fire brigade attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Morlar wrote:
    I dont know why the cops dont go to the fire calls in any event to be honest - perhaps they should start attending those wherever they can or wherever they might expect hassle.

It's hard enough to get them to turn up to what they are supposed to deal with, car crashes, etc but if there's a chance of a Scott medal they come out of the woodwork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Celticfire wrote:
    It's hard enough to get them to turn up to what they are supposed to deal with, car crashes, etc but if there's a chance of a Scott medal they come out of the woodwork...

In other words they prioritise the life-threatening calls before the routine fender benders and unimportant ****?

Kernel wrote:
    In other words they prioritise the life-threatening calls before the routine fender benders and unimportant ****?

I'm not going to get into a slagging match with you as I do respect what you do. But to expect you guys to turn up at every fire or ambulance call is a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

my friend is a fireman. he got a slap two months ago from a junkie. the gardaí seen it and asked did he want to press charges. my friend asked would it be worth it and the garda said "well it will take a few months to process, you'll have to go to court, maybe more then once and sit in the dock in front of the junkie and his family and the most he'll get is a suspended sentence, if even that"

needless to say, he declined.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

He should've found out where the junkie hung out and gone back some dark night and gave him a good flogging.

and who said he didn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

:rolleyes: Fonts are 1 to 7

In a way, yes

right so your a firefigther in the same station we get it.

T&#225 wrote: »
    and who said he didn't?

well if thats the case then attacks by emergency services on people should get increased sentences etc, or infact real trials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Celticfire wrote:
    I do respect what you do. But to expect you guys to turn up at every fire or ambulance call is a bit much.

Huh? I work in a box factory, man! :)

Kernel wrote:
    Huh? I work in a box factory, man! :)

I respect that..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

right so your a firefigther in the same station we get it.

Where did that come from?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

I think the news about this attack is great.

Obviously the attack itself is unjustified and totally wrong - but it is one more stick to beat skangers with. Another reason to complain about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Degsy wrote:
    I know its not in the same league but i'm heartily sick of scumbags pelting busses with rocks too.In certain areas where i'm from,buses will not service certain roads because gangs of pups have been breaking windows by throwing rocks.Now,wheras it pisses me off mightily to have to walk to another bus stop it must be very much worse for the large number of elderly people in the are who are dependant on public transport.Anyway,what are these little scrotes achieving?They're not being gangsters or "fighting the power",they're pissing off ordinary,working class people.Vigilante-style beatings aren't far off methinks..

Agree with you Degsy

Are these the same disadvantaged youths that have been ignored by society and constantly crip about lack of facilities in their area?
    Any facilites provided such as bus shelters and phone kiosks are then promptly trashed.
    I can't get my head around it

Last time I had the misfortune of getting off at Broombridge, the local scangers were on the canal bridge dropping stones on a Intercity train passing below.
    Were this station to close, I'm sure there'd be outrage in the community losing their dart station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

They're at it again - apparently a fire crew went out to put out a fire at a halting site in Dunsink , got surrounded and stoned .Fire crew are all out on sick leave now, and engine is a right off ... is it just me but is Dublin becoming a horrible city to grow up in or live in ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

thebaz wrote:
    They're at it again - apparently a fire crew went out to put out a fire at a halting site in Dunsink , got surrounded and stoned .Fire crew are all out on sick leave now, and engine is a right off ... is it just me but is Dublin becoming a horrible city to grow up in or live in ?
    Well sometimes fires can be good things...... No need to stop them all...!

But yeh, that's f*ckin ridiculous. I don't even wanna imagine the mentality of these disgusting pr*cks. We really need to radically change the Gardaí and the Justice system.

I want LOADS more Gardaí patrolling the streets in groups of 10 or 20; I wanna see them beating the sh*t out of scumbags like these, using sticks of bamboo, or 2x4s with rusty nails sticking out of them; and then I wanna see their bloodied and bruised bodies thrown into a jail-cell for the next 5 years at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

thebaz wrote:

Unfortunately, the only new thing about this is that attacks like this are being reported - it has always been a problem for the fire brigade, but it never got the publicity before.

photos?

there was another street battle apparenlty in that town mentioned on AH a while back, nobody in the whole street managed to photos though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭daymobrew

micmclo wrote:
    Last time I had the misfortune of getting off at Broombridge, the local scangers were on the canal bridge dropping stones on a Intercity train passing below.
    Were this station to close, I'm sure there'd be outrage in the community losing their dart station
    FYI: If you see any anti-social behaviour around a train station or on a train you can report it to the Irish Rail emergency number: 1800-344-544.
    For Broombridge please phone Cabra Garda station: 666-7400.

thebaz wrote:

A friend of mine made the phone call,the "residents" of the halting site are burning insulated wires to get the copper out.They wait till they've a pile of them and then set em on fire.The smoke travels for miles and the fires frequently get out of hand.My friend's house is so near the fire she was worried it would set her place on fire too.They should seriously send the army along with the fire brigade and bust a few heads open.Its the only thing they'll understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Degsy wrote:
    A friend of mine made the phone call,the "residents" of the halting site are burning insulated wires to get the copper out.They wait till they've a pile of them and then set em on fire.The smoke travels for miles and the fires frequently get out of hand.My friend's house is so near the fire she was worried it would set her place on fire too.They should seriously send the army along with the fire brigade and bust a few heads open.Its the only thing they'll understand.

Here here!

As so many others have said, I can kinda see a twisted logic behind fighting gaurds, although it's not like I would, but Fire fighters!? It's just rediculous.. I think something like a gaurd riding with the firefighters wouldn't be a bad idea.. Or maybe giving the firefighters a set of cuffs, incase something happens.

I think giving them a plank with a rusty nail it's fairer, but it wouldn't get passed.. Although, would they not use the water to blast them back? It's powerful enough, if jackass is anything to go by..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

that's exactly what i was thinking, the giant water pump or better still the foamer (if the truck has one) would put manners on these scumbags / people with the same accent as Bertie Ahern.

Red Alert wrote:
    would put manners on these scumbags / people with the same accent as Bertie Ahern.

:rolleyes: some people aye...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

Something like that film, 'Escape from New York.'
    Build a wall around Limerick City. Any scumbags who attack the emergency services - throw them over the wall. Make sure they dont get out - ever.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Wez wrote:
    Here here!

As so many others have said, I can kinda see a twisted logic behind fighting gaurds, although it's not like I would, but Fire fighters!? It's just rediculous.. I think something like a gaurd riding with the firefighters wouldn't be a bad idea.. Or maybe giving the firefighters a set of cuffs, incase something happens.

I think giving them a plank with a rusty nail it's fairer, but it wouldn't get passed.. Although, would they not use the water to blast them back? It's powerful enough, if jackass is anything to go by..
    why should they have to fight? i think they should get a worse treatment they if they attacked a member of EMS, the EMS are there to save lives where the guards are there to uphold the law and in some cases save lives but anyone who obstucts any of this should be done for attempted manslaughter in my opinion, the EMS are the ordinary people oing extraordinary things to save lives

splinter wrote:
    why should they have to fight? i think they should get a worse treatment they if they attacked a member of EMS, the EMS are there to save lives where the guards are there to uphold the law and in some cases save lives but anyone who obstucts any of this should be done for attempted manslaughter in my opinion, the EMS are the ordinary people oing extraordinary things to save lives

I agree that the services themselves shouldnt have to be armed or permitted to arrest people,but they need to be PROTECTED as they're going about thier business.An army or paramilitary escort should do the trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

DaveMcG wrote:
    Well sometimes fires can be good things...... No need to stop them all...!

But yeh, that's f*ckin ridiculous. I don't even wanna imagine the mentality of these disgusting pr*cks. We really need to radically change the Gardaí and the Justice system.

I want LOADS more Gardaí patrolling the streets in groups of 10 or 20; I wanna see them beating the sh*t out of scumbags like these, using sticks of bamboo, or 2x4s with rusty nails sticking out of them; and then I wanna see their bloodied and bruised bodies thrown into a jail-cell for the next 5 years at least.

Yes, very good idea. You've clearly heard about how even with small groups and no weapons the gardai already beat the **** out of relatively innocent kids when they catch them drinking or whatever ?

I've heard of loads of people getting a good few smacks from the guards when they were caught knacker drinking or whatever.

Your huge mobs of guards would be killing people.

I think the only real way to deal with it would just be incredibly hard penalties for people who are caught doing stuff like this.

No council house + No dole + No state services at all = No crime from scum.

If little jhonny risked losing his ibiza holiday and €80/month sky digital pack for the rest of his life do you tihnk hed be out smashing things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Degsy wrote:
    An army or paramilitary escort should do the trick.

Paramilitary??:eek: :rolleyes: Ireland has had enough paramilitaries to last a lifetime! Thanks but no thanks.

That said, I agree that the fire services need protection. Army ftw :D Give those Steyer AUGs some action :D

As for attacking buses, yep, what the hell is with these people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Paramiliatary Police are commen in many countries though not always loved! (ask French-Algerians).

As for measures, hitting the miscreantes in the pocket sounds good unless it ends up depriving innocent family members cos the useless breadwinner/social services claimant is the guilty party.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yes, very good idea. You've clearly heard about how even with small groups and no weapons the gardai already beat the **** out of relatively innocent kids when they catch them drinking or whatever ?

I've heard of loads of people getting a good few smacks from the guards when they were caught knacker drinking or whatever.

Your huge mobs of guards would be killing people.

Yeah I wasn't honestly suggesting we hit them with sticks of bamboo. Tongue right in your cheek there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Does anyone know just how dangerous a career in the irish fire service is? Has anyone collected the actuarial data?