Heavy Drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

bluewolf wrote:
    5-6pints+ is heavy, I would say, particularly if it's more than once-twice a week.

I'm absolutely appalled to hear people drink 10 pints in one evening, nevermind more. That's insane.

Er, that's not "quite light"...

I would say 3 or 4 pints is quite light. If your going out for a few drinks, 4 pints over the space of a few hours is actually nothing. Whenever I go out I tend to drink an awful lot but I don't go out more then about once a month so it doesn't really bother me....anyone drinking more then a few pints a few times a week, not good!

HavoK wrote:
    I would say 3 or 4 pints is quite light. If your going out for a few drinks, 4 pints over the space of a few hours is actually nothing. Whenever I go out I tend to drink an awful lot but I don't go out more then about once a month so it doesn't really bother me....anyone drinking more then a few pints a few times a week, not good!
    It was the 8 bottles I meant...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

You people are kidding yourselves if you think 10 pints isn't excessive. It's far more than you need on a night out, especially if followed by shots or vodka. It wasn't until I left Ireland in May that I really realised how big of a problem drinking is there. People get completely hammered and spend obscene amounts of money, every single weekend. Imagine what it's doing to your liver. I lived in France in the summer with another Irish girl, and we went out a fair bit with local people and were seen as the Irish alcos, despite the fact we don't drink much at all. We'd have a glass, maybe two, of vodka and coke before going out, 2 beers in a club and maybe a shot and people were looking at us like we were insane. They all just have one drink, or two at a stretch. I live in Spain now, where binge drinking is the only entertainment (I'm talking knacker drinking in a car park, everyone does it), people get completely hammered but even they drink in general far less than the average Irish person. It's really worrying.
    I agree. Its really only when you travel that you come to the realisation that Irish poeple do little more than drink and that almost every social occasion revolves around drinking and drinking a lot. When I was at college like most other students I drank loads and that carried on for the first year or two while working after I left but slowly began to stop and now I hardly drink at all. I love a cold beer on a Friday night or wine with dinner but occasionally and one or two is it for me at this stage. I think anyone who has more than 4 drinks in an evening is drinking to excess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Well I would still call 8 bottles light-ish...ok maybe moving into the midrange zone, but still, if drinking over the space of a few hours 8 bottles isn't too bad. Depends what you're drinking though, and what size bottles.

As I said I don't go out at all very often, and as well as that i don't drink any beer, so when I go out I'd normally drink a nagin or more of whiskey/7 or 8 bottles of wkd or whatever even before I hit the club (where id drink a good bit)....I do tend drink an awful lot when out but I do it so rarely its great fun. Can't imagine doing it on a constant basis though.

edit: although i would agree our general perception of what is and isnt excessive is way out of line with the universal ideal...

HavoK wrote:
    Well I would still call 8 bottles light-ish...ok maybe moving into the midrange zone, but still, if drinking over the space of a few hours 8 bottles isn't too bad. Depends what you're drinking though, and what size bottles.

As I said I don't go out at all very often, and as well as that i don't drink any beer, so when I go out I'd normally drink a nagin or more of whiskey/7 or 8 bottles of wkd or whatever even before I hit the club (where id drink a good bit)....I do tend drink an awful lot when out but I do it so rarely its great fun. Can't imagine doing it on a constant basis though.
    Once I started drinking after my LC, I went nuts with it for about a year, and by nuts I mean drinking 7-8 drinks once a week. My birthday then was something else though :D Then I gave up for a while. Then I drank maybe a few times a year, on special occasions and on some of those I would get quite drunk. The last time I got very drunk was at the bf's office party where they were given about 4-500 euro to spend between 5-6 of us for dinner and drinks. There were mystery shots :| Or before that at my birthday when so many people bought me drinks it was insane.

Other than that I would have 1-2 drinks once in a while.
    Now, I don't drink.
    And believe it or not, I go out and have a great time. House party I was at the other week was the best ever and I was stone cold sober.

I just don't get this obsession with alcohol. I thought 7-8 drinks was nuts and yet here we have people talking about 10+ as if it's nothing, and more than once a week. How can you go out to have fun with your friends when you just want to do that kind of thing. Aren't you as well off sitting in a corner drinking straight from a spirit bottle. You can't tell me anything more than a few drinks makes things more fun, if even then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

bluewolf wrote:
    Once I started drinking after my LC, I went nuts with it for about a year, and by nuts I mean drinking 7-8 drinks once a week. My birthday then was something else though :D Then I gave up for a while. Then I drank maybe a few times a year, on special occasions and on some of those I would get quite drunk. The last time I got very drunk was at the bf's office party where they were given about 4-500 euro to spend between 5-6 of us for dinner and drinks. There were mystery shots :| Or before that at my birthday when so many people bought me drinks it was insane.

Other than that I would have 1-2 drinks once in a while.
    Now, I don't drink.
    And believe it or not, I go out and have a great time. House party I was at the other week was the best ever and I was stone cold sober.

I just don't get this obsession with alcohol. I thought 7-8 drinks was nuts and yet here we have people talking about 10+ as if it's nothing, and more than once a week. How can you go out to have fun with your friends when you just want to do that kind of thing. Aren't you as well off sitting in a corner drinking straight from a spirit bottle. You can't tell me anything more than a few drinks makes things more fun, if even then.
    Their friends are doing the same thing probably... I fail to see the problem, once they're not comatose at the end of the night.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Their friends are doing the same thing probably... I fail to see the problem, once they're not comatose at the end of the night.
    What's the point? They're wasting insane amounts of money particularly if it's 10+, it damages their livers and so on, they feel awful the next morning, and that's not even assuming they throw up or someone takes advantage of their drunken states...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

just like the anti smoking brigade

because you dont drink, doesnt make drinking bad

I'm not anti drink. I don't preach against drink. You can all go out and get plastered for all I care. I'd prefer if less people did but it's a personal choice, and I'm well aware of how much I drank.
    I'm asking what the point of drinking that much is.
    And if anyone tells me I'm anti-drink for asking that, I'm not the one with the problem.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I didn't really drink that much until i went to college. We basically got plastered all the way through first year. Then I didn't drink a whole lot after my accident (i had to be sober to manage the crutches!). So i wouldn't necessairly drink a lot now, maybe a couple of pints or vodka or the like to stop me going asleep! I much prefer to go clubbing/dancing instead and i find i'm better with the ladies when i'm sober!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

not to worry i only drink about 15 units per week so i will live forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

10+ one night a week for me. the following night i'll drink 6. no more, no less. that's my cure.

last saturday i drank 14 or 15 cans at a house party. could have been more.
    i just drink budweiser. don't like the taste of anything else, so i don't see the point in drinking anything else.
    i pride myself on the fact that, despite being completely hammered, i didn't go near any of the coke that was continually offered to me throughout the night. there was about €1500 worth floating about.
    now, if you want to talk about wasting money and harming your body...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

julep wrote:
    10+ one night a week for me. the following night i'll drink 6. no more, no less. that's my cure.

last saturday i drank 14 or 15 cans at a house party. could have been more.
    i just drink budweiser. don't like the taste of anything else, so i don't see the point in drinking anything else.
    i pride myself on the fact that, despite being completely hammered, i didn't go near any of the coke that was continually offered to me throughout the night. there was about €1500 worth floating about.
    now, if you want to talk about wasting money and harming your body...

No offense intended but drinking 16+ drinks over two nights is ,like coke, going to harm your body also and some will also say a complete waste of money too.

I think the problem with drinking in Ireland IMO is that its always to a clock.On the continent i dont get so pi55ed up as here,its just so much more relaxing when your not thinking about closing time.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I had 4 pints of Coors Light last night and 2 glasses of 11.5% wine and I was plastered. This was over the course of 5 hours as well. I simply cannot fathom how somebody could drink 16 pints in a night and still be alive!

That kind of thing scares me, tbh.

I'd class anything over 6 pints in a night as heavy drinking.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    just like the anti smoking brigade

because you dont drink, doesnt make drinking bad
    I'm not anti drink I'm just at a loss to understand why everything in this country must revolve around alcohol and the excessive consumption of it. Are Irish people that limited in the use of their imaginations that this is the best we can do in order to have a good time? :confused: I am emabrassed at the state of our country when the pubs and clubs shut, people puking , getting sick, starting fights etc etc. What is the point of drinking that much if this is the end result. That can't be fun. I also hate the way people treat you like a freak if you are on a night out and turn down a drink. No is never enough people keep on trying to force you to have a drink, probably in a bid to make them more comfortbale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

kizzyr wrote:
    I'm not anti drink I'm just at a loss to understand why everything in this country must revolve around alcohol and the excessive consumption of it. Are Irish people that limited in the use of their imaginations that this is the best we can do in order to have a good time? :confused: I am emabrassed at the state of our country when the pubs and clubs shut, people puking , getting sick, starting fights etc etc. What is the point of drinking that much if this is the end result. That can't be fun. I also hate the way people treat you like a freak if you are on a night out and turn down a drink. No is never enough people keep on trying to force you to have a drink, probably in a bid to make them more comfortbale.

Have to agreee with you there on the whole not having a drink comment.Ive gone off the booze for a few months at a time for medical reasons and just because i got sick of it.In this counrty if you refuse a drink on a night out its like you have ten heads,this goes all the way from young to old.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Dr. Dre wrote:
    Oh, I'm serious alright. For pretty much the last 10 years.
    I've a good job, it doesn't interfere with my work. So it's all good.

I did that for over ten years.Started drinking weeknights in front of the telly,six cans or therabaouts,weekends,six cans before leaving the house,no idea how many pints once i was out.Graduated onto 10-12 cans anight in front of the telly and kept that up untill just after christmas a few years ago.I reckon i spent 50,000 0n booze in three years.

Degsy wrote:
    I did that for over ten years.Started drinking weeknights in front of the telly,six cans or therabaouts,weekends,six cans before leaving the house,no idea how many pints once i was out.Graduated onto 10-12 cans anight in front of the telly and kept that up untill just after christmas a few years ago.I reckon i spent 50,000 0n booze in three years.
    That's a decent portion of a mortgage paid off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

i dont think 10 alcopops would be heavy drinking but i think around 6/7 pints is too much.I think it has to do with the alcoho content.

I know someone that can easily drink 16/17 alcopops and be fairly ok but give her 4 or 5 pints she locked.I dont really get that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Faith wrote:
    I had 4 pints of Coors Light last night and 2 glasses of 11.5% wine and I was plastered. This was over the course of 5 hours as well. I simply cannot fathom how somebody could drink 16 pints in a night and still be alive!

That kind of thing scares me, tbh.

I'd class anything over 6 pints in a night as heavy drinking.
    Julep is roughly twice your body weight I'd imagine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

i'd drink about 6 large bottles of bulmers and maybe 5 vodka and orange(i'm a student-it's cheap) on a sat nite out.

don't think thats excessive although last wkend i drank at least that amount each nite from thursday to Sunday inclusive;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭netanyahu

bluewolf wrote:
    It was the 8 bottles I meant...
    a bottle of beer is 330 mls, so three bottles of beer is equal to 2 pints... 8 bottles of beer is like, 5 nearly 5 pints, thats not that much , thats 5 cans.

I suppose that's so-so then... still... it's not quite "light"

padi89 wrote:
    No offense intended but drinking 16+ drinks over two nights is ,like coke, going to harm your body also and some will also say a complete waste of money too.

I think the problem with drinking in Ireland IMO is that its always to a clock.On the continent i dont get so pi55ed up as here,its just so much more relaxing when your not thinking about closing time.
    they would have drank a similar amout to me and done coke. that's a lot more damage and the point i was trying to make.
    also, i don't think €30 on cans is too much for a night out.
    i'm well aware of the damage i'm doing to my body by drinking so much, don't think that i'm not. believe me, i felt in the next morning.

as for the clock thing. it wouldn't work here unless it was limited to city centres. having 24 hour pubs in towns across the country is a recipe for disaster. remember the extra hour on a thursday night?
    Sangre wrote:
    Julep is roughly twice your body weight I'd imagine though.
    6'2" and touching 18 stone.
    i've also been drinking regularly for half of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

julep, we must go on a session.

looder wrote:
    i'd drink about 6 large bottles of bulmers and maybe 5 vodka and orange(i'm a student-it's cheap) on a sat nite out.

don't think thats excessive although last wkend i drank at least that amount each nite from thursday to Sunday inclusive;)
    That is a lot of alcohol to consume on one night out.

sjones wrote:
    julep, we must go on a session.
    isn't there a boards beers coming up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

ccd wrote:
    What is you definition of a heavey drinker.Mine is someone who might drink 16 or 17 pints in one nite.

That's not heavy drinking, that's stunt drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

julep wrote:
    isn't there a boards beers coming up?

Could be actually. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

This is at least the third active thread on alcohol on AH at the minute. People blame Irelands traditional drink problem on the fact that for centuries we, along with other countries with notoriously bad weather like Scotland, Russia, much of Eastern Europe etc etc, have drank to liven up the depression of living in nations with rough climates for most of the year, whilst those in more psychologically friendly weather areas (Italy, Spain, south of France) are very moderate drinkers.

Cue the good weather, there are numerous people posting on boards rubbered, and Saturday evening at 7pm town was full of Irish/Russians/Poles locked out of their bins :D We drink during the bad weather because there is little else to liven us up in the midst of Arctic winds in January. We drink in summer to celebrate the fact the bad weather is over, and because ice cold beer tastes even better on a hot day :)

Personally, on a night out lasting 3 odd hours Id usually have around 13 drinks, give or take. Barely ever drink during the week at home, although if the weather is good Ill have a few cold cans out the back. Saturday was something else, 1:30pm to 4:30am. Beach and two gaffs, christ twas at least 22 and a small amount of vodka (3 pints, two bottles and the rest cans). I was told by a girl from an Indan Ocean French colony who was at the first party we went to that nobody from her country could survive that amount (she had four cans and already thought she had drank too much)

But thats whats makes you proud to be Irish :D

Regarding alcoholism, my mate is an alcoholic and hes only 19. Degsys description would basically describe his habit. After a long day at work most of us unwind with a spliff or maybe one/two cans. His 10 odd cans per night story is pretty much the same as my mate, hes hospitalised himself numerous times with broken bones, been arrested, went missing a few times on sessions and hasnt been found for close to a day afterwards. Hitting the clubs with him can often be just plain annoying. By the time I arrive in town he has usually had the equivalent of 8 or so cans in a few hours (equivalent in that he has been drinking a matching amount of whiskey, alcohol wise). Occasionally he will have taken a few yokes before starting drinking (yes, before, you read correct). Somehow he has an amazing ability to act stone cold sober for the 30 seconds he needs to when he arrives at the door of the club, Ive barely ever seen him refused entry for being drunk, despite the fact that when I met him two minutes earlier he could barely talk he was so out of it. So by about 1am he will usually have had maybe 17 drinks, pulls a sickener and then pisses off home, which if its only the two of us means Im essentially out clubbing on my own for the next 90 mins if I have no bird. Hes a good mate and all but his drinking is out of control.