Just back from Oxegen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Wow campsite A sounded bad this year! I thought it was meant to be the better one, it was last year anyway. I was in B and it was fairly fine. A group of knacks doing drugs beside us were fairly annoying on friday but the DS raided them and didn't see or hear much after that. I did see some guy climb a big rock or something and then get on the watchtower. Didn't see any fights, but maybe i was just in a good sector. Don't think I'll camp again, it's not safe enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭youthacademy

Was in campsite b10, was ok but saw a bit of a fight sunday night though, a group of about 20 lads from dublin(2 gangs apparently) went at it for awhile, saw a couple of tents being pissed on alright. security seemed non-existent. this was my sixth yr at oxegen, in the main it was calm enough this yr, but each yr it seems to be loseing its festival atmostphere more and more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

I was in B12 dont know how many times I saw the fencing down. I didnt think Oxegen was as good as last year but it was still good. Hard Fi wer crap Arctic Monkeys were class but still pissed that they wer on the same time was 'we are sciencests'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i was in b12 i thought it was grand although i did see 2 dodgy characters on more than 1 occasion rooting through my mates and other peoples tents. they were scum, but i did meet plenty of really sound people!!

xavier rud, what a legend...did anyone see him.....WOW!!

chillis....wasnt too impressed, the lead singer disappearing of the stage and he didnt interact with the crowd at all.

other bands i thought were good... arctic monkeys, damian dempsey.

mylo was ****ty, i couldnt even see him and his tunes wernt live, they could have just thrown on a cd...and i wouldnt be suprised!!

oh ye did anyone hear anyone singing do do do do do do do do(the start of ring of fire, johnny cash) it spread like wild fire and everyone was doing it!!!

good weekend over all, price of food was **** and so was most of the food except for a chicken tikka kebab i got form the indian joint!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Made it to Campsite B3 on Friday, after having to walk past those toilets (The smell would turn your tummy insie out).

Two seconds after arriving I was greeted by two 17 year olds looking to buy some E's. Then an hour and a half later after our tent was up some random naked guy strolls right through our camp area, makes eye contact a, gives me a thumbs up and says "I don't give a boll**ks". then toddles on his merry way.

Friday was aright we made friends with 'the neighbours' who were all failry sound. Got a good nights kip too (which suprised me).

Saturday, well I wasn't a fan of the bands on saturday plus the rain really ruined the night.

I was in bed by 12:30 only to hear :

girl :: "Look will you just go away and leave us alone. You come over here annoying us and we don't even know you".
    dickhead Ger:: Uhuhuhahahu but yis luv me really don't ya.
    dickhead Ger :: Uhuhhahahuhu, i'm goin' to pull the pins out of this tent. Uhuhuhahahuhu.
    Girl :: Look if your going to be a dickhead were going inside right now.
    Not so drunk friend of dickhead :: "Ger, be nice"

*Crash* -Ger falls into the tent beside us, which was also mine. Then I hear running. I come out and he's gone.

"Curses, I missed my chance for sweet justace". The focker got away.

This dude kept waking me up and every time it was his Uhuhuahahuhuhu laugh.

So after a poxy Saturday, sunday came. My wooly jumper was yellow from the cheap €4 rain Poncho I bought. but thankfully it began to dry out.

It was windy on sunday Morning all the same, I witnessed a two girls watching a bloke put up a tent. Eventually the tent was finished except for one small thing, No pegs in the ground. Out of no where a gust of wind picked up the fully built tent and carried it away at high speeds. We all watched in awe as it bouced off other tents like a beachball and dissapeared into the distance. I mean it was just gone, totally out of sight and no chance to find it. They just stood there...not knowing what to do. This sounds bad, but it was so funny to watch.

I am shocked people didn't like the Chilli's. Personally I thought they were the best performance of the lot. Well I thought everything from Placebo and onwards was fantastic. In fairness the Kaisers and Chilli's rocked the crowd the most from what I saw. Oh and a special shout out to the Strokes who, I am now a fan of.

Finally, I feel for the not so smart people who thought it would be a great idead to setup camp beside the toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭roberta c

well it was my first time camping, have to say i wasnt prepared for it! on the first night we bought a lock off some random pikeky for the tent(was in b11 by the way). came back from the campsite music n found a half naked man asleep in out tent, after tearing off the lock and and half the door in the process! it was funny at the time, got the neighboors to haul him out. but the next day the rain starts pouring in our broken door the funnyness was gone! thankfuly had friends up there with a huge tent with room to spare so the was all good. moved over to b5.

no complaints really about the music.. the chillies were mediocre, not a good headliner at all though. they'd be grand for earlier in the day, but they just arent crowd pleasers.. and thats what was needed! have to agree with an earlier post, jerry fish was great! had more fun there then at the chillies! the crowd were just using up there last tiny bit energy and having fun!

back at the tents, was up on the hill looking over all of b, the campsite was a blanket of smoke, with the siren cars fleeing from one side to the other trying to keep the fires out. quite a sight! thought it was funny then..
    later, around dawn, i went over to a11 and chirst it was like a war zone! there was one big fire in the corner with huge explosions coming from it, then the riot with people collapsing the tower.. finally security called it a night n sent the lot home..

phew.. what a weekend! doubt il camp again, its just not worth the risk to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

slept in the car friday and Saturday...apart from a slightly sore back, no complaints and it was knacker-free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Riveta

so it seems campsite a was a lawless hole! my whole shoulder of vodka was stolen! I mean it's this knacker minority thats ruining it on everyone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Bobon

Jesus Christ!! Just been on the Oxegen website reading about all the horror stories and also the thread on this page. This year was the only festival I missed since Witnness began. Fairyhouse was by far better. Progressively worse each year. Its definately moved down a notch in my estimations. Its now at minus 1.

Im very happy I decided to finally give it a miss and go to Electric Picinc instead.:D

A REAL festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Good f you, anything else you'd like to get off your chest ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yeah the campsite is becoming a no-go area. MCD won’t give a **** though, they get their money and that’s all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Can i ask anyone who was in campsite a, what time did they get there at? because i though campsite B was pretty good and we got there really early on friday! so maybe if you get to to the campsite early on a friday you wont have such a bad experience....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭kc66

I camped at Oxegen/Witnness nearly every year since the first year. I never once feared for my safety or saw any behaviour that went too far. Thats not to say nothing happened.I wasnt there this year but Im surprised to hear of the behaviour in campsite A this year. It is usually just good humoured but from the sounds of it the rioters from O'Connell St robbed Oxegen tickets while they were at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭tyther

my freinds and i were in b7 which wasnt taht bad apart from a few fires on sun night and people singing wonder wall and dont look back in anger as loud as they could on fri nite and they kept messing up the songs which was funny for a while but soon got anoying

sat was brilliant apart from the rainhich was not helped by damein dempsy who eas just a depresing pri*k,but the reset of the day was good

sunday was even beter wolfmother were brill and so were the cribs even thou i had never herd of them they were great,main satage from the kaisers on was also great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Beekay

i was in campsite B11 and we were there less then an hour and a crate of our drink got robbed,by our neighbours,which caused a bit of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭hotnipples

Saturday night wasn't great, shouldn't have let the weather ruin the night but it kinda did, missed the Who which I'm a bit annoyed about. Sunday was a completely different story, The kooks were impressive, I didn't know any other songs than that Naive one before going but I might pick up the album now. Then there were the Zutons, whom were bloody class. That "you will you wont" or whatever its called is a very good live anthem. Went back to the campsite after this for a short break before the 5 hour live music marathon that was the Kaiser Chiefs - Franz Ferdinand - Chilli Peppers trio! Alot of people moaning about the Chilli's which I dont understand, they gave us a great show. Played too much from their new album which for some reason I cannot muster up an ounce of enthusiasm for, but I never once was bored during their act. Defining moment of the weekend is being up on a friends shoulders for Parallel Universe. Unbelievable!

As for the campsite, I don't know if I was just pure lucky but I didn't have any bad experiences in it. I suppose it could be the fact that after the concerts we just sat in the tent drinking cans and didnt wander around outside for too long, sounds like we were better off. Very glad now we waited for B2 to open rather than agreeing to be ushered off to the b8-b12 areas as I hear these parts were pretty rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

The Spinto Band - excellent start to the weekend. reminded of some of pavements stuff
    The Upper Room - disappointing. no stage presence at all.
    The Maccabees - good
    We Are Scientists - it rained so it was hard to enjoy them. Great set though.
    THE cRIMEA - looked great... not too sure about the song. loved the last song where he just screamed.
    Eels - one of my high lights. soooo good. I want that organ
    Automatic - amazing stuff pity the pity 3/4 of the band are not so impressive.
    The Go! Team - surprise of the weekend. heard they were rubbish live. yes there was sound issues but it dod not matter,
    Primal Scream - pretty good.
    James Brown - better last year. Was 2 meters away from him in a tent..
    Wolfmother - very impressive stuff and actually sounded great on the nme stage.
    Guillemots - like these guys alot.
    Manu Chao - don't exactly know how he got a slot this year. It was just insane.
    Bell X1 - enjoyed the whole thing and the crazy headbanging during 'reacharound'
    Placebo - One band I had to see. Amazing set. had waiting 4 years fot this. No Teenaged Angst, COme Home but still great.
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah - caught the end of their set. Seemed a bit messy but was good to see them.
    GIANT DRAG - one of my high lights. A 2 piece and the wierdest front woman ever.
    Pretty Girls Make Graves - pretty good.
    ! Forward Russia! - this was the messiest loudest stuff I have heard in a while. In a good way.
    Sigur Ros - the best thing about the whole weekend. Was an amazing show.
    Red Hot Chili Peppers. - was back about a mile. 5th time seeing them and probably the last. they have lost it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

I was in B5 camping, there was a grrand atmosphere, but i can see where people would have had problems, there was a pretty rough atmosphere at them match.
    For the music, highlights for me were Sigur Ros, Arctic Monkeys, Strokes, Jenny Lewis, Regina Spector and the Weepies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 harrybosch

may i just say that im amazed.. why the hell is everybody slating the chilis. people are goin on about new stuff etc.... lets remember, they are touring a new album, and yet at the same time they only played five songs off the new album... is this really too much stuff, especially considering slane where they played nearly the whole by the way album, 5 songs off a 2 disc stadium arcadium is not too much new stuff at all.

i find the people slating the chilis aint actuallt chilis fans. if, like me, u are a fan of the chilis, u would have thought they were amazin.]

johna nd flea were on excellent form together with some excellent playing goijn on between them. anthony was note perfect with his singing which sounded excellent.

the sound of the band was top quality and aprt from 20 secs where johns guitar faded durin scar tissue, it was quickly rectified...

so please, lay off the chilis, if u dont like them, u cant really say that they were crap.... if u like them and are a fan and still thought they were crap, thats your own opinion, but i hate this ahhh they were ****e impression when people dont even know anything but by the way and californication......

sorry for such a long post!!!!"!"!!!!!!!!"!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I was in B5 camping, there was a grrand atmosphere, but i can see where people would have had problems, there was a pretty rough atmosphere at them match.
    For the music, highlights for me were Sigur Ros, Arctic Monkeys, Strokes, Jenny Lewis, Regina Spector and the Weepies.
    B5 ruled!!!!

Thought the atmos at the match was a bit rough too, a few tents near the front where destoryed by a few idiots.

Really enjoyed Manu Choa (sp??) and Zero 7, despite never having really been into them. I'll be giving them another listen.

Damien Dempsey did well despite being more suited to a tent atmos imo.

The Who were very good, from what I heard of them anyway as I stayed for Death Cab, who had a very troubled time to say the least. Pity, I was really looking forward to them

The Kooks disappointed but mainly due to the poor sound and the bunch of pricks behind me.

The WC Final was a nice little break from the music and then back for RyG who were exceptional yet again. Should mention that Gabriela was amazing for the way she played on despite the lightstick hitting her guitar during a song. She had every right to walk but intead kept going. Thought they were even better than in the olympia earlier in the year and the footballs at the end was a nice touch :)

All in all I though it was a great weekend, even though the lineup wasn't as good as last year, for me anyway.

PS: Director and the Godfather of soul also deserve a mention. J Brown was well worht hanging around for, even if it was just for the 2 dancers :D Director did very well with a poor timeslot and really got the crowd interested in them. Definately one for the future....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Got there at about 5pm on Friday, the traffic not being half as bad as I expected. Went up on a minibus with 24 friends, but was sharing a tent with my girlfriend. We had planned for all of us to camp beside each other,but that didnt quite work out. Me and the girlfriend ended up seperated from the rest of em, which was grand cos they were all planning to get pissed drunk anyway and I dont drink. We ended up in A9, on a bit of a slope which worked out perfect because all the rain ran away from our tent. By the way, thanks to the Northern lads who moved their tent to make room for ours - legends! The following bands were the highlight of Oxegen for me.

Sigur Ros - Absolutely unbelievably phenomenal. An excellent performance, and the rousing round of applause at the end was truly deserved. The best performance by a mile.

Kasabian - Again, a truly magnificent peformance. Really got the crowd going - I loved them (and im not even a fan!)

The Strokes - Really enjoyable set, had the crowd jumping and thoroughly enjoyable.

The Weepies - Hadnt even heard of them until I ventured into the Pet Sounds stage on Saturday morning. Really good performance - an album ill definately have to get.

Death Cab For Cutie - A bad start due to a problem with the lead singers guitar, but they recovered well and I really enjoyed their performance.

The Zutons - Incredible show. Had the crowd wrapped around their fingers.

Sadly, for a festival with so many bands, its a shame to say that only 6 were worth going to. Most of the other acts were only average, with some being absolutely dire (cough cough, Sandi Thom).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

worst oxegen i've ever been to.

crowd was terrible, full of people who couldnt hold there drink and tools who weren't there for the music at all, even worse than last year.

weather was terrible and obviously theres nothin anyone could do about that but it still ruined the whole experience.

crowds at the stages seemed to be brain dead, was at hope of the states and placebo and the crowd just stood there and watched, was useless.

The Editors were the only saving grace of the weekend, great band live!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

harrybosch wrote:
    so please, lay off the chilis, if u dont like them, u cant really say that they were crap....
    WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 harrybosch

if u dont like a band and dont listen to a band, u cant really get on the bandwagon and just say that they are crap and that they were ****. just because what they were playin didnt appeal to you doesnt mean that a band were crap or ****, it means u didnt enjoy the setlist, is it fair tosay they were crap or **** just because u didnt like them and dont listen to them...

there is a difference between not liking something, and liking something but thinking it was ****.. and thats, in my opinion, what happened with the chilis, people didnt like what they played and then all of a sudden they were crap cause they didnt play this song or that song...

not enough really to call a band ****...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

This was my first oxegen and I enjoyed every minute of it. We pitched tent in A5 not before cracking open a few cans (somthing we would later regret). The camp site was buzzing with people randomly cheering and the sun shining. I cant remeber anything after 12 but I woke up at 9 on saturday morning in somone else's sleeping bag. Whent down to the main stage around 1 and waited for Sandi Thom who was pritty bad aswell as being late on stage. Republic of Loose were brillient, really got things going. Herd some of Damien Rice in the distance as I was getting food. Magic Numbers were decent. Hard Fi were utter shight. Arctic Monkeys were unbelievable. Alex Turner is cool as you like and band have incredible energy. Headed to NME for Feeder were incredlebe. It was such a buz crowd surfing and singing along at the same time. It must have annoyed a few people but Im a pritty light guy and most people gave me thumbs up and rocks salutes as I walked back through the crowd. Cought the end of The Automatic. They had huge energy and the place flipped when they finished with Monster. We whent back to the camp site for dry socks to find our tent had collapsed due to not putting pegs in propperly (drinking before pitching the tent didnt help) and high winds. Missed the who as a result. James Brown was all pomp and cerimony. I might have enjoyed it more with a few cans in me. Stayed up all night wandering the campsite and talking to stranger everyone was enjoying the ocasion and more then happy to pass you can and a fag. Got an hours kip before heading to see Maximo Park who played a blinder even if alot of the crowd wernt up for it. Headed to NME for the Feeling who had a good vibe about them and got the crowd dancing and singing along, stayed for the Kooks which was f*cking crazy. Most of the crowd were drunk and not realy listening to the music. All of there song fadded into one big mess untill they played "She moves in her own ways" and "Nieve" at the end. Back to the mainstage for Placebe who were pritty damn good even though I was only vaguely familiar with there stuff. We waited in the pit for the Kaisers who were alright. Alot of there stuff sounded the same. Fanz Ferdinand realy got the crowd moving.
    And now for the Chilis. I had waited a long time to see this band and the didnt dissapoint (In my opinion at least). You can see why they would play a good few new songs. They have been to this country so often that they had to mix it up. Wet Sand sent a shiver down my spine. I couldnt believe it when they played "Nobody wierd like me". Wouldnt have been my pick out of there pre 1990 stuff to play but there oldschool energy was alive and well. The improve was incredible. Flea and John were breathtaking and Chads drum solo had to be seen to be belived. I loved the way they did this big mad into in the same key as "Around the world" and then flea just cut into "dont forget me". They me foolled for one. Sunday night I was cold and wet and missrible and the campsite was pritty rough. But I pulled though.
    All in All it was an unforgetable weekend and Im definitly going back next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

harrybosch wrote:
    if u dont like a band and dont listen to a band, u cant really get on the bandwagon and just say that they are crap and that they were ****. just because what they were playin didnt appeal to you doesnt mean that a band were crap or ****, it means u didnt enjoy the setlist, is it fair tosay they were crap or **** just because u didnt like them and dont listen to them...

there is a difference between not liking something, and liking something but thinking it was ****.. and thats, in my opinion, what happened with the chilis, people didnt like what they played and then all of a sudden they were crap cause they didnt play this song or that song...

They called the performance ****, not the band.... Setlist doesn't necessarily dictate what the perfrmannce is gonna be like....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

harrybosch wrote:

wow, what if you like the band and still think they were **** on Sunday night? just because you like a band doesnt make for excellent performances all the time. the band in the campsite tent (dont know who they were) were excellent, much better than the Chillis. anyone know who they were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭blahhh

Get there friday, set up have a good evening, go on BUNGEE ball...woot

Back to our crappy tent.....Meet mates...have a laugh....make friends with our neighbours.....

Saturday ......rain

Watch "the marshalls" and "sandi Thomas" in the pit......Marshalls were alright, that one sandi, what a load of crap, WHY?????? was she on the main stage "oh I wish I was a punk rocker......" SHUT UP!

Listen to a bit o REPUBLIC OF LOOSE, they were well cool....

Head back to tent to change....we were soaked at this stage.....

Back at the tent, it's FLOODED!!! THEN to top it all off. COKE-HEADS hyjack it, scary scary scumbags, there's about 10 of em, I was getting narky and telling them to F**k off and get out, my mates were scared. They turned a bit on me so I ignored them, they were doing coke taking shots of vodka and askin us "do yez want your hole?"....in otherwords....anal....... Thought they'd never leave, but they did, but said they'd be back to stay the night!

So we gather our things.....which are soaked.....and leave them in our other friends tents, decide we can't let it ruin our day, grab a bottle of rum and head back to the stages....

one mate goes to see Arctic Monkeys, and Me and mate number2 and the lovely bottle of rum go to see Delays and WE ARE SCIENTISTS (prob my fave band of the whole weekend) Me and mate were two rows from the front, Was such a laugh, despite being kicked and punched and all that!!!

We wander about afterwards, get in the festival mood by flinging mud....meet a few people along the way!mates Karens Aunt offers a place to stay for the night, considering we have no tent!

So we go to her house for the night.....ahhhhh a hot shower...heaven....we cheated at oxegen

Get up the next mornin and head straight for the main stage pit, get RIGHT AT THE FRONT! Meet guys ther, they were so lovely....looked after me and my mates...

Watched... Director, Maximo park, Manu Chao with no bother, bit of pushing but that was fine. Directors were good, got a free cd, Maximo were brill, manu chao were like one big long song.. Once BellX1 came on, things were getting rough, but I enjoyed the marshmellows, we were getting CRUSHED, but lads were looking after us, PLACEBO were after that, they were good....crowd didn't seem into them though....I LOVED them anyways

Then Kaiser Chiefs......I thought we were GOING TO DIE, Me and Memy mate were getting completely crushed, her feet eventually weren't touching the ground she was just wedged between people! She couldn't breath, so I yelled for security and they dragged her out... I didn't want to leave her alone, so they dragged me out too, other mate stayed

Me and mate watched Franz Ferdinand and Red Hot Chili Peppers from Distance, anyone remember "see that moon up there if that was a football, I'd kick it up your hole, yes I would"....random... I regretted getting pulled out but ah well.....Checked out our tent when we went back to campsite, it was flattened...totally flattened

Went back to other friends tents had a few laughs woke up the next day to the smell of burning tents and then got the bus home

next year I'm going to be WAY MORE prepared! Good weekend, despite a few scary incidents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

layke wrote:
    It was windy on sunday Morning all the same, I witnessed a two girls watching a bloke put up a tent. Eventually the tent was finished except for one small thing, No pegs in the ground. Out of no where a gust of wind picked up the fully built tent and carried it away at high speeds. We all watched in awe as it bouced off other tents like a beachball and dissapeared into the distance. I mean it was just gone, totally out of sight and no chance to find it. They just stood there...not knowing what to do. This sounds bad, but it was so funny to watch.

Something similar happened on our camp site. Some guy comes out of his tent yawns and then a gust of wind comes and blows away his tent. Dont know if he ever caught up wit it.