Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just back from Oxegen

• 09-07-2006 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

Yep im back... note the time is before 10pm and the Chillis have not started yet... myself and wife decided enough was enough.. saw Gemma hayes...(hot) :D
    Bell X1 were abolutly fantastic!!!
    Corrine Bailey ray was great too :D She is also pretty hot :D
    Kaisers... im sure they were great.. i like a couple of their songs but by then we were surrounded by drunk people and when some started to puke we decided enough... lets go. Im not a big enough fan of the Chillis to stay for my money's worth and i can just imagine the horror trying to get out later :eek:

So anyway i was not there the whole day but have to say it was fab.. first exegen i have been to. I think we were the only sober ones there.. i was driving and also beer = toilet and thats something you do not want to have to do too often.

Lots of decent food choice there... like a cheap version of taste of Dublin :D Even had fun fair.. i avoided that though... drunk people on those things could be pretty nasty if near a ride :D

Why do people see the need to get so wasted though? I mean i would not have minded drinking a little but some people were just gone!!! Sleeping on the ground in their own puke.. i do not get the attraction!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Royale

did you see wolfmother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

No... never even heard of them :D Were they are on the New bands stage?
    Oh just checked.. they were on NME stage at 1pm.. i only got there about 2:30 or so.

Oh i did notice something.. the NME stage looked bigger and more impressive than the Main stage!!! Went over there for the Zutons but could not get near so just wandered around the stalls looking at some cool stuff and listened to them.
    There was a cool shop with skulls etc.. i got a Dragon carved Staff for €17 its about 5 feet tall or so. Will go well in my Japanese stlye living room.

I must comment MCD on the park and ride at Goffs!! It was so handy.. and free. Much quicker to get out of than the main car park too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Omgggggggg manu chao was ****ing unreal!!!! easily the highlight of the whole oxegen!!!! :D n vitalic!!!! AHHHHH Go'wan tje OXEGEN!!!!!!!1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Primal Scream were amazing, Whipping boy were hilarious "Who wants a hoover?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

at home on the couch ears ringing cup of tea in hand, peppers were poor franz ferdinand were the best act of the day. I tought I would never survive the rain last nighjt. Good weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Toast

That couldnt have been Ferghal with Whipping Boy. Bald, sober and 20 years younger. Im convinced it was a stand in. Most of the rest of Saturday was a washout.

I know cant really blame anyone for the weather but at least they could have bolted down the rear speakers on the main stage so they werent swinging around so much. Arctic Monkeys was a mess as a result of this, though Im sure the drunk masses remember it differently. Spinto band playing earlier in the day were a good start. Later Gomez and Futureheads were good in between the gales and by the time Death Cab for Cutie were playing the weather had settled down alot. Animal collective and Primal Scream rounded up my night on a high note.

Sunday was a lot better weather wise and less distractions from the music. Caught Maximo Park, Morning After Girls, Clap You hands say Yeah, Pretty girls make graves, Forward Russia, and Sigur Ros. All were great with the later being fantastic as always if a bit strange to see everyone singing and clapping along. A bit of a change from the Olympia gigs total silence but much better than the disinterested vomiting kids I was fearing (Chilli Peppers took them off our hands).

I will say I think the sound was overly loud in most of the tents and drowned out alot of the vocals. Earplugs may have helped things but when I asked a steward if there was anywhere selling them I got laughed at (I think she thought I was making comment on the quality of Republic of Loose).

However in general this was the best organised best layed out Oxegen ever. Also they really went all out to make sure no one could give out about people not knowing the times. Free timetable handouts, big boards everywhere. Fair play MCD for once in that respect.

This was the first time I didnt camp so cant say much about the campsite though one of my friends got his tent pegs nicked.. not sure whats going on there but I fear tales of horror again from the site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

Just back myself today and i loved

manu Chao- had never listened to them before but thought they were good

Kasier Chiefs (girlfriend wanted to watch them) - pure crap all there songs sound the exact same tbh

Placebo - the main reason i went down, and were great as always and expected, Stef was such a legend at the end of nancy boy. Got a few decent pics if anyone wants to see them PM me

Sigur Ros - Wow first time to see them and they really blew me away, the lighting and graphics were amazing

Althogether I had a great day and it was really well organised.

PS did anybody see the guy that broke his leg and refused to go to hospital? the bone went through his leg and the Order of malta were beggin him to go to a hospital but he wouldnt cos he wanted to see the chillis ,so he sat there in agony for hours, i hope they were worth it nut i serioulsy doubt it

PS if anyone has the live sets of any of the bands i saw (appartently they were on 2FM) especially Placebo or Sigur Ros, pm me id love to hear them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭highlight100

Great day today,Pharell Williams was outstanding,Chilli Peppers were terrible,spectially after looking forward to them so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Saruman wrote:
    Yep im back... note the time is before 10pm and the Chillis have not started yet... myself and wife decided enough was enough.. saw Gemma hayes...(hot) :D
    Bell X1 were abolutly fantastic!!!
    Corrine Bailey ray was great too :D She is also pretty hot :D
    Kaisers... im sure they were great.. i like a couple of their songs but by then we were surrounded by drunk people and when some started to puke we decided enough... lets go. Im not a big enough fan of the Chillis to stay for my money's worth and i can just imagine the horror trying to get out later :eek:

So anyway i was not there the whole day but have to say it was fab.. first exegen i have been to. I think we were the only sober ones there.. i was driving and also beer = toilet and thats something you do not want to have to do too often.

Lots of decent food choice there... like a cheap version of taste of Dublin :D Even had fun fair.. i avoided that though... drunk people on those things could be pretty nasty if near a ride :D

Why do people see the need to get so wasted though? I mean i would not have minded drinking a little but some people were just gone!!! Sleeping on the ground in their own puke.. i do not get the attraction!

surely you knew what to expect. If people wanna get p*issed, its up to them. Maybe Electric Picnic might be more suitable for you, and I mean that in a good way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

Royale wrote:
    did you see wolfmother?

I went to see them. Pretty good. Spirits were very high at that stage as the bad weather had just passed and the sun started shining. It was exactly the type of music to complement the mood. There was a good crowd over for them too.

I didn't camp either and have to say my experience of the festival was all positive. It was a master stroke keeping the red hot chilli peppers on an extra half hour after everything else ended. I left after Sigur Ros and was home in my bed an hour later.

Highlights for me were Dave Couse (had never heard his solo stuff but he was excellent), Primal Scream, the Charlatans, Divine Comedy and of course the aforementioned Sigur Ros who were an excellent way to wind up proceedings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭bigpoppa

Oxegen continues to get better. Highlights were (for me!) Richard Ashcroft, Bellx1, start of the Chilis set and some of the red bull tent.

*So* happy I didnt camp but cant wait until next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

eric morillo was brilliant and i quite enjoyed the republic of loose and hard-fi...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 blah blah blah

haha campsite was a state, had to move midnight because everything around us had been broken and torched, ours was the only tent standing in the area, moved to a nice section of A2 with some friends...dunno if i'll camp againg though.

Why no bins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

James Brown, legendary

Chilli Peppers, bollocks as expected

security at the stage, ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭lardboy

Arrived 2 o'clock Saturday, at home by 6.45 the same day. Having lost all the people I went with, and mobile service being complete cack, I decided after 3 hours of wandering around on my own utterly drenched, to call it a day and head home. This is the third time I've been to Oxegen/Witness and it's definitely the last. I quite liked the Break In stage though, mainly because it had seats and I could dry off for a bit!

Was there anything that wasn't sponsored? Corporate hell. It felt like walking around a muddy shopping centre.

The finale of Doctor Who and the 3/4 play off was worth the tenner bus ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

ok went on Sat in the pi**ing rain & stayed at the main stage as F**k
    that if I get pi**ed on again been there done that have the scars to prove it
    Wanted to get to a few tents but feck it just went into the green tent for cover
    from the pi**ing rain!!

Magic numbers
    Sounded ok just caught the end of them

Hard Fi
    Sounded awful and everyone was waiting for livin for the weekend
    Also did a version of 7 nation army

Artic Monkeys
    Up near the front so no sound problems. Usual drunken teenagers
    there but hey we have all done it and if not then put it on your list
    Great sound and got the crowd going

Strokes
    Same as above and good sound

The Who
    Been waiting to see these for yonks. Townsend still can do the windmill and
    hit a good chord. Daltrys voice not what it used to be but still good
    Got a bit self indulgent at the end but when your that age you don't need
    to give a sh*t

James Brown

The band seemed to be doing more than he was. Heard a few Hu' and wow
    but left after 3 songs

Good lay out rip off prices, as expected but that's what festivals are all about

Till next year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Just outta bed after going down for Sunday only.
    Was the first Oxegen I've ever gone to, and I'm deffo going back after yesterday.
    It was so well organised and I never saw one bit of trouble (although, it seems the campsites had some nasty things going on).
    Hardly any queues for toilets, the bar or food.
    The weather yesterday was just perfect, and the sun came out just as BellX1 came on. They were fantastic.
    Wasn't too impressed with Kaisers, but loved Franz F.
    Never saw Chilis before, but was happy enough with them.

Caught some of the acts in the New Band tent earlier in the day and was well impressed.
    The Feeling played a good set at the NME stage.

Can't believe how time flew.... so many bands, so little time!
    No complaints. Brilliant day out and worth every cent I spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Arctic Monkeys sucked balls imo, they couldn't pull off the main stage. Saw them on nme tour and thought they were poor then too.
    Clap your hands and the Go Team were the best I saw, they put on a great show. The automatic really suprised me! I thought the keyboardist amazing, he really got the crowd going, full of energy, great to see.
    Great weekend, but the rain really drained me on saturday.
    Didn't get to see all the bands I wanted to though, was really angry so many good bands clashed later in the day when the line-up was so poor during saturday morning/afternoon. we are scientists-arctic monkeys-jose gonzales all on the same time!
    Btw anybody else get a sunburn? I don't know how I managed it, sun barely shone all weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

I dont want anymore festivals in Ireland. They ruin what can be a very memorable experience in terms of bands playing. I dont think anybody who has attended Oxygen/Witness/Glastonbury/Donnington/Rokskilde etc will ever say i saw the great performance of ......../ or ill buy a live recording of ..... from Witness. By the last band people are tired and fed up. They reek of crap, are terribly hung over, and the by and large rubbish music has got their heads in a twist. You could put the original line up of the Beatles on the Sunday Night and people would still hurl bottles of beer at the band and call them crap. The only thing worse about Electric Picnic is taht some people still see it as some kind of superior music festival. Look at the bill and you will see that its very much the same and it is as commercial as the rest of them (but im still going)

What the Organisers did for Download Ireland was better. They spread the festival over three nights in the R.D.S with people compelled to leave on friday after Guns N Roses. This meant that people must leave, sober up and take a shower. But given the length of the bill it held some of the feel of your traditional festival. The bill on sunday was longer, and it had some better bands. I would have prefered if Alice In Chains had stayed on the second stage with Korn on the mainstage. This would have rocked the house. But we all sat around, had a few drinks, discussed the music, and random rubbish with people we dont know. Then Metallica came on and they rocked. We wernt tooo drunk or too tired or too hungover to enjoy them .Having been to the overnight festival the overall result is that Download was better, and i hope they never put it like oxygen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Bobon

The only reason people might see electric picnic as "a superior festival" is because it offers more to create a better atmosphere than the likes of oxegen. i.e security guards that dont treat you like a herd of cattle, top notch toilet facilities... well in terms of festivals, great surroundings, great selection of foods, alternative methods of entertainment i.e comedy tent, lost vagueness. I cannot fully comment on it but as ive never been to electric picnic but have been to glastonbury and have been told by people that have been to both festivals that electric picnic tries to model itself on glastonbury. That in itself, sold the festival to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Was there on the saturday.Only went to the main stage for the strokes and Hard Fi.Both were pretty good.

The best tent by far was the Bacardi tent.The loose Cannons were Brilliant.Really livened up ther crowd and were just mental.

Really wanted to see Republic of Loose.They were on way to early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Spider_Baby

I'm probably gonna get slated for this...but Jerry Fish was absolutely amazing last night (Sun) in the campsite tent!!
    I thought he'd be ****e, but it blew me away. He was coked off his head though me thinks, but going into the crowd and getting everyone to dance on their hunkers (sp?) was brilliant. Super atmosphere.

Campsite was poo, fires everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Riveta

Just after getting up! got back last night, don't think i'd have survived another night in that dunnes stores tent! lol Had a bloody blast! saw artic monkeys.. good but ruined by the drunken masses! the strokes seemed disinterested! and i think the lead singer fell off the stage! yikes. did anyone head to the dance arena!??! it was bloody fab! and i'm not usually the techno fan! also say primal scream, wonderful! Hard-fi were a disappointment.. lead singer was wasted! Headed to editors then! omg! the highlight of the festival! after the lacklustre strokes.... editors were simply fantastic! the whole crowed loved them!! sunday then i saw manu chao and danced my ass off! then to placebo... quite good!the kooks were lovely! Clap your hands and say yeah were one of my favs! the sigur ros topped off a great day! thought they weren't going to remove that screen! and i say them like chatting and stuff before they went on! overall a wonderful weekend! camping was slightly dodgey... but when isn't it!??! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Just back myself and not smelling very nice at all. Went to Roskilde last weekend and I really wasn't looking forward to Oxegen after that. Decided to try and stay drunk for the whole weekend and hopefully I would survive. It actually wasn't as bad as I thought it would be but I do like to rant so here goes.

First off the sound quality at the NME stage made pretty much every band that played there unwatchable. With one small row of speakers for each side of the stage it was clearly underpowered and everytime a slight wind came along the music would fade in and out horribly. For some bizarre reason the indoor stages were very poor soundwise aswell, although I cant comment for the New Band Stage or the Dance stage.

The camping was ok, we were fairly close to everything but our camping chairs started to disappear one by one over the weekend :confused: Also is it just me or was there a really bad vibe in the campsite. Seemed to be a lot of aggressive people going round looking for fights?

Saturday morning was depressing with the rain but we lashed a few cans into us and headed to The Spinto Band which kicked things of nicely. Spent the rest of the day trying to see bands which were playing indoors cos of the rain. Highlight of the day was Whipping Boy, Fergal came on stage wearing a white jump suit, a motorcycle helmet and gloves??? I was thinking ah fook he's probably locked and going to make a mess of the gig but things started to normalize after a while and by the end the whole crowd was loving it. The Go! Team were superb and really got the crowd going when people were starting to fade. Was never really into The Who but went see them anyway, they played well and sounded good but what the hell was the story with shining 8 high powered beams into the audience for most of the show. We were feckin blinded and couldn't see anything :confused:

Got up Sunday and had beer for breakfast. Started early and went to The Directors at the mainstage. They were ok but there was little or no crowd. Why would they put a band that doesn't even have an album released yet playing the mainstage? Went to Wolfmother after that and they were pure class, very high energy set which got us going for Sunday. Highlight of the day for me was Hope of the States but the sound was a bit ropey even though I was right up the front. The Girlfriend went to the Kooks at the NME stage, she said they had to leave after 20mins because the sound was so bad. At that stage I started to get a bit sick of the whole Indie music so went to Pharrell Williams who was surprisingly good. Spent most of the rest day at the Mainstage. Placebo and Franz Ferdinand were pretty much unremarkable. Finished off with Sigur Ros who I also saw at Roskilde last week. They were grand but they needed to be playing a bigger tent to really get their full effect across. I was pissed off though cos most of my mates went to see Rodrigo Y Gabriela at the same time and wouldn't shut up about how good they were. Didn't even stay for the chilli's, I'm just not a fan at all.

So thats it. All in all a pretty good weekend, still not sure if I'd go again but if the line up was good enough I probably would.

Few pictures if anyone is interested

Wolfmother
    Pharell
    Hope of the States
    Director

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Steak

Pharrell Williams was definitely the best act I saw all weekend, got the crowd going so much! I'm pretty annoyed that I missed Placebo, can anyone tell me what songs they played!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Drums

Only went on the Sunday.... Stayed at the Main Stage for most of it... Director were ok... Nothing special. Same as every other band really.

Didn't bother staying for Maximo Park and decided to browse for food.. Seemed like a good idea because nobody was around really.

Went back to the Main Stage for Manu Chau (not sure if that's the correct spelling or not). They were good but every song sounded the same. Everything started off with nice funky reggae, then broke into faster tempo. Got the crowd going nicely.

BellX1 were brilliant. Really good band. Well worth checking out if you haven't already seen them live.

Placebo were really good I thought, but I'm a big fan so of course I'm gonna like them. The crowd didn't really get into them much but they were still great nonetheless. Played "Special K", "Infra-Red", "Black Eyed" and of course ended on "Nancy Boy".

Kaiser Chiefs were a lot better than I expected. Not a fan of them really but their live performance was brilliant.

Franz Ferdinand were amazing. It was my third time seeing them in a year and so I knew what to expect from them. Only disappointment was that they didn't play "Jacqueline".

Chili Peppers weren't great to be honest. They seemed like they wanted to be somewhere else. Played too much of their new stuff so I decided to catch the last 20 minutes of Rodrigo y Gabriela who were AMAZING and I regret not going for their full set.

All in all it was a good day and it was good weather. Even got to see bits of the World Cup before acts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Got back earlier today,

Unfourtantly this year there seemed to be a lot of trouble in the campsite, we had some english people camping beside us that had their sleeping bags and cans stolen on the friday, they bought more sleeping bags and cans the next day only to have a crate and another sleeping bag nicked again, seemed to be a lot of scum there this year. Watching the World Cup was brilliant but once again the scum element creeped in with people throwing cans and the like into the air saw some lad get creamed by a bottle beside me, when the security came in to take out your man that threw it out the security started getting cans thrown at them as well which I thought was pretty unfair because I thought for the most part they were quite nice and helpful. Saturday was horrible, purely because of the rain and the fact that I hated the Who but went to go see Arctic Monkeys, The Blizzard, Hard-Fi and a few acts in the dance tent which I found all to be enjoyable bar Hard-Fi whos lead singer seemed to be having trouble stringing setences together. Sunday was amazing for me, went to see The Feeling, The Kooks and The Chillis, thought the Kooks were brilliant The Chillis were pretty average but the atmosphere made up for that. Sunday night was pure madness and the security couldnt seem to be able to control it, tents were getting lit on fire all over the place and there were a lot of fights, the english people camping beside us decided to leave as they were so disgusted and told us they didnt really feel safe, some lads from Armagh had started on them for being English earlier on in the night

Other than the negatives there though I had a great time, I think the security need to be a lot more strict next year, My mate was there when some scum knocked down the watch tower in A12 which was extremely dangerous as people were camping beside it.

Oh and what was with all the Gary Breen songs on Sunday night, everyone seemed to be singing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i was in Campsite B and didnt see any trouble there at all apart from people lighting their tents on fire last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭speedy21

I think Oxegen was run better this year than any other year i've seen....
    Especially considering the rain on Saturday and Sunshine on Sunday - the festival ran like clockwork.

Heres what I liked : Better food (at ok prices), Free Timetables, more toilets, better layout of stages, the MTV tent!

What I didnt like : The bar closing at 10 - and thats pretty much it!

never thought i'd hear myself say it - but well done MCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Just in the door. What a hectic weekend that was, I only saw 4 bands play and drank way too much. The Editors made it for me! And James Brown's host dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭CrazySka

Im prob gonna be a bit controversial here but i can honestly say there was very little good about oxegen for me this year.

This was my fourth year at it, the first (i think) that the weather was really bad for it and definitely the first where i left feeling assaulted by MCD.
    First off the weather, obviously not MCD s fault but the way they reacted was, how much do those plastic bag ponchos cost? could they not give them away?? (didnt go last year but was told they did then).

Ended up staying in the dance arena cause it was warm, did see a few good acts, Dave Clarke in particular, but what wrecked my head here was they kept changing the entrance/exit one minute it was on one side, then you d go and get a beer and it was changed to the other side, also had the usual row ove bottlecaps with a waterseller, quote: "gimme an extra euro and ill give you the cap"

The build up for me was to the who, one of my favorite bands and the main ones id come to see, waited and waited, went to the main stage and when they played could not hear a thing except the guitars and drums, gutted prob my only chance to see them live, why cant MCD buy/hire a decent sound rig?? Same thing happened at the Chillis in phoenix park, im telling you MCD dont care about people having a good time once they re in, they just want the cash.
    Car park was a joke,when i arrived was told i couldnt drink a beer cause of the bottle, when i left drove all around it to the entrance only to be told "You cant leave her gotta go round the other side"???, nearly crashed in the muck.
    Ended leaving very early as i had trouble with my tent, (lazy putting it up, not MCD's fault).

Basically it pisses me off the way the security treats you with total disdain, almost contempt and the way that you get herded around like a cow into whatever exit/entrance is active at that time. The sound quality at everything was poor(except for the MTV arena which was full of crap acts anyway, remember when acts like Leftfield got in there, now its Eric Morillo). Every f***er selling some thing is trying to rip you off.

45 minute walk to the car park from the campsite. Just seems that MCD try to make it as difficult as possible. "Oh yeah, well be showing Films on the campsite", I saw one crappy screen showing LOTR which im told they showed last year as well, gonna try my best not to go any MCD festival again, they charged me a booking fee on my ticket AND the parking ticket ffs??
    For the people who read this and say that i just didnt enter into the festival atmosphere your wrong, ive been to plenty of them here and abroad and ive always had a good time, the commercialism has simply got out of hand here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

I was in campsite A, it was a cesspit of roving drunken thieves and trouble makers, people were pissing and puking everywhere and anywhere they liked. It was my fist time camping at Oxegen having gone as a daytripper before, I had previously camped at Glastonbury. Is this who we are as people, is this the youth of Ireland? Its pathetic if it is or maybe more likely decent people just stayed away. I wouldn't camp there again, I woke up this morning and there were a lot of tents smouldering nearby, place looked like a warzone. Over the weekend I got very little sleep due to blaring music being pumped out by neighbours who seemed to come just to get pissed and annoy others. The festival itself music wise was very good and enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭jimi_t

I'm really glad I didn't go hearing the stories here - I would've loved to see bands like Placebo, Manu Chao, Sigur Ros, The Strokes and Go!Team but I think I still prefer the line up to Electric Picnic (DJ Shadow, Pet Shop Boys, New Order, Bloc Party, Massive Attack, Graham Coxon, 2 Many DJs/Soulwax, Messiah J and the Expert, Hot Chip, Laurent Garnier, Yeah Yeah Yeahs etc..).

I think the atmosphere in Electric Picnic will be a way better, oxegen has turned into a boozing weekend for a lot of people whereas the picnic is a bit more about the music - in my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭j_nolan

Overall, worth the trip. Basically a case of a few bands redeeming an absolute torrent of ****, weather-wise, and organisation-wise (4 hours to leave a ****ing car park).

Best I seen without a doubt were Sigur Rós, who were just unbelievable (and I mean *****ing* unbelieveable), followed by the Eels.

Slightly disappointed with Death Cab for Cutie, who had a bit of a nightmare.

Also caught and enjoyed Placebo, The Weepies, Sprinto Band, Regina Spektor, Ben Harper (something different?), and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Could've taken or left Zero 7.

Caught an hour of the Chilis, too, who were ****ing rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 clickclick

editors were definitly the highlight for me. they owned the nme stage. so worth missing the who for:D .
    franz ferdinand were excellent as always but yeah whats with no jacueline? michael was def the best song. doesnt paul the drummers tach look weird?!
    i was so freakin pissed of with hard fi, poor stage presence and the singer was obviously beyond wasted.
    i caught the end of feeder and they were so brilliant! really got the crowd moving.
    i though chillis were good but i was so mad they didnt play other side!!! WTF!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

Pissheads : Loads.
    Dickeheads : A few
    Bands : Great , except the arctic monkeys sound
    Highlight : Kasabian.

Overall : A great weekend. In my opinion there needs to be more security, im all for pissed people. But w*nkered at 3 in the afternoon and being a dick isnt on. I saw so many people with thier own booze and twated, It would have been easy enough for extra security to be there and take the drinks off people. Where were the bins? We were asked to not to litter, yeah! right I didnt see a single bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

just went on the sunday so i avoided all the pissing rain hurrah!

wish id seen whipping boy tho. and the who..

but anyway yeah sunday
    Highlights:
    clap your hands say yeah were great craic, and sigur ros blew me away as i expected.
    at times i wished their audience would shut up (seriously, how in god's name does clapping along improve the song?) but they kept quiet-ish.
    they gave timetables this year! wahoo!
    and i'm sorry but i didnt think security was that bad..there was a major scumbag element round this year and given the ****e they put up with they seemed to take a more relaxed approach with decent folk who werent idiots.

oh and fair play dublin bus... ran like clockwork!

negatives: sound in the green room was ****e. as was the NME stage a bit..
    people whistling through sigur ros..
    and i know im a retard but did anyone notice on the main stage screens it said "to your left for campsite B and dublin bus" when infact it was to your right? twats.
    otherwise yeah it was fun.
    gemma hayes=hawt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I was in campsite B and it was a great laugh! it wasnt that dodgy at all! I had an absoultly great weekend anyway and i saw some great bands too!
    i saw Dave Couse, Fear of music, The magic numbers , hard fi (unfortunatly) arctic monkys were amazing! then i went to see feeder who were excellent and then i caught the last 4 songs of the strokes! then saw the who who put on an amazing show, and then the legend that is james brown! that was some laugh

It was lashing on the saturday which sucked! but still the kick ass music made everyone better haha!

then on sunday i stayed in the main stage all day! and i saw director, maximo park, manu chao (one of the best acts of oxegen imo), bellx1, placebo, kaiser chiefs, franz ferdinand, chilli's.

Manu Chao were just amazing im so glad i decided to see them! Placebo were great i thought well because im a die hard fan! but unfortunatly most people were just like "just play nancy boy" (muppets). They played infra red, drag, song to say goodbye, because i want you (all off the new album) nancy boy, every you every me, special k, running up that hill, twenty years...a few more aswel

cant wait to go back next year! hopefully with some more drink :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 BloodLust

Where the chili peppers any good?
    A good review would be nice;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 almv

only was there on Sat but managed to enjoy it through the wet and cold! Hounerable mentions to Dave Couse, Jenny Lewis, The Strokes and The Who. Jenny Lewis had just started her set when the roof in the tent ripped and unleahed a 10 min waterfall - spectaucular!

was dave couse the band that was reading out from a book during their songs ? they were brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 almv

was dave couse the band that was reading out from a book during their songs ? they were brilliant!

Yes he used to be in A House - an unexpected highlight!

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Got back earlier today,

Oh and what was with all the Gary Breen songs on Sunday night, everyone seemed to be singing them
    "We all dream of a team of Gary breens!"
    was that the words?

If I remember correctly last year everybody songs about David Hasselhoff.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭cookie dough 61

As far as the music and craic went, I made my own.... although the amount of absolute f**kin co*cknockers in attendance was incredibe. I was tanked and loud on a few occasions myself, but within my own crowd. A lot of the d*ckheads really b*llocked things a bit...

The Who were undoubtedly my highlight.... just breathtaking.

At times, the sound from the mainstage was deafening outside the pit... yes, it's the main stage, but come on... add to that, the problems people had just hearing the bands at all (Maximo Park were on & off sound wise)... hardly consistent, is it..!?

For me, James Brown had that 'novelty' value. I had a peep at Primal Scream, Ashcroft, Kasabian & Boy Kill Boy then went to watch the remainder of James. He's entertaining if you're into that type of music, but I waited for what seemed like an eternity for him to sing. Still, at least Ive 'seen' him...

Im not an Arctic Monkeys fan (seen the last 7-8 songs as I headed to the pit for Strokes & Who), but they can work the crowd well. Alex Turner had more charisma than Id first given him credit for.
    I thought the Strokes were awesome. Id heard that they were 'boring' live but Jilian dancing about and getting down and splashing about in the puddle was a hoot.

There were more bands on on sunday that I 'wanted' to see and I can honestly say that bar a few sound gliches (volume being too loud mainly) in some stages, no band I saw left me unsatisfied.

The Pet Sounds stage was pretty good. The trio of Regina Spektor, Bic Runga & Jose Gonzalez on saturday and the double bill of Gemma Hayes & Divine Comedy on sunday were impressive.
    It was my fourth time seeing the Chili's so I kind of knew what to expect from them. The older song (the name of which escapes me) which was 'just for Ireland' was a nice touch. But like I said, I knew what to expect from them... anyone who's seen them in recent years probably would too. I still enjoyed them, though...

All in all, like I said, a good weekend of music dented a little by f*ckwits who seem intent on ruining other peoples enjoyment. And the thieving spree that hit peoples tents in our area of B-7 didnt help much...

i was in B7 and my friends 110 euro which he thought he lost, must of gotten robbed so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

BloodLust wrote:
    Where the chili peppers any good?
    A good review would be nice;)

did not see much so this is not a good review.
    but i will say this, they absolutely murdered the intro of the clash - london calling as well as neil young - the needle and the damage done.
    had me hopping mad. otherwise couldnt give a toss tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Anyone see thr De Lonentos? Saw them on Saturday night in the Campsite Stage, and then on sunday, Was very impressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭eddhorse

OK OK lots of scumbags, "do you have any pills?"

But apart from that and the dang rain on saturday it was pretty good.

Didnt get to see all the bands that i wanted to but this is what happens...

I thought Goldfrapp were very good apart from only playing for 35 mins.
    Humanzi were cut short as well for some strange reason even though they were playing opposite the Chillies, who i caught the end of and they seemed distant alright.
    Pherell WIlliams was pretty good, BellX1 were just ok,
    I dont like the Who so wasnt sure why they were even headlining the main stage....
    Missed Hard fi cos i was soaked but by the sounds of things it was a good thing.
    The Zutons were class and so were Republic of Loose...
    Sigur Ros were brill, unique and excellent.
    The strokes were ok too.

Emmm i think thats it really.
    Heard about the tent burning , i was in Campsite B and there was none of that really. There was a good few plastered ppl who wouldnt shut up blowing their fog horns all nite , a bit annoying but hey thats festivals for ya,

Roll on Electric Picnic...cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭lost_for_words

comet wrote:
    I was in campsite A, it was a cesspit of roving drunken thieves and trouble makers, people were pissing and puking everywhere and anywhere they liked. It was my fist time camping at Oxegen having gone as a daytripper before, I had previously camped at Glastonbury. Is this who we are as people, is this the youth of Ireland? Its pathetic if it is or maybe more likely decent people just stayed away. I wouldn't camp there again, I woke up this morning and there were a lot of tents smouldering nearby, place looked like a warzone. Over the weekend I got very little sleep due to blaring music being pumped out by neighbours who seemed to come just to get pissed and annoy others. The festival itself music wise was very good and enjoyable.

I really thought I was alone in my thinking of how appalling the camping at Oxegen was this year, clearly not. I very naively thought people went for the good music and atmosphere of everyone being there with a common purpose, to see some great bands and have a bit of craic. In reality I spent the nights praying for morning to come and hoping my tent wouldn't be lit on fire with me in it during the night. It really tested my faith in humanity and the state of Irish youth. Hearing people get into fights because one fella (who believes stealing is wrong btw) was peed off that somone had stolen his 'smack', and also having supposed security asking me if I had any speed to help him stay awake.
    It didn't stop once the whole weekend, we were surrounded by scumbags who thought it was so cool that they hadn't gone to any bands at all and thought stealing tents and other stuff was hilarious. Not to mention possible assaults as I heard a girl begging for some fella to stop touching her (I couldn't find where she was shouting from) , at some point I could hear another fella roaring at the first fella and then a huge fight starting (hope the girl was ok). There was just so much going on it was hard to take in and I felt as a 23 year old girl that I was far too old for all of this crap and it was ridiculous to spend a weekend at a music festival full of great bands fearing for my life.
    On a more positive note, The Kooks, Sigur Ros and Maximo Park were brilliant, and managed to not have any traumatic portaloo incidents at all :)