Just back from Oxegen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Just in the door. What a hectic weekend that was, I only saw 4 bands play and drank way too much. The Editors made it for me! And James Brown's host dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭CrazySka

Im prob gonna be a bit controversial here but i can honestly say there was very little good about oxegen for me this year.

This was my fourth year at it, the first (i think) that the weather was really bad for it and definitely the first where i left feeling assaulted by MCD.
    First off the weather, obviously not MCD s fault but the way they reacted was, how much do those plastic bag ponchos cost? could they not give them away?? (didnt go last year but was told they did then).

Ended up staying in the dance arena cause it was warm, did see a few good acts, Dave Clarke in particular, but what wrecked my head here was they kept changing the entrance/exit one minute it was on one side, then you d go and get a beer and it was changed to the other side, also had the usual row ove bottlecaps with a waterseller, quote: "gimme an extra euro and ill give you the cap"

The build up for me was to the who, one of my favorite bands and the main ones id come to see, waited and waited, went to the main stage and when they played could not hear a thing except the guitars and drums, gutted prob my only chance to see them live, why cant MCD buy/hire a decent sound rig?? Same thing happened at the Chillis in phoenix park, im telling you MCD dont care about people having a good time once they re in, they just want the cash.
    Car park was a joke,when i arrived was told i couldnt drink a beer cause of the bottle, when i left drove all around it to the entrance only to be told "You cant leave her gotta go round the other side"???, nearly crashed in the muck.
    Ended leaving very early as i had trouble with my tent, (lazy putting it up, not MCD's fault).

Basically it pisses me off the way the security treats you with total disdain, almost contempt and the way that you get herded around like a cow into whatever exit/entrance is active at that time. The sound quality at everything was poor(except for the MTV arena which was full of crap acts anyway, remember when acts like Leftfield got in there, now its Eric Morillo). Every f***er selling some thing is trying to rip you off.

45 minute walk to the car park from the campsite. Just seems that MCD try to make it as difficult as possible. "Oh yeah, well be showing Films on the campsite", I saw one crappy screen showing LOTR which im told they showed last year as well, gonna try my best not to go any MCD festival again, they charged me a booking fee on my ticket AND the parking ticket ffs??
    For the people who read this and say that i just didnt enter into the festival atmosphere your wrong, ive been to plenty of them here and abroad and ive always had a good time, the commercialism has simply got out of hand here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

I was in campsite A, it was a cesspit of roving drunken thieves and trouble makers, people were pissing and puking everywhere and anywhere they liked. It was my fist time camping at Oxegen having gone as a daytripper before, I had previously camped at Glastonbury. Is this who we are as people, is this the youth of Ireland? Its pathetic if it is or maybe more likely decent people just stayed away. I wouldn't camp there again, I woke up this morning and there were a lot of tents smouldering nearby, place looked like a warzone. Over the weekend I got very little sleep due to blaring music being pumped out by neighbours who seemed to come just to get pissed and annoy others. The festival itself music wise was very good and enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭jimi_t

I'm really glad I didn't go hearing the stories here - I would've loved to see bands like Placebo, Manu Chao, Sigur Ros, The Strokes and Go!Team but I think I still prefer the line up to Electric Picnic (DJ Shadow, Pet Shop Boys, New Order, Bloc Party, Massive Attack, Graham Coxon, 2 Many DJs/Soulwax, Messiah J and the Expert, Hot Chip, Laurent Garnier, Yeah Yeah Yeahs etc..).

I think the atmosphere in Electric Picnic will be a way better, oxegen has turned into a boozing weekend for a lot of people whereas the picnic is a bit more about the music - in my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭j_nolan

Overall, worth the trip. Basically a case of a few bands redeeming an absolute torrent of ****, weather-wise, and organisation-wise (4 hours to leave a ****ing car park).

Best I seen without a doubt were Sigur Rós, who were just unbelievable (and I mean *****ing* unbelieveable), followed by the Eels.

Slightly disappointed with Death Cab for Cutie, who had a bit of a nightmare.

Also caught and enjoyed Placebo, The Weepies, Sprinto Band, Regina Spektor, Ben Harper (something different?), and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Could've taken or left Zero 7.

Caught an hour of the Chilis, too, who were ****ing rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 clickclick

editors were definitly the highlight for me. they owned the nme stage. so worth missing the who for:D .
    franz ferdinand were excellent as always but yeah whats with no jacueline? michael was def the best song. doesnt paul the drummers tach look weird?!
    i was so freakin pissed of with hard fi, poor stage presence and the singer was obviously beyond wasted.
    i caught the end of feeder and they were so brilliant! really got the crowd moving.
    i though chillis were good but i was so mad they didnt play other side!!! WTF!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Smoggy

Pissheads : Loads.
    Dickeheads : A few
    Bands : Great , except the arctic monkeys sound
    Highlight : Kasabian.

Overall : A great weekend. In my opinion there needs to be more security, im all for pissed people. But w*nkered at 3 in the afternoon and being a dick isnt on. I saw so many people with thier own booze and twated, It would have been easy enough for extra security to be there and take the drinks off people. Where were the bins? We were asked to not to litter, yeah! right I didnt see a single bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

just went on the sunday so i avoided all the pissing rain hurrah!

wish id seen whipping boy tho. and the who..

but anyway yeah sunday
    Highlights:
    clap your hands say yeah were great craic, and sigur ros blew me away as i expected.
    at times i wished their audience would shut up (seriously, how in god's name does clapping along improve the song?) but they kept quiet-ish.
    they gave timetables this year! wahoo!
    and i'm sorry but i didnt think security was that bad..there was a major scumbag element round this year and given the ****e they put up with they seemed to take a more relaxed approach with decent folk who werent idiots.

oh and fair play dublin bus... ran like clockwork!

negatives: sound in the green room was ****e. as was the NME stage a bit..
    people whistling through sigur ros..
    and i know im a retard but did anyone notice on the main stage screens it said "to your left for campsite B and dublin bus" when infact it was to your right? twats.
    otherwise yeah it was fun.
    gemma hayes=hawt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I was in campsite B and it was a great laugh! it wasnt that dodgy at all! I had an absoultly great weekend anyway and i saw some great bands too!
    i saw Dave Couse, Fear of music, The magic numbers , hard fi (unfortunatly) arctic monkys were amazing! then i went to see feeder who were excellent and then i caught the last 4 songs of the strokes! then saw the who who put on an amazing show, and then the legend that is james brown! that was some laugh

It was lashing on the saturday which sucked! but still the kick ass music made everyone better haha!

then on sunday i stayed in the main stage all day! and i saw director, maximo park, manu chao (one of the best acts of oxegen imo), bellx1, placebo, kaiser chiefs, franz ferdinand, chilli's.

Manu Chao were just amazing im so glad i decided to see them! Placebo were great i thought well because im a die hard fan! but unfortunatly most people were just like "just play nancy boy" (muppets). They played infra red, drag, song to say goodbye, because i want you (all off the new album) nancy boy, every you every me, special k, running up that hill, twenty years...a few more aswel

cant wait to go back next year! hopefully with some more drink :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 BloodLust

Where the chili peppers any good?
    A good review would be nice;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 almv

only was there on Sat but managed to enjoy it through the wet and cold! Hounerable mentions to Dave Couse, Jenny Lewis, The Strokes and The Who. Jenny Lewis had just started her set when the roof in the tent ripped and unleahed a 10 min waterfall - spectaucular!

was dave couse the band that was reading out from a book during their songs ? they were brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 almv

was dave couse the band that was reading out from a book during their songs ? they were brilliant!

Yes he used to be in A House - an unexpected highlight!

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Got back earlier today,

Oh and what was with all the Gary Breen songs on Sunday night, everyone seemed to be singing them
    "We all dream of a team of Gary breens!"
    was that the words?

If I remember correctly last year everybody songs about David Hasselhoff.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭cookie dough 61

As far as the music and craic went, I made my own.... although the amount of absolute f**kin co*cknockers in attendance was incredibe. I was tanked and loud on a few occasions myself, but within my own crowd. A lot of the d*ckheads really b*llocked things a bit...

The Who were undoubtedly my highlight.... just breathtaking.

At times, the sound from the mainstage was deafening outside the pit... yes, it's the main stage, but come on... add to that, the problems people had just hearing the bands at all (Maximo Park were on & off sound wise)... hardly consistent, is it..!?

For me, James Brown had that 'novelty' value. I had a peep at Primal Scream, Ashcroft, Kasabian & Boy Kill Boy then went to watch the remainder of James. He's entertaining if you're into that type of music, but I waited for what seemed like an eternity for him to sing. Still, at least Ive 'seen' him...

Im not an Arctic Monkeys fan (seen the last 7-8 songs as I headed to the pit for Strokes & Who), but they can work the crowd well. Alex Turner had more charisma than Id first given him credit for.
    I thought the Strokes were awesome. Id heard that they were 'boring' live but Jilian dancing about and getting down and splashing about in the puddle was a hoot.

There were more bands on on sunday that I 'wanted' to see and I can honestly say that bar a few sound gliches (volume being too loud mainly) in some stages, no band I saw left me unsatisfied.

The Pet Sounds stage was pretty good. The trio of Regina Spektor, Bic Runga & Jose Gonzalez on saturday and the double bill of Gemma Hayes & Divine Comedy on sunday were impressive.
    It was my fourth time seeing the Chili's so I kind of knew what to expect from them. The older song (the name of which escapes me) which was 'just for Ireland' was a nice touch. But like I said, I knew what to expect from them... anyone who's seen them in recent years probably would too. I still enjoyed them, though...

All in all, like I said, a good weekend of music dented a little by f*ckwits who seem intent on ruining other peoples enjoyment. And the thieving spree that hit peoples tents in our area of B-7 didnt help much...

i was in B7 and my friends 110 euro which he thought he lost, must of gotten robbed so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

BloodLust wrote:
    Where the chili peppers any good?
    A good review would be nice;)

did not see much so this is not a good review.
    but i will say this, they absolutely murdered the intro of the clash - london calling as well as neil young - the needle and the damage done.
    had me hopping mad. otherwise couldnt give a toss tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Anyone see thr De Lonentos? Saw them on Saturday night in the Campsite Stage, and then on sunday, Was very impressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭eddhorse

OK OK lots of scumbags, "do you have any pills?"

But apart from that and the dang rain on saturday it was pretty good.

Didnt get to see all the bands that i wanted to but this is what happens...

I thought Goldfrapp were very good apart from only playing for 35 mins.
    Humanzi were cut short as well for some strange reason even though they were playing opposite the Chillies, who i caught the end of and they seemed distant alright.
    Pherell WIlliams was pretty good, BellX1 were just ok,
    I dont like the Who so wasnt sure why they were even headlining the main stage....
    Missed Hard fi cos i was soaked but by the sounds of things it was a good thing.
    The Zutons were class and so were Republic of Loose...
    Sigur Ros were brill, unique and excellent.
    The strokes were ok too.

Emmm i think thats it really.
    Heard about the tent burning , i was in Campsite B and there was none of that really. There was a good few plastered ppl who wouldnt shut up blowing their fog horns all nite , a bit annoying but hey thats festivals for ya,

Roll on Electric Picnic...cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭lost_for_words

comet wrote:
    I was in campsite A, it was a cesspit of roving drunken thieves and trouble makers, people were pissing and puking everywhere and anywhere they liked. It was my fist time camping at Oxegen having gone as a daytripper before, I had previously camped at Glastonbury. Is this who we are as people, is this the youth of Ireland? Its pathetic if it is or maybe more likely decent people just stayed away. I wouldn't camp there again, I woke up this morning and there were a lot of tents smouldering nearby, place looked like a warzone. Over the weekend I got very little sleep due to blaring music being pumped out by neighbours who seemed to come just to get pissed and annoy others. The festival itself music wise was very good and enjoyable.

I really thought I was alone in my thinking of how appalling the camping at Oxegen was this year, clearly not. I very naively thought people went for the good music and atmosphere of everyone being there with a common purpose, to see some great bands and have a bit of craic. In reality I spent the nights praying for morning to come and hoping my tent wouldn't be lit on fire with me in it during the night. It really tested my faith in humanity and the state of Irish youth. Hearing people get into fights because one fella (who believes stealing is wrong btw) was peed off that somone had stolen his 'smack', and also having supposed security asking me if I had any speed to help him stay awake.
    It didn't stop once the whole weekend, we were surrounded by scumbags who thought it was so cool that they hadn't gone to any bands at all and thought stealing tents and other stuff was hilarious. Not to mention possible assaults as I heard a girl begging for some fella to stop touching her (I couldn't find where she was shouting from) , at some point I could hear another fella roaring at the first fella and then a huge fight starting (hope the girl was ok). There was just so much going on it was hard to take in and I felt as a 23 year old girl that I was far too old for all of this crap and it was ridiculous to spend a weekend at a music festival full of great bands fearing for my life.
    On a more positive note, The Kooks, Sigur Ros and Maximo Park were brilliant, and managed to not have any traumatic portaloo incidents at all :)

well we were the first people let into campsite B and generally the people who put up there tents first are not knackers. so if you want to be camping with no knackers get to the campsite early on friday, simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

was in B8 and saw no knackers in the campsite what so ever. someone staying in camp site A couldnt believe how nice it was. really was a good atmosphere there i thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Smoggy

I'm preposing campsite a - is where all the scumbags go, in there they can piss on each other, fight and steal each others smack. This campsite doesnt have access to the festival, but by the sounds of it, this doesnt really matter, as they aren't there for the music.

Campsite b is where the "normal" people go, people who are there for a weekend of music and drink and none of the above that allows you to enter campsite a.

Entry into campsite a is controled by a simple scumbag test.

edit : [Test removed by me , as it was offensive]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

"We all dream of a team of Gary breens!"
    was that the words?

If I remember correctly last year everybody songs about David Hasselhoff.:eek:

that was it alrite along with,

Number one.....is gary breen
    and number two..... is gary breen
    and number three..... is gary breen
    etc.

these lads must have sung it for ****in hours I didn't get any sleep because of them, they were ****in obsessed

anyways another thing that pissed me off was the fact that security let everyone into the campsite on the sunday night, it was packed out of it and with the bar being closed at 10 I think a lot of people with one day tickets saw the opportunity to rob camper's cans

seems this year campsite B was the good campsite, I specifically went to campsite A this year because I remember B being a kip last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

What a cracking weekend! The Kooks were definitely the highlight for me, the Strokes were amazing too. Was really dissappointed with the Chilli's, thought they were crap. Our whole campsite was on fire by the time we left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

OK.

I was at Deftones Friday night so I just got down Saturday morning. No bother getting a bus when I strolled down to Parnell Sq. at around five to ten and it only took about an hour so no complaints there.

Anyway, when I got in I went to check out the Marshals. They were brilliant. One of the highlights of the weekend, actually! After their set I went to check out Foy Vance in the Green Room. When I walked in he said "Here's a song I wrote on he toilet" so I thought Rock and fúckin' Roll. Then I saw that he was wearing a pink shirt and he had an acoustic guitar. That was enough to make me leave right there but in fairness to him I stuck around for the song and it was terrible.

I'd seen V Formation the night before and I'd thought that they were terrible then, but I said I'd give them another go because I had been pissed off at being stuck up on the balcony in the Ambassador. Unfortunately, I was right the first time. Pure crap. Went back to the main stage for Sandi Thom because there wasn't anything else, tbh. She wasn't as bad as I thought, but she was bad.

Saw the first few songs of the Republic of Loose's set after this. Didn't like them at all, really. Maybe it was the fúcking rain, to be fair to them. Went over to Pet Sounds and caught some Dave Couse. Definitely another highlight. Seeing Endless Art with the book and everything was brilliant. Said I'd check out Damien Dempsey ("Every time I mention the words Bertie Ahern, Harney or McDowell I hear a rumble. That rumble is the sound of James Connolly turning in his grave" :rolleyes: ) but left 'cause of the rain.

In the Green Room I saw some Kubb, and they weren't bad, but completely unremarkable set. Went to the Crimea in the New Band Stage. The singer grabbed the microphone, stand and everything, and walked as far into the crowd as the lead would go. He sang the entire first song in a small circle there. No security around him. Hardcore! They played a great set and I want some of whatever yer man was on. I was talking to him afterwards and I asked him if he had any albums that I'd be able to get. He said "Not on me, no." :D

Next band I saw were Hard-fi. ****e. The lead singer was a stuck-up asshole. He kicked over the guitar when it wasn't working. :mad: Saw a few minutes of Gomez after these clowns and then went over to José González. Caught the end of "That Song Off Of the Sony Ad" and then left after a couple more. He didn't suit the tent at all. Nice to see, though.

Went back to the main stage for the Arctic Monkeys. One of the top three acts of the weekend. I'm not even sure if it was that they were any good, but it was pure atmosphere! I even went as far as to buy a "Who the **** are the Arctic Monkeys" t-shirt. :o Stuck around for the first couple of Strokes songs (Juicebox!) and they were the same live as on record, so I'm not too pushed about missing the rest of their set to see...

The Automatic. Proper music. What's that coming over the hill? Is it a monster? Is it A MONSTER? :cool: Enough said.

After this, of course, was the Who. The reason I bought a ticket and easily the best act of the festival. They played most of the songs I wanted to see. The new one they played was pretty fúcking good, too! Can't wait for the new album.

After this I saw one song from James Brown. That was enough. :( Went to see Kasabian but I couldn't get in to the tent so I pissed off after a couple of songs. What I saw was good enough, though. Saw Ashcroft doing Bittersweet Symphony and went to check out Felix Da Housecat just for the sake of it. About 30 seconds of that was enough, though!

Went back to the campsite and my tent was full of water. Fun.

Saw some of Delorentos to waste a bit of time before I checked out Wolfmother. They put on a proper show, and fair play to them that early on the Sunday! Another real highlight and I'll definitely try to check them out in November. Tried to avoid Maximo Park, but I heard some of their bollox while queuing for Merch. Went down to the put for Manu Chao. Hardcore stuff. The energy of Manu was deadly and the bassist was like something from a proper Metal band.

I'd seen the Tiny Dancers at Dylan in Kilkenny a couple of weeks beforehand, so I said I'd check them out again. I'd really only gone to hear their Microsoft Sam outro, but while they didn't do it, they had some good songs. Saw Corrinne Bailey Rae for the sake of seeing Girl Put Your Records On or whatever live, then left after that. She wasn't bad, but like José González really didn't suit the Pet Sounds stage.

Damian Marley was up next. He had to be seen to be believed. Proper Jamaican sounds. A great set was made even better when I snuck behind the barrier afterwards and got to meet him and his crew. I got autographs from Damian and the guy who was waving a flag around for the entire set. Was talking to the MC chap with the mad hat and asked him to sign my ticket but he just said "I don't really do autographs." :D

Went to see Franz after this and loved the set. 40' and Outsiders were the highlights and it was great to hear Michael but I was disappointed that they didn't play Darts or Jacqueline. Great performance, though. I stuck around for the Chillies for the simple reason that I had a good spot and didn't want to risk not getting into the tent for Rod y Gab or Sigur Rós. I wasn't a fan before but they put on a pretty good show.

I finished off the night with Jerry Fish and the Mudbug Club in the tent in the camp site. Loved their cover of I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor! :D Ger was pretty, eh, energetic, too. ;)

Didn't have to put up with any **** in the campsite, so overall a good Oxegen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

Smurfpiss wrote:
    did not see much so this is not a good review.
    but i will say this, they absolutely murdered the intro of the clash - london calling as well as neil young - the needle and the damage done.
    had me hopping mad. otherwise couldnt give a toss tbh.
    London Calling was murdered as the intro to that song on that album, in fairness to them; it wasn't just something they threw in live. I didn't pick up on Needle', though. Guess I dozed off. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Milkman Dan

colm_mcm wrote:
    Anyone see thr De Lonentos? Saw them on Saturday night in the Campsite Stage, and then on sunday, Was very impressed

delorentos.
    http://www.myspace.com/delorentos
    young dublin band - very impressive on the sunday morning - huge crowd.

sigur ros, ben harper, manu chao, hope of the states, strokes, we are scientists, and guillemots all very enjoyable.

**** weather on the sunday, agro in the campsites, but better organised that last few...
    roll on EP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

I was camping in A11 and it was a nightmare. Friday night was grand but we figured it was 'cause the tent beside us was getting attacked, which was conspicuously in bits on the ground on Saturday.
    Had our tent attacked on Saturday night by some guy with a golf club.. how he got that in we don't know... Ended up staying in my friend's 2 man tent, with four of us, and then getting threats that that tent was gonna get set on fire, so we decided to just give up and leave on Sunday after the Chillis.

Not gonna camp again. This is not mentioning the peeing on tents...

Aside from the tent issues, the music was good. Rain was a big downer, and I'd have preferred a better lineup (but like, that's nobody's fault but mine, I had a general idea of who was playing when I got my ticket), but it was certainly enjoyable. The food was overpriced but edible and I thought the cinema on the campsite was a great idea on Friday.

Though, Campsite B got LOTR and Campsite A got Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and LOTR is so better.

Highlights were Bellx1, Regina Spektor rather surprisingly enough (as I'd only heard one of her songs), The Zutons (mainly because the sun was out and they were good to dance to), and the Spinto Band. Who were hilariously spasmic. And the guitarist guy had a crazy rotating arm.

I agree with whoever said the NME stage was more impressive than the Main Stage. I thought the lighting and whatnot was far better. The main stage looked flat and boring.

In closing, the portaloos weren't too bad at all. The ones beside the NME stage were actually clean enough. Perhaps they were trying to put on an air of civilisation to the day people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Campsite A was a disaster, specifically A12. Our tent was the closest one to the watchtower when it was pulled down, a gang of about 30 thugs set at it, made bits of the security fencing around it , then pulled it down. How someone didnt get killed was amazing. Then security told everyone they advised them to leave as they had called in the next level of security. 10 minutes later 2 vans full of English thugs pulled up, no security vests or anything on and proceeded to pull tents out of the ground, throw kicks at random lads and threaten anyone within sight. We focked off fairly soon after that happened :D