Alternates to After Hours

dbnavan wrote:
    Suggestions please, heres the ones I can think of to make AH lose it's 'anything goes' here reputation

3) The Big Debate Forum (debate anything fairly)

We already have a debate forum under Soc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

dbnavan wrote:
    It seems to me everyone understood what I mean't when I started the thread so what if I have dyslexia, everyone knew what I mean't didnt they.

It's very odd that you would say that. Keira, Gordon and others clearly stated that they didn't understand what you meant whe you started the thread but it seems that you took what they said to mean that they did understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Fight! Fight! Fight! Fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

dbnavan wrote:
    It seems to me everyone understood what I mean't when I started the thread so what if I have dyslexia, everyone knew what I mean't didnt they.

As for you having dyslexia, why did you then go on to say that you had perfectly constructed sentences when you knew that might not be the case? My brother is dyslexic and would never make a claim like that.

I honestly hadn't a clue what you meant when you posted so I do think clarification was needed.

So perhaps your suggestion for Funny YouTube (and similar) stuff is a good one as I believe the Boradband forum has morphed into a broadband provider/problem discussion group and it is part of the 'COMP' fora.

I do think a 'Rant' forum would be good. I know we have Thunderdome but that is more about b*tching about other boardies than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

anyway, back on track.

can the OP please continue with the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Point has been made do whatever you want

dbnavan wrote:

with regards to what?

who made that point?

what was your point?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

dbnavan wrote:
    I'd like to get some ice cream, but most places don't have the raspberry sauce on the 99's cause it attracts wasps, FACT.

delly wrote:
    I'd like to get some ice cream, but most places don't have the rasberry sauce on the 99's cause it attracts wasps, FACT.

Only raspberry?? That's wierd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I'm resisting the urge to point out another spelling mistake.

Yup. Resisting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

GODDAMIT.

It should be ITS not IT'S when it's possessive.

delly wrote:
    I'd like to get some ice cream, but most places don't have the rasberry sauce on the 99's cause it attracts wasps, FACT.

Is that true?

Wierd...

And it's ras'P'berry dammit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

delly wrote:
    Ah but the green sauce leaves that phlegmy thing at the back of your throat.

Doing everyone a favour withdrawing my membership of boards I obviously piss people off so much, was never my intention. good luck!

Kiera wrote:
    Ah but the green sauce leaves that phlegmy thing at the back of your throat.

Are you sure that's not snot on your ice cream?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

dbnavan wrote:
    Doing everyone a favour withdrawing my membership of boards I obviously piss people off so much, was never my intention. good luck!
    Hahahaha, what are you? 12?

Oh and yeah it could very well be snot :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

dbnavan wrote:
    ahh. calm down now. there's no need for that. etc.

dbnavan wrote:

Don't withdraw too quickly, I find that can hurt sometimes. Not enough to mention on the "What's the most painful thing you ever experienced" thread though.

dbnavan wrote:

Ah don't go! Boards loves you with its little board heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,873 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

dbnavan wrote:

Dude - You posted this in After Hours. What did you expect? C'mon back & chill a little.

Guys - May give dbnavan a bit of a break? Albeit in his own way, he was trying to be constructive.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Is that true?

Wierd...

And it's ras'P'berry dammit!!
    Spelling edit made ;)

And its true in a lot of places. I was installing a system in a newsagents a few years back when the owner offered me a 99 after all the hard work was done. When I asked for the sauce he gave me the line about the wasps. Disgusted as I was I shoved the 99 back in his face and asked him not to insult with a naked ice cream again.

Hill Billy wrote:
    Dude - You posted this in After Hours. What did you expect? C'mon back & chill a little.

gotta agree. you see, and this is why some posts need to be in other forums....
    Hill Billy wrote:
    Guys - May give dbnavan a bit of a break? Albeit in his own way, he was trying to be constructive.

i agree, guys take it to the snot or ice cream forum, just fúck off with the smarty pants stuff.

db has put forward some suggestions, and while im not exactly giving him an easy time, i am trying to get to the bottom of things here.

db, if youre going to make points, you need to make them. im completely lost as to what it is you want or need or feel should be needed.

im thinking that from the stickied thread you are assuming that i feel that AH is broken.
    nothing can be further from the truth. AH is growing daily. with that growth, there is ways going to be a percentage of things that need to be moderated. im simply trying to ease that burden.

i know that some of your suggestions have been answered, we do have a debate forum, we do have a PI forum, the other forums, erm, not too sure about, especially the racist and xenophobic foreigners forum. unless youre talking about the band, and then id just post in prog rock or whatever :)

if you still have something to add to your first post, then put it up.

i am debating with you.
    you make a point, i ask you what the hell youre talking about, you explain it better and we finally understand one another.
    thats how it works.
    i always get to win though ;)

Its not that "I cant handle it", or "I am immature" I am just sick of defending myself and my thoughts to an internet community that I dont know personally, in recent weeks and months I have noticed a tension between myself and certain members of boards and my life is too short to allow myself get so worked up over opinions of people about me that I dont even know.

There is alot of very good decent people on board whom I will miss informed discussions and knowledge with however, I feel my real-life and real friends mean more to me then sitting infront of a PC discussing things that at the end of the day usually dont make me any better off and 9 times out of 10 just suceed in winding me up.

Maybe I cant take it, or I dont want to take it whatever just general pissed off with the whole net community stuff, to all the decent members of which there is many, take care. This is not a general overall reflection of everybody.

Ah Jaysus - Just saw the "conversation" between you guys in the AH sticky. Could easily have gotten caught in some serious crossfire.

/back's away slowly...

Ding! Ding! Round 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

dbnavan wrote:
    I am suggesting new forums which may help clear up AH
    ohhhhh right...i was wondering

dbnavan wrote:
    Its not that "I cant handle it", or "I am immature" I am just sick of defending myself and my thoughts to an internet community that I dont know personally, in recent weeks and months I have noticed a tension between myself and certain members of boards and my life is too short to allow myself get so worked up over opinions of people about me that I dont even know.

There is alot of very good decent people on board whom I will miss informed discussions and knowledge with however, I feel my real-life and real friends mean more to me then sitting infront of a PC discussing things that at the end of the day usually dont make me any better off and 9 times out of 10 just suceed in winding me up.

Maybe I cant take it, or I dont want to take it whatever just general pissed off with the whole net community stuff, to all the decent members of which there is many, take care. This is not a general overall reflection of everybody.

oh, stop being melodramatic.

just get back on topic, you want a debate, then please proceed.

lets talk about your idea.

ball in your court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

Lads lighten up. If ye keep going on like this it'll wreck the place, stop making such a big deal about Afterhours, its an internet discussion it doesnt mean anything.

-100 cool points for having internet fights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheBlock

I want my ball back......

What about an "AH Feedback" sub-forum?

/adding fuel to the fire :D

Hill Billy wrote:
    What about an "AH Feedback" sub-forum?

/adding fuel to the fire :D

oh yeah, right to the bottom of the xmas card list.....
    go on, off with you!