Night Out Ruined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Actually my whole arguement is based on how unlikely the events are as told and how less incredible story is plausable. It then goes on the fact the girl lost control of herself (drink fuel or general weakness of character) and somebody else got involved. It then goes on the fact that he has no idea what was said but afterwards they are all kicked out which suggests something was said.

The barmaid was wrong to be rude but so was the customer and then to lose emotional control is even worse. Understandable if she was drunk though.

Is there any logical reason they would be kicked out other than they they offended the manager?

If we are to beleive the other story. A girl stands at a bar for 45 minute hopelessly trying to get served. It would appear one barmaid was being sexist by not serving woman, she is then actively rude to this girl. THe girl in a sober mind can't handle the rejection at the bar looses control of her emotions and starts sobing, her dashing BF runs to help but the evil bamaid hearing the word manger the barmaid runs to the security to get them all kicked out. The BF talks to the manager then the GF talks to the manager. While this is happening the evil barmaid manages to get the security to surround the others and everybody is escorted out. THe manger somehow doesn't note?:rolleyes:

Do you see how it just doesn't actually make any sense?
    Alcohol was involde with those involved and those telling the events. When I worked in a bar we used to see silly stuff from customers all the time.

you're basically calling this guy a liar because he wasn't there for parts of the incident. however you were there for precisely none of it and you're telling him how it happened. you weren't there. you have no idea what happened. its perfectly reasonable to assume that the barmaid is a bitch especially because several people on the thread have had experiences with the same barmaid and said the same thing. please stop being antagonistic

that or explain why someone would make up a fictional story such as this and post it on boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

I am not reading anything into it that is the point

the facts are
    1)the girl was rude to the memeber of staff "am I going to get served at all"

See I don't see that question as being rude, I've also worked in bars, and I know it can get crazy busy, but you have to make some kind of effort to serve customers in order at the bar, so if someone was standing there for any serious length of time I wouldn't be surprised if they were catty, or downright rude with a question like this. it'd be a fair cop, you're there to drink and socialise, not to give bad bar staff an easy go of it.

Moreover, while not condoning anyone getting stroppy with bar staff for any reason, (never gets you anywhere anyway), I'd be inclined to side with the bf in this case, since bar staff giving cheek back is in no way the correct response when someone has been waiting ages to get served.

If the bar is understaffed then they need more staff, and that's not the customers fault either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

*jumps on band wagon on spacecoyotes side*

Nights out in Dublin City nearly always contain at least one of the incidents that the OP talked about, its just unfortunate he had to (or his friend) experience it all in one go. Admittedly the GF probably was rude to the barmaid, but who wouldn't be rude after been kept waiting for 45mins? If you have to say "when am I going to be served" you will be viewed as rude. Regardless though, the manager could of diffused this situation in a more civil matter.

I myself have experienced everything you have mentioned, just on a few seperate occasions. In Café en Seine I had to wait for near an hour (luckily we where sitting at the bar) to get a drink, the barman was serving women and men in suits all around me, I had my hand on the bar and I was always trying to make contact with him but he plain ignored me. I got one of my friends in a low cut top to get me a drink, which she did so in 5 minutes.

On another occasion the bouncer (which i think are basically just monkies in leather jackets) refused us entrance to Gogartys in Temple Bar because I made eye contact with him??? He pushed my friends wife away from the door, so much so she fell off the curb and was luckily catched by a pedestrian. We went around the side and went in the side entrance when an employee left. On the way out, I tapped the bouncer on the shoulder and bid him goodnight, the look of shock and anger that we had been inside must of killed him (gladly he didn't kill me), i've also been refused entrance from a pub before by a bouncer when I was with my friend (we're both guys) he goes "don't you think there are better pubs for your kind"... It was only half way down the street that I realised he was insinuatiing I was gay.

My Dad got kicked out a pub last monday at 7:30 in the morning, the guy he works with likes a pint for breakfast, so they went into one of those early opening pubs, my dad got a cup of coffee. The barman comes over and says to my dad "either order something a lot stronger than coffee or get out", he couldn't believe it.

I usually drink in one of a few quite pubs I know around town, which don't have a bouncer, and the barman is over 30 (they tend to be a little less up there own arse on a power trip)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

L31mr0d wrote:
    *jumps on band wagon on spacecoyotes side*

Have to disagree. Just read every page of this thread and his story just doesn't add up. 45 minutes waiting at the bar? His mate being thrown out with a full pint - despite at least 45 minutes gone by without a round in? 9 staff throwing out 4 customers? Total and utter rubbish. Why he's keeping up the charade I don't know. Embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Nightwish wrote:
    what pub and take away did this hapen in, may I ask?

Langton's and the takeaway around the corner from Penny Lane.

By the way Langtons pub is the best pub in Kilkenny we just had the misfortune to be accousted by this mad woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Chakar wrote:
    Langton's and the takeaway around the corner from Penny Lane.

By the way Langtons pub is the best pub in Kilkenny we just had the misfortune to be accousted by this mad woman.
    Pennefeather lane, I think you mean...that would be Sams. Langton is a kip, IMO. I'm surprised you met anyone from Kilkenny in there, its usually just full of hens and stags from the rest of the country.

Nightwish wrote:
    Pennefeather lane, I think you mean...that would be Sams. Langton is a kip, IMO. I'm surprised you met anyone from Kilkenny in there, its usually just full of hens and stags from the rest of the country.

Yeah Pennyfeather Lane, that takeaway there, the chips were good and I had black pudding with it.Delicious..

A lot of people there weren't from Kilkenny cos there was a Andre Bochelli concert on that night so there were a lot of people from Dublin.

What does IMO and LAMO mean?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

skywalker wrote:
    I have to give you credit morningstar, your some windup merchant.

Ha ? Did he post in this thread ? Sort of miss his righteous tones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Chakar wrote:

What does IMO and LAMO mean?
    IMO = In MY Opinion

LMAO = Laughing My Arse Off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,191 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

well fillspectre i have a little update for you. My girlfriend spoke to the boss of the security firm this afternoon. He said that he had spoken to the duty bar manager after we had left & that at no point were either myself or my GF, or my mate & his GF, rude or aggressive towards him, his staff, or the bouncers, but that after we had left, the fifth member of our party did act somewhat innapropriately (note here, that this is seperate to the matter, which the security boss acknowledged). The security chief apologised for letting what should have been an easily cleared up situation (ie buy us a round of drinks and brush the subject under the mat) getting out of hand. He said that he would be speaking to the hotel manager on thursday and would be making a call to us, and that he will be offering us (the two couples and not the fifth member due to his behaviour in, shall we say, the outside incident) the opportunuity to come in and have a few drinks on him.

Does this lend any weight to my story or do you wish to prolong your campaign fillspectre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'd say he does wish to prolong his campaign, now that Laslo has jumped on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

spacecoyote: will u go in tho? i'd feel really awkward. maybe a refund to the ppl payin for the 30th to the amount of the round of drinks they offered. if i was u, i wouldnt go near that place ever again. what we need is a working way to actually hurt and punish places for making such mistakes. in ur case, it was awknowledged, but read the other stories on here. most are very wrong and leave u feelin helpless. i propose a "boycott forum" where we can name ppl/places that we're boycotting this month. haha ambitious but what else can we do?

ps when is this new legislation comin in bout security?

The_B_Man wrote:
    ps when is this new legislation comin in bout security?

After the summer break probably

Dudess wrote:
    I'd say he does wish to prolong his campaign, now that Laslo has jumped on board.

well if he wants to prolong it now what will be his angle...that both sides are in fact lying about the situation by coming to the same conclusion and what actually transpired was the fictional story that fillspectre has decided occured. To be honest what worries me the most here is the fact that he thinks people invent stories. What does that say about him. Does he live in a world of fantasy where he spouts so much sh1te that the lines between fantasy and reality have become so blurred that his paranoia doesn't allow him to trust anything he hears. that, or else its going a long way to do some trolling (probably closer to the truth)

I think he probably doesn't believe you.

The_B_Man wrote:
    i propose a "boycott forum" where we can name ppl/places that we're boycotting this month. haha ambitious but what else can we do?

sounds like a plan but i reckon maybe there would be dubious legality to it wrt libel, slander, etc...

Don't think we'll be going in tbh. Fair play to the top guy for getting to the bottom of it & not just assuming we were a bunch of rowdy drunks causing trouble, but as you say it would be quite awkward, and after the farcical way the situation was dealt with in the first place, i don't think a return is merited, even for the sake of a couple of free drinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

i actually think he may have offered the drinks knowing full well u wont return. well, maybe. either way, they come off slightly better for offerin the drinks. tho i wonder if they have any measures in place to prevent future incidents of a similar nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Fillspectre is currently walking around dicey reillys in a crumpled mac making strange eyebrow shapes, the truth is gonna come out godammit

"nice place ya got here, ever get any trouble?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

well fillspectre i have a little update for you. My girlfriend spoke to the boss of the security firm this afternoon. He said that he had spoken to the duty bar manager after we had left & that at no point were either myself or my GF, or my mate & his GF, rude or aggressive towards him, his staff, or the bouncers, but that after we had left, the fifth member of our party did act somewhat innapropriately (note here, that this is seperate to the matter, which the security boss acknowledged). The security chief apologised for letting what should have been an easily cleared up situation (ie buy us a round of drinks and brush the subject under the mat) getting out of hand. He said that he would be speaking to the hotel manager on thursday and would be making a call to us, and that he will be offering us (the two couples and not the fifth member due to his behaviour in, shall we say, the outside incident) the opportunuity to come in and have a few drinks on him.

Does this lend any weight to my story or do you wish to prolong your campaign fillspectre.

Tell ya what, invite fillspectre and laslo to come in with you and watch you drink your free pints, with the manager there. I think short of that will prove to them that it actually happened. Whats funny is that they don't seem to be giving a reason for you to exagerate your story, its not like you did something heroic in it, its just a story, one which has already been verified by others who have been to the same bar, and pretty much anyone who tries to get a pint off an obnoxious barperson in Dublin.

I'd go in and ask for the obnoxious barmaid to give you a public apology in front of everyone, then get her to pour your beers. Then drink them right in front of her. Make her feel as uncomfortable as she made your friends GF being ignored for so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

No i won't be returning there again, and neither will my friends or any of the rest of my group of friends/family who i've filled in on the story

Had an almost identical problem once in a nightclub in Dublin and came up with a novel way of getting the matter sorted out to my satisfaction. Here's how I did it:

Step 1: Went down to the nearest Garda station the next day and found out when the nightclub was due to renew its intoxicating liqour licence.

Step 2: Wrote to the proprieter of the club in question and outlined what had happened and that myself and four of my friends/witnesses who were present on the evening in question would be attending the district court sitting on this particular date (put in the date so they knew we were serious) for the purposes of opposing their application for their intoxicating liqour licence renewal, if we did not all receive a full refund for what we paid to get into the nightclub and the cost of the drinks we paid for which we didn't get to drink 'cos we were kicked out.

As it happened their licence was up for renewal within 2 months of the incident. The grounds of objection were to be that the proprieter was in breach of health & safety legislation by virtue of the way in which myself and my friends were assaulted by security staff and that he was also in breach of a duty of care owed to us and that the proprietor was not of fit character to run a licenced premises if he was in breach of health and safety legislation & operating a workplace where customers could be assaulted and leave with injuries. We all signed the letter and sent it by registered post (you have to give notice of objecting to a licence renewal so we had to be sure it was received).

Step 3: The owner wrote back apologising for the incident, saying that he was no longer using this particular security company and wished to invite us back to the club. We all felt when we read between the lines that he wanted us to go back and would dish out a round or two on the house. I wanted to go ahead and object, but I had a funny feeling I would be on my own if I did, however we had a vote and the majority decided to return and yes, we did get free drinks!

"Everything is possible if you just wish hard enough..." Peter Pan

P.S> And no, none of us are solicitors!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Omg! You said something negative about someone of another nationality! You must be a racist, nay, a card-carrying member of the Nazi party! Out of here, Adolf!

HE'S NOT A FUCKING NAZI, DONNIE! HE'S A FUCKING NIHILIST.

that's all i have to add to this thread.

oh, wait. yeah. bouncers. some can be dicks. if they ask you to leave, then just get your coat and go. don't give them the satisfaction of lording it over you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Dragan wrote:
    To be honest, when the new legislation comes in about security work then so much the better

about time as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Bouncers, for the most part, are the biggest thundercunts in the country.

My story is nothing in comparison to the **** some people have put up with here.

A few years back I had my 21st birthday party. Friends and family type thing. We went to, and I have no fucking problem naming it here, Icon niteclub afterwards... This is where the fun started. My sister was only 16 at the time, so she took my girlfriends arm (also 21) and walked in, no questions asked. I was happy at this stage as her entry to a club was a concern. Next 2 of my good friends who look like your typical metallers (long hair, black long sleeved tops), 20 and 19 years old were both stopped and told that the bouncers wouldn't take their passports as ID.

I stated that when I was asked for ID on previous nights out that my passport did the job.

The bouncers response "Did we ask you... No, we've no problem with you"
    I of course took offense to this and told the bouncer that they were legally obliged to take a passport as it is government ID (which I didn't know to be true or not tbh).

Spent a good 10 mins arguing with them because my sis and g/f had paid their money at this stage.

Anyway by the grace of someone a squad car pulled up outside the main entrance to smyths and my friends explained to the bouncers that they'd be informing the guards of their actions. They walked down to the car and before they made it back up the bouncers said we could all go in.

Assho/es

Controversy time: I personally think that bouncers are members of society with thicker skulls and lower IQ's than the average joe soap and can only get their kicks by lording some pathetic, for that is what it truly is, power over punters on a night out.

Oh... my... God. You cannot be serious. "fantasy and reality have become blurred"? "My paranoia doesn't allow me to trust anything I hear"? Hahahaha. Brilliant.

I've pointed out that your story doesn't even tentatively add up; it's utterly ludicrous to be perfectly honest. Now the 'security chief' has invited you all around for drinks? Honestly, it's getting more and more hilarious by the minute. Can you not just admit that either 1) you're just talking rubbish or 2) something maybe similar happened but you've exaggerated a lot of it for dramatic effect.

Controversy time: I personally think that bouncers are members of society with thicker skulls and lower IQ's than the average joe soap and can only get their kicks by lording some pathetic, for that is what it truly is, power over punters on a night out.

Hardly controversial. Just demonstrates that you're immature enough to make sweeping generalisations based on your obviously limited experiences. I personally find that the ratio of a$$holes to decent people is roughly the same with bouncers as it is with the general, drinking public; who can be just as ham-fisted, pig ignorant and downright twatty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

you're basically calling this guy a liar because he wasn't there for parts of the incident. however you were there for precisely none of it and you're telling him how it happened. you weren't there. you have no idea what happened. its perfectly reasonable to assume that the barmaid is a bitch especially because several people on the thread have had experiences with the same barmaid and said the same thing. please stop being antagonistic

that or explain why someone would make up a fictional story such as this and post it on boards?

no i think he is calling him a liar because his story doesn't add up at all...
    which it doesn't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Dublin bar staff give the occupation a bad name! We are all kind and considerate unless someone doesn't pay for a drink or gives out some major ****! :D

Darragh29 wrote:
    Had an almost identical problem once in a nightclub in Dublin and came up with a novel way of getting the matter sorted out to my satisfaction. Here's how I did it:

Step 1: Went down to the nearest Garda station the next day and found out when the nightclub was due to renew its intoxicating liqour licence.

Step 2: Wrote to the proprieter of the club in question and outlined what had happened and that myself and four of my friends/witnesses who were present on the evening in question would be attending the district court sitting on this particular date (put in the date so they knew we were serious) for the purposes of opposing their application for their intoxicating liqour licence renewal, if we did not all receive a full refund for what we paid to get into the nightclub and the cost of the drinks we paid for which we didn't get to drink 'cos we were kicked out.

As it happened their licence was up for renewal within 2 months of the incident. The grounds of objection were to be that the proprieter was in breach of health & safety legislation by virtue of the way in which myself and my friends were assaulted by security staff and that he was also in breach of a duty of care owed to us and that the proprietor was not of fit character to run a licenced premises if he was in breach of health and safety legislation & operating a workplace where customers could be assaulted and leave with injuries. We all signed the letter and sent it by registered post (you have to give notice of objecting to a licence renewal so we had to be sure it was received).

Step 3: The owner wrote back apologising for the incident, saying that he was no longer using this particular security company and wished to invite us back to the club. We all felt when we read between the lines that he wanted us to go back and would dish out a round or two on the house. I wanted to go ahead and object, but I had a funny feeling I would be on my own if I did, however we had a vote and the majority decided to return and yes, we did get free drinks!

"Everything is possible if you just wish hard enough..." Peter Pan

P.S> And no, none of us are solicitors!!!

I ilke it, very smartly done.

And \m/_(>_<)_\m/ & Laslo I'm not going to argue over the reality of the story anymore because everything i've said is true & you appear to be arguing merely for the sake of argument at this stage. I've no reason to invent or exaggerate my story. Numeous people have spoken of similar treatment by both staff & security in this same bar. I've told you all what happened to my best abilities & what the resolution of the story has been & tried to fill any holes that the vocal miority have tried to poke in the story. It may be hard for you to believe, but believe me it was hard for me to believe it was happening, as it happened.

I don't hate all bouncers or all bar staff, in fact some of the security escorting us from the premises were quite apologetic, whereas others were a little more obnoxious (in fact my GF told me last night that one of the bouncers made an inappropriate comment about my mates GF to another bouncer, not knowing that my GF was in earshot to the effect of "...it being the girls time of the month". That's not on if you ask me!). My initial problem was that a situation which could have been quite easily handled by the staff of the bar was blown out of all proportion resulting in our night being spoilt. And there appear to be quite a number of people who have had experiences quite like this all over the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

well fillspectre i have a little update for you etc...

No I don't beleive you as I pointed out you changed your story and I very much doubt this story either.
    I worked in pubs and with security and your account of events do not add up plain and simple.

For those that beleive you and question how I read your story let me be clear the bits you fill in on my story are exactley what you are accusing me of. I don't beleive the barmaid got to the manager and gave him a story becasue there is no mention of these events I am only going on basics of given information. The security appear now to have acted on their own without anybody asking them to escort them out. Security do not remove peacful people unless asked by the staff.

This addition of security company acting independent of the bar is quite unlikely like the rest of the story. Why did he contact the security company in the first place? It is like a episode of Lost or something with a new piece of the story revealed.

You will get people to believe this story but it does not negate the fact your story is obviously bias and exagerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Bouncers, for the most part, are the biggest thundercunts in the country.

I find it higly amusing that someone who would knock bouncers to such a degree would be so happy that his UNDERAGE sister was allowed entry to the club....or is it a case that bouncers should only be doing the job that suited you???

My take on it is that

1) All parties should have been checked for ID....especially girls. The simple fact is that younger girls can look more mature that younger boys....boys look exactly like that....i have never seen a 16 year old boy who could fool me, i have caught plenty of 16 year old girls who looked older trying to get into my clubs/pubs etc.

2) Anyone trying to gain entry to a club needs to be able to prove there age....your two other friends had passports and this should have been accepted without a problem. If the club in question has some kind of "dress code" they want to enforce, they need a member of management out on the door to do so....this is not the place of security.

In short, if it was me on the door your sister would have been asked for ID and refused accordling....if she had a fake idea it would have been spotted, and that cop car would have been called over for a completely different reason.

Your attitude towards bouncers is nothing knew tbh..... i find it normally best to judge people as people and will treat them as they treat me. I go out of may to be polite when working a door, not because i feel it's part of the job, just because i'm a polite guy.

My simple rules are
    1) If you have no id, your not coming in.
    2) If you have fake id, the cops are being called.
    3) If you are too drunk your not coming in.
    4) If you give me any kind of ****, for any of the above, your NEVER coming in.
    5) If i catch you in my club with some illegal substances, your getting done for it.
    6) If you commit violence in my club, or try bullying or intimidating people in any way, then you will be removed and you will be barred.
    7) Any "rules" about dresscode etc can be enforced by management , unless we are talking obvious hygene or health issues!

You can think what you like about doormen, we really don't give a crap. It's like any job, there are always people who will down at you for it. I would simply suggest that next time your friends get stopped, think about who else your trying to get in, and if one of them should be a minor then your don't really have any moral high ground to stand on my friend. ;)