Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night Out Ruined

• 24-07-2006 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭

Just thought I'd vent a little gripe of mine.

I was out with my girlfriend, another couple and a single friend of mine in Dicey Reilly's pub in Dublin city centre on Saturday night. The weather was good, theres a nice beer garden, so on the whole it was a good looking night! we were at a private function (30th birthday) which had reserved the upper tier of the beer garden and which had its own small bar, being serviced for most of the night by two Polish/Eastern European girls. Anyway, the night was going fine until, my friends girlfriend went to the bar to get herself a drink. All 3 of us lads had previously been to the bar to buy rounds and were served within minutes. 45 minutes later, the girl arrived back to the table, crying and with no drink. Having been ignored for the previous 45 minutes whilst standing at the bar, she eventually got annoyed and asked the bar girl was she ever going to be served, to which she was answered, "No".

Obviously enough, her boyfriend wasn't too impressed with seeing his girlfriend upset. He went up to the bar and asked the girl could he speak to the duty manager. (at this point i would like to point out that no-one was particularly drunk as we were relatively late going out). The bargrill scowled at my mate and went downstairs. At which point two lounge girls came up to my mate and asked him what his problem was. He said "I'm not speaking with you about it, i am waiting to speak to the manager". At this point he was brought downstairs to see the manager, who had been told by his barstaff that she had been harassed and abused by him & his girlfriend.

I, in the meantime had gone downstairs to use the toilet. On arriving back upstairs to the table, my friend had returned to the table and i noticed his girlfriend was standing close by speaking to the manager. I asked if everything had been cleared up and was told that no, my mate had been told by the bouncers that he had been abusive to staff and that he could finish his pint and then would have to leave. Only then did i notice that there were three bouncers standing close by.

My mate had a full pint in front of him, we were sitting quietly finishing our drinks, understandably confused and embarassed at the situation, when a bouncer came over quite aggressively and said "I told you to finish your drink and leave", to which my mate answered that he was finishing his drink but that he'd had a full pint in front of him. Suddenly the table was suppounded by 9, i repeat 9 bouncers to escort 2 couples and a friend from the premises, who hadn't raised their voices the entire night & had merely asked to speak to a manager because one of their party felt she had been mistreated. I have never been thrown out of a bar in my life, and to create such a scene was a complete farce in my opinion.

Needless to say, we will never be returning to DICEY O'REILLY'S again!!

What do other people think? Has anyone else experienced mistreatment or heavy-handedness in Clubs/Pubs??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Had similar experiences in Dicey Reilys myself to be honest. Rude and ignorant bar staff who just seemed to have an attitude of disdain towards the people they're meant to be serving. I haven’t been in over a year because of two separate incidents – one where the serving staff were just generally rude – the second where a barman took my €50 note, gave me change of a €20, accused me of lying and trying to rob him and had the bouncers escort me out after finally giving me my money back.

It's a shame because it really is one of the nicest beer gardens in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

The bouncers there are absolute ****s, had bad experiences with them before, also the place isn't even that nice, outside is so crowded on fri/sat nights you can't even move. Much better pubs around to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Expect this thread to be locked/binned/incinerated by noon. Diceys solicitors won't like this one little bit.

Pighead got thrown out of and barred from McGowans in Phibsboro many moons ago. What was my crime I hear you say, rape pillage murder incest? No my crime was .......falling asleep in the toilet! PATHETIC

It was a Tuesday night and Pighead was after doing 12 hours of solid work. Went to McGowans for a refreshing pint and a feed, which led to me going to the toilets for a refreshing poo. Ended up falling asleep on the toilet for 2 hours.

Bouncer had to kick the door down apparently. I Came to rather quickly and explained that I wasn't drunk and that my sister worked behind the bar and could he please refrain from dragging me by my collar. This made the gorilla drag poor Pighead with more force towards the bar and he yelled at the bar staff "Does anybody know this clown?" Triumphantly I waved at my sis, she looked back, at me, a cock crew somewhere in the distance and she said "Nope never laid eyes on him in my life". Pighead wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Pighead wrote:
    What was my crime I hear you say, rape pillage murder incest? No my crime was .......falling asleep in the toilet! PATHETIC

It was a Tuesday night and Pighead was after doing 12 hours of solid work. Went to McGowans for a refreshing pint and a feed, which led to me going to the toilets for a refreshing poo. Ended up falling asleep on the toilet for 2 hours.

To be honest, i can understand where the bouncer was coming from.....though maybe not completely agree with how he handled it. When i was doing door work i often came across people falling asleep in the jacks.

99% of the time it's not for a good reason, but you can find out what it is pretty quick.

Sure, you falling asleep means a 99% of your being pissed as hell or off your face on something, but a 60 second chat from the bouncer and he should have known that you were not on something!!!! The silly boy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Crying cause she didn't get served, sounds like she was on abit? Are you sure thats what really happened between them at the bar?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Pighead wrote:
    Triumphantly I waved at my sis, she looked back, at me, a cock crew somewhere in the distance and she said "Nope never laid eyes on him in my life". Pighead wept.
    Well you're coming to the next wedding I'm at! (if you're still alive that is). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

Just thought I'd vent a little gripe of mine.

I was out with my girlfriend, another couple and a single friend of mine in Dicey Reilly's pub in Dublin city centre on Saturday night. The weather was good, theres a nice beer garden, so on the whole it was a good looking night! we were at a private function (30th birthday) which had reserved the upper tier of the beer garden and which had its own small bar, being serviced for most of the night by two Polish/Eastern European girls. Anyway, the night was going fine until, my friends girlfriend went to the bar to get herself a drink. All 3 of us lads had previously been to the bar to buy rounds and were served within minutes. 45 minutes later, the girl arrived back to the table, crying and with no drink. Having been ignored for the previous 45 minutes whilst standing at the bar, she eventually got annoyed and asked the bar girl was she ever going to be served, to which she was answered, "No".

I definately know the girl you're on at. Was upstairs in the outside part a few weeks ago and she was giving all the customers at the bar the filthiest of looks. I mentioned it to another girl who was waiting in line and she couldn't believe it either.

Unfortunately she must have copped what we were talking about because when the girl gave her her laser card to pay for her round she was standing waiting about 15 mins (not making this up!) to get her card back. The girl went up and asked the bar girl who said something about the transaction taking that long. This was beyond ridiculous and the girl told the girl behind the bar that she was being extremely rude.

I stupidly stood there another five mins waiting to get served before I realised it wasnt going to happen and went to another part of the bar.

I've had my fair share of s***y jobs but theres absolutely no need for this behaviour. Would think twice about going back especially since they hike up the price of drink at 8 o clock - even during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

What do people think ?

Bout time we all drank a little less out and more at home... :D ..... was in templebar three weeks back, first time for a long time and bound to be my last.. I don't frequent the place so can't remember the bar but, first pub, not even thru the door I was accosted and removed from the premises for being "Too drunk". Had'nt had a beer, was smartly dressed, nothing mad about my appearance....

I sometimes get the odd refusal but not when no beer consumed...:confused: added to which I was physically removed even tho I had waited to go past the bouncer, not pushed, no aggression, nothing, simply man-handled out the door like a crook...

Maddest one I ever saw tho was in London in Waxy O'Connors. An american guy had waited a long time for a plate of mussells, complained they smelled off, was accosted by two bouncers and told to leave (after they made him pay for the mussells), I was stood right next to him and when I asked why he was being removed I was told to shut the f' up or get out too !!!!!

I think I'll stick to my supermarket beer at home.. :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

I've seen the bouncers in Dicey's go heavy handed on several occasions, that's why I go out of my way to avoid the place whenever possible.

On on occasion my friend got thrown out and when I was going out to him with his coat one bouncer ran up and deck him while he was on the phone to his sister!

Needless to say I called the cops, identified the bouncer in question and gave a statement against him. I knew it'll probably amount to nothing but these lads need to know that there not a law onto themselves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Crying cause she didn't get served, sounds like she was on abit? Are you sure thats what really happened between them at the bar?

She was more so upset at the embarassment of standing at the bar watching other people being served ahead of her & then being told she wouldn't be served when she asked about it! Admittedly enough, maybe she got a little overly upset (but isn't that the prerogative of the fairer sex), but it was just the fact that it had to come to that in the 1st place.

To finish the story, whe we were outside, we got the number of the boss of the security firm from the namebadge of one of the bouncers, who came up and spoke to myself & my girlfriend outside. He said, which is a valid point, that the bouncers can only act on what they are told by the barstaff, but it was all very heavy-handed if you ask me. He also admitted that if the bar manager had a have just said sorry for the mix-up, here's a drink for the girl, the whole situation would have been forgotten and everyone could have carried on with their night. It was all just a farce really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Joseph

maybe she got a little overly upset (but isn't that the prerogative of the fairer sex)

Nicely put ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

The fact is most of the pubs in Dublin are packed at the weekend and it makes no difference if they're rude or throw people out. They can afford to.

Vote with your feet. Only go to places where your custom is valued. I personally try to avoid anywhere with doormen where possible.

Tazz T wrote:
    Vote with your feet. Only go to places where your custom is valued. I personally try to avoid anywhere with doormen where possible.

Indeed, because that makes sense!!! ;)

Some pubs have great door men, some pubs have sh1t heads....it's the same everywhere.

To be honest, when the new legislation comes in about security work then so much the better....it will go a long way towards improving the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Tazz T wrote:
    Vote with your feet. Only go to places where your custom is valued.

Yep, it's as simple as that.

Don't take any sh!t. You're the customer after all!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I would ring Joooooooooeeee Duffaaaaaaayy

No seriously, I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

what happened to 'the customer is always right'?

Tazz T wrote:
    The fact is most of the pubs in Dublin are packed at the weekend and it makes no difference if they're rude or throw people out. They can afford to.

I agree, tbh they had two functions on, both full, the bar was full & so was the beer garden, so what difference does it make to them to lose the custom of a party of 5.

In reality, are there any pubs, other than locals, left where the individual customer is valued???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

To the OP, will you go back to the place again?

No i won't be returning there again, and neither will my friends or any of the rest of my group of friends/family who i've filled in on the story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

I don't know how easy it would be to do, but I'd actually try to get that story (or this thread with all the similar comments about the same pub) published.

Nothing like a bit of bad publicity to make them change their ways.

I hate sh!te like that!!!!!

(Whilst you were being kicked out anyway, & have no intention of returning, I'd have went up & clocked the bar girl one for causing it all in the 1st place.
    (Though I don't condone violence or anything!!! :p but it might make her think twice about being rude in future also)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Alot of the doormen in Dublin are total ****heads on a powerbuzz. It's like some of them are just itching for a bit of a trouble to start. Any excuse to wade in and manhandle some fella out the door. At least there's plenty of choice so if you are mistreated in one pub/club the easy solution is just don't go back there again.
    Problem is, and I agree with previous poster on this one, is that most city centre establishments don't really give a toss about you or your custom. They don't really have a 'regular' crowd as such, they will always be packed full of what to them are just random joes and janes. So even if you or I decide to take our custom elsewhere, they're not too bothered as there will always be plenty of people to take our place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Kind of an obvious question here but why would someone wait 45 minutes to get served? TBH if I get to the the bar and I then see someone get to the bar AFTER me yet get their order in BEFORE me, well lets just say you'd better hope you're not the one behind the bar who made that choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

you obviously haven't seen the piece of work that was working behind the bar - shes venomous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

BoozyBabe wrote:
    (Whilst you were being kicked out anyway, & have no intention of returning, I'd have went up & clocked the bar girl one for causing it all in the 1st place.
    (Though I don't condone violence or anything!!! :p but it might make her think twice about being rude in future also)

That must be one of the most idiotic things i've read on boards in recent months...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

I am amazed.

First off if my girlfriend went missing for 10 minutes up at the bar I would check on her but at 45 mins I would be very worried.

Secondly The girl said something smart to the bar staff and got a smart reply. Not the best customer care but understandable if the bar was jam packed.

Any person who goes away crying after making a smart comment and getting one back has issues. I get the boyfriend being bothered seeing his GF upset but if he went looking for the manager and other people tried to help I doubt he was the most polite or patient person alcohol or not.

Now the story just doesn't hang together very well over all. As it is only one side of the story it sounds exactley like one side with a logical rythm missing.

It is very easy to beleive that your friends were rude to the staff without even hearing the other side. Don't go again but I think no differently about the pub

BoozyBabe wrote:

now who'd have thought a girl named BoozyBabe would say such a thing ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

now who'd have thought a girl named BoozyBabe would say such a thing ;):D

Ha Ha Ha!!!

I was actually messing though:- I've never hit a person in my life!

Peace wrote:
    That must be one of the most idiotic things i've read on boards in recent months...

Kinda funny alright....nothing like a bit of Assault to sort out any situation!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I am amazed.

First off if my girlfriend went missing for 10 minutes up at the bar I would check on her but at 45 mins I would be very worried.

Secondly The girl said something smart to the bar staff and got a smart reply. Not the best customer care but understandable if the bar was jam packed.

Any person who goes away crying after making a smart comment and getting one back has issues. I get the boyfriend being bothered seeing his GF upset but if he went looking for the manager and other people tried to help I doubt he was the most polite or patient person alcohol or not.

Now the story just doesn't hang together very well over all. As it is only one side of the story it sounds exactley like one side with a logical rythm missing.

It is very easy to beleive that your friends were rude to the staff without even hearing the other side. Don't go again but I think no differently about the pub

Was thinking that myself. I can definetly be a bollox at times but I can attest that I've never been escorted out of a pub for no good reason. This whole story sounds very one-sided (perhaps the OP is biased or he's not getting the full story about what went on).

BoozyBabe wrote:

The smart arsed GF was the one who started it and lost control of herself so maybe he should have beaten her up? :eek:

You obviously don't know what bouncers do to those who hurt memebers of staff. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

It does sound like a bit much but I have been in that situation myself before and I honestly nearly cried myself!! I was waiting at the bar, the bar woman was serving everyone else around me! I eventually said "excuse me I've been here for 20 minutes and about 50 people have come and went with their drinks, why am i still here?".. she shrugged and served someone else?? :confused: :rolleyes: I got sooo angry and really I was close to tears.... eventually she was just about to serve some fella and he asked her to serve me instead. People like this should not be working in places where they have to deal with the customers...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Many years ago, my father advised me that any pub that needed doormen was generally to be avoided.
    The older I get the more I think he was right.

I am amazed.

Well for a start we were sitting in view of the bar and so there was no need to worry that she was missing or in any danger. A work colleague of the girl was standing beside her when the girl refused to serve her, who none of the rest of us know so is hardly going to be showing any bias that you're implying we might have.

Whether you believe it or not, my mate is a smart, polite guy. All of this was happening within 10 feet from where we sat. He walked to the side of the bar (no barging through a crowd of people). The two lounge girls were initially standing about 3-4 feet behind him having a little bitching session before approaching him. He was polite to them, all he said was that he'd spoken to the girl behind the bar and was waiting to speak to the manager. Generally in any situation, not necessarily confrontational, the fewer people involved the easier it is to find the truth in a matter.

I don't see how the story doesn't hold together. To be honest, in my opinion, if they really believed that either of them had been abusive to their staff, they wouldn't have been allowed back upstairs to finish his drink and would have been thrown straight out.

If you ask me, it's their behaviour that defies logic, and judging by the previous posts here, surely you can admit that its not beyond the realms of possibility that this happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Christ, just do the consumer thing and vote with your petrol bombs and pitchforks.

We've already establised that violence solves everything.

spurious wrote:
    Many years ago, my father advised me that any pub that needed doormen was generally to be avoided.

Excellent Advice :)

spurious wrote:

Ah yes, it would be a great world alright...

Sadly, while this would be ideal it is not really viable anymore. Down the local can be great if you are well established in the community....however for a city center town to have no doorman would be crazy!

It would be nice to even think that the so called "qualtiy" of a pub and it's "crowd" would ensure that doormen were merely there to hold the door but that is not the case either.

The simple fact is that when you are going out you are responsible only to yourself for where you go and what you do....some pubs are trouble, some pubs are not. Avoid the former. ;)

I find that the pubs that are 'holes' have the best doormen

flamingmuppet.jpg

How many times did you edit that? :D

TomCo wrote:
    How many times did you edit that? :D
    Once, it didnt show up so I added the attachment :)

If you ask me, it's their behaviour that defies logic, and judging by the previous posts here, surely you can admit that its not beyond the realms of possibility that this happened

Logic defying aspects of your story
    1) Somebody waited 45 minutes at a bar to get a drink
    2) Girl saying smart comment to bar staff isn't being rude
    3) Rude customer starts crying when told "No"
    4) Boyfriend remains patient while waiting for the manager after two memebers of staff approach him. (is this the same bar that it takes 45 minutes to talk to a barmaid?)
    5) THis bar that is really hard to get a drink in your firend managed to get a full pint while it took 45 minutes for his GF to not get one and he was occupied talking to people
    6) They decide to put 9 personal on 4 people
    7) You acurately tell the 3rd hand story that you were not witness to all events

Your story is not out of the realms of possibility but it is alot more conceivable that

GF goes to bar and is having trouble getting served (10-20 mins) says a something smart the barmaid reacts the GF says something else and then the barmaid says something cutting. GF either actually gets upset and/ or starts crying.
    BF gets angry becasue his woman is scorned. Goes to bar asked for his ordder asks for the manger, told he is busy but can they help. Generally angry and slightly rude, the more senior bar staff goes over to see if he can deal . Met with incresed anger and actual rudeness.
    Manger is got, manager hears the story doesn't agree and say he won't do anything BF says some angry things. Manger tells barstaff to kick them out as they are likely to cause trouble given they weren't happy with resolution but let them finish their drinks.

Now doesn't that sound more like how it would happen than just concievably in the realm of possibilities..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Logic defying aspects of your story
    1) Somebody waited 45 minutes at a bar to get a drink

That's the one that would do it for me...why would you stay in a bar that you had to wait 45 mins for a drink? Never mind that the barstaff were snotty. Presumably everyone had finished their pints within that 45mins, why not just take your custom elsewhere?

I have come across snotty barstaff or staff who served others before me, I (we) just left the bar - I didn't start crying about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Good to hear that you won't be returning OP, places like that aren't worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

i think you have hit it on the head there... and 45 min... was her boyfriend or even anybody else worried where she was... something not right here
    i also like the way the OP dropped in "by two Polish/Eastern European girls" in his original post...

I'm starting to get a feel for what went on now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dragan wrote:
    Indeed, because that makes sense!!! ;)

Some pubs have great door men, some pubs have sh1t heads....it's the same everywhere.

To be honest, when the new legislation comes in about security work then so much the better....it will go a long way towards improving the scene.

I'm not familiar with the legislation being introduced, can ya gimme a summary por favor? :o

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'm not familiar with the legislation being introduced, can ya gimme a summary por favor? :o

Basically right now the "security" market is full of dodgy firms with dodgy guys working for them. A high percentage of them are merely set up to tax dodge or launder money, and a large amount of the "security officers" will have some form ( i.e done time, been convicted of something ).

Low level club/pub and shop security is a low level job, and i will happily admit it because i have done them all. I worked with some characters, some gents and some chancers.

Anyway, the government decided it is just too messy so brough in new legislation.... bascially you now need to have a license if you want to do retail, a different one for clubs/pubs and a different one for industrial etc.

To get these licenses you need to go through a very long, very invasive and very involved process involving you, several government bodies and a large amount of paper work.

I have witnessed the paper work involved, and it is HUGELY involved and actually very well designed that we no longer have thugs and criminals running security companies ( when one of the most notorious criminals in Ireland fronts a security company you know things are bad ).

Anyway, as of, i think, the end of next month, you need to have this license to operate.....as of the end of , i think, April 2007 all INDIVIDUAL "security officers" or "bouncers" will need there own license as well. In short.....if you have any form, you will never be able to work again. Which can be good and bad i suppose.

All in all, the industy will hopefully become a dam site cleaner....but to expect it to ever be "public focused" is foolish. It WILL make it better though, i am quite sure of that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I wasnt allowed back into a pub last weekend becasue I was talking to some one who got kicked out.

They can pick any reason what so ever to throw you out and there is little you can do about.

Needless to say I wont go back to a place I was treathed badly in. The more people they threat baldy the more people wont go to the place and eventually it might have enough of an impact to cop people on.

ALso does any one know when these knew bouncer laws/guidelines are coming in?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

the bouncers were just doing their job, if they're told by a (possibly igornant/rude/poor-quality) manager to put someone out that's what they have to do.

i'm not surprised at the story at all. i find that in both food retail and pubs very rude people seem to be even able to become managers. i'm a bit surprised that an eastern bloc girl behaved that way to your g/f, because in all honesty i nearly as a rule get served by some of our new immigrants, because assuming their english is good enough to understand their manner is usually much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

My brother was accosted by three big ugly bruisers in a pub not too long ago, and dragged of the pub in a full nelson. When I heard what happened, I spoke to the maanger, and it was him who had ordered this treatment.

The reason? My brother had the cheek to look slightly like somebody else who had physically assualted the manager in another pub, in a town on the other side of Ireland. The manager proceeded to essentially say "tough sh*t, not my fault he looks like someone else" and refused to apologize. Should have taken a flipping lawsuit out against him.

Some of these people are truly utter assholes and I find that utter asshole + establishment where people rely on their so called service is just asking for trouble. Screw the pubs, go to the offy and enjoy a night in with your mates instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

What idiot waits 45 minutes to get served?! :confused:

I have been to a lot of pubs and clubs and I have never seen anyone have to wait anywhere remotely near that amount of time...Nor would I expect anyone to actually consider waiting that amount of time...