Spanish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

Even the normal spainsh people who live here can't stand them. I live with spanish people and they can't wait for them to go home.

From the description I was given they are mostly posh (or trying to be posh), and loud even for spanish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

good point whiskeyman...
    i can never understand the opinions of some people..

whats wrong with the spanish and the italian and french students?

i think its basic rascism actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

no, i did.

im wondering if he taught them 'here comes the banhammer' :)

Excuse me? What's so funny? I teach TEFL here in summer, what's the problem or are you just being an asshole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

dbnavan wrote:
    It was an honest question, I didnt mean for it to be funny, offensive, or to be met with a smart answer.

Most Spainish people are "Spanish" , however, Catalan's (Barcalona area and I think the islands) and Basque people, are a little sensitive to being called "spanish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Giblet wrote:
    what's the problem or are you just being an asshole?

reported for abusive and aggressive behaviour.

and for contributing to getting those feckin Spanish students here.... b*stid..
    bealbocht wrote:
    Most Spainish people are "Spanish" , however, Catalan's (Barcalona area and I think the islands) and Basque people, are a little sensitive to being called "spanish"
    Kinda like calling someone from Cork 'Irish'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

dbnavan wrote:
    It was an honest question, I didnt mean for it to be funny, offensive, or to be met with a smart answer.

Apologies...

Straight answer follows:

The Basque and Catalonian areas of Spain are inhabited by folk who hold an intense pride in their own regions, which is why you'll often see the flag that looks like a red, white and green Union Jack for the Basques and a blue flag with a yellow cross for the Catalans.

A Catalan friend of mine doesn't mind strangers referring to him as a Spaniard, but all his friends would refer to him as Catalan.

Back to the topic, I don't mind them being here at all, but why do they feel the need to sit on the floor of the dart, on the pavement at bus stops or wherever there is a chance they may have to stand for a while? I recall the Gardaí moving a gang of them who were sitting on Grafton Street, outside the McDonald's. It looked like some sort of sit-down protest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭comad

I lived with 2 Spaniards last year. It wasn't funny how load they were and they were 24/25 years old. I'm afraid to go to Spain now because of it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Giblet wrote:
    Excuse me? What's so funny? I teach TEFL here in summer, what's the problem or are you just being an asshole?

Watch out you crazy kid, he might "whip" out his ban stick and smack you :rolleyes: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Bacchus

The little runts are in Cork in their droves too. Same problems as the rest of ye. The take over the sidewalk and won't budge to let other people by. They've even managed to make walking through Patrick St. a nightmare. It was worst the days before the world cup final. All the Italian and French students were kicking footballs around on the street. :mad:
    They seem to have no respect for other people here. For instance, last week getting on the Galway bus from Cork I was in the queue, about 20 people from the front. Then, this hoard of Spainish/Italian students come along and walk right up to the front of the queue without a care for anyone else that was queueing. I wasn't having any of it so I shouted at them that the queue started back there *pointed to back of queue". One of em said they had booked tickets for the bus so they didn't need to queue. I promptly told him "everyone here has tickets, get to the back". :mad: They did but there was still the problem of being on the same bus as 20 or so foreign students all shouting at each other. I got a different bus in the end cause there was no way I was going to sit in that bus for the next 4 hours with them jabbering on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

I'm spanish. More annoying than having the students is having a bunch of irish skangers abusing you in the bus cos you are a foreigner, and having to pay their dole through your hard work for them to get drunk.

More annoying is walking around with your parents who came to visit you and that 3 teen girls shout at you "go to your ****ing country" right at your face.

Have you ever gone to spain? have you ever suffered such an humillation there?

I can tell you that teenagers are much better there, at least more polite in average, since the streets of dublin are infested with teenage scumbags, louder than anyone in the world, who you fear as well, even being irish like them, but for some reason you don't see or don't wanna see. Well I see them, every day, screaming at people, stealing sistematically from the shops, abusing foreigners, haven't you noticed them?

Well, they are here the whole year!!

And for those racist forum members, the same u are to us, english are to you, calling you funny names as well. you find them funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Smoggy

There's Squillions ( and thats an official count ) of them in Clondalkin, don't get many points for running them over thou, as its just to easy, they jump in front of you :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Bacchus wrote:
    The little runts are in Cork in their droves too. Same problems as the rest of ye. The take over the sidewalk and won't budge to let other people by. They've even managed to make walking through Patrick St. a nightmare. It was worst the days before the world cup final. All the Italian and French students were kicking footballs around on the street. :mad:
    They seem to have no respect for other people here. For instance, last week getting on the Galway bus from Cork I was in the queue, about 20 people from the front. Then, this hoard of Spainish/Italian students come along and walk right up to the front of the queue without a care for anyone else that was queueing. I wasn't having any of it so I shouted at them that the queue started back there *pointed to back of queue". One of em said they had booked tickets for the bus so they didn't need to queue. I promptly told him "everyone here has tickets, get to the back". :mad: They did but there was still the problem of being on the same bus as 20 or so foreign students all shouting at each other. I got a different bus in the end cause there was no way I was going to sit in that bus for the next 4 hours with them jabbering on.

Lol! Have any of you taken a look at the irish youth lately ;) . Bunch of racist pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Watch out you crazy kid, he might "whip" out his ban stick and smack you :rolleyes: .

Why does whip have "'s around it....

comad wrote:
    I lived with 2 Spaniards last year. It wasn't funny how load they were and they were 24/25 years old. I'm afraid to go to Spain now because of it..

hahahahaha!!! Last nite I had an irish woman of the same age screaming at 3 o'clock in the morning "open the ****ing door" for like half an hour, just right below the window... U think i'm gonna consider that's the typical here? It is stupid to generalize, it is true that people tend to speak loud there, but i have seen irish as loud as spanish, or even more...

and whiskey man, it's more like calling sum catholic from the north "british"

Lol! Have any of you taken a look at the irish youth lately ;) . Bunch of racist pigs.

:) By no means am I saying the Irish youth are better! Irish kids are the worst. Come on, I'm in Cork, there's loads of little scumbag teenagers in this city. It's just the massive influx of foreign students that annoys me.

The little runts are in Cork in their droves too.

in fairness there were millions of little runts there already...

i think the spanish are getting a bad rap on this thread...they aren't that bad, people just like to give out about something...plus it is RASCIST, regardless of what you might think...

and spanish people speak like that, its their language..if you cant understand it, you should try to learn it...ignorance.

It's not just Spainish students anyway. There's students from a lot of European countries here. I'd like to just clarify that it's the volume of students (and the bus incident) not the nationality that annoys me. If the same number of Irish students were going around in droves like that I'd be more afraid than annoyed. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Sitting on a bus where there's a bunch of teenagers is loud. Regardless of what country they're from. People complain about the Spaniards I think because they can't understand what they're saying to each other so to Irish ears their conversation seems louder. Irish kids are just as loud. And, frankly, I'd rather not understand whatever **** they're waffling on about.

It's all bloody kids, not Spanish kids, we should complain about.

The youth of today - no respect at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

to state that you see and hear loads of spaniards this time of year is racism?

no but to give out and generally hold prejudice against a bunch of people based on their race could be construed as racism, dontchya think?

it is categorizing in a xenophobic way, yes, it's like if i call u english cos u live here in the islands and u talk english, and you look as pale as them. you want me to call you english?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Giblet wrote:

woah, easy tiger. you want to get down of the paranoia stepladder there.
    Watch out you crazy kid, he might "whip" out his ban stick and smack you

another failed little troll.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bacchus wrote:
    The little runts are in Cork in their droves too. Same problems as the rest of ye. The take over the sidewalk and won't budge to let other people by.
    Sidewalk? Are you American?
    For instance, last week getting on the Galway bus from Cork I was in the queue, about 20 people from the front. Then, this hoard of Spainish/Italian students come along and walk right up to the front of the queue without a care for anyone else that was queueing. I wasn't having any of it so I shouted at them that the queue started back there *pointed to back of queue". One of em said they had booked tickets for the bus so they didn't need to queue. I promptly told him "everyone here has tickets, get to the back". :mad:
    Oh sorry rigid queing system. Most be Engish then.

Point is they are more vocal than the Irish in general(vast pintage notwithstanding). So what? They've a different cultural attitude to certain aspects of public behaviour than you. They bring enough money here so get over it.

juanjo wrote:
    I can tell you that teenagers are much better there, at least more polite in average, since the streets of dublin are infested with teenage scumbags, louder than anyone in the world, who you fear as well, even being irish like them, but for some reason you don't see or don't wanna see. Well I see them, every day, screaming at people, stealing sistematically from the shops, abusing foreigners, haven't you noticed them?

Well, they are here the whole year!!
    Well Im irish but dead right juanjo. I found a lot less of that kinda thing in Spanish cities(away from tourists). Sure, there were areas you would likely avoid like anywhere else, but the Irish scumbag is a breed of his/her own. This is more evident at night. In Madrid or Barcelona(many nights in the former on the razz) I never saw the public drunkeness or violence you see on an average night in Dublin. Nowhere near. Vomiting on the path? Nope. Random acts of violence? Nope. P!ssing or worse on the street in plain view? Eh nope to that one as well.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

ah there all harmless and a much nicer bunch than our own teenagers

You're a funny guy Wibbs.

For the record, I react the same way to Irish teenagers trying to skip bus queues. I hate people who skip queues. The fact that about 20 of em were trying to skip really pissed me off.

Bacchus wrote:
    You're a funny guy Wibbs.

For the record, I react the same way to Irish teenagers trying to skip bus queues. I hate people who skip queues. The fact that about 20 of em were trying to skip really pissed me off.

My god bacchus, u must really love taxi drivers!!! and yes, they are the same way in spain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭Archeron

I like the Spanish students. They are loud and they do seem to be all over the place, but it adds a little bit of Euroness to our pasty faced xenophonic little isle. And of course the fact that that when you do see 800 Spanish (or Basque) people approaching you, you dont instinctively put one hand on your wallett and expect to get mugged and/or battered.

AND of course, if it wasnt for these fine people, who would p*ss off all the dudes that work in mcdonalds by asking for a large milkshake and 40 straws :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

I absolutely hate this time of year because of them.......

25 x 16 year olds shouting ''blah blah blah blah blah'' in Spanish on a bus is fucking annoying...

clogging up the entire width of a footpath and not having the courtesy to move out of the way in the middle of Dublin City centre at rush hour is fucking annoying...

I'd wish they'd ban them

I used to think they did that because they were away from homw and just being rude. Now I know they do it at home too. A lot more social than Irish people I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I can solve this problem overnight (well over 13 years to be precise).

Trick is: stop teaching kids in Irish schools "An Gaeilge" agus start teaching them the old Spanish. Then we'll all be fluent in Spanish here and when the kids from Madrid come over here and start chattering loudly on our buses and footpaths we'll all know what they're saying. Soon enough they'll know that we know and they'll stop talking so loudly for fear of eavesdropping.

And before anyone points out that they did Irish for 13 years and still don't know a word may I point you to the previous paragraph for the key difference between Spanish and Irish. ie 'a use for it'.

juanjo wrote:
    My god bacchus, u must really love taxi drivers!!! and yes, they are the same way in spain :D

:D Not in Cork I don't. There is no queueing system down here. It's whoever shouts the loudest gets the taxi. I hate it. Galway was great for that. The taxi ranks had a system where people couldn't skip ahead in the line. The taxi drivers (for the most part) honoured the queue system too by not letting people who had skipped in. Down here though, they couldn't give a flying fcuk about who was queueing.