Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish army weapons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

KdjaC wrote:
    Is there pics of these weapons on any site?

Thanks.

kdjac

Here's the Javelin http://www.army-technology.com/projects/javelin/javelin10.html

http://www.army-technology.com/projects/javelin/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

mayhem# wrote:
    Not a very interesting handgun but damn reliable though....

E.
    ya other than the couple we broke they are good era i supposethe where at least 30 years old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Mick86

skink wrote:
    120mm mortar(not sure on what is happening here, possibly up for a change soon enough)
    carl gustav 84mm recoiless rifle(explained already)also hagar, the sight system is very good on it, and you know the saying if it ain't broke don't fix it!

The 120mm is obsolete now. And the 84 (which must be one of the best weapons ever designed) is going strong with updated sights and ammo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Maskhadov

The DF got new 60mm mortars a year or two ago.

http://www.62infantry.com/Weapons_Equipment/Vektor_60mm_Mortar.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,724 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What grenades are used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Some pics I took at the Easter Parade

Victor wrote:
    What grenades are used?
    ones that go bang:D :D;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Victor wrote:
    What grenades are used?

Better than the American ones.

Irish are the M72A1 and NR-2B, if memory serves. Quite handy little light yokes, egg-shaped, great for pegging.

When I first played with the American M-67, which is an absolutely archaic base-ball of metal with a fuse on the end, I was astounded. Still makes a hell of a bang, but nowhere near as chuckable.

NTM

The defence forces are ordering 15 more mowags. A few will be armed with a 30mm cannon. See attached picture,

Img_PIIIC_004.jpg

The DF should have got this as standard on all of the mowags.

Here is the medical variant.. the DF is getting 4 i belive

Img_PIIIC_002.jpg

Here is the command and control variant .. not to sure how many of these were getting

Img_PIIIC_012.jpg

the ones with the cannons are for the cavi and i tought i saw in an cosintor it was more i think it was some thing in the range of 15 for the cav a couple of troop carriers some medic's and some comand posts

The DF has got new body armour (doesnt look up to much) new helmets and new chest rigs for the PDF. It has also got new night vision which looks incredibly flat (something akin to those new flashy digital cameras in terms of dimensions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,724 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Irish are the M72A1 and NR-2B, if memory serves. Quite handy little light yokes, egg-shaped, great for pegging.
    Hand Grenades. :D M72A1 is LAW.

Google finds nothing meaningful for NR-2B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I remember using the Argus 69 ( sp.) , but that was many moons ago.

The DF also got Sophie thermal imaging equipment

sophie-2-thermal-imager.jpg

Field Deployable HQs Containers......on page 26 of this document.. could be better images though

http://www.military.ie/images/pdfs%20for%202006/annualreport05_eng.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Maskhadov wrote:
    The DF has got new body armour (doesnt look up to much)

What do you know about body armour that allows you to determine it's usefulness from looking at it? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Mick86

Victor wrote:
    Hand Grenades. :D M72A1 is LAW.

Google finds nothing meaningful for NR-2B.

He means the NR423. It's on page 4 of this PDF file.

https://naveodtechdiv.jeodnet.mil/IraqOIG/PDF-low/05-Grenade.pdf

cushtac wrote:
    What do you know about body armour that allows you to determine it's usefulness from looking at it? :rolleyes:

Well if its proper body armour then the plates are usually VERY thick. flak jackets on the other hand are a lot thinner but arent up to much.

Maskhadov wrote:
    Well if its proper body armour then the plates are usually VERY thick. flak jackets on the other hand are a lot thinner but arent up to much.

I happen to sell body armour for a living, and I can tell you that you haven't a clue.

Flirstly, flak jacket is a colloquial term that does not refer to a particular type of body armour. It comes from the heavy body armour issued to some Allied bomber crews in WW2 to protect them from German anti-aircraft flak, hence the term.

Secondly, you're confusing hard and soft armour. Hard armour consists of plates made from ceramic or synthetic materials. It's worn in conjuction with the flexible soft armour, which is made from synthetic fibres. Depending on the materials used, the plates used in body armour can range from 1 to 4 centimetres in thickness with the average thickness coming in around 2.5/3cm - not what I'd call 'VERY thick'.

Thirdly, the performance of body armour is very subjective - that's why armour carries a rating to tell you what it protects against. The soft portion of your average military vest is rated at NiJ level IIIA, this provides useful protection against handguns and low-velocity shrapnel (grenades etc.) To say they 'aren't up to much' shows an ignorance of body armour - it's like putting an Impreza up against an F1 car, watch it get beaten around the track & then writing the Impreza off as slow.

Fourthly, how you're able to determine the thickness of the plates (if there are any) being worn in the pictures is beyond me. The soldiers in the pics tend to be holding weapons in front of their chests, making any identification of the plates impossible.

I have served in the military. I know a darn sight more than you do.

Maskhadov wrote:
    I have served in the military. I know a darn sight more than you do.

So why did you think that body armour and flak jackets, both general terms for the same thing, were different items of protective equipment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

cushtac wrote:
    I happen to sell body armour for a living, and I can tell you that you haven't a clue.

You sell body armour as in bullet proof jacket's? Do you have to some kinda license to buy one of them? Just curious how much are they?

cushtac wrote:
    So why did you think that body armour and flak jackets, both general terms for the same thing, were different items of protective equipment?

Yes they are totally different. Flak jackets are an earlier invention. They didnt have steel plates or kevlar. They were just designed to stop or slow down peices of flak or secondary splinters from killing you. These secondary splinters usually were flying at a lower velocity. A bullet will pass right through two sides of a flak jacket no problem.

Body armour as its name suggests will stop a certain amount of ball amunition.

Maskhadov wrote:
    Yes they are totally different. Flak jackets are an earlier invention. They didnt have steel plates or kevlar. They were just designed to stop or slow down peices of flak or secondary splinters from killing you. These secondary splinters usually were flying at a lower velocity. A bullet will pass right through two sides of a flak jacket no problem.

Body armour as its name suggests will stop a certain amount of ball amunition.

I know what a flak jacket is, I've already said where the term came from. The term 'flak jacket' is now a generic term for body armour, much like 'hoover' is used to describe all vacumn cleaners. The PDF call their current-issue body armour, which is made of kevlar and is capable of taking ballistic plates, as a 'flakker'.

The Irish call them flakkers, the Yanks call their vests the Interceptor or IBA, UK police call their vests stabbies or PPE - all different names for the same thing, body armour.

Case in point: http://www.niton999.co.uk/new/bodyarmour.asp
    http://www.bulletproofme.com/
    http://www.vestguard.co.uk/productselect.php?t_id=1%20&t_name=Body%20Armour

Three different sites, all selling different types of protective kit called 'body armour'. There's plenty more companies out there doing the same thing, are you telling me they're all using the wrong terminology?

Other than symantics, do you want to disagree with anything else I've said on the subject?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Lads give it a break no one really cares which one of ye knows more. If ye want to compare willy sizes go to IMO

case closed.

Do you have anything useful to contribute yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

not now but as soon as i have worn the new armour on operations i will let you know what i think of it. as opposed to just speculate about what its like. Walter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Calm down lads. We all learn something here listening to each other.
    I've often learned I'm wrong, but I learned from it all the same.