An Garda Siochana ( your views)

12346»

Well, I don't think you can generalise all Gardai as being the same. I've had two encounters with the Gardai within the last two years and both times they were very professional, and efficient.

After getting beaten up on the streets on Cork by 7 guys, the Gardai were very quick to track down the offenders. The subsequent arrest and taking of statements were perfect, and the response by the court and the presentation of the Gardai at the hearing was spot on.

I've heard horror stories about the Gardai for years. I've also heard many people praising them. I think with any organisation that deals with a difficult public, there's going to be variable ability spread across the whole force, and the responses to their presence.

For myself, I have the utmost respect for them and the mainstream job they do. I have some problems with their actions regarding speed checks and other traffic responses, but in the important areas, I have no reason for complaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    I asked a boardsie a few pages back who identified himself as a Guard if he'd care to comment on the incidents I listed.. to date, there has been no response.
    to be fair, himself and the other gardia on here may not be working today after all crime isn't 9-5. so they may all be at home, instead of fighting crime on the Internet.

so for any criminal out there... Wednesday is a good day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    The outright denial or "fog of silence" that these complaints have been met with here serves to just prove my point. I asked a boardsie a few pages back who identified himself as a Guard if he'd care to comment on the incidents I listed.. to date, there has been no response.

The problem is we have a very amateurish and unprofessional force in many ways that tolerates and covers-up things like the examples I - and others - have given (both here and elsewhere on Boards).

It's this that is the real problem with the Gardai.

As mentioned on other threads by the usual "bash the sc*m" attitude of kaiser. Seems like you trolll boards looking for any reference to Garda on a thread and then go into a rant for 2-3 pages about them.

As I said on every other thread I have NEVER had a problme with a Garda and neither has any of my family. I am happy to know alot of Garda in the Dublin/Meath/Cavan area and all are nice people and I get on well with them. No differnet than Joe sitting in an office beside you. Some people think because they put on a uniform they can listen to a tirade of bulls**t/slurs/name calling etc from people because they dont get there way and that wont affect how they talk back. Its communication thats the problem the majority of time and its usually not the Garda fault but the person talking to them

well at least one is working today, fighting crime on the Internet

Im a PowerRanger:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

all my dealings with the Gardai have served to highlight what a bunch of ignorant power trip twats they are. i'm sure there's plenty good ones but any time i've dealt with them, never on the wrong side of the law i might add, they've been nothing but ****.
    from harrasment of friends walking through estates, to driving past someone getting their head kicked in and not bothering to get out of the car despite clearly seeing it, to not bothering to follow up on robberies or remember anything about them when asked about any progress a few months later, they've shown what a bunch of lazy ***** they really are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

To be fair to the decent upstanding Gardaí who post here they cannot change the system.
    It's unfair to pillory them in this way. This is a "lose lose" situation for them.

Change must come from the top, not some guy at the bottom doing his job to the best of his ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

I think the Gardai are great. They are the coolest people in this country, and you're all just jealous that they get all the chicks. Dweebs! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Big Nelly wrote:
    As mentioned on other threads by the usual "bash the sc*m" attitude of kaiser. Seems like you trolll boards looking for any reference to Garda on a thread and then go into a rant for 2-3 pages about them.

As I said on every other thread I have NEVER had a problme with a Garda and neither has any of my family. I am happy to know alot of Garda in the Dublin/Meath/Cavan area and all are nice people and I get on well with them. No differnet than Joe sitting in an office beside you. Some people think because they put on a uniform they can listen to a tirade of bulls**t/slurs/name calling etc from people because they dont get there way and that wont affect how they talk back. Its communication thats the problem the majority of time and its usually not the Garda fault but the person talking to them
    Good for you Nelly that you haven't had the misfortune to experience some of the things I (and others - based on this thread) have had to from the Gardai.

However, just because it hasn't happened to you, doesn't mean it's not happening to others, or do you think for example that the well-publisised cases in Donegal etc were just people making stuff up??

Rather than you following my posts around, why don't you instead look up some of the previous cases I've referred to (or better yet, I can get you tapes of the incidents I've referred to to watch/listen to), and accept that there is indeed a rotten element in the force that needs to be dealt with.

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    Good for you Nelly that you haven't had the misfortune to experience some of the things I (and others - based on this thread) have had to from the Gardai.

Maybe your ma is one of the westies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Kernel wrote:
    Maybe your ma is one of the westies?
    If you've nothing useful to contribute then please don't bother.

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    If you've nothing useful to contribute then please don't bother.

You may never know, if even your own family is a part of a subversive organisation. Does she drive a Lexus?

Kaiser2000 wrote:

However, just because it hasn't happened to you, doesn't mean it's not happening to others, or do you think for example that the well-publisised cases in Donegal etc were just people making stuff up??

Rather than you following my posts around, why don't you instead look up some of the previous cases I've referred to (or better yet, I can get you tapes of the incidents I've referred to to watch/listen to), and accept that there is indeed a rotten element in the force that needs to be dealt with.

Yeah yeah, its the Garda v Kaiser!! haha!! the Garda have pin pointed you down in Dublin and are attacking you from all angles. Sure they have nothing better to do! haha! actually its not the Garda v Kaiser its the World v Kaiser!! haha

Big Nelly wrote:
    Yeah yeah, its the Garda v Kaiser!! haha!! the Garda have pin pointed you down in Dublin and are attacking you from all angles. Sure they have nothing better to do! haha! actually its not the Garda v Kaiser its the World v Kaiser!! haha

poor attempt, very poor.

Poor attempt at what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

poor attempt, very poor.

and yet, still an attempt, which is more than can be said for your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

i was indiffernt until I witnessed my friend be carted off by the gardai for something they saw he didn't do and hold him in cells (whilst I had to wait for him for 7 hours) becaused they refused to believe me, my friend or a totally unbiast witness of what had really happened. Even tho, as I said 2 gardai saw everything and said nothing......

they also confiscated his phone and then didn't give it back saying he didn't have one!!! Not that Im saying the gardai need to steal phones of people but, i saw him hand it over and i saw them denying they ever got it! crazy!
    Yeah whatever.
    He obviously didn't do anything.
    There are always two sides to any story.
    And I'd be prepared to bet yours is fairly false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

letters which I did not bother assembling into words, as I'm sure they are meaningless anyway. <3
    So, if you went to a boards social event thing IRL, what would you say your username was?
    Would you just imitate someone doing those actions, or woud you call yourself "backslash-m-forward slash-underscore-open bracket....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

well this page certainly brought a otherwise fine read down the drain, well done.

To reclaim some point to it, ill share my opinion.

I originally grew up with a fine idea of what the gardai were, I was never in trouble with them so naturally my opinion of them stayed fine. Though as ive grown up, i have had a few run ins(4ish, once i was victim, other 3 i was a witness type). Every single one of them has degraded my view of the gardai. I now only would inform the gardai about an incident as a formaility and would not even wait to see if anything was done.

yesterday 3 cars pulled up outside a neighbours house(across the street), 2 guys banged on the windows, doors etc, while 5 or so more waited outside,after a bit of screaming they decided to start kicking down the front door. Obviously what ever was about to happen was not going to be pretty and im not the type of person to let 7 people do anything to 1 or 2 so i phoned the gardai, after telling them the story they kept asking my details, i didnt want to get involved just report the incident but they hinted they were not going to bother incase it was a hoax if i didnt give my details, so i did. 15 mins later the group of guys took one from the house and "put" him in a car. the gardai never showed up the whole night. I've yet to see that neigbour again(bad sort anyways but shouldnt of being taken regardless)

there was a stabbing on the street over from me and later on that week i found a knife with blood, rang the gardai and of course 3 days later it was still not taken away.

and of course my victim story, house was broken into 4 years ago when i was in there(was suppose to be a 21st birthday for my sister so we were obviously all expected to be out of the house). i talked the guy out(he was eager to leave but it could of got messy if i was unlucky). i phoned gardai straight away and told them it JUST happened a second ago, and if they get a car around fast they could catch him as the guy was just casually walking away. they didnt show up, my dad rang the next day to demand a reason and they couldnt find a "record" of it.

obviously my opinion has gone from a proper policing service to a load of crap. For anyone of those who are posting comments like "if u think they are ****, it must be you", Ive never been in trouble with them so theres no reason for me to think anytning bad except for the service ive seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Personaly, I thinkt the Guards could learn a lot from there american counterparts. Those guys take no sh1t from anybody. And they are armed with guns and tasers, so you would not dare step out of line, at least not if you know what is good for you.

Yeah that's very clever. You'd prefer if we had armed intimidating gardai would you? There have been umpteen cases of police brutality in that country, and no doubt hundreds more that we'll never hear about. And this taser thing is the worst invention ever. Alot of them use it with abandon, no restraint at all. Friends of mine who live over there tell me they've seen people tasered for almost nothing, like some of the cops just get a bit of a kick out of using it.

As for the Gardai here, I find them a mixed bag, which is pretty much what you'd expect. But we shouldn't be too hard on them. Even if there is some corruption (inevitable in any police force) the levels of corruption here would still be low enough compared to some other countries. And at least they can't shoot you (well not ususally anyway).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭aphex™

theTinker: why don't you contact the Garda Complaints Commission about that stuff, get something done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

theTinker: why don't you contact the Garda Complaints Commission about that stuff, get something done.

Never really thought about it to be honest. these things happened 6-12 months apart so they tended to fade from giving a **** by the next one coming along.

What do you think of the police force of ireland? Do you think there fair? affective, non biased. Or just corrupt?

They need more resources, better pay, benefits, enhanced techology, and more opportunities to advance their education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

They need more resources, better pay, benefits, enhanced techology, and more opportunities to advance their education
    Spot the cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

They need more resources, better pay, benefits, enhanced techology, and more opportunities to advance their education.

I agree.