Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi:Fi Ireland

• 14-07-2006 2:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if there is anyone here going should be a good two days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

I'd go if it weren't in Ireland, you're gonna get a terrible crowd and atmosphere at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i'll be going for the laugh, my flatmate and a few of her mates are going so i might as well join in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Mullingars loss will be the rest of the countries gain.

Bluetonic wrote:
    Mullingars loss will be the rest of the countries gain.
    you'll be going, so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭DubNside

Yeap should be pretty good, all the biggest names will be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Surrender

Don't know about the crowd, could be a serious scumbag element

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Surrender wrote:
    Don't know about the crowd, could be a serious scumbag element

Sure what harm everyone will be off there heads everything will be ok at it id say!

If you seen me you might call me a scumbag but im not really :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

I wanted to go, but after seeing how MCD handled oxegen security wise I honestly don't believe they will be able to handle the crowd that will be attending Hi-Fi and I don't want to be there when that happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 frankyk

all the names???....its gonna b pants...leftover scum element from oxygen im sure will be there in force - names like P Okenfold ect just brings every knacker out from under their stone - only thing positive about HI-FI is the venue - right on the lake sure will be interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Slinky>

Id like to go but I am a little bit concerned about the bad element, I didnt see anything bad at all at oxegen, In fact the opposite some random guy helped me carry my stuff when I was going in, no one touched our tent all weekend and our neighbours were great, Everyone we met when very friendly including security and stewards

But I did read some horror stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 frankyk

yeah there was some bad SH*T last weekend allright and I saw some of the security staff use a little excessive force 2 say the least - u just cant have that - I agree crowd will be toughter so my advice - stay clear!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭bigpoppa

I am going, esp to see Prodigy, looks like a good line up to me.

I wouldnt let the fact that there might be some knackers at it put you off. Large groups of people will always include knackers.

This whole oxegen thing (overblown hype) is bull**** you all need to calm the **** down.

Scared to go to gigs, whatever next scared to go into Dublin City? You should all move to the Aran Islands and barricade yourselves in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

poor poor razorlight.. why did they say 'yes'... why..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

bigpoppa wrote:
    This whole oxegen thing (overblown hype) is bull**** you all need to calm the **** down.

words of wisdom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

should be a good buzz down there.id say there will some scummers there and definitely pill pushers but sure go to the dance tent at oxegen and u get that. looks like itd be good craic and the weather should be better than oxegen!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

Hay, I was just wondering if anyone has any info on this? I really want to go but with the storys i hear im not sure... anyone have any idea of what itll be like, also i was thinking of driving down but not sure if itll be safe to leave my car there:(
    any info would be helpfull. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

i would go, only:

it has the most predictable, pathetic lineup of djs in the history of "dance" music. tiesto, oakenfold, judge ****ing jules, i still have a hard time believing anyone other than 15 year old scummers actually think those type of djs are good.

which leads me on to, the scum factor, anyone who doesn't think it's gonna be choc-a-bloc full of ben sherman jumper, burberry cap wearing knack bags is deluded. robbings and fights a plenty. it'll be like godskitchen, except about 10 times worse and 4 times as long.

the bands are pretty ****e, seen most of them before and not worth paying to see again.

MCD copping the **** on and putting on a decently organised festival isn't gonna happen any time soon.

The only reason i'd go would be for The Prodigy, I have no problem with knackers, I can handle myself grand but I just don't want to be attending a festival with fights every few minutes and fearing my tent getting robbed whenever I leave the campsite because MCD can't get some decent security sorted, Take the scum running riot at oxegen, increase it by 10s of thousands and you'll get an idea of what Hi-Fi will be like

of course this problem could be countered by MCD dishing out for some proper security but this is never going to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

i'm honestly trying to weigh up the options. its gonna be full of scum for 32 counties in ireland, merged together into the one area. someone said "ah sure they'll be all mad ouvit spreading the love" this might have ben true a few years ago but open your eyes people. they'll all be mad ouvit on whatever drugs they can possibly get their hands on. with coke obviously being top of their list.

a gig, with a load of scumbag teens, trying to impress "me julie's" on cocaine...good gig my arse.

its belvedere house i feel sorry for.

think of it this way, with so many scummer grouped together in the one place, one the one weekend, the streets will be safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Was there any trouble at Global Gathering in Cork last year?

This event is being presented by the same group and has many of the same dance acts as last years gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

well iuve talked to a good few people goin and they are all sayin they hope it won't ber full off mad-out-of-its, so i's say it will be grand cause alot of people are gfoin for the laf and tunage.
    I'm goin and I can't wait! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

At least mcd don't organise it!

I thought they did in fact thats the main reason I am not going

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    I thought they did in fact thats the main reason I am not going
    i would imagine that the godskitchen group are organising it, but could be wrong there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

no, mcd are most certainly the promoters and organisers. godskitchen only pick the lineup afaik, which is pretty evident by the patheticly **** lineup of predictable braindead generic music they've chosen as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Well me & a group of friends are going! And cannot wait either!

If you don't WANT or LOOK for trouble you won't SEE or get involved in it! Inevitably, there WILL be a few scraps here & there as there would be at ANY event of its sort and scale in any country!

I was @ global gathering last year and didn't see any trouble whatsoever or hear of anything bad happening.....few tents burned in the morning and the usual but people were burning their own!! Happens @ every festival I'd imagine!

If you leave anything valuable in your tent OBVIOUSLY there's a chance it might go missing (same @ oxegen or ANYwhere) - there can't be a security person standing watching every tent @ every single moment of the day AND night when there are thousands of tents.

Yes, there will be a "scummer" element but jus' stick with your own crowd and enjoy yourself and they should (and usually do!!!) do the same!

If you're not going, for whatever your reasons are...... if you're afraid you'll get the head kicked off ya or you're a snob when it comes to your music and so obsessed with music and genres and sh*te like that, coz you're so darn ugly you need to obsess about SOMEthing in your life then sh*t the f*ck up about it and mind your own business coz it OBVIOUSLY shouldn't bother you!

If you are going, see you there :D

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

l3LoWnA wrote:
    Well me & a group of friends are going! And cannot wait either!

If you don't WANT or LOOK for trouble you won't SEE or get involved in it! Inevitably, there WILL be a few scraps here & there as there would be at ANY event of its sort and scale in any country!

I was @ global gathering last year and didn't see any trouble whatsoever or hear of anything bad happening.....few tents burned in the morning and the usual but people were burning their own!! Happens @ every festival I'd imagine!

If you leave anything valuable in your tent OBVIOUSLY there's a chance it might go missing (same @ oxegen or ANYwhere) - there can't be a security person standing watching every tent @ every single moment of the day AND night when there are thousands of tents.

Yes, there will be a "scummer" element but jus' stick with your own crowd and enjoy yourself and they should (and usually do!!!) do the same!

If you're not going, for whatever your reasons are...... if you're afraid you'll get the head kicked off ya or you're a snob when it comes to your music and so obsessed with music and genres and sh*te like that, coz you're so darn ugly you need to obsess about SOMEthing in your life then sh*t the f*ck up about it and mind your own business coz it OBVIOUSLY shouldn't bother you!

If you are going, see you there :D

:p

Are you blowna off CDC by any chance. Try any methadone lately?

Oh yeah I love taking the stuff if I've no H left r my vains are hanging on by a thread and I'm stuck for a fix but that's the only time I'd take it I swear!!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Sure the only reason I'm going to HiFi is to sell some of my finest merchandise!!!!!!

Me ar$e

hehe, long time no see Bronagh
    didn't realise that you were on boards... or that you lived in Galway

l3LoWnA wrote:
    Oh yeah I love taking the stuff if I've no H left r my vains are hanging on by a thread and I'm stuck for a fix but that's the only time I'd take it I swear!!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Sure the only reason I'm going to HiFi is to sell some of my finest merchandise!!!!!!

Me ar$e

Did'nt you and one of your boyfriends wanna try it one time? So you put up a thread on CDC asking what is was like.

Oh by the way all the CDC heads are over on www.clubbing-ie.com
    Go over an register for old times sake. Your friend Lisa Lavish is there too...lol

Did'nt you and one of your boyfriends wanna try it one time? So you put up a thread on CDC asking what is was like.

Oh by the way all the CDC heads are over on www.clubbing-ie.com
    Go over an register for old times sake. Your friend Lisa Lavish is there too...lol

Hey,

Thanks, but I have absolutely no recollection of the above. Possibly becasue I'm an out and out gear-head knakker scuzzbag ever since so my braincells have diminished to practicaly nothing. cheers for that though :D

tman wrote:
    hehe, long time no see Bronagh
    didn't realise that you were on boards...

I wasn't..... didn't know I was myself until I tried that oul' username and a password (I used to use years ago) yesterday and it logged me in!!!! *eek*

Was searching for any news or updates on hifi and decided to check these boards. There's vey little news about it anywhere, (I must admit that me & my friend did say yesteday that theres no need for "internet" updates for a fair percentage of the hifi goers as they wouldn't even think of checking it out, or possibly ever use a computer) ... no updates on the hifi OR mcd website or anything so I was gettin anxious wondering whether there could be a possibility it might be cancelled or something, before we fork out a fortune for a tent & all that goes with it!!
    or that you lived in Galway

Yep! Lived in (and absolutely LOVED!!!!) Galway since 2004. If I'd my way I never would have left the place! Jus actually got whipped back to Sligo in a transfer last week! *blub* More 'net use now that I'm living back at home temporarily and it's not my phone bill :cool:

How's things with yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Just because someone likes dance music doesn't mean they're a druggie...I've never touched any drugs in my life and I'm not a scumbag, I just like dance music, nothing wrong with that. I'm looking forward to it and I don't think it's going to be half as bad as some of ye are saying it will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

It probably will be bad.

And then there'll be loads of threads with outraged festival goers screaming bloody murder because of a badly organised festival, then deleted threads!

ClareBear wrote:
    Just because someone likes dance music doesn't mean they're a druggie...I've never touched any drugs in my life and I'm not a scumbag,

So is someone who takes drug's a scumbag?

ClareBear wrote:
    Just because someone likes dance music doesn't mean they're a druggie...I've never touched any drugs in my life and I'm not a scumbag, I just like dance music, nothing wrong with that. I'm looking forward to it and I don't think it's going to be half as bad as some of ye are saying it will be.

Hey ClareBear. I don't think they're saying (above) that people who like dance music are druggies or scumbags!

I think the "bad" element they're talking about who will 99.9999% surely BE there in the minoroty if you look for them all day & night, are the types of trashy people who are probably barred from most pubs/nightclubs in their own local area, are found drinkin' lidl beer and brawling in housing estates/on the street at all hours of the morning, be it with friends, enemies or their own mothers and are more than likely fukt in the head on coke, a bitteen violent if aggravated and possibly own firearms and a drug-dealing business at home.....oh and also may have voluntarily frequented the prisons around and about the country at some stage............those people and their relatives and friends and their children (alot of whom I believe can be seen chewing their faces off in the point depot at the likes of godskitchen, although I wouldn't really know about that for sure.....) are what I, i my own opinion anyways, would class the "bad element"

Or maybe they just mean me & you, who knows, who cares! :rolleyes: ;) :rolleyes:

Bought tent today and me & my mate had a practice run putting it up. So proud of US!!!!! We got it up in half an hour with no help....and the 2 lads who sold it to us and WORKED in the place it was being sold, told us they couldn't put their tent (same one) up @ oxegen and some french lads had to help them, even our boyfriends got a shock when they saw how perfectly we had erected our beautiful home for HIFI - they both agreed they wouldn't have known how to do it hehe (that's the advantages of being female and being clever enough to read instructions!!) :cool:

See you there

:D;):D

Alter-Ego wrote:
    It probably will be bad.

And then there'll be loads of threads with outraged festival goers screaming bloody murder because of a badly organised festival, then deleted threads!

There wont be any threads because we're not allowed talk about MCD...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭peter23

yer will be filled with knackers of course your gona get that everywhere,i wouldnt let if put me off at all,ive gone to all the creamfields and one homelands being the same crack,there are a lot of muppet dj,s that will pull in the out of it kids like the trance dj,s tiesto and and oaky and all but i think there is some v gud dj,s down there aswell like danny howells digweed,sanchez prodigy etc.so theres no doubt in my mind that it aint gona be short of amazing to see this many gd performers together,just hopefully they wont let the good one s clash,the promoters dont seem to give a crap bout there hifi website either though cuz they havent updated it all,compared to the uk global gathering its all set up in place evone knows what s on when,plus there only selling the weekend tickets as far as i can see,thats a joke.Anyway though i wouldnt let the thought of scumbags being down there stop us,Think the majority of the line up is very good,some sets that prob shouldnt be missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 madmurdock

hahahaha what a pack of w*****s on here posting complete bull,

Full of knackers? Yes there probably will be a few scumbags but so what, I'm going with all my mates and to be honest I don't give a sh*t about anyone else,

As for ghostdancer and his "braindead generic music"

It's all about personal taste, who's to say the music you're into is any use?

Because you like it, it's deemed to be good? Seriously man you're talking through your ***,

If you're afraid of a few scumbags you should maybe learn how to handle yourself, even better, why not just enjoy yourself when you attend these festivals and if you can't keep your silly opinions to yourself.

Can't wait for this weekend, it's gonna be mad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

im just back from hi fi, i went down yesterday because a friend got me a free band:)

yes it was full of chavs and people who you would probably call a scumbag but i didnt see one argument or fight.....everyone i saw was having the craic or just chillin with afew beers!!

i had a great time talking to randomers and i have to say that i saw worse being done at oxegen and it wasnt by your typical "knackers".

i had a great night pity i had to come home because my girlfriend is home from holidays so i had to see her:D......id prefer my girly any day though:D

ps.....i wasnt on drugs;)

im just back from hi fi, i went down yesterday because a friend got me a free band:)

yes it was full of chavs and people who you would probably call a scumbag but i didnt see one argument or fight.....everyone i saw was having the craic or just chillin with afew beers!!

You dont bother them they dont bother you!

ps.....i wasnt on drugs;)

Yeah im sure.. :( I should of went..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

You dont bother them they dont bother you!

Yeah im sure.. :( I should of went..

i actually wasnt on drugs, to be honest wasnt even drunk, if were on drugs do you think id be in any state to sit here and type;) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

What a weekend.

The Infadels were good.
    Audiobullys were class.
    Ian Brown remains a legend.

Missed Razorlight :/

Enjoyed Tiesto, thought I wouldn't.
    Sasha+Digweed rocked.

/crash out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭smoke

Ye twas a class weekend alright. Iano. Marco V and Tiesto were all class, as was Halliwell to a lesser extent . Had never heard any of Mark Kavanaghs stuff before so that was a great find for me.

Oh, btw I didnt see one spot of trouble all weekend. Maybe it's because HI:FI is a smaller event and people were there for the music rather than just a mad weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

must say it was a class weekend, Tiesto and Lisa Lashes were fooking brilliant.
    Everyone was buzzin and there wasnt any trouble.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Class weekend. Everything seemed to go well, didn't see one fight or any hassle at all. Only complaint would be the rip-off food but that's expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Just back in the door myself, didn't see one bit of trouble all weekend, and while there were plenty of people that you might call scumbags, but no agro or anything. Hell i saw loads of people helping those around them with setting up tents.

Also, prodigy great, along with Mylo and Audiobullys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭sofireland

Just back myself from HiFi, had a great two days!
    Prodigy were unbelievable, shame they played a short set, they should have closed it out 12-2!
    Thought Oakey, and Ferry Corsten were brilliant, Tiesto, Sasha & Digweed were good too. Carl Cox was banging out his usual, which i caught the last 15, minutes of.
    Only thing that spoilt it for me, was some knacker knicked my mate and i's beer from our tent, taking with it, a little portable radio we had plus some cds! That and my other mate almost breaking his foot @ Prodigy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Did anyone see Art Brut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Yes. I think I remember it was good.