red bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

I drank one once and that'll be my last time too [unless someone forces me :eek: ]
    It tastes so horrible I wanted to get sick when I drank it and the smell is disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Red Rooster in Dunnes is fine stuff!!

You can get litre bottles of the stuff, sometimes cheaper than a single can of Red Bull.

But too much of it has to be bad for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

You don't get enough sleep as it is yet you still drink a huge amount of caffine during the day.

Does this not sound like a terrible idea to you? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,725 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Caffeine isn't particularly bad for you (within reasonable consumption limits), but dunno about Glucuronolactone. Though caffeine is kinda addictive - well, you get withdrawl symptoms if you take it reguarly and then stop - and it does no long-term good for you really.

IMO drinking stuff like that is just a cheat for good health.

You'd be surprised how much good an extra hour or two worth of sleep will for you. I get up at half 7 on weekdays, and some weeks I don't end up going to sleep till about 12:30-1:30. If I start going to bed around 11pm the next week I feel so much better in the mornings. You really should get more sleep - no job should be putting you in that position (I'm pretty sure it's illegal to have less than 8 hours between shifts or something like that), but if it's something else causing this lack of time (commuting or whatever) then I dunno, move or get a different job :D

And I *never* miss my breakfast - can you really not spare the 5 minutes it takes to have some cereal or toast? It seriously is just 5 minutes.

I never drink that shíte - never drink coffee either (tastes like death to me). I'd usually have a cup of tea when I start work (and maybe one in the evening), and occasionally a Coke or some soft drink though I try to avoid them.

Though saying all this I'm not particularly healthy either. I rarely do any proper excercise outside walking to/from town (about 35 minute walk) regularly or the occasional running to the bus :D, and I'm usually half-asleep on the bus home from work (5:00-5:30pm) - my work mostly includes (as you can guess) sitting on my ass in front of a 'puter all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Give it up for a week and you'll see whether it's bad for you. See if you get the shakes and really bad headaches like I did. You're caught in a circle and haven't even realised it, you drink red bull for energy but you're consuming so much of it that you can't sleep properly and then you wake up and feel tired so you have another can of it. I used to do the same thing with Red Bull and Coke, I'd advise you to give them up. For the first couple of weeks I was miserable thereafter I had way more energy and slept significantly better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

miju wrote:
    yeah i've been drinking kick more recently than red bull cos reading the side of the can compared to red bull it seems a little bit healthier with the 0g fat thingy an all

May i ask why you think you need to drink it? What is it doing for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭manonmir

i used to be like that a few months ago. how did i get unhooked? breakfast, i have always been bad with breakfast until a couple of months ago, now i spend 5 mins in the morning with a bowl of alpen and i wouldn't know myself compared to when i was shovelling in sugar and caffiene to keep me awake. took a while to get used to eating breakfast, as i hadnt done it consistently in so long i actually found it a bit uncomfortable on the stomach eating that early to start but now im grand.

i only get about 6 hours sleep a night but what you eat plays a big part in your energy levels, if only i'd have listened to that earlier.

gary

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

so now wouldnt be a good time to tell ye all i smoke about 20 a day then :)

am gonna give up the oul red bull and try the regular meals and extra hour or 2 of sleep a day approach

jaysis only asked a question ended up turning into a full blown counselling session :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

it's the only drink you can smell from a distance when you are drunk.
    rancid stuff.

miju wrote:

am gonna give up the oul red bull and try the regular meals and extra hour or 2 of sleep a day approach

jaysis only asked a question ended up turning into a full blown counselling session :D

Well it worked! Should be thanking us :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

LambDave wrote:
    Well I certainly would recommend Red Bull over that drink NRG that was out a couple of years ago. Had a night of drinking that with vodka and went crazy. Didnt think anything of it until the next morning when I took my pulse...it was absolutely through the roof and didnt settle for the day. Havent gone near the stuff since.

A house mate of my friend had a similar experience with red bull, the lads all went on a 2 day bender and had massive amounts of red bull and vodka. The next day one of the lads woke up and his heart was pounding like crazy, felt as if it was gonna burst through his chest. Ended up in hospital afik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

miju wrote:

:eek: So we're going to need a new mod for Bands / Musicians, Conspiracy Theories and Snooker / Pool forums pretty soon :D

Seriously dude, how are you still alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

boost is yer only man, comes in half litre bottles and is well cheaper that RB

500ml bottle, emptly out 200ml, peplace with 200ml vodka. happy days as james would say.

ferdi wrote:
    boost is yer only man, comes in half litre bottles and is well cheaper that RB

500ml bottle, emptly out 200ml, peplace with 200ml vodka. happy days as james would say.

Watch out for those heart attacks ;), they can be a pain in the ass.

And your left arm :p

heart attack?.....i dont get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I've probably gone through about 6 cans of it in a night easy. It drains the body of liquids though so you gotta drink a load of water before you hit the hey in order not to get a nasty hangover.

Id reccomend mixing it with Jager to make some lovely rocket fuel for yourself.

ferdi wrote:
    heart attack?.....i dont get it

Drinking energy drinks+alcohol is dangerous! It speeds up your heart and can cause heart attacks, its nothing new. It also causes extreme dehydration..

well if its not the energy drinks or alcohol, it'll be the smoke, poor diet, lack of sleep, stress and lack of exercise...either way, i'm fooked.

Snap!

\o.

ferdi wrote:
    well if its not the energy drinks or alcohol, it'll be the smoke, poor diet, lack of sleep, stress and lack of exercise...either way, i'm fooked.
    Mabye you should start a thread and we can turn your life around aswell :D

:p

ferdi wrote:

Great mentality there :rolleyes: , to lazy to change?

yes.

i'm content in my self destruction and i'll thank you not to make light of my lifestyle choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

I really want a can of redbull!

Im having one at the moment.

While eating meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭LambDave

Winters wrote:
    Id reccomend mixing it with Jager to make some lovely rocket fuel for yourself.

Ah Jager and Red Bull...tastes like Cola Bottles, nicest drink ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Between the two of us here, in one day we consume......

20-25 cigs a day (me only, real cigs not "Silk cut" or jpb lol ;) )
    6+ bottles of Dr.Pepper, Coke or pepsi.
    6+ cups of strong black coffee
    not much food,...

We sleep from about 5/6am -3/4pm

I stopped everything (cept the smokes) for a week, and drank water only, and felt like SH1T!..... I know I probably would have felt better after a few weeks, but it so wasnt worth it! ;)

b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

in my final year of Uni i was swimming in red Bull, so busy with projects and ****. Anyways one day I downed a can of the stuff on an empty stomach and was taken to the medical centre with chest pains!!!!

Needless to say I haven't touched it since!!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Between the two of us here, in one day we consume......

20-25 cigs a day (me only, real cigs not "Silk cut" or jpb lol )
    6+ bottles of Dr.Pepper, Coke or pepsi.
    6+ cups of strong black coffee
    not much food,...
    for me it's 30-40 smokes a day (yeah, purple. blow me)
    i gave up the coke, for the most part.
    i now treat myself to a 2 litre bottle, drank over 2 days.
    i've cut down on the pizzas. one a week instead of 4 or 5.
    gave up red meat (not altogether, i don't want vaginitis).
    cut down on beer. (twice a week instead of every night)

the only vice i couldn't quit is the large bags of walkers thai sweet chili. they're too nice.
    i've lost a stone since doing that and feel much better.

i've seen a few posts about people's hearts racing. were you having palpatations?
    i used to get them when i was stressed out. scary as fcuk.
    you should treat red bull the same way you treat shampoo or deoderant or things like that.
    'If irritation develops, discontinue use'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Only thing I've ever given up successfully was / is salt.
    I rarely eat meat now, living with a veggie who does the cooking,
    I would find it harder to give up caffeine than ciggs though.
    (And Silk Cut (of any color) are not cigs, taking a drag on one of them day in and day out is enough to give ya Hemorrhoids imho :p;) )

Ill stick to my XL and caffeine diet ;)
    Surprisingly though, I wouldnt touch red bull with a barge-pole, its too sweet and too expensive.

b