Mmmmmusic.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Anyway, getting a bit more back on topic... Yes, I would judge people in such a way, but it's not a judgement based on music alone, it would be more their overall interests. So someone might have pretty poor taste in music, but still have great taste in film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

Nice shades.

Although I wonder why you're so adamant about not being a Goth, as if it were distasteful, or insulting, yet you say you listen to The Cure?

Have nothing against goths, I just amn't one. I agree with TomCo about the skateboaders thought...arrgghh!!!

The Cure are f*cking savage but listening to them doesn't make me wanna paint my nails black and hang around Central bank....

So you think my list is unimaginative? I didn't pay my NTL bill so my cable got disconnected, since then I spend most nights burning CDs and am always on the lookout for new music. They're not the only bands I like but they'd be my favourites. What kind of music are you into?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ireland seems split into different musical catehories based on social groups tbh

College students: Generally, very middle of the road. The Chillis, Coldplay, Franz Ferdinand, barely relevant stuff.

North Dubs: One thing I love about a hot summer day in Dublin is walking around with cars driving past blasting out some early 90s Dre and Snoop G Funk, it really sets the atmosphere :) Rap and dance have the skanger rep, but tbh its simply what a majority of Northside younguns are into, whether theyre skang or decent. Certain guitar bands, Oasis/Blur/alot of 90s Britpop and U2 would also still be fairly big. The brutal Aslan have primarily scum following, but some normal heads find them alright as well.

The culchies: Country people are divided along two lines. The average Joe non criminal will listen to pretty much the same as the college crowd mentioned above. The country skangers for some reason largely have a complete disinterest in almost all rap music (bar 50, Eminem and Tupac. Culchie scumbags are mad Pac heads, but mention the superiour Biggie Smalls to them and they couldnt name one tune). Country scum LOVE cheesy dance. Special D, awful albums that remix either old Irish trad tunes or American country tunes, Maniac 2000 (though its also popular with the city heads, and a song of my adolescence that still gets me jivin I must admit :D ) its all the dogs bollix as far as theyre concerned. Culchies in general have shown a disturbing acceptance of Aslan in the last 2 or so years.

Regarding goths, I am of the view that they should be herded up outside the central bank and transported a few miles outside Dublin, I dunno, to Punchestown maybe. Here, they would be made dig their own mass graves before being shot dead by firing squads comprised of people of musical good taste. The black oil that flows around their dark evil bodies in substitute of blood should be drained and used as fuel.

IMO anyway.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,361 ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Beetlebum wrote:
    What kind of music are you into?

Look at his sig and think about it for a mo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭TomCo

How about we say what the last one or two albums/artists we listened to were and what was the last album we bought/stole off the internet in a shameful fashion.

On the way into work today I listened to Harvest Moon (Neil Young) because I haven't listened to it in a while. Yesterday it was Bunker Door 7 by Wumpscut.

The last album I bought (for real) was The Downward Spiral (Nine Inch Nails)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Tha Gopher wrote:
    The culchies: Country people are divided along two lines. The average Joe non criminal will listen to pretty much the same as the college crowd mentioned above. The country skangers for some reason largely have a complete disinterest in almost all rap music (bar 50, Eminem and Tupac. Culchie scumbags are mad Pac heads, but mention the superiour Biggie Smalls to them and they couldnt name one tune). Country scum LOVE cheesy dance. Special D, awful albums that remix either old Irish trad tunes or American country tunes, Maniac 2000 (though its also popular with the city heads, and a song of my adolescence that still gets me jivin I must admit :D ) its all the dogs bollix as far as theyre concerned. Culchies in general have shown a disturbing acceptance of Aslan in the last 2 or so years.

Not to slight your list or anything, because it was a funny read....but i am a culchie and would be in no way fall in line with the list you gave there!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Or better yet the forums he mods.

Oh and Gopher, I fall into 2 of your 3 catagories, yet you have listed none of my musical traits....;)

{EDIT} Last full album I listened to was probably Naruto OST or DevilDriver.

Last time I bought an album, bought some CDs for the GFs sister for her birthday. Prior to that... no idea.

Last album....obtained...Man-O-War Discology.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Doesn't bother me in the slightest what people listen to... If they listen to a certain band that I don't like, I give them a slight ribbing about it but I wouldn't like them any less because of it.

In fact, I really don't like alot of metal fans because of how they act and that would be my main choice of music. They have too much of a holier than thou attitude, as in, it matters how you look in order to listen to listen to "their" music. If you don't have long hair and a non mainstream t-shirt with combats you aren't seen as "metal" enough.

Any metal fans agree?

TomCo wrote:
    How about we say what the last album/artist we listened to was and what was the last album we bought/stole off the internet in a shameful fashion.

On the way into work today I listened to Harvest Moon (Neil Young) because I haven't listened to it in a while.

The last album I bought (for real) was The Downward Spiral (Nine Inch Nails)

Good idea....on the way to work i was listening to "And the Circus Leaves Town" by Kyuss....the last album i bought was *thinks* KAOS by Adam F i believe...though my memory is hazy there.

Beetlebum wrote:
    So you think my list is unimaginative? I didn't pay my NTL bill so my cable got disconnected, since then I spend most nights burning CDs and am always on the lookout for new music. They're not the only bands I like but they'd be my favourites.

Yes, it's unimaginative. I was under no impression that they're the only bands you listen to, but honestly, does anything you do listen to vary from the alt-rock theme you seem to be rigidly stuck to?
    Beetlebum wrote:
    What kind of music are you into?

Music with rocks in. :p
    Anyone get the reference there?

I'm not going to get into the "What kind of music are you into?" thing. This isn't a race.

But if you're genuinely interested in getting an idea, right now I'm listening to Ulver (Check them out, they're one of the most amazing and original things you'll ever hear!), and over the past 24 hours I've been listening to soundtracks by the likes of Michiru Yamane, Nobuo Uematsu, Yoko Kanno, aswell as some stuff by Jason Becker (Listen to the song Higher), Marty Friedman, aswell as some videos from Utada Hikaru, Shawn Lane, and Steve Vai. That enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

TomCo wrote:
    How about we say what the last one or two albums/artists we listened to were and what was the last album we bought/stole off the internet in a shameful fashion.

Last Album I stole - Rage Agains The Machine - Rage Against The Machine

Last song I stole - Dirrector - Reconnect

This morning i was in a dance mood, on my way to work I played Nina Simone Sinnerman remix, Gwen Steffani - What you waiting for remix, Cream V's Hodgisindioasnd (or something) - Sunshine of your love

Soul Music was legend......i referenced Rincewind leaving a sandwich on the beach and causing the creation of the universe in another thread but no one caught it.

On the way to work I was listening to a CD I made last night with a mix of bands ranging from Nirvana to Neil Young . The opening song was Johnny Cashs version of Personel Jesus...

Last album I bought was the Spinto band after seeing them on Jools Holland. I only ended up liking about 3 songs though....

Another thing we were talking about in the pub last night was songs with whistling in them. A mate of mine was saying there's not enough whistling in songs and asked us all to name 5 songs with whistling in them. At first I thought it'd be easy but my head was melted after a while. I could only come up with two!! First thing I did when I got into work this morning was google songs with whistling.....*relief*....can you name 5? NO cheating!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Number one is Patience ala Guns n Roses

Yes, it's unimaginative. I was under no impression that they're the only bands you listen to, but honestly, does anything you do listen to vary from the alt-rock theme you seem to be rigidly stuck to?

I'm not going to get into the "What kind of music are you into?" thing. This isn't a race.

But if you're genuinely interested in getting an idea, right now I'm listening to Ulver (Check them out, they're one of the most amazing and original things you'll ever hear!), and over the past 24 hours I've been listening to soundtracks by the likes of Michiru Yamane, Nobuo Uematsu, Yoko Kanno, aswell as some stuff by Jason Becker (Listen to the song Higher), Marty Friedman, aswell as some videos from Utada Hikaru, Shawn Lane, and Steve Vai. That enough?

Nice one for the list, looking forward to listening to this...

Dragan wrote:
    Soul Music was legend......i referenced Rincewind leaving a sandwich on the beach and causing the creation of the universe in another thread but no one caught it.

Pfft, the uncultured louts we live with, eh?

Most people wouldn't bat an eyelid when I'd say OMG, Shawn Lane and Jonas Hellborg playing together! :eek:

Beetlebum wrote:
    Nice one for the list, looking forward to listening to this...

Well I don't know will it be your thing. None of it has the NME stamp of approval.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Vai is boring as fúck AW. :p If you want to hear some real music listen to this:

www.esposthumus.com :)

Yeah, I f*cking love NME, I won't eat food that hasn't been stamped by NME and I won't watch tv that hasn't been approved by the musical wizards of NME....

Jesus, I thought I was judgemental but you're unreal....I'll just climb back into the box you've put me in.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭TomCo

Oh, and everyone should just stop what they're doing right now and go download the Futuristic Sex Robotz album hotel coral essex off their site for much lulz.

****, nice find there Pornapster! ;)

But Vai's still class. Lotus Feet is fantastic.
    Beetlebum wrote:
    Jesus, I thought I was judgemental but you're unreal....I'll just climb back into the box you've put me in.....

Yeah, you've met your nemesis!

Seriously though, I'm only joshlin ya, don't take me too seriously. ;)

As an aside, Jonas Hellborg > Flea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

If I meet a guy that I find attractive and we start talking about music but he has completely different taste to me, I lose interest instantly. I honestly believe that the type of music you're into reflects your personality. For example, girls who are into Christina Aguilera and Girls Aloud tend to be Bacardi Breezer drinking, pink lipsticked, hen party loudmouths....tis true....they may be lovely girls but if I meet someone who is into that kind of music I respect them less. Jeez, I probably sound like a b*tch but can any of you relate to this?!?!

Stick to your guns, its the only way to accurately spot:

1) rockers
    2) office drones
    3) idiots
    4) Dib-Dabs
    5) Other undesirables

Musical taste is natures way of ensuring you don't mate outside your own socio-economic and educational environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Ha ha! I can't believe you judge people based on their taste in music.

Personally I try to judge people before even meeting them at all. Try it! I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by the amount of time you save.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Personally I try to judge people before even meeting them at all

Even better

****, nice find there Pornapster! ;)

But Vai's still class. Lotus Feet is fantastic.

Yeah, you've met your nemesis!

Seriously though, I'm only joshlin ya, don't take me too seriously. ;)

As an aside, Jonas Hellborg > Flea

Well my nemesis.....we meet again....I challenge you to name 5 songs with whistling in them...no cheating....I'll know if you do!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,006 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Have to say I'm kinda with you Beetlebum. If someone has **** taste in music it will affect how I see them. My own tastes go all over the place and, like most people, there are some guilty little secrets in my CD collection but in general I respect someone more if they're into music with genuine merit. If that happens to be something I'm not actually a fan of, that's cool. Just so long as it's not any of the usual chart ****E!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

Don't anyone be fooled that ye are talking about music here.
    Any conversation you have about "music", isn't about music, it's about you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

My music taste is a bit mad....
    Josh Ritter
    Dave Mathews Band
    Damien Rice
    Damien Dempsey
    Jack Johnson
    Mundy
    Muse
    Paddy Casey
    Radiohead
    Smashing Pumpkins
    anything from Other Voices Songs From a Room
    Leftfield
    Paul Daley
    DJ Shadow
    Dave Clarke
    Carl Cox
    Dave the Drummer
    DJ Hell
    Felix Da Housecat
    Sven Väth
    Jeff Mills
    Chris Leibing
    Ian Brown
    Stone Roses

Sleepy wrote:
    Have to say I'm kinda with you Beetlebum. If someone has **** taste in music it will affect how I see them. My own tastes go all over the place and, like most people, there are some guilty little secrets in my CD collection but in general I respect someone more if they're into music with genuine merit. If that happens to be something I'm not actually a fan of, that's cool. Just so long as it's not any of the usual chart ****E!

I'm the same. I'm not into classical music but I can appreciate how beautiful it can be. If somebody plays me something that I don't like but it's technically good or even just lyrically good then I can understand where they're coming from but nobody can justify Girls Aloud or Celine Dion. Have ya seen that ad where she's wearing a gold dress and she's on a swing? Think it's for perfume and she's trying to look all seductive...she scares me...