fire brigade attack

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Does anyone know just how dangerous a career in the irish fire service is? Has anyone collected the actuarial data?

Danger from attacks, or in general? I don't hear of too many deaths on the job (I am sure this sort of thing would be highly publicised), but there must be long term health problems from smoke inhalation etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Yes, very good idea. You've clearly heard about how even with small groups and no weapons the gardai already beat the **** out of relatively innocent kids when they catch them drinking or whatever ?

I've heard of loads of people getting a good few smacks from the guards when they were caught knacker drinking or whatever.

Your huge mobs of guards would be killing people.

I think the only real way to deal with it would just be incredibly hard penalties for people who are caught doing stuff like this.

No council house + No dole + No state services at all = No crime from scum.

If little jhonny risked losing his ibiza holiday and €80/month sky digital pack for t

he rest of his life do you tihnk hed be out smashing things?

Yeah but are they out peacefully knacker drinking?Or are they throwing bottles,assualting people,lighting fires and vandalising stuff?Knacker drinking is aprecurser to all kinds of anti-social behaviour and isnt good either for the image of an area or the peace of mind of the residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Eoin, I guess I was interested in both aspects. If deaths/injuries are something that has always happened on the job, they may not get that much publicity, but I was jsut interested because it's something I've never read any stats on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Eoin, I guess I was interested in both aspects. If deaths/injuries are something that has always happened on the job, they may not get that much publicity, but I was jsut interested because it's something I've never read any stats on.

From talking to a friend of mine, he has said that violence, or threats of violence, is something that is not new at all; it's just that the media are reporting it at the moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Its about time it drew some media attention and hight time some sort of action was taken against the scrotes who do this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

eoin_s wrote:
    From talking to a friend of mine, he has said that violence, or threats of violence, is something that is not new at all; it's just that the media are reporting it at the moment.

yeah my friend, a fireman, also said something along the same lines. his exact words "dont be minding what the papers say". after the chap got the bottle in the head they will sell any sort of fireman story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Degsy wrote:
    A friend of mine made the phone call,the "residents" of the halting site are burning insulated wires to get the copper out.They wait till they've a pile of them and then set em on fire.The smoke travels for miles and the fires frequently get out of hand.My friend's house is so near the fire she was worried it would set her place on fire too.They should seriously send the army along with the fire brigade and bust a few heads open.Its the only thing they'll understand.

if this story is true, then thats the 'reason' they attacked the fire bridgade, supposedly protecting their livilyhood, its a wonder that the firebridgade didn't know this, they said they're only putting them on their blacklist now, in the Irish times yesterday it said they called them about a burning caravan, and then they lobbed paving stones through the windows of the fire brdgade truck, didn't say any about it been totalled although im sure it and the men might be out of commission for a while,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

Would the copper not be oxidised/wrecked/worthless by the fire :S ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Would the copper not be oxidised/wrecked/worthless by the fire :S ?

No, the Pikeys call it mongo.

They they wash the copper down and sell it for a nice profit. The bane of a Firefighters life is mongo