continental europe > ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

that was my point exactly! My hometown has about 90 000 inhabitants, and public transport is pretty bad as well...maybe not as bad as in Galway, but pretty bad. Then again, we do have the autobahn really close by, and they're currently building a bypass (which took them 30 years to decide on, and to subsequently build) - there's a little Ireland even in the most German of towns...:D

But the trains are mostly on time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Agree that transport is very good in Germany, but cannot really think of a single other good thing to say about the place, and yes, I have been there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

I witnessed four pickpockets in action in about thirty minutes spent on the RER platforms in Paris in a single day, as I'm safety concious I have never been pickpocketed.

were outside the peripherique per chance?

i have been in paris 4 times, never had any trouble..

The public transport system is to die for in the majority of europe
    all those trains and tunnels
    rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

jester77 wrote:
    And thats exactly why I live here :D

Same salary but goes a long long long way further, plus the Summer actually has sun for 4-5 months and a decent health system...well actually an amazing health system!!

Oh... and the autobahn rules :D

Plus I can go to take the trinksmarkt and buy 20 bottles of quality beer for €12 and get money back for bringing back the empties!
    jester77
    Galway sounds great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I've also been to Paris countless times without issue. I've been pickpocketed in Madrid and Barcelona though, more than once, and have witnessed (and on occasion foiled) several other attempts in both cities. These are actually the only two places (besides Dublin) in over 20 countries that I've either fallen victim or witnessed pickpocketing (and this would include the likes of Naples and Tangiers.) Barcelona is certainly the single "dodgiest" place I've ever been with Madrid a close second; still love both cities.

Germany is amazingly underrated as a tourist destination; great food, great beer, great white wine, great shopping, friendly people and it's cheap. And I being a cyclist I just love the bike usage levels.

I wouldn't have thought taxis in eastern Europe more expensive than Dublin; it's just that they can have a tendency to not take you quite the most direct route (as anywhere can with foreigners.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

i lived in barcelona for a year
    never any trouble ever!
    i did see a couple of people being robbed/attacked though...it nearly happened to a mate of mine who had been living there for 4 years and can speak fluent spanish and catalan! so its not just tourists...
    dunno why they never picked on me....
    must have been the black panther i had on a leash with me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭pred racer

14. the tab system in bars. its so much simpler and it results the scabby bastard losing out rather than never having to buy a round.

I dont understand:confused: explain please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

adonis wrote:
    i lived in barcelona for a year
    never any trouble ever!
    i did see a couple of people being robbed/attacked though...it nearly happened to a mate of mine who had been living there for 4 years and can speak fluent spanish and catalan! so its not just tourists...
    dunno why they never picked on me....
    must have been the black panther i had on a leash with me...
    post of the year.

"never any trouble ever!"

well...except for those people who were mugged. other than that... oh yeah, my friend too.

LMFAO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I love that even though my German is crap, bartenders, waiters, shop assistants etc. will humor me in my feeble attempts to buy something!

English is part of the curriculum there, so the peoplehave a basic grasp. Plus it's a fairly international language.

Isn't it great that you can get on a train in Paris after breakfast and be in Brussels for lunch? That you can drive across borders within the EU without need to stop and present passports, with the exception of occasional spot checks by customs??

Are you actually complaining that we live on an island? spose we should blame ff for that one. We have the same laws re travel.
    Isn't it great that you can buy a can of beer in a supermarket for about the same price as a can of Coke? That when you go into a supermarket you can actually SMELL the food you're buying. That, if you want to, you can go to seperate shops for your bread, meat, cheese, poultry etc., without having to go to a shopping centre?

We have bakeries, butchers off licences here too you know. I dotn know whether a cheese shop would make money here or not.

They dont have chippers.

Dont get me wrong , I'm half german and have spent a lot of time over there. It's just one of those place that it's nice to visit but I'd NEVER want to live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

pred racer wrote:
    14. the tab system in bars. its so much simpler and it results the scabby bastard losing out rather than never having to buy a round.

I dont understand:confused: explain please?

if you're down the pub with 5-6 lads there's always one who's last to buy a round and it always "coincidentally" ends up being the same person. they can't get away with it when everyone throws in at the end. and if they drink a pint or two less than the rest and the bill is just divided evenly they lose out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭pred racer

thats it im opening a tab from now on, I know so many people like that:o
    Do you not get the really sad gits trying to work out their share like when you are out for grub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Paulj

Have to admit barcelona can be pretty dodgy. I was there for a month and a guy attempted robbing me, a mate of mine was succesfully robbed and i witnessed another attempted robbing. I talked to a guy who was robbed 3 times in the last few months alone. But having said that i think successful robberies are down to the victims stupidity or drunkiness.

I do think that the level of street violence is a lot less there though. I saw no violence at all while there, whereas i can walk down the street in my home town in ireland and be guaranteed to see many scraps. And in ireland you can't help but feel that if you get robbed there's a good chance you'll be stabbed as well. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

toomevara wrote:
    to be honest I don't know why anyone bothers to live here...and why oh why is half the population of Europe queuing up to get in here and work, I mean its unfathomable.....oh wait...must be something to do with the rocketing economy, our totally open labour market, free and relatively uncorrupt political system and refreshing absence of bureacracy and state control (dont believe me... just try and open a business in France, or for that matter fire an incompetent employee, its about as easy as finding a pauper in the fianna fail tent at the Galway races) not to mention the vast personal wealth its possible to accumulate with a little hard work.

Oh and then there's the live and let live attitude of the vast majority of the people who live in this beknighted place...no society in western europe has ever undergone the type of demographic and cultural change Ireland has undergone in the past 10 years..we are a giant experiment my friends and guess what? We're doing really, really well. Now I know thats not what you want to hear but just 20 years ago this was to all intents and purposes a quasi-third world backwater with f**k all to offer except the ferry/plane out.

yeah yeah sure we've got problems, crap health sytem, feral skangers , huge growth in wealth disparity...but France..ha! economically stagnant and a racial timebomb (dont want to share their fabulous republican ideals with those dusky foreigners you see and if your under 25 a 1 in 4 chance of being unemployed, yep, i in 4, insane!!!!! Germany also stagnant and ageing with no social mobility. Italy...hopelessly corrupt and run by cartoon characters. appalling...
    Yeah sure, the trains run on time but frankly so f**kin what....

All of old europe is failing, sure they may have nice transport services, but there is zero dynamism and only pessimism about the future....

....so yeah continental europe...its Great!!! Will the last one out of Ireland please turn out the lights....

Well said!

E.

ive been going across europe for the last two weeks and this is why its better than ireland:

1. the urinals have a sensor that make it flush as soon as you walk away

Plenty of those in Ireland...
    1a. the pedestrian crossings have sensors too. they know when there's a person standing there and change to green

I lived in several countries across the continent and these are quite rare..

2. traffic lights all go to flashing orange after 11 o clock so there's no waiting at a red light for ages while there's no cars or 6 miles

See previous comment....
    3. you don't have to run for the subway because there'll be another one in 6 minutes

Subway?? What subway?
    4. there's a subway

I refer to my above statement...
    5. it has stops every few hundred yards. we once got it the length of a street rather than walk

Lazy fecker!
    6. there are people on the train station platforms whose only job is to go up to people who look lost and ask if they need help

There's plenty hanging around waiting to rob you also...
    7. everything's 100000% cheaper

True!
    8. in munich in the hofbrauhaus the beer comes in litres and while it is expensive for germany (6.20 for basically 2 pints), it makes you realise that the beer they serve in ireland is generally piss

Also true.
    9. even the poorer areas have a fully operational tram system, and their one joins in the middle!!!

Great, that's how the scums get to the better neighbourhoods...
    10. everything is done with a level of efficiency that's unfathomable in ireland. we shouldn't be ni a state where we EXPECT the govt to fcuk everything up

I presume they are also to blame for your poor spelling?
    Believe me, other governements in Europe are just as good or better than the Irish governement at ****ing things up. Differenc is that they are better at not getting caught...
    11. the police have guns and therefore some form of authority and the world didn't collapse when they were given them

Having looked down the barrel of a police service weapon I can provide expert witness to the fact that while it is good having armed police that this should aslo come with adequate training...
    12. the security around the world cup was amazing. the equivalent of the entire irish police force were on the streets and stopped any trouble before it started. there were no muck savages on power trips trying to be smart. they just got the job done.

Leave that to the Germans. Makes you wonder why they lost so many wars...
    13. everyone is incredibly helpful. three of us were looking for a particular place and the woman said that her car was around the corner and she'd give us a lift!!1!!

Germans are indeed very polite and helpfull. This in contrast to the Belgians, Dutch, French etc..

Yup, I hate nothing more than having to pull out my wallet every time I order a round. Much prefer to pay it all at the end..
    15. the bars don't shut at 12:30 on the dot and the country still manages to chug along far better than ireland.

True, more time to drink seems to equate in less people pissed out of their heads causing trouble...
    16. at every train station there's at least 30 taxis waiting. and you generally don't have to get taxis because you're never more than 100 yards from a subway stop.

Not true everywhere...

As much as I agree with most of your sentiments, your experience of continental Europe is limited to say the least...

E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,819 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Living in Cologne at the moment, but I'm moving back home for good in 2 weeks (was just studying here for a year). It has almost the exact same population as Dublin so I guess it's good for a comparison.

Transport is so much better, there's just no point comparing it with Dublin. I won't even bother.

Food etc. in supermarkets is alot cheaper, as is eating out. Booze in supermarkets is ridiculously cheap. 25c for 500ml, tastes a hell of alot better than Hollandia as well. Drinking in pubs isn't that cheap, a pint could cost you around €4.50 but sometimes about €3.60. Depends where you go really. However if you want to go out on a big booze up then this is the country for you. Just buy some cheap beer before you go out (like you would in Ireland, except not €10 for 6 bottles). You can drink on the train, in the streets. Buy beer from Kiosks and drink it outside clubs before you go in, the bouncers don't care. It's common practice. As a student you can go out and spend about €10 here and have a great night. Also the beer here is 50 times better than anything you get in Ireland. I will most certainly never drink Miller again. I much prefer going out in Dublin for the atmosphere though. The pubs here have no atmosphere whatsoever.

Managed not to get in trouble with the police (did come close on a couple of occasions), and avoided a trip to the hospital so I can't comment on that.

The people? Wouldn't say anything about them either way. Seem a normal bunch of city folk. Too much is made of 'this race is friendly, and this country is full of assholes' because somebody went to a country once and had one or two good/bad experiences with the locals. A bad experience being one person slightly bumping into you and not apologising for it. There are assholes everywhere, there are nice people everywhere. I've never had a bad experience with the locals nor have I had a great one. You do get knackers over here, and the german-turk youth population can be a pain in the ass but compared to the amount of knackers you get in Dublin it's not much to worry about.

I haven't been working here so I can't comment about tax or wages. The economy does kind of suck in Germany so I suppose that would be a big con for the country if I were looking for a job. I can tell you UCD is actually 10 times more organised than the University of Cologne. German efficiency is a myth, in Cologne anyway.

I'm a big football fan and will miss watching Fc Koeln, very nice to have a top division team with a great stadium you can watch every 2 weeks.

I wouldn't say one country is better than the other, and I'm only comparing Dublin and Cologne here. There are things I prefer about Dublin and things I prefer about Cologne. But I reckon most people who go on about how shít Ireland is are just whiney bastards (probably in the age group 18-21) looking for an excuse for having a boring, shít life. Or they just like moaning in general and Ireland is an easy target. Every country/city in the world has problems. The only thing we have a real right to complain about in Ireland is the weather, that does suck.

9. even the poorer areas have a fully operational tram system, and their one joins in the middle!!!
    Great, that's how the scums get to the better neighbourhoods...
    so scum only come from poorer areas. interesting to know that.
    i think i'll move out of this council estate that i have called home for 30 years and move to one of the private estates up the road. i really need to get away from all my neighbours. i mean, they live in a council estate, so they must be scum.
    oh crap. wait. that must mean...

julep wrote:
    i think i'll move out of this council estate that i have called home for 30 years and move to one of the private estates up the road. i really need to get away from all my neighbours. i mean, they live in a council estate, so they must be scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

It's all swings and roundabouts. The comparative cost of a basket of groceries in the UK is far cheaper than in Ireland. The public transport system is better. But you pay council tax (try paying over £100 a month for ten months of the year just for living somewhere), your public transport costs are FAR higher than they are in Ireland and cigarettes and petrol cost more.

Rent is about the same price between Dublin and London now - scary, considering you can get a far higher wage in London. Foreign countries just seem to work better than Ireland does.

All in all, its not the money that keeps me out of Ireland. It's the stinking attitude. I've never had to deal with people working for utilities or government departments in any other country (and I've had to deal with places like Africa and China, mind) where "Oh, oh no, that's not my area, you're onto the wrong place. It's not me!" is an apparently acceptable response to a query. I mean, how about taking the initiative to suggest an alternative, or giving me a different phone number?

"No, no, not me."

Right, sorry for bothering you there on the helpdesk, my bad, thought you were there to help, how foolish am I, eh? I'll just fuck off then, shall I? All the way to another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭sioda

Whenever this arguement comes up its always people talking about big cities but lets honest big european cities are enormous when put up against anything but Dublin and Dublin is coming up in the world. Ok here in Limerick the transport system is sh!te but i bet if you look at a town in europe of a similar size you will see the same.

Rite we always give out about stuff its the Irish way but again you cant be comparing beer now i mean the substance not the price Stout suits Ireland and lets be honest weak god awful lager suits the sunnier climbs in europe. Personally I dont think a pint of plain would be very nice in a 40 degree heat.

Ok the Gards aren't armed but does anyone really see crime going down if they were I personally dont.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

r3nu4l wrote:
    And loathe as I am to admit this ...*choking* Britain has had special constables (volunteer reserves) for a few years now and it works well for them so *struggling to say this* we could do with taking a leaf out of their book. :eek:

Why is it so hard for you to compliment England on this issue?

Indeed, why are you living there as you obviously have a severe difficulty / problem with England and English people?

julep wrote:

yeah julep

all scumbags and thugs in Dublin are rugger buggers and come from the southside.

everybody from the inner city / council estates is the 'salt of the earth' :rolleyes:

regarding the world cup policing comments: didn't every country involved send over some of their own police force in order to give the fans a familiar face to relate to in matters of security.

yeah julep

all scumbags and thugs in Dublin are rugger buggers and come from the southside.

everybody from the inner city / council estates is the 'salt of the earth' :rolleyes:
    i never mentioned Dublin.
    I live in Kildare.
    i can't comment on the situation in Dublin council estates. well, aside from the fact that i worked in a few in clondalkin and the people there are good tippers. but that's another story altogether.

the majority of the scum in Leixlip come from upper middle class backgrounds.
    i've lived here all my life and know many of them and know of their backgrounds. this is something i feel qualified to comment on.

julep wrote:
    i never mentioned Dublin.
    I live in Kildare.
    i can't comment on the situation in Dublin council estates. well, aside from the fact that i worked in a few in clondalkin and the people there are good tippers. but that's another story altogether.

the majority of the scum in Leixlip come from upper middle class backgrounds.
    i've lived here all my life and know many of them and know of their backgrounds. this is something i feel qualified to comment on.

What's your opinion of the 66A bus?

RIVER FOREST

full of scumbags heading to river forest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Every country has its own problems and issues so these countries aren't a bed of roses compared to Ireland

mayhem# wrote:
    I presume they are also to blame for your poor spelling?
    Believe me, other governements in Europe are just as good or better than the Irish governement at ****ing things up. Differenc is that they are better at not getting caught...

are you joking? you insulted my spelling based on a sentence which contained a typo (ni instead of in), a contraction (govt instead of government) and a deliberate mis-spelling (fcuk instead of ****). and in this sentence which insulted my non-existent spelling mistakes, you made two mistakes yourself.

julep wrote:
    regarding the world cup policing comments: didn't every country involved send over some of their own police force in order to give the fans a familiar face to relate to in matters of security.
    not that i saw. they all seemed to be wearing the same uniform. unless you mean they sent them over and and them wear germans uniforms?

i recall seeing some english cops on the tv. they were dealing with the english fans over there. i also remember reading something about polish cops being present too. i don't know about the uniforms though. all i saw of the english cop was his head. he wasn't wearing a hat, so i can't tell what sort of uniform he was wearing. (the riot shield told me he was a cop and the accent told me he was english.)

EDIT: linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭carrotcake

Joliegood wrote:
    How come the former Eastern Bloc countries have outrageous taxi fares ?. Even higher than Dublin. Has put me off ever going back there.
    pardon the pun, but you got taken for a ride!