Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spanish!

• 13-07-2006 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭

What's with all the Spanish/Portugese students in the cities here lately?! I've never seen so many. I was in town earlier and I literally couldn't move at several points. I've nothing against them but the sheer volume is incredible.

They all have orange backpacks so I assume they are with a large touring company. Is it some kind of annual adventure for them? Can anyone shed light on this?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

They're here every year.

How have you not noticed this before?

They come over in hoards to learn english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

They are here every year in July. I teach English to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭ed6hellsfresh

hmmmm, i honestly dont believe u cant have seen them before! but yeh they come over in their droves to learn english, be noisy, and clog up internet cafes across the lands, although this year i have seen more of them than ever before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I absolutely hate this time of year because of them.......

25 x 16 year olds shouting ''blah blah blah blah blah'' in Spanish on a bus is fucking annoying...

clogging up the entire width of a footpath and not having the courtesy to move out of the way in the middle of Dublin City centre at rush hour is fucking annoying...

I'd wish they'd ban them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Talk to me about it there are tons of them in DIT at the mo, every ****ing lunchtime they pull up all the high tables together and put them in a row so they can sit and talk and shout ****e for an hour. Wreck the heads they are :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Another year, another hoard. They're no harm really but can be frustrating when you're stuck on the bus with 50 of them and they're all shouting it tends to do your head in..why they have to be so loud God only knows but it seems to be a common characteristic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

They have been coming to host families for years, we had 1 was I was 12, so 14 years ago.

Kind of on topic, someone once told me that it is offensive to call them spaniard's is this true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GAA widow

25 x 16 year olds shouting ''blah blah blah blah blah'' in Spanish on a bus is fucking annoying...

clogging up the entire width of a footpath and not having the courtesy to move out of the way in the middle of Dublin City centre at rush hour is fucking annoying...

I'd wish they'd ban them

The same could be said about us Irish who head out to Spain in our droves every Summer - payback's a b***h!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

They hunt in packs, be careful of them! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Inisin

Just push them out of your way. It's the only way sometimes.

Sure they're just childern, all they can do is Zerg rush you :)

Em, they're on holiday, leave em be, they're harmless. Try spending 4 hours a day with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

They like to jaywalk right out in front of you when your drivin.Christ they should teach them the green cross code or something when they come into this country.
    They are more effective than speed ramps IMO as when you see them you slow down cause they just dart out in front of you with out looking.I pleasently lowered the window the other day and said "OI Manwel ur not in Madrid now,look before crossing" and the response was bblalhabbbblllaahhhbbddd.WHAT!!!! i said,he goes" Im Italian we won the world cup":eek:
    Jaysus naff off getouta me way.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Giblet wrote:
    Em, they're on holiday, leave em be, they're harmless. Try spending 4 hours a day with them!

Moderating AH wasn't enough of a cross to bear in this life? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭GreenDoor

They rarely make eye contact too. Not very friendly.

I also think they are hard on the hearing with their thousand words a second high pitched way of speaking.

They usually keep to themselves though and are not much bothar to the local community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

GreenDoor wrote:
    They usually keep to themselves though and are not much bothar to the local community.

Really? My local shop is entirely out of coke because of them.

Damn them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

dbnavan wrote:
    Kind of on topic, someone once told me that it is offensive to call them spaniard's is this true?

Yeah. You should call them Spicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

This is what really annoys me. I've never had this problem with Irish or any other nationality, but the past few weeks have been unbelievable. Just the other day I was walking out near Dundrum when 3 young-ish girl students were walking slowly towards me. There was no way I was going to step on the road as cars were zooming by, so I kept my walking stride at the edge of the path.... the girl who was coming toward me refused to move in, and then took the full force of my shoulder (I didnt hit her, she bloody walked into me). I just stood and looked at her questioning why the flying fook she didnt give me room to walk. I HATE THEM!!! AAARGGHHH

/Rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Cardinal

It's not just in Dublin either. Limerick is chock full of them as well. They stay in the on campus accommodation in UL. I had a few friends who worked last summer cleaning up after then and they had some horror stories to tell.
    Also, they seem to be very fond of nutella. VERY fond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

A little annoying sitting in a bus full of them but it's certainly tolerable.

I was walking home with my girlfriend yesterday evening from a walk. We pass through a Tesco carpark on our way home. 10 or so drunk Irish skangers all parked in their little shít-heaps start whistling and making lewd comments at my woman as we walk by. 100 metres down the road in the park we see some teenagers and what looks like a fire in the distance and think 'Oh no, here we go again'. As it turns out, it was only Spanish students who were cooking some sausages, telling stories and having some good natured fun.

Two groups of people, poles apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

I'd wish they'd ban them

Ok listen "Zane from MTV2", if that is your real name, your clearly just angry because none of them asked you for your autograph.

Jesus! Get over yourself man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Cardinal wrote:
    It's not just in Dublin either. Limerick is chock full of them as well. They stay in the on campus accommodation in UL. I had a few friends who worked last summer cleaning up after then and they had some horror stories to tell.

Yes, I was one of those poor souls -_-

They're mostly Italian - some French. The Italians were noisy, roudy, messy, and didn't seem to be actually learning any English. They were very special people:

- They put dirty dishes in the recycling bin, or back in the cupboards
    - I remember one house where the kitchen floor was plastered in spaghetti bolognese
    - A large proportion of them put MILK in the kettle (we eventually just took all the kettles away)
    Oh God, I don't want to remember half the stuff they did. Luckily some of the bushes by the houses started to smell really bad (soon after a rather sickly cat "disappeared"), by the end of the summer the place was infested by wasps, and we stole their food (we never once paid for milk or bread for lunch :D), so sucks to them! Mwoahahahahahahhaahaha!!!1111

The French however were the best residents there - they hoovered their bedrooms regularly, and did their own dishes (some even attempted writing notes asking us not to do the dishes). So cleaning their houses gave us ample time to catch up with Ricki Lake and Dr. Phil ^_^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭mc23

which is more annoying the 16yr students who come over here and are loud on the bus. Or the Irish who holiday in Spain, drink, fight and puke all over the resorts. watch costa street crime on the bravo channel some time and imagine what they think of us.

mc23 wrote:
    which is more annoying the 16yr students who come over here and are loud on the bus. Or the Irish who holiday in Spain, drink, fight and puke all over the resorts. watch costa street crime on the bravo channel some time and imagine what they think of us.

Ah sure, everybody loves us Irish. Sure we get drunk, but we're always happy.
    If we start acting rowdy or start fights, they just think we're english :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Spaniards, like all wool-bearing animals, instinctively travel north, where it's colder, and they won't be so stuffy.

I think its due to climate cahnge, global warming, Spain getting too hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Giblet wrote:
    They are here every year in July. I teach English to them.

ohhhh ahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

fúck me pink and call me rosie. thats the best laugh ive had in days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Yeah. You should call them Spicks.

It was an honest question, I didnt mean for it to be funny, offensive, or to be met with a smart answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

ohhhh ahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

fúck me pink and call me rosie. thats the best laugh ive had in days!

I doubt you really laughed at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

no, i did.

im wondering if he taught them 'here comes the banhammer' :)

no, i did.

L....................o.....................l

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

'here comes the banhammer'

your favourite chat up line revealed :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Even the normal spainsh people who live here can't stand them. I live with spanish people and they can't wait for them to go home.

From the description I was given they are mostly posh (or trying to be posh), and loud even for spanish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

good point whiskeyman...
    i can never understand the opinions of some people..

whats wrong with the spanish and the italian and french students?

i think its basic rascism actually.

no, i did.

Excuse me? What's so funny? I teach TEFL here in summer, what's the problem or are you just being an asshole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

dbnavan wrote:
    It was an honest question, I didnt mean for it to be funny, offensive, or to be met with a smart answer.

Most Spainish people are "Spanish" , however, Catalan's (Barcalona area and I think the islands) and Basque people, are a little sensitive to being called "spanish"

Giblet wrote:
    what's the problem or are you just being an asshole?

reported for abusive and aggressive behaviour.

and for contributing to getting those feckin Spanish students here.... b*stid..
    bealbocht wrote:
    Most Spainish people are "Spanish" , however, Catalan's (Barcalona area and I think the islands) and Basque people, are a little sensitive to being called "spanish"
    Kinda like calling someone from Cork 'Irish'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

dbnavan wrote:

Apologies...

Straight answer follows:

The Basque and Catalonian areas of Spain are inhabited by folk who hold an intense pride in their own regions, which is why you'll often see the flag that looks like a red, white and green Union Jack for the Basques and a blue flag with a yellow cross for the Catalans.

A Catalan friend of mine doesn't mind strangers referring to him as a Spaniard, but all his friends would refer to him as Catalan.

Back to the topic, I don't mind them being here at all, but why do they feel the need to sit on the floor of the dart, on the pavement at bus stops or wherever there is a chance they may have to stand for a while? I recall the Gardaí moving a gang of them who were sitting on Grafton Street, outside the McDonald's. It looked like some sort of sit-down protest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭comad

I lived with 2 Spaniards last year. It wasn't funny how load they were and they were 24/25 years old. I'm afraid to go to Spain now because of it..

Giblet wrote:
    Excuse me? What's so funny? I teach TEFL here in summer, what's the problem or are you just being an asshole?

Watch out you crazy kid, he might "whip" out his ban stick and smack you :rolleyes: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

The little runts are in Cork in their droves too. Same problems as the rest of ye. The take over the sidewalk and won't budge to let other people by. They've even managed to make walking through Patrick St. a nightmare. It was worst the days before the world cup final. All the Italian and French students were kicking footballs around on the street. :mad:
    They seem to have no respect for other people here. For instance, last week getting on the Galway bus from Cork I was in the queue, about 20 people from the front. Then, this hoard of Spainish/Italian students come along and walk right up to the front of the queue without a care for anyone else that was queueing. I wasn't having any of it so I shouted at them that the queue started back there *pointed to back of queue". One of em said they had booked tickets for the bus so they didn't need to queue. I promptly told him "everyone here has tickets, get to the back". :mad: They did but there was still the problem of being on the same bus as 20 or so foreign students all shouting at each other. I got a different bus in the end cause there was no way I was going to sit in that bus for the next 4 hours with them jabbering on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

I'm spanish. More annoying than having the students is having a bunch of irish skangers abusing you in the bus cos you are a foreigner, and having to pay their dole through your hard work for them to get drunk.

More annoying is walking around with your parents who came to visit you and that 3 teen girls shout at you "go to your ****ing country" right at your face.

Have you ever gone to spain? have you ever suffered such an humillation there?

I can tell you that teenagers are much better there, at least more polite in average, since the streets of dublin are infested with teenage scumbags, louder than anyone in the world, who you fear as well, even being irish like them, but for some reason you don't see or don't wanna see. Well I see them, every day, screaming at people, stealing sistematically from the shops, abusing foreigners, haven't you noticed them?

Well, they are here the whole year!!

And for those racist forum members, the same u are to us, english are to you, calling you funny names as well. you find them funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

There's Squillions ( and thats an official count ) of them in Clondalkin, don't get many points for running them over thou, as its just to easy, they jump in front of you :(

Bacchus wrote:
    The little runts are in Cork in their droves too. Same problems as the rest of ye. The take over the sidewalk and won't budge to let other people by. They've even managed to make walking through Patrick St. a nightmare. It was worst the days before the world cup final. All the Italian and French students were kicking footballs around on the street. :mad:
    They seem to have no respect for other people here. For instance, last week getting on the Galway bus from Cork I was in the queue, about 20 people from the front. Then, this hoard of Spainish/Italian students come along and walk right up to the front of the queue without a care for anyone else that was queueing. I wasn't having any of it so I shouted at them that the queue started back there *pointed to back of queue". One of em said they had booked tickets for the bus so they didn't need to queue. I promptly told him "everyone here has tickets, get to the back". :mad: They did but there was still the problem of being on the same bus as 20 or so foreign students all shouting at each other. I got a different bus in the end cause there was no way I was going to sit in that bus for the next 4 hours with them jabbering on.

Lol! Have any of you taken a look at the irish youth lately ;) . Bunch of racist pigs.

Watch out you crazy kid, he might "whip" out his ban stick and smack you :rolleyes: .

Why does whip have "'s around it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

comad wrote:
    I lived with 2 Spaniards last year. It wasn't funny how load they were and they were 24/25 years old. I'm afraid to go to Spain now because of it..

hahahahaha!!! Last nite I had an irish woman of the same age screaming at 3 o'clock in the morning "open the ****ing door" for like half an hour, just right below the window... U think i'm gonna consider that's the typical here? It is stupid to generalize, it is true that people tend to speak loud there, but i have seen irish as loud as spanish, or even more...

and whiskey man, it's more like calling sum catholic from the north "british"

Lol! Have any of you taken a look at the irish youth lately ;) . Bunch of racist pigs.

:) By no means am I saying the Irish youth are better! Irish kids are the worst. Come on, I'm in Cork, there's loads of little scumbag teenagers in this city. It's just the massive influx of foreign students that annoys me.

The little runts are in Cork in their droves too.

in fairness there were millions of little runts there already...

i think the spanish are getting a bad rap on this thread...they aren't that bad, people just like to give out about something...plus it is RASCIST, regardless of what you might think...

and spanish people speak like that, its their language..if you cant understand it, you should try to learn it...ignorance.

It's not just Spainish students anyway. There's students from a lot of European countries here. I'd like to just clarify that it's the volume of students (and the bus incident) not the nationality that annoys me. If the same number of Irish students were going around in droves like that I'd be more afraid than annoyed. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Sitting on a bus where there's a bunch of teenagers is loud. Regardless of what country they're from. People complain about the Spaniards I think because they can't understand what they're saying to each other so to Irish ears their conversation seems louder. Irish kids are just as loud. And, frankly, I'd rather not understand whatever **** they're waffling on about.

It's all bloody kids, not Spanish kids, we should complain about.

The youth of today - no respect at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

to state that you see and hear loads of spaniards this time of year is racism?

no but to give out and generally hold prejudice against a bunch of people based on their race could be construed as racism, dontchya think?