his car to escape, a crowd attacked him by flinging bottles at his car. The same blokes mates all arrived back a few hours later to cause more trouble. This happened at the gates into the carpark where there was plenty of security who chose to ignore everything. I know of a group of people who were pulled out of their tents by a crowd of little scangers brandishing stanley blades stuck between coins(for a much nastier slash) and then robbed of money, drugs, phones etc. I heard a conversation between a load of little knackers piled into a micra who were wearing visi-vests and had just gone around the carpark posing as security mugging people and ripping off their armbands. Needless to say, we moved carpark at this stage. We had been in Carpark 3 but Carpark 2 seemed to be a lot better organised. I dont know how there was no-one in carpark 3 killed with the amount of scum rallying micras and starlets around all night. I know plenty of people who like ourselves left on Sunday morning. We went back to see Prodigy on Sunday night and left straight after. Security were all off their heads by Sunday and for the most part were completely useless. The only good thing about the facilities was that you didnt have to queue at all to get a drink. I personally wouldnt go again and anyone I have spoken to since I got back has said the same of their experience. In saying that Tiesto, Carl Cox, Prodigy, Eddie Halliwell were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Excellent, totally trouble free weekend.
    Not the biggest fan of dance music but really enjoyed the live sets all weekend, good buzz around the place, everyone was just enjoying themselves, no hassle at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Folks, I'd like to remind you of this Sticky.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I gotta say i didn't see any trouble inside either the camp site or the concert area. out of all the people i was talking too none of them had any trouble either, wasn't out in the carpark so can't say what did or didn't go on out there, but i can't see why people would have wanted to sleep out in the car park, obviously there would be less security out there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

yrossiter wrote:
    Security were all off their heads by Sunday and for the most part were completely useless. The only good thing about the facilities was that you didnt have to queue at all to get a drink. I personally wouldnt go again and anyone I have spoken to since I got back has said the same of their experience. In saying that Tiesto, Carl Cox, Prodigy, Eddie Halliwell were excellent.

complete and utter crap, your talking through your ass, i was working at the gig and at many times i was required to taslk with security at both entrances and around the sites, they were all stone sober, if anything they were bored as the the lack of incidents at the festival, the security presence was huge at the festival, if anything i think mcd might have over compenstaed and added to the fact that bout 17500 showed up meant that very few incidents occured, thats not second hand info, as i'm sure alot of the tripe spewed up here is

Agreed. None of what he was saying tallies with what I saw. I was in and out of the carparks both days and nights and never saw a spot of trouble.

The fact that he registered on boards so recently and that was his first post... hmmmm

The only trouble I saw was some eijit lighting a flare getting thrown out. I never saw so many security in one place when that happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 ona

I'm just about recovered from HIFI, went down not expecting much as thought there would be a big bad element there but was pleasently surpised. Found everyone very friendly. Lisa Lashas, Razorlight (even though they stopped playing before their set time) Streets, Mylo, Prodigy and Armin Van Burrin were all brill. Security were very nice only bad thing I know that happened was the people beside us tent was robbed, they caught the guy in the act he was after doing a some other tents around us too. but the security were very nice to them and got the guards. It was real full on rave, which i had never experience before. Probably wont go if its on again next year as getting to old for that, but i enjoyed myself very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

I can't believe some of you actually enjoyed the streets. To be quite honest(to be quonest), they were the worsed performers there. I left when plastic bottles were being thrown at them, and could still hear their ridiculous stand up sit down routine when i got back to the site.

Prodigy were good, hadn't seen them before. The Infadels were excellent, they were on early on sunday, and so there wasn't a great turnout. They were the best find of the festival for me and i'd reccomend everyone to check them out.

Ian brown. From the second he took the stage he had the crowd going. And when he wore the tri-colour, **** that was class.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i got to see my robot friend...i'm happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

yrossiter wrote:
    Well I am glad you all had the pleasure of not witnessing any bad goings on. Having attended raves and festivals for the past 13 years, I am well used to the fact that these type of gigs attract a rougher element but this weekend really took the biscuit. I have never seen so many scumbags in one area. I did kinda expect it. We slept in a van in the carpark and witnessed a bloke getting a bottle smashed over his head in the early hours of Sunday morning. When he got into his car to escape, a crowd attacked him by flinging bottles at his car. The same blokes mates all arrived back a few hours later to cause more trouble. This happened at the gates into the carpark where there was plenty of security who chose to ignore everything. I know of a group of people who were pulled out of their tents by a crowd of little scangers brandishing stanley blades stuck between coins(for a much nastier slash) and then robbed of money, drugs, phones etc. I heard a conversation between a load of little knackers piled into a micra who were wearing visi-vests and had just gone around the carpark posing as security mugging people and ripping off their armbands. Needless to say, we moved carpark at this stage. We had been in Carpark 3 but Carpark 2 seemed to be a lot better organised. I dont know how there was no-one in carpark 3 killed with the amount of scum rallying micras and starlets around all night. I know plenty of people who like ourselves left on Sunday morning. We went back to see Prodigy on Sunday night and left straight after. Security were all off their heads by Sunday and for the most part were completely useless. The only good thing about the facilities was that you didnt have to queue at all to get a drink. I personally wouldnt go again and anyone I have spoken to since I got back has said the same of their experience. In saying that Tiesto, Carl Cox, Prodigy, Eddie Halliwell were excellent.

Do you make this stuff up? I was at the gig in a professional capacity - not in security - and I was parked in car park 2 (there was no car park 3 and unless you were working you weren't in car park 1 either). The cars were very tightly parked together so it wasn't exactly rallying country for everyone. No doubt there will always be some muppet who will rev it up. My main concern was people walking out in front of me. BTW why did you sleep in the car park when you could have camped?

Despite having a working pass on entered through the public turnstiles where my bag was searched and I was patted it down. Security seemed to be good an even handed. In any case, no matter how many you have and how well trained there are you'll always have somebody who will start a fight or rob you. There are a selection of leeches that seem to attach themselves to these events - touts included. From all reports I heard it was a quiet in the camp sites.

The site is good and road access is great from Dublin. I'm not a great dance fan myself but it would be great to see a more varied festival there on an annual basis.

brian were you red or green banded?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

<snip>

Banned for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Well, what can I say....what a weekend!!!

Have to say I enjoyed Hi:Fi more than ANY festival I've been at before right back to the 1st Homelands staged in Ireland in 1999 and I've been to a few since that!!

Me and my friends ALL agreed how well run it was. Security staff and all event staff PLUS the gardai were all extremely helpful, were always THERE if you needed something and were friendly and happy-looking throughout the whole weekend. (this was a very pleasant surprise compared to other festivals, I think there were far less YOUNG security staff that at prevoius events like this, possibly this was the difference, and were there security staff brought over from the UK also?!?!?)

Headed down the Friday night, camping equipment in tow, and must say, I over-indulged in a lot of everything Friday night, but we won't go into that. We were in campsite A1 which I thought was great as we weren't being passed-by by all the other campers heading to the shops/the loos/the music/the cinema etc etc and it was quite peaceful if you needed a kip at any stage!!

Got no sleep Friday night/Saturday whatsoever, but was a-ok to head down to the tunes saturday evening.....heard Eddie Halliwell who was my HIGHLIGHT of the whole weekend. He BANGED out the tunes and he seemed to enjoy every second of it as much as we were! He was excellent. Saw start of tiesto but he bored me slightly and possibly, I'd had enough so off I scooted to get a refreshin beverage and then I sauntered (alone, as I'd lost my friends) up to watch a bit of the streets...

It was nice to see them live and I enjoyed the 20 minutes or so I saw before I headed back to camp....where my tent was still standing and security were constantly buzzing around....at ALL times, alert and on guard - they made me feel very safe I have to say!!

Sunday night I saw Marco V, Ferry Corsten, The Prodigy (did ye all SEE THAT SEA of people going mental singing "I'm goin' sending you to outer space..." was like something magical!!!! we watched them from the hill and the atmosphere was amazing) & Carl Cox.....all excellent in my opinion.....

My tent was untouched, my belongings were untouched, my car was untouched, I was untouched (well at least in any bad sort of way hehe, there were some REAL FINERS down there!!!!! score!!!!! :rolleyes: ) and my friends were untouched......and all in all we all had the best weekend ever and hope to GOD it goes ahead and in the same venue (loved the layout, nice and compact and the hills added something special also!!) next year!!!

The cinema was a great place to chill out or go on a romantic date haha! There were an abundance of food stalls and portaloos (which managed to stay reasonably clean also) There could have been more of a funfair though - myself and one friend in particular always like to indulge in some heart-attack-iducing fun at these tings so we missed the fun-fair part alot.....apart from that, no complaints whatsoever from our gang - 'cept fatigue, sore bones, few bruises, aches & pains all over, heaaches, dizzyness etc etc all self-inflicted in one way or another from one weekend of sheer madness, fun and frolics :D

Also - who would sleep in the carpark where there will OBVOIUSLY be a bit more trouble than inside the venue?!?! The carpark will be where you'll get the scummers who can't get in because they've no tickets, are underage, are out of their brains, are caught with drugs etc etc, or people who just want to be there but the dole won't pay for their tickets so the carpark is the next best thing and they come with a hope of jumping the fence etc!! And another thing, how could there POSSIBLY not be ANY trouble whatsoever when you've 17,500+ young people from all walks of life in the one area with alcohol and whatever else doing the rounds for over 48 hours, c'mon people, what would you expect at an event like this: 20,000 peace-loving priests&nuns?!?!.....have you ever been out on a night in your home town and NOT seen somebody thrown out of a nightclub for brawling or people having a scrap on the street - well you can be damed sure there werent 17,000 peope out on those nights, there will be some kind of trouble everywhere you go - all you can do is ignore it when it doesn't involve you and get on with it and ENJOY yourself........luckily I didn't see anythnig that needed to be ignored and I'd a WHALE of a time!!!

The end - off to bed, back to work tomorrow, depression central!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Great acts, the streets were amazing in my view, Some suprisingly good acts like audiobullys' who i wouldn't normally listen too.
    Overall i think it went ok considering there was literally thousands of pill heads in fields for 3 nights there wasn't much agro to write home about!
    Overall most people were there for the laf and knew that if they got in **** they were out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

jmc wrote:
    Maybe because The Streets' new logo is a lighter?!
    It's not a new logo, they've always had a clipper light as their logo.

Friends of mine went and said it was an unbelievably well run gig. But having said that, they did have an unprovoked run in with some security, or more so, security had a run in with them. The security guy invloved was reported to the Guards and I would imagine that he won't be doing doing security at any gigs in the near future.
    But other than that they really enjoyed it.
    Folks, I'd like to remind you of this Sticky.

Thanks.
    Huh?

Why is the thread still open then? You're either allowed to discuss it or not? Or are you only allowed to say good things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭whacker4fun

yrossiter wrote:
    id have to agree with this lad.was some serious scum at it but ya had to expect that. i seen a good few incidents.like 3 lads fighten one with a hammer,great entertainment,but complete knackers
    Also heard about the stabbing on sat ,but didnt see it so cant confirm.
    Was a good weekend,but the scum was terrible but you have to ignore this,i stayed in my car in carpark 2 and i was untouched and so were all the lads and girls...............
    best of the wknd...........sasha and deep dish then proidgy and eric prydz and cox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

BaZmO* wrote:
    Why is the thread still open then? You're either allowed to discuss it or not? Or are you only allowed to say good things?

There is no problem discussing Hi:Fi Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭RAUL DUKE

Went down there with absolutley no expectations,wasn't even goina go up untill a week ago when my mates talked me round..Bought me ticket sat morning and ended up having the best weekend i've had in years!Couldn't believe how much i enjoyed it,everything from the venue to the staff was excellent..I really hope this becomes an annual event!

its a regular thing, its just renamed global gathering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 yrossiter

id have to agree with this lad.was some serious scum at it but ya had to expect that. i seen a good few incidents.like 3 lads fighten one with a hammer,great entertainment,but complete knackers
    Also heard about the stabbing on sat ,but didnt see it so cant confirm.
    Was a good weekend,but the scum was terrible but you have to ignore this,i stayed in my car in carpark 2 and i was untouched and so were all the lads and girls...............
    best of the wknd...........sasha and deep dish then proidgy and eric prydz and cox!

Well I am glad that someone agreed with me as I was beginning to think I was just major unfortunate encountering so many bad experiences down there. I dont mean to sound so negative about it but I was just being honest about what I seen going on. I dont judge people or call them scumbags because of the clothes they wear, music they listen to or places they come from. When I started going to dance music gigs in the very early 90's, we would have worn clothes that were then and now considered to be scanger attire. I do have a serious problem though with people who go to these type of gigs and insist on ruining it for others by going around as if they are hard men tyring to intimidate others. Some dodgy characters I havent seen at any gigs in over 12 years were knocking about at HI-Fi, they just seemed to come out of the woodwork. We chose to stay in the carpark because we had a camper van that slept 4 and this has always worked out really well at other festivals. My main reason for being annoyed with security was probably because when leaving the carpark on Sunday morning they told us that the Gardai were breathalysing all people exiting the venue and that they would tell us the safest route to go in exchange for 20 quid. We paid as even though we had stopped drinking 10-12 hours ago, we were not willing to take the risk. Having read some of the responses, however, I would now consider going again if it was on next year as most people seem to have good reports about it. Rick O'Shea's program on 2FM on Tuesday had a mixed bag of opinions but the good seemed to outweigh the bad.

Bye the way, I'm not a bloke!!

you should have taken down their number and complained, thats disgraceful, every security guard is photoed with their vest number for that very reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Splendid

I had a great weekend. We stayed in the carpark because after Punchestown there was no way i was sleeping in a tent. There was no trouble, we were surrounded by bang on people.

At the gig itself, The security all seemed dead on, especially the ones in the electric arena, who were all dancing and trying to get the crowd going.

Highlights of the weekend, Prodigy(Main reason i was there), followed by Roger Sanchez, Mylo, Stever Lawlor and Arveen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 JayK

I didn't see a single incident the whole weekend, and I was there from early Friday to late Monday. I put a lock on my tent, but I lock my car when I park it outside my house. The security was tight, but only for weapons, glass bottles and the like which was perfect. Twice security overlooked "unusual bulges" in my friends pockets, and after the acts on Sunday we had a long conversation with a security guard about how pills create a friendly atmosphere. In the gigs, bumping into people was a good way to start a conversation.

Also could someone do me a favour? When Tiesto played Adagio for Strings I was ten feet from the booth on someone's shoulders, and I could see T.V. camera's there. If someone could find the video from those camera's I'd love them forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Not exactly what you're looking for, but funny all the same. Especially all the white baseball caps and listening to everybody singing along (not quite singing though....more like "De De Dahh De Dahh Dahh") :D;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8X4_JlesYF8