Night Out Ruined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Thank you. I don't know why someone wouldn't believe it. I generally take people at face value. Seriously, why would I want to invent it?

Because some people have nothing better to do, and just like to argue, gain some kind of sense of self importance and superiority from doing so and will largely just argue the opposite, or something they don't even feel strongly about because they can.

Dude, the way i see it is that something happened and you felt hard done by and very much entitled to have a nice bitching session about it and don;t let anyone tell you otherwise!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I have my own story and, as a result, a pub I will *never* go back to.

Throughout second year and half of third year of college there was a pub in town we always went to. A nice little place on the quays (I won't say the name) that was good for a quiet pint with some mates. On the last day of term before our christmas break a few of us decided to head there for a few pints.

There was 5 of us there and we had a seat up the back. Next to us there was a group of 4, 2 girls and 2 lads. They were quite loud and rowdy and we didn't pay them too much attention. Later on two of us went out to the smoking area and one of the couples were there. They were waffling on about the drugs they had bought and how they were gonna get off their heads, etc, etc so we just ignored them pretty much (drink is more than enough for us :))

Next thing, the other couple came out to the smoking area and were headed for the toilets. The second girl said to the first one in the smoking area "we're going down to do it now" and the girl said back "you better keep me a line ya cúnt" So we were thinking "classy group" and we headed back in for our drinks.

About an hour later we were at our table and the other group were at theirs. I had been texting my boyfriend on and off during the night and I had my phone on the table. I got up to go to the bathroom and when I came back I copped that my phone was gone. I asked the girls at my table if they had seen it and one of them said "oh crap..." It turns out that while I was in the toilet one of the girls had come over from the other table, sat in my seat and started talking to the girls. They thought it was a bit odd because she asked if they had boyfriends and why weren't they out and then got up and left. That was all she said.

When I came back they saw me searching for my phone and the two girls had a bit of a giggle and shouted over "Aww did ya lose something?" while she waved her own phone at me. So myself and the rest of the girls pretty much knew that these scumbags had stolen my phone. I went up to the bar manager and told him that my phone was gone and we think it may have been stolen and I asked if there were cctv camera's in that area of the pub. He said he'd have a look and then my mate told him that she thought it was one of the girls from the other table. He said he would call the gardaí if we wanted and my mate said yes. While we were waiting for the police to arrive I went out the front to have a smoke and there was the bar manager having a chat with one of the guys from the group. They didn't see me at first and I heard a snippet of their conversation. The bar manager said "Ah don't worry about it. Nothing'll come of it" Then he spotted me and they stopped talking.

So anyway, the gardaí arrived and we were asked to go outside to talk to them. We told them what happened and my mate threw in the bit about the coke and then we were told to move away from the pub as they were going to go in and speak to the 4 people and get them outside. We moved around the corner and had a look back around at the pub. We saw the bar manager talking to the gardaí and shaking his head. He shook hands with them and then the two officers walked off up the quays without going anywhere near the pub.

I found out later from another pair of gardaí that the bar manager had told them that we were known for causing trouble in the pub (total bull) and that they shouldn't waste their time speaking to the 4 people as they were friends of his.

None of us have been back there since and we never will.

Absolute c*nts. FillSpectre, how did you gauge that the girl in the Dicey O'Reilly's (whatever it's called) story was being smart? She was waiting ages to get served. She asked if she was ever going to get served. Sounds pretty reasonable to me. Maybe there was a hint of smartness to it. Big deal. It was more than warranted. And to add to what Karl Hungus said, there are tons of Eastern European women working in the canteen where I go to college - all repulsively rude cows except for one. Maybe it's just a coincidence but one hell of one I'm sure most of you'd agree.
    From around 12 years of going to pubs and clubs, I can quite categorically state that, while there are some really nice bouncers, the majority of them are c*nts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

In a nutshell, we were mistreated in a pub on Saturday night, i post a thread about it, explaining and asking if other people have similar gripes, and you decide i've got nothing better to do with my time then post a fictitious story for reasons beyond my comprehension.

No in your own words your friend was rude first afterwards her boyfriend said something to the manager you were all asked to leave. THat is in a nutshell with out anybody been mistreated

Suffice to say it sounds unbeleivable that your firends didn't say something wrong. People complain and dislike places for a lots of reasons it is you who seems to belive in the consiparcy that the barstaff want to kick people out for no good reason. Boiling down your story to the basic sure facts it is more likely your firends said something that got you kicked out yet you choose to absolve them of all responsibility. Given the girl started crying it sounds like she would not have been able to control herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

I was down in Kilkenny last night in a pub and me and my friend were sitting down just chatting and this lady came up to us and sat down at our table very abruptly.She said that she was married, 2 kids and her husband was a farmer.She said she passed her accountancy exams which we said our congratulations and then she started getting really intense and heavy.She said stuff like "Look at me when I'm speaking to you" Jeez and then started touching our faces judging me and my friend manners."You have to be nice to women"

We left her after we finished our pints and went to a chip shop and two eejits come in the shop very drunk, talking bollocks.One of them spoke so badly that I couldn't understand him at all.

We said it wasn't our night.

Some mad woman and two arseholes in one night in the smallest city in Ireland.

Fuck sake

Chakar wrote:
    I was down in Kilkenny last night in a pub and me and my friend were sitting down just chatting and this lady came up to us and sat down at our table very abruptly.She said that she was married, 2 kids and her husband was a farmer.She said she passed her accountancy exams which we said our congratulations and then she started getting really intense and heavy.She said stuff like "Look at me when I'm speaking to you" Jeez and then started touching our faces judging me and my friend manners."You have to be nice to women"

If you were being really nice, you would have suggested a psychiatric evaluation. Freak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Dudess wrote:
    If you were being really nice, you would have suggested a psychiatric evaluation. Freak.

Yeah she definitely needs help, there was loads more she said but one thing that she said was that her brothers and sisters were really brainy and were barristers and doctors.

What a mad woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

TomCo wrote:
    Me too, wonder if he'd tell us the name of the pub.

hehe, I'm a she and I don't know if I should say the name on the thread tbh :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Chakar wrote:
    Yeah she definitely needs help, there was loads more she said but one thing that she said was that her brothers and sisters were really brainy and were barristers and doctors.

What a mad woman.

You should have told her that her brothers and sisters were really just the result of misfiring electrical pulses between delicate neurons.

Bet that would have cured her!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Notwithstanding the question marks over why anyone would wait 45 minutes, there is an undeniable increase in the rudeness and generally bad temperament of security staff. In the Bróg in Cork about a month ago, there was a brunette doing security, weguessed she was new since she spent the whole night moving us around. We were stand against the wall opposite the tables as you walk into the Bróg, admittedly we could have been in the way but there was nowhere else to sit/stand, and every time we moved to where she indicated, sh'd come along and move us again. Toward the end of the night myself and my mates got fresh pints only to have them start closing the bar down around us. Fair enough the bar staf all want to get home and that. but give us time to finish the drinks we just bought, or call last orders 20 minutes earlier in future. And through all tis security staff constantly hounding us to finish up, and shoving us toward the doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Chakar wrote:

We left her after we finished our pints and went to a chip shop and two eejits come in the shop very drunk, talking bollocks.One of them spoke so badly that I couldn't understand him at all.

Fuck sake

sounds like an interesting night out!!!:rolleyes:

Fillspectre, i give up. You evidently are not going to take anything i say at face value. You say that you're getting only the one-sided persective, which you obviously are because i can only talk from my perspective. But then we were in your shoes on saturday night, in that the bar manager only listened to his staffs perspective and assumed guilt on our behalf. really what it boils down to is that the girl behind the bar repeatedly ignored the only girl cutomer standing at the bar. If it happened to me I wouldn't be happy and would neither would anyone else, and they probably would let the bar staff know of this. why is it unbelievable that one of my friends didn't say something wrong and not that their staff may have acted inappropriately?

I also never said that bar staff want to kick people out for no reason once. I said that we were essentially kicked out for no reason. Really from what i can gather, the barmaid knew she acted in the wrong and as soon as she heard the word "manager" involved, ran off like a bullet to make sure she got her word in first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

No in your own words your friend was rude first afterwards her boyfriend said something to the manager you were all asked to leave. THat is in a nutshell with out anybody been mistreated

You're kind of reading into a lot of stuff there. Anyone waiting that long to get served, and it can happen would say something to the staff, especially if peple were getting served ahead of you. And if you've got ****ty staff behind the bar and someone's boyfriend somes up to you angry because they've upset his partner, how do you expect him to act?

Notwithstanding the question marks over why anyone would wait 45 minutes, there is an undeniable increase in the rudeness and generally bad temperament of security staff. In the Bróg in Cork about a month ago, there was a brunette doing security, weguessed she was new since she spent the whole night moving us around. We were stand against the wall opposite the tables as you walk into the Bróg, admittedly we could have been in the way but there was nowhere else to sit/stand, and every time we moved to where she indicated, sh'd come along and move us again. Toward the end of the night myself and my mates got fresh pints only to have them start closing the bar down around us. Fair enough the bar staf all want to get home and that. but give us time to finish the drinks we just bought, or call last orders 20 minutes earlier in future. And through all tis security staff constantly hounding us to finish up, and shoving us toward the doors.

Way preferred the Brog when it was small - much more personable and friendly. Did it even have bouncers back then? Now it's a big superpub without the flashness (yet). :(

Fillspectre, i give up. You evidently are not going to take anything i say at face value.

I have taken what you said at face value
    Your friend was rude
    Your friend can't control herself or stand up for herself
    Her boyfriend feels he must protector her
    You don't know what was said to the manager
    You were all escorted out after being asked to leave more than once.

What I haven't taken as truth is what you think might have been said or what your friends told you was said after the fact.
    I also never said that bar staff want to kick people out for no reason once. I said that we were essentially kicked out for no reason. Really from what i can gather, the barmaid knew she acted in the wrong and as soon as she heard the word "manager" involved, ran off like a bullet to make sure she got her word in first.
    How did you gather this? Did you just think about it and decide that must have happened becasue it is all that would make sense to you? You see that isn't face value that is you deciding what happened after the fact.

So are you now saying you were kicked out on orders from the barmaind and not the manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

I have to give you credit morningstar, your some windup merchant.

You're kind of reading into a lot of stuff there. Anyone waiting that long to get served, and it can happen would say something to the staff, especially if peple were getting served ahead of you. And if you've got ****ty staff behind the bar and someone's boyfriend somes up to you angry because they've upset his partner, how do you expect him to act?

I am not reading anything into it that is the point

the facts are
    1)the girl was rude to the memeber of staff "am I going to get served at all"
    2)She cries to boyfriend he speaks to the manager
    3)The bouncers ask them to leave after he spoke to the manager. We don't know what was said either does the OP

You have read into it I tried to boil it down to facts rather than the OP's telling of the story. I expect a BF in that case to act like a moron and complain too loudly and then be removed by request of the manager. I don't think a barmaid hearing the word manager panics and can get the people kicked out while they are talkingg to the manager.

I worked in a bar before and I have seen this all 100 times. Some bloke overprotective and some overly emtional (or manipulative) girlfriend casue fights and trouble all the time. I have seen bouncers and other staff act equally baddly but there is no logic to the OPs interpritation. Manager get called all the time and will back his staff no matter due to dangers in a bar. Customer doesn't cailm down and they are then removed from the premisis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

skywalker wrote:
    I have to give you credit morningstar, your some windup merchant.

Ahhhhh, it is all making sense to me now! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Shauna21

I was in a nightclub in Tipperary Last Year and it was Stephens Night and I have to say I was slightly intoxicated but I am never ever violent with drink I just would not have the energy. I have been a reguar at this club for three years all the bouncers know me but this night I saw my boyfriend kissing another girl and I was in tears but I didn't confront them I started to run from the nightclub tears running down my cheeks when all of a sudden to bouncer picked me up and partically flung me out the side door and I was trying to explain to them that i was not doing anything when the just slammed the door in my face.
    With that I leaned up against the wall to get my bearings when the girl that (who I knew very well) kissed my fella came up the lane and proceeed to tell me it has been going on ages and that she is delighted for me cause she hates me cause I am a stuck up little bitch etc etc. I was really in tears at this stage and she slapped me across the face and ran, so I ran out to complain to the bouncers bout what had happened and when I turned the corner she had already told them I attacked her but i didn't know that until four of them literally lifted my two legs and arms and threw me into a squad car.... I was shocked and hysterical it took the two guards about twenty minutes to get a word out of me. eventually I told them my side of the story but that little bitch had been telling the bouncers for the last couple of weeks that I have been threatening her and that is why I was ****ed out and when she came from the lane she told them that they had to do something with me because she was sick of complaining. the guards let me off and they believed me they said I could go further with it but I just wanted to forget the whole experience I was barred for 1 year for doing nothing but been in tears and some of the bouncers eventually told me that the girl was the head bouncers niece and they complained bout they way I was treated but it fell on deaf ears about three have left the club since.

Maybe the girl did say "Am I going to be served?" in a rude manner. If she was being openly ignored by the bar maid then I'm sure her tone was justified.

However, any bar person worth their salt should be able to handle 'rude' customers. She could quite simply have said "I'll get to you in a minute". You do not turn around and say "No". Maybe she was a bit snotty. Big deal. Anyone who has worked in any area of the service industry will tell you that you get snotty customers every day and you simply get on with things. You do not refuse to serve them unless they have been outright abusive, ie: verbal assault.

Also Fillspectre, your whole argument seems to be focusing on the fact that the OP wasn't there when it happened.. well either were you. The OP does have the benefit of discussing it with her/his mate after it happened.

Regardless of how the girl posed the question, the barmaid was in the wrong in speaking to her the way she did. Particularly as the bar was in a private function room. If she can't handle people being "rude" then she should really change jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i hope the thread doesnt get locked - nothing illegal about telling the truth and places like this should be named and shamed so noone else has the same bad experience.

Shauna21 wrote:
    I was in a nightclub in Tipperary Last Year and it was Stephens Night and I have to say I was slightly intoxicated but I am never ever violent with drink I just would not have the energy. I have been a reguar at this club for three years all the bouncers know me but this night I saw my boyfriend kissing another girl and I was in tears but I didn't confront them I started to run from the nightclub tears running down my cheeks when all of a sudden to bouncer picked me up and partically flung me out the side door and I was trying to explain to them that i was not doing anything when the just slammed the door in my face.
    With that I leaned up against the wall to get my bearings when the girl that (who I knew very well) kissed my fella came up the lane and proceeed to tell me it has been going on ages and that she is delighted for me cause she hates me cause I am a stuck up little bitch etc etc. I was really in tears at this stage and she slapped me across the face and ran, so I ran out to complain to the bouncers bout what had happened and when I turned the corner she had already told them I attacked her but i didn't know that until four of them literally lifted my two legs and arms and threw me into a squad car.... I was shocked and hysterical it took the two guards about twenty minutes to get a word out of me. eventually I told them my side of the story but that little bitch had been telling the bouncers for the last couple of weeks that I have been threatening her and that is why I was ****ed out and when she came from the lane she told them that they had to do something with me because she was sick of complaining. the guards let me off and they believed me they said I could go further with it but I just wanted to forget the whole experience I was barred for 1 year for doing nothing but been in tears and some of the bouncers eventually told me that the girl was the head bouncers niece and they complained bout they way I was treated but it fell on deaf ears about three have left the club since.

My blood is starting to boil at all of these stories. Absolutely despicable. Sorry you had to go though that horrible experience, Shauna. Hope everything's ok now. I've known some malicious girls but that takes the biscuit. Pure evil. Her and your ex are well suited to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

headed up to vue in liffey val yesterday with the boyf. Bought my tickets for superman and went in to get seats. Discovered that my seat didnt exist (actually didnt exist there was a gaping hole where this seat once was). Once the usher saw what had happened he was lovely and gave us new seats. Behind us were 2 women with at least 3 kids at the age of 2-3. These kids kicked our chairs, cried, talked at the tops o ftheir voices constantly throughout the whole thing killing any chance we had of enjoying it. The women occasional muttered 'ah now stop kicking the ladies chair' but didnt do anything about her kids behaviour. If it had been a 'G' film I would have thought fair enough but it was 12PG. Who brings a 2 yr old to a film anyway? and if so why not have the decency to take the kids home if they will not behave and are not happy instead of ruining everyone elses evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

I am quoting myself here, but I know cinema's only too well!
    I would well believe you had a terrible experience and were allowed to pay upwars of 9euro for the pleasure.

dahooligan wrote:
    I kind of believe the OP's story. Yes, there may have been some exaggeration, in parts, but over all I do believe that himself, and his friends where escorted off the premises by several bouncers, despite the fact that they did not raise their voice's, or behave un a loud, aggressive or obnoxious manner.

One of the main reason’s I believe his story is because I feel pub/club staff has unfairly treated me in the past, although admittedly not to the same extent.

Also, I worked in a cinema in Dublin for a few years, and when confronted by a customer who was less then happy with the service, our staff, and myself included, would have been, on several occassions, a little snotty in response to their complaint.

They would then, of course, ask to speak to a manager, so off we would go to locate a manager, and whilst doing so, we would brief the manager with our very own version of events.
    This would usually sound something like
    “Oh Mrs Manager, we have an absolute nightmare customer outside, she SAY’S she booked tickets with her Credit Card, but their not on the system, and to be honest, I think she is trying to pull a fast one, she is being totally abusive out there, she actually insulted so and so, and when I spoke to her she was just down right rude, a total bitch, you better go out to her, she is demanding she speaks with a manager”.
    So by the time the manager actually meet’s the customer face to face she is already convinced that said customer is a total cnut… and usually, by the time the customer meet’s the manager face to face she is behaving like a total cnut because she has been so wound up by the staff!

I do know that the above is no way to treat a customer, I am just telling you it happens, and I have seen it happen a thousand times.

Also Fillspectre, your whole argument seems to be focusing on the fact that the OP wasn't there when it happened.. well either were you. The OP does have the benefit of discussing it with her/his mate after it happened.

Regardless of how the girl posed the question, the barmaid was in the wrong in speaking to her the way she did. Particularly as the bar was in a private function room. If she can't handle people being "rude" then she should really change jobs.

Actually my whole arguement is based on how unlikely the events are as told and how less incredible story is plausable. It then goes on the fact the girl lost control of herself (drink fuel or general weakness of character) and somebody else got involved. It then goes on the fact that he has no idea what was said but afterwards they are all kicked out which suggests something was said.

The barmaid was wrong to be rude but so was the customer and then to lose emotional control is even worse. Understandable if she was drunk though.

Is there any logical reason they would be kicked out other than they they offended the manager?

If we are to beleive the other story. A girl stands at a bar for 45 minute hopelessly trying to get served. It would appear one barmaid was being sexist by not serving woman, she is then actively rude to this girl. THe girl in a sober mind can't handle the rejection at the bar looses control of her emotions and starts sobing, her dashing BF runs to help but the evil bamaid hearing the word manger the barmaid runs to the security to get them all kicked out. The BF talks to the manager then the GF talks to the manager. While this is happening the evil barmaid manages to get the security to surround the others and everybody is escorted out. THe manger somehow doesn't note?:rolleyes:

Do you see how it just doesn't actually make any sense?
    Alcohol was involde with those involved and those telling the events. When I worked in a bar we used to see silly stuff from customers all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Sure Hitler started the putsch after waiting only twenty minutes for his pint. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Pighead wrote:
    Expect this thread to be locked/binned/incinerated by noon. Diceys solicitors won't like this one little bit.

Pighead got thrown out of and barred from McGowans in Phibsboro many moons ago. What was my crime I hear you say, rape pillage murder incest? No my crime was .......falling asleep in the toilet! PATHETIC

It was a Tuesday night and Pighead was after doing 12 hours of solid work. Went to McGowans for a refreshing pint and a feed, which led to me going to the toilets for a refreshing poo. Ended up falling asleep on the toilet for 2 hours.

Bouncer had to kick the door down apparently. I Came to rather quickly and explained that I wasn't drunk and that my sister worked behind the bar and could he please refrain from dragging me by my collar. This made the gorilla drag poor Pighead with more force towards the bar and he yelled at the bar staff "Does anybody know this clown?" Triumphantly I waved at my sis, she looked back, at me, a cock crew somewhere in the distance and she said "Nope never laid eyes on him in my life". Pighead wept.

lol.

actually, i was refused at the door there once when i lived around the corner, and was there 3 out of 7 nights.

was met at the door by 'sorry, regulars only' and when i told him his name, the other bouncers name and the people behind the bar and said of course i am a regular, im here 3 out of 7 nights, he told me i wasnt and wouldnt let me in.

ive never been back, and i will never be back.

Actually my whole arguement is based on how unlikely the events are as told and how less incredible story is plausable. It then goes on the fact the girl lost control of herself (drink fuel or general weakness of character) and somebody else got involved. It then goes on the fact that he has no idea what was said but afterwards they are all kicked out which suggests something was said.

The barmaid was wrong to be rude but so was the customer and then to lose emotional control is even worse. Understandable if she was drunk though.

Is there any logical reason they would be kicked out other than they they offended the manager?

If we are to beleive the other story. A girl stands at a bar for 45 minute hopelessly trying to get served. It would appear one barmaid was being sexist by not serving woman, she is then actively rude to this girl. THe girl in a sober mind can't handle the rejection at the bar looses control of her emotions and starts sobing, her dashing BF runs to help but the evil bamaid hearing the word manger the barmaid runs to the security to get them all kicked out. The BF talks to the manager then the GF talks to the manager. While this is happening the evil barmaid manages to get the security to surround the others and everybody is escorted out. THe manger somehow doesn't note?:rolleyes:

Do you see how it just doesn't actually make any sense?
    Alcohol was involde with those involved and those telling the events. When I worked in a bar we used to see silly stuff from customers all the time.

How do you know how rude the customer was? Is it not possible that this bar maid was simply in a complete and utter fouler of a mood and took a disliking to this girl which was made even worse by the fact that the customer dared to question the level of service being provided? I've seen it happen myself and I've worked with people who adopt that attitiude.

Chances are the barmaid went to the manager and said that the customer and the boyfriend were horribly abusive. The bouncers said themselves that they have to go by what the barstaff say. So the barmaid could easily have said that the group of people were causing trouble. How would the manager know what the truth was since he/she wasnt there to see them?

Look at what DaHooligan said,
    They would then, of course, ask to speak to a manager, so off we would go to locate a manager, and whilst doing so, we would brief the manager with our very own version of events.
    This would usually sound something like
    “Oh Mrs Manager, we have an absolute nightmare customer outside, she SAY’S she booked tickets with her Credit Card, but their not on the system, and to be honest, I think she is trying to pull a fast one, she is being totally abusive out there, she actually insulted so and so, and when I spoke to her she was just down right rude, a total bitch, you better go out to her, she is demanding she speaks with a manager”.
    So by the time the manager actually meet’s the customer face to face she is already convinced that said customer is a total cnut… and usually, by the time the customer meet’s the manager face to face she is behaving like a total cnut because she has been so wound up by the staff!

This type of shít happens everyday and bars are by no means exempt.

I believe the OP and I find your one-man crusade to show the OP as a liar to be absolutely hilarious. Well done. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Chakar wrote:

Fuck sake
    what pub and take away did this hapen in, may I ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Dicey Reillys is the sh*tist, most ignorant, up it's own hole pub in Ireland and is a corporate whore who has absolutely no appreciation for the average custom which has kept it in business for years.

I (used to) go there after work on Fridays and fair enough, they've spent a sh*t load of money doing it up and have a beer garden second to none...But everytime I go there, the upper balcony space is always reserved, the middle part is always reserverd, along with the back bar area...they completely sell out, leaving the average custom to squeeze into whats remaining to get into the beer garden to smoke, enjoy pints and the sun...

The last straw was last friday, when we went there we were refused from the beer garden as THE WHOLE GARDEN was reserved...we stayed for two pints and in that time 1 of my mates got robbed by the ciggarette machine, to which he was basicly told "tough" by the reception area and another mate had a problem with a barmaid (don't really know what happend, but there was some issue there) to which we left. (Oh and I also so an incodent where the guy working in the toilet called a customer "Fu*king cheap" after he didn't tip when washing his hands...I doubt anything was done about that either)

What a sh*t hole, from manager to bar staff to doormen to toilet attendants, they all seem to have terrible attitudes and I for one will never be going back.

For eveyones attention, there's also a very good (all be it not as good) beer garden across the road in D2 where I'll go from now on, or flannerys beer garden or somewhere, but never diceys again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

ive never been back, and i will never be back.

Nail + hammer...*head*.

Its the only way to deal with this kind of crap. If you think about it, it actually shows incredible lack of self respect to think about returning + giving custom to such a venue again.

Re Dicey Reillys, FTW click http://www.dublinpubscene.com/thepubs/diceyreillys.html where there is - at the mo anyway - one review:
    "Public Reviews:
    Nice pub good crowd. Nice pints, staff were friendly
    Submitted by Padraig, Blanchardstown"

Rofl :D

I was in there only once - about a month ago. Had to double check online to make sure it was the same place. Advice: do not bother with the cocktails; Would be more appropriate if they were advertised as talltails, given the difference between expectations generated by the menu & actual experience;)

I reckon the worst experience I ever had was at Thomas Reads. The then bouncer thought the most appropriate way of dealing with a customer who was trying to find his pals at closing time was by refusing re-entry by pushing his hand up around my throat:mad: . Little man; Im 6'3" + didnt stoop to conquer.

I got onto their head office the next day, but tbh no real apology was ever forthcoming...So I just made sure (along with my mates) not to go there again - that was 5 years ago. That said if it were ever to happen again, I would make sure to have a statement made at a Garda station asap. But tbh, its best off avoiding such sh1te from the outset, and avoiding crap venues with sh1te service - there is enough decent ones out there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Dragan wrote:
    Because some people have nothing better to do, and just like to argue, gain some kind of sense of self importance and superiority from doing so and will largely just argue the opposite, or something they don't even feel strongly about because they can.

Dude, the way i see it is that something happened and you felt hard done by and very much entitled to have a nice bitching session about it and don;t let anyone tell you otherwise!!!! :D
    i work with someone like that. the only time he opens his mouth is to tell other people they're wrong for some bull**** reason he just made up. i'm sure he does it because he has low self esteem and so feels the need to show off his brains all the time but that's not my problem. that guy gets on my tits

its come to the stage where, in any conversation i make a statement such as "the sky is blue" and he interrupts giving me a point by point account of how i'm wrong. i wait for him to stop talking and then continue with my conversation