Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mmmmmusic.....

• 04-08-2006 9:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭

I was sitting in the pub last night with my friends and they started giving me loads of hassle for being so into music. They were saying that I base my opinions of people around what music they like and if somebody has what I deem to be bad taste in music I won't have much time for them.....

I went home and thought about it and it's true. If I meet a guy that I find attractive and we start talking about music but he has completely different taste to me, I lose interest instantly. I honestly believe that the type of music you're into reflects your personality. For example, girls who are into Christina Aguilera and Girls Aloud tend to be Bacardi Breezer drinking, pink lipsticked, hen party loudmouths....tis true....they may be lovely girls but if I meet someone who is into that kind of music I respect them less. Jeez, I probably sound like a b*tch but can any of you relate to this?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

I know people like you. I can't relate to it at all though.

I'm a big music fan, and I often can't understand how some people like certain types of music, and don't like what I'm into, but I respect their opinion. I certainly wouldn't let music taste dictate the attractiveness of a girl if I was interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

The music someone listens to will obviously reflect thier personality somewhat. However, you cannot paint everyone with one brush because they listen to a certain band.

I am a fairly big music fan, and it would probably be a major factor in choosing a mate! However, if someone listens to some other music I don't think "Oh, they must be loud-mouths" or "They must be trouble making gangsta'a that go around cappin' fools". Just like I do not sacrafice goats/pigs, perhaps the odd virgin though.

Jesus.Are you a goth?

I think it is particularly stupid to think less of somebody because of what they like to listen.They enjoy it.So leave them be.

I listent to a wide range of music just because I like Kelly Clarkson and Shakira does not mean that I drink Bacardi Breezer and be all giggly and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

If someone was to look at the music on my MP3 player they would not have a clue what I was like. It ranges from Nelly Furtado to John Denver to Rage Against the Machine.

I am simialar to you though, but its not enough to turn me off them. Most girls like poppy dancy music.

On a side note, I hate that fricken song by Shakira, My Hips Dont Lie. It reaaaallllllllllly irritates me.

Oh, and Jack Johnson and Lilly Allen should have a limit on radio airplay per hour/day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

This week, I be mostly lis'nin' to:
    Johnny Cash, The Ramones, Elvis Costello, U2, Christy Moore, Dessie O'Halloran, The Boomtown Rats.

Hot or Not in your musically-biased opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Beetlebum wrote:
    I was sitting in the pub last night with my friends and they started giving me loads of hassle for being so into music. They were saying that I base my opinions of people around what music they like and if somebody has what I deem to be bad taste in music I won't have much time for them.....

I went home and thought about it and it's true. If I meet a guy that I find attractive and we start talking about music but he has completely different taste to me, I lose interest instantly. I honestly believe that the type of music you're into reflects your personality. For example, girls who are into Christina Aguilera and Girls Aloud tend to be Bacardi Breezer drinking, pink lipsticked, hen party loudmouths....tis true....they may be lovely girls but if I meet someone who is into that kind of music I respect them less. Jeez, I probably sound like a b*tch but can any of you relate to this?!?!

And what do you listen to?

Jesus.Are you a goth?

I don't think he was, never saw him wearing any black clothes/eyeliner anyway. Maybe he was a closet goth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

joejoem wrote:
    On a side note, I hate that fricken song by Shakira, My Hips Dont Lie. It reaaaallllllllllly irritates me.

Really? I like that song, which is weird because I never really listen to that sort of music.

I would say I judge people based on music taste aswell. Although I try to look past that a lot of the time, and sometimes they really are grand. But there are a certain type of music listner, rap sort of stuff, that I just can't get to like. Those people kinda p*ss me off.

No matter what genre it is though, there's always exeptions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

Am I a goth....hell no!!

I'd never really given this much thought until it was pointed out to me last night. A few of my closest friends have different taste in music to me and i still love them but if I meet somebody new and they tell me they're into Celine Dion I instantly like them less...they could be a lovely person but I gotta admit I'd be secretly judging them....I'm not saying this is a nice way to be but I can't help it...

Well spit it out, what music do you listen to? I want to judge you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I love music, and i see music as being very important within my group of friends....we all have SIMILAR tastes, yet one of the lads will show up with some weird band that i would never have heard of and play it and i will be like...."thats some good stuff....glad you brought it".

I also consider music to be an important part of any relationship i have with a girl. If we're gonna have a lie and she wants to listen to Girls Aloud then that **** ain't gonna fly....now if she wants to listen to Kyuss....thats a different story.

However, i don't simply ignore people or treat people poorly because we don't share the same musical taste.....but i can completely understand you looking for people who do.

Well spit it out, what music do you listen to? I want to judge you.

*joins Mr Hungus on the judging line * If he likes crap tunes we can make him play Jiggle Ball.

Beetlebum wrote:
    if they tell me they're into Celine Dion I instantly like them less...

I don't think anyone would expect anything less :).

What do you deem acceptable music so? Then we can throw out some stereotypes for that type of music and it will be fun for the whole family.

Dragan wrote:
    *joins Mr Hungus on the judging line * If he likes crap tunes we can make him play Jiggle Ball.

Yes! Let the judging commence.

PS, I think he is a she.

Hill Billy wrote:
    This week, I be mostly lis'nin' to:
    Johnny Cash, The Ramones, Elvis Costello, U2, Christy Moore, Dessie O'Halloran, The Boomtown Rats.

Hot or Not in your musically-biased opinion?

I'm having a Johnny Cash week too:)

The music I'm into is...

The Super Furry Animals (My favourite band).
    Supergrass
    Arcade Fire
    Sigur Ros
    The Doors
    The Beatles
    Sufjan Stevens
    Jeff Buckley
    The Cure
    Soulwax
    David Bowie
    Neil Young
    Pink Flyod

.....just popping out to get a suit of armour before the battle begins....

Beetlebum wrote:
    they tell me they're into Celine Dion I instantly like them less...

In fairness, they are also 40 years your senior, deaf and blind.

Celine Dion

PS, I think he is a she.

Sorry, but all those claiming to be female on the internet must provide pictoral proof. He's a he untill he proves otherwise.

* concurs * and besides, being female does not save you from a murderous game of Jiggle Ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Beetlebum wrote:

The music I'm into is...

Supergrass
    Arcade Fire
    Sigur Ros
    The Doors
    The Beatles
    Sufjan Stevens
    Jeff Buckley
    The Cure
    Soulwax
    David Bowie
    Neil Young
    Pink Flyod

.....just popping out to get a suit of armour before the battle begins....

That's ok in my books :)

Dragan wrote:
    * concurs * and besides, being female does not save you from a murderous game of Jiggle Ball.

Is that like tea bagging?

Beetlebum wrote:

The music I'm into is...

Supergrass
    Arcade Fire
    Sigur Ros
    The Doors
    The Beatles
    Sufjan Stevens
    Jeff Buckley
    The Cure
    Soulwax
    David Bowie
    Neil Young
    Pink Flyod

I need a cigarette break....

Hmm, all I can see is a fairly unimaginative interest in alt-rock. Don't get me wrong, I'd hardly say any of those bands/artists are bad, but when I see a grouping of musicians like that, I think the person in question is just doing what NME tells them to.

joejoem wrote:
    Is that like tea bagging?

See Scrubs for an explanation.

As for the list.....have Super Furry Animals as your favourite band worries me to be honest....they never really struck a cord with me.

Also, given the relatively generic list you have given you would be hard pushed to find someone who DIDN'T like at least one of the bands on the list...so you should always have that in common, no?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Beetlebum wrote:

The music I'm into is...

Supergrass
    Arcade Fire
    Sigur Ros
    The Doors
    The Beatles
    Sufjan Stevens
    Jeff Buckley
    The Cure
    Soulwax
    David Bowie
    Neil Young
    Pink Flyod

super furry who?

ppffff
    *shuns Beetlebum*

sorry but you're just not hardcore enough for me.
    Where's Metallica
    Nirvana
    Peal Jam
    Alice in Chains
    Thin Lizzy
    AC/DC
    Soundgarden
    Led Zep
    Deep Purple
    Tool
    Rammstein
    To mention but a few..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

I haven't listened to the radio for music in years, the modern popular music scene is ****.

Also I've always hated coldplay and those people who think that listening to that **** elevates them above the boyband listeners and the "I don't need no man" female 'artists' - worst thing to happen to music in recent memory.

Oh and hate those people who list about 500 bands they 'listen' too when the topic comes up, do you really listen to all those on a regular basis? No? Well **** off then.

Hmm, all I can see is a fairly unimaginative interest in alt-rock. Don't get me wrong, I'd hardly say any of those bands/artists are bad, but when I see a grouping of musicians like that, I think the person in question is just doing what NME tells them to.

Agreed, the arcade fire were a big let down, like an album of songs that went nowhere.

TomCo wrote:
    Oh and hate those people who list about 500 bands they 'listen' too when the topic comes up, do you really listen to all those on a regular basis? No? Well **** off then.

I actually listen to a crazy amount of different bands over the course of a week.....i've always been a songs/compolations/play lists person!

Don't get me wrong, i own more albums than i should and love listening to a decent one from start to finish, but i tend to listen to more singular songs that anything.

My picture is on one of the last pages of the post your pic thread...I'm sitting in a beer garden after coming back from the Flaming Lips gig....add the Flaming Lips to my list.....as you will see I'm a girl and definetly not a goth....sh*t...now I'm gonna be judged on my looks too...d'oh!!

Dragan wrote:
    I actually listen to a crazy amount of different bands over the course of a week.....i've always been a songs/compolations/play lists person!

Don't get me wrong, i own more albums than i should and love listening to a decent one from start to finish, but i tend to listen to more singular songs that anything.

No problem with that, its the people that have this huge (liek Xbox) list of bands in the hope that you like one of them too and this will somehow validate their musical taste.

Beetlebum wrote:
    My picture is on one of the last pages of the post your pic thread...I'm sitting in a beer garden after coming back from the Flaming Lips gig....add the Flaming Lips to my list.....as you will see I'm a girl and definetly not a goth....sh*t...now I'm gonna be judged on my looks too...d'oh!!

Nice shades.

Although I wonder why you're so adamant about not being a Goth, as if it were distasteful, or insulting, yet you say you listen to The Cure?

Don't have a problem with goths, its those ****ing skateboard kids. Jesus they annoy me.

I have never ever seen one land a trick that I found even slightly impressive. Also they're morons - yes ALL of them.

Anyway, getting a bit more back on topic... Yes, I would judge people in such a way, but it's not a judgement based on music alone, it would be more their overall interests. So someone might have pretty poor taste in music, but still have great taste in film.

Nice shades.

Although I wonder why you're so adamant about not being a Goth, as if it were distasteful, or insulting, yet you say you listen to The Cure?

Have nothing against goths, I just amn't one. I agree with TomCo about the skateboaders thought...arrgghh!!!

The Cure are f*cking savage but listening to them doesn't make me wanna paint my nails black and hang around Central bank....

So you think my list is unimaginative? I didn't pay my NTL bill so my cable got disconnected, since then I spend most nights burning CDs and am always on the lookout for new music. They're not the only bands I like but they'd be my favourites. What kind of music are you into?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ireland seems split into different musical catehories based on social groups tbh

College students: Generally, very middle of the road. The Chillis, Coldplay, Franz Ferdinand, barely relevant stuff.

North Dubs: One thing I love about a hot summer day in Dublin is walking around with cars driving past blasting out some early 90s Dre and Snoop G Funk, it really sets the atmosphere :) Rap and dance have the skanger rep, but tbh its simply what a majority of Northside younguns are into, whether theyre skang or decent. Certain guitar bands, Oasis/Blur/alot of 90s Britpop and U2 would also still be fairly big. The brutal Aslan have primarily scum following, but some normal heads find them alright as well.

The culchies: Country people are divided along two lines. The average Joe non criminal will listen to pretty much the same as the college crowd mentioned above. The country skangers for some reason largely have a complete disinterest in almost all rap music (bar 50, Eminem and Tupac. Culchie scumbags are mad Pac heads, but mention the superiour Biggie Smalls to them and they couldnt name one tune). Country scum LOVE cheesy dance. Special D, awful albums that remix either old Irish trad tunes or American country tunes, Maniac 2000 (though its also popular with the city heads, and a song of my adolescence that still gets me jivin I must admit :D ) its all the dogs bollix as far as theyre concerned. Culchies in general have shown a disturbing acceptance of Aslan in the last 2 or so years.

Regarding goths, I am of the view that they should be herded up outside the central bank and transported a few miles outside Dublin, I dunno, to Punchestown maybe. Here, they would be made dig their own mass graves before being shot dead by firing squads comprised of people of musical good taste. The black oil that flows around their dark evil bodies in substitute of blood should be drained and used as fuel.

IMO anyway.....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Beetlebum wrote:
    What kind of music are you into?

Look at his sig and think about it for a mo :)

How about we say what the last one or two albums/artists we listened to were and what was the last album we bought/stole off the internet in a shameful fashion.

On the way into work today I listened to Harvest Moon (Neil Young) because I haven't listened to it in a while. Yesterday it was Bunker Door 7 by Wumpscut.

The last album I bought (for real) was The Downward Spiral (Nine Inch Nails)

Tha Gopher wrote:
    The culchies: Country people are divided along two lines. The average Joe non criminal will listen to pretty much the same as the college crowd mentioned above. The country skangers for some reason largely have a complete disinterest in almost all rap music (bar 50, Eminem and Tupac. Culchie scumbags are mad Pac heads, but mention the superiour Biggie Smalls to them and they couldnt name one tune). Country scum LOVE cheesy dance. Special D, awful albums that remix either old Irish trad tunes or American country tunes, Maniac 2000 (though its also popular with the city heads, and a song of my adolescence that still gets me jivin I must admit :D ) its all the dogs bollix as far as theyre concerned. Culchies in general have shown a disturbing acceptance of Aslan in the last 2 or so years.

Not to slight your list or anything, because it was a funny read....but i am a culchie and would be in no way fall in line with the list you gave there!!! :D

Or better yet the forums he mods.

Oh and Gopher, I fall into 2 of your 3 catagories, yet you have listed none of my musical traits....;)

{EDIT} Last full album I listened to was probably Naruto OST or DevilDriver.

Last time I bought an album, bought some CDs for the GFs sister for her birthday. Prior to that... no idea.

Last album....obtained...Man-O-War Discology.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Doesn't bother me in the slightest what people listen to... If they listen to a certain band that I don't like, I give them a slight ribbing about it but I wouldn't like them any less because of it.

In fact, I really don't like alot of metal fans because of how they act and that would be my main choice of music. They have too much of a holier than thou attitude, as in, it matters how you look in order to listen to listen to "their" music. If you don't have long hair and a non mainstream t-shirt with combats you aren't seen as "metal" enough.

Any metal fans agree?

TomCo wrote:
    How about we say what the last album/artist we listened to was and what was the last album we bought/stole off the internet in a shameful fashion.

On the way into work today I listened to Harvest Moon (Neil Young) because I haven't listened to it in a while.

The last album I bought (for real) was The Downward Spiral (Nine Inch Nails)

Good idea....on the way to work i was listening to "And the Circus Leaves Town" by Kyuss....the last album i bought was *thinks* KAOS by Adam F i believe...though my memory is hazy there.

Beetlebum wrote:
    So you think my list is unimaginative? I didn't pay my NTL bill so my cable got disconnected, since then I spend most nights burning CDs and am always on the lookout for new music. They're not the only bands I like but they'd be my favourites.

Yes, it's unimaginative. I was under no impression that they're the only bands you listen to, but honestly, does anything you do listen to vary from the alt-rock theme you seem to be rigidly stuck to?
    Beetlebum wrote:
    What kind of music are you into?

Music with rocks in. :p
    Anyone get the reference there?

I'm not going to get into the "What kind of music are you into?" thing. This isn't a race.

But if you're genuinely interested in getting an idea, right now I'm listening to Ulver (Check them out, they're one of the most amazing and original things you'll ever hear!), and over the past 24 hours I've been listening to soundtracks by the likes of Michiru Yamane, Nobuo Uematsu, Yoko Kanno, aswell as some stuff by Jason Becker (Listen to the song Higher), Marty Friedman, aswell as some videos from Utada Hikaru, Shawn Lane, and Steve Vai. That enough?

TomCo wrote:
    How about we say what the last one or two albums/artists we listened to were and what was the last album we bought/stole off the internet in a shameful fashion.

Last Album I stole - Rage Agains The Machine - Rage Against The Machine

Last song I stole - Dirrector - Reconnect

This morning i was in a dance mood, on my way to work I played Nina Simone Sinnerman remix, Gwen Steffani - What you waiting for remix, Cream V's Hodgisindioasnd (or something) - Sunshine of your love

Soul Music was legend......i referenced Rincewind leaving a sandwich on the beach and causing the creation of the universe in another thread but no one caught it.

On the way to work I was listening to a CD I made last night with a mix of bands ranging from Nirvana to Neil Young . The opening song was Johnny Cashs version of Personel Jesus...

Last album I bought was the Spinto band after seeing them on Jools Holland. I only ended up liking about 3 songs though....

Another thing we were talking about in the pub last night was songs with whistling in them. A mate of mine was saying there's not enough whistling in songs and asked us all to name 5 songs with whistling in them. At first I thought it'd be easy but my head was melted after a while. I could only come up with two!! First thing I did when I got into work this morning was google songs with whistling.....*relief*....can you name 5? NO cheating!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Number one is Patience ala Guns n Roses

Yes, it's unimaginative. I was under no impression that they're the only bands you listen to, but honestly, does anything you do listen to vary from the alt-rock theme you seem to be rigidly stuck to?

I'm not going to get into the "What kind of music are you into?" thing. This isn't a race.

But if you're genuinely interested in getting an idea, right now I'm listening to Ulver (Check them out, they're one of the most amazing and original things you'll ever hear!), and over the past 24 hours I've been listening to soundtracks by the likes of Michiru Yamane, Nobuo Uematsu, Yoko Kanno, aswell as some stuff by Jason Becker (Listen to the song Higher), Marty Friedman, aswell as some videos from Utada Hikaru, Shawn Lane, and Steve Vai. That enough?

Nice one for the list, looking forward to listening to this...

Dragan wrote:
    Soul Music was legend......i referenced Rincewind leaving a sandwich on the beach and causing the creation of the universe in another thread but no one caught it.

Pfft, the uncultured louts we live with, eh?

Most people wouldn't bat an eyelid when I'd say OMG, Shawn Lane and Jonas Hellborg playing together! :eek:

Beetlebum wrote:
    Nice one for the list, looking forward to listening to this...

Well I don't know will it be your thing. None of it has the NME stamp of approval.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Vai is boring as fúck AW. :p If you want to hear some real music listen to this:

www.esposthumus.com :)

Yeah, I f*cking love NME, I won't eat food that hasn't been stamped by NME and I won't watch tv that hasn't been approved by the musical wizards of NME....

Jesus, I thought I was judgemental but you're unreal....I'll just climb back into the box you've put me in.....

Oh, and everyone should just stop what they're doing right now and go download the Futuristic Sex Robotz album hotel coral essex off their site for much lulz.