Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

red bull

• 01-08-2006 11:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭

is it good or bad for ye? let's say like 3 cans of it a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I would guess bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Well, it's better than a kick in the stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Karoma wrote:
    Well, it's better than a kick in the stones.

Depending on whether you prefer heart failure or testicular cancer :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Probably not too good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Do you have problems staying awake? :confused: Christ drink Lucozade instead anyhow redbull is shocking expensive too .....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

it gives you wings

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

usually have 1 in the morning when i get up then one about 5 and occasionaly 1 about 8 or so

like the taste of the things too , but the ones in the morning and at 5 are for energy boostie thingies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

well i'd cut the one out at 8pm tbh, can't do any good for you trying to get to sleep with that in ya.

but then of course you could be immune to the stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

If I drink RB when I go out I go completely mad. Seriously, my caffeine-laden state extends way beyond the boundaries of what is acceptable or polite. I cant handle the stuff. I remember before having about 5 in 2 hours and I went nuts.
    Also:do not drink while trying to study. You'll spend your whole time peeing or running around the libe like a lunatic.
    Its supposed to be quite bad for you, but I never get anything apart from the shakes.

/dies

miju wrote:
    usually have 1 in the morning when i get up then one about 5 and occasionaly 1 about 8 or so

like the taste of the things too , but the ones in the morning and at 5 are for energy boostie thingies

Get some decent brekkie into ya! :) Big bowl of porridge and you'll be set until dinner time. It can't be too good for you in the morning. Its giving you energy that your body isn't meant to be producing that quickly.

Ruu wrote:
    Get some decent brekkie into ya! :) Big bowl of porridge and you'll be set until dinner time. It can't be too good for you in the morning. Its giving you energy that your body isn't meant to be producing that quickly.
    Shush! Your age is showing.

miju: Are you overweight? (We won't go into specifics-just curious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

well seeing as caffeine has a halflife of about 3-6 hours (believe it or not) in the human body, thats quite an accumulation of caffine you got going on there.

But theres not even really that much in red bull, its similar to strong cofee. There are a few b vitamins and the like in there, but 3 cans a day, spread out over the day, isn't going to kill you.

Try and go for the sugar free version though.

Karoma wrote:

yes by about a stone (but was before this red bull habit of mine)
    Ruu wrote:

man if i had the time for brekkie in the morning it'd be legend , get about 4-5 hours sleep a day :)

Karoma wrote:

:eek:Your epidermis is showing! *points* :)

Shut up. That's why.

miju wrote:
    yes by about a stone (but was before this red bull habit of mine)

man if i had the time for brekkie in the morning it'd be legend , get about 4-5 hours sleep a day :)

Ah you need the schleep, lack of it leads to obesity says here and many other articles.
    Trying the sugar free version might not be a bad idea or are you addicted to the stuff? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

These things are terrible for you! If you value your health in the slightest you wouldnt touch them :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

or is it just a "conspiracy theory" nod nod wink wink

Ruu wrote:
    Ah you need the schleep, lack of it leads to obesity says here and many other articles.
    Trying the sugar free version might not be a bad idea or are you addicted to the stuff? :)

nice link Ruu , on average weekday i get between 5-6 hours kip for the last year and weekends prob about 8-9 hours

article makes alot of sense alright and explains alot of habits a creature of the night such as myself gets , must try giving this whole sleeping buzz a go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The only thing I know about red bull is that when I drink it haf and half with vodka it makes the next two days utter hell, hangover wise....I can drink almost anything else (including raw vodka) and not have half the problems mixing it with RB creates.
    Lovely goin' down but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

In 2000, the coroner at the inquest into the death of 18-year-old Ross Cooney from Limerick, called for more research into the effect of energy drinks.

Ross died of sudden adult death syndrome after a basketball match. Hours earlier he had drunk three cans of Red Bull.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/1435409.stm

But don't let that stop you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 magnum69

they say it's an energy drink but i think having three a day is too much! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

The Can says you should not drink more then 500ml in a day. However personally I wouldn't go more then one can a day.

While Caffiene doesn't live in your system long the Taurine in the drink changes that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,736 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I would avoid it if i were you. I was working crazy shift work in a warehouse about 6/7 years ago, diet wasn't great & work was fairly draining so i used to drink a couple of cans of redbull every day. Result: a couple of months later i got diabetes (I'm not overwieght and wasn;t at the time either, so wasn;t weight related development of diabetes). I did a little reading up on it & there were studies in the US that showed that dodgy sleeping patterns cobined with not great diet/eating patterns shows the development of diabetes symptoms in a very short period of time. Not saying red bull was wholly responsible but i'd say the sugar/caffeine overload certainly didn't help. Get the extra sleep in & drink water instead, it'll be a pain at first but you'll notivce a major improvement in your weight situation/energy levels in a matter of weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭LambDave

Well I certainly would recommend Red Bull over that drink NRG that was out a couple of years ago. Had a night of drinking that with vodka and went crazy. Didnt think anything of it until the next morning when I took my pulse...it was absolutely through the roof and didnt settle for the day. Havent gone near the stuff since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

how's your stomach?

seriously though, it was banned in the netherlands. what does that tell you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Don't for out for red bull, it's ridiculously priced.

Tesco do a version called Kick which tastes very similar, the greatest part being the price.........69c

that's unreal.
    what does it cost in a nightclub? €6 or something like that, isn't it?
    and sometimes they don't even give you red bull itself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

miju wrote:
    is it good or bad for ye? let's say like 3 cans of it a day

Whoa! And I thought my two cups a day java addiction was bad!:rolleyes:

Don't for out for red bull, it's ridiculously priced.

Tesco do a version called Kick which tastes very similar, the greatest part being the price.........69c

yeah i've been drinking kick more recently than red bull cos reading the side of the can compared to red bull it seems a little bit healthier with the 0g fat thingy an all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

I drank one once and that'll be my last time too [unless someone forces me :eek: ]
    It tastes so horrible I wanted to get sick when I drank it and the smell is disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Red Rooster in Dunnes is fine stuff!!

You can get litre bottles of the stuff, sometimes cheaper than a single can of Red Bull.

But too much of it has to be bad for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

You don't get enough sleep as it is yet you still drink a huge amount of caffine during the day.

Does this not sound like a terrible idea to you? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Caffeine isn't particularly bad for you (within reasonable consumption limits), but dunno about Glucuronolactone. Though caffeine is kinda addictive - well, you get withdrawl symptoms if you take it reguarly and then stop - and it does no long-term good for you really.

IMO drinking stuff like that is just a cheat for good health.

You'd be surprised how much good an extra hour or two worth of sleep will for you. I get up at half 7 on weekdays, and some weeks I don't end up going to sleep till about 12:30-1:30. If I start going to bed around 11pm the next week I feel so much better in the mornings. You really should get more sleep - no job should be putting you in that position (I'm pretty sure it's illegal to have less than 8 hours between shifts or something like that), but if it's something else causing this lack of time (commuting or whatever) then I dunno, move or get a different job :D

And I *never* miss my breakfast - can you really not spare the 5 minutes it takes to have some cereal or toast? It seriously is just 5 minutes.

I never drink that shíte - never drink coffee either (tastes like death to me). I'd usually have a cup of tea when I start work (and maybe one in the evening), and occasionally a Coke or some soft drink though I try to avoid them.

Though saying all this I'm not particularly healthy either. I rarely do any proper excercise outside walking to/from town (about 35 minute walk) regularly or the occasional running to the bus :D, and I'm usually half-asleep on the bus home from work (5:00-5:30pm) - my work mostly includes (as you can guess) sitting on my ass in front of a 'puter all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Give it up for a week and you'll see whether it's bad for you. See if you get the shakes and really bad headaches like I did. You're caught in a circle and haven't even realised it, you drink red bull for energy but you're consuming so much of it that you can't sleep properly and then you wake up and feel tired so you have another can of it. I used to do the same thing with Red Bull and Coke, I'd advise you to give them up. For the first couple of weeks I was miserable thereafter I had way more energy and slept significantly better.

miju wrote:
    yeah i've been drinking kick more recently than red bull cos reading the side of the can compared to red bull it seems a little bit healthier with the 0g fat thingy an all

May i ask why you think you need to drink it? What is it doing for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭manonmir

i used to be like that a few months ago. how did i get unhooked? breakfast, i have always been bad with breakfast until a couple of months ago, now i spend 5 mins in the morning with a bowl of alpen and i wouldn't know myself compared to when i was shovelling in sugar and caffiene to keep me awake. took a while to get used to eating breakfast, as i hadnt done it consistently in so long i actually found it a bit uncomfortable on the stomach eating that early to start but now im grand.

i only get about 6 hours sleep a night but what you eat plays a big part in your energy levels, if only i'd have listened to that earlier.

gary

so now wouldnt be a good time to tell ye all i smoke about 20 a day then :)

am gonna give up the oul red bull and try the regular meals and extra hour or 2 of sleep a day approach

jaysis only asked a question ended up turning into a full blown counselling session :D

it's the only drink you can smell from a distance when you are drunk.
    rancid stuff.

miju wrote:

am gonna give up the oul red bull and try the regular meals and extra hour or 2 of sleep a day approach

jaysis only asked a question ended up turning into a full blown counselling session :D

Well it worked! Should be thanking us :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭weemcd

LambDave wrote:
    Well I certainly would recommend Red Bull over that drink NRG that was out a couple of years ago. Had a night of drinking that with vodka and went crazy. Didnt think anything of it until the next morning when I took my pulse...it was absolutely through the roof and didnt settle for the day. Havent gone near the stuff since.

A house mate of my friend had a similar experience with red bull, the lads all went on a 2 day bender and had massive amounts of red bull and vodka. The next day one of the lads woke up and his heart was pounding like crazy, felt as if it was gonna burst through his chest. Ended up in hospital afik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

miju wrote:

:eek: So we're going to need a new mod for Bands / Musicians, Conspiracy Theories and Snooker / Pool forums pretty soon :D

Seriously dude, how are you still alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

boost is yer only man, comes in half litre bottles and is well cheaper that RB

500ml bottle, emptly out 200ml, peplace with 200ml vodka. happy days as james would say.

ferdi wrote:
    boost is yer only man, comes in half litre bottles and is well cheaper that RB

500ml bottle, emptly out 200ml, peplace with 200ml vodka. happy days as james would say.

Watch out for those heart attacks ;), they can be a pain in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

And your left arm :p

heart attack?.....i dont get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I've probably gone through about 6 cans of it in a night easy. It drains the body of liquids though so you gotta drink a load of water before you hit the hey in order not to get a nasty hangover.

Id reccomend mixing it with Jager to make some lovely rocket fuel for yourself.

ferdi wrote:
    heart attack?.....i dont get it

Drinking energy drinks+alcohol is dangerous! It speeds up your heart and can cause heart attacks, its nothing new. It also causes extreme dehydration..

well if its not the energy drinks or alcohol, it'll be the smoke, poor diet, lack of sleep, stress and lack of exercise...either way, i'm fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Snap!

\o.