Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heavy Drinking

• 16-11-2005 4:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭ccd

Had a chat with some ne ast nie and I have to say I was quite surprised when they decribed me as a heavey drinker. What is you definition of a heavey drinker.Mine is someone who might drink 16 or 17 pints in one nite. My friend would classify anything over 5 as heavey. What would you describe as heavey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

ccd wrote:
    Had a chat with some ne ast nie
    Are you drunk right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Is this a thread about heavy drinking, or are you just trying to tell us you can drink 16-17 pints in one sitting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Well considering im a light/non drinker anything over 5 pints would be heavy... its enough to get most people well on their way. 16 - 17 is excessive and you should stop before you die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭ccd

No 15 or 16 is excessive. But I would easily drink 10 pints and a few shorts in a night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i'm afraid 10 pints + spirits = heavy drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

ccd wrote:
    No 15 or 16 is excessive. But I would easily drink 10 pints and a few shorts in a night out
    Congratulations... be sure to pay up on your health insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Depends.

I would consider anyone who drinks 4 pints or more, 3 or more nights per week, to be a heavy drinker.

But I would also consider ten pints twice a week to be heavy drinking.

Etc.

id drink about a bottle of buckfast(this years poncho) and 6vodka and red bulls before the disco!although i am in college and poor!this would only be once a week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Depends... Generally about 5 pints would be normal for me on a night out, but I used to drink a lot more, 10-12 or so.

Come on 10 pints spread out over one night is not exsessive. I also cant belive some deined exsive as 6 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

seamus wrote:
    Depends.

I would consider anyone who drinks 4 pints or more, 3 or more nights per week, to be a heavy drinker.

But I would also consider ten pints twice a week to be heavy drinking.

Etc.

I'm goosed then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

id drink about a bottle of buckfast(this years poncho) and 6vodka and red bulls before the disco!although i am in college and poor!this would only be once a week!

Do not mix redbull and alcohol :( , its really rather dangerous. It put a friend of mine in hospital for 2 days. Redbull on its own is extremely bad for you, mixing it with alcohol is asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

12 + pints a night is excessive, but you can get around this by having a short after every 6 pints, therefore resetting your pints counter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

You can't really generalise on whats heavy drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Do not mix redbull and alcohol :( , its really rather dangerous. It put a friend of mine in hospital for 2 days. Redbull on its own is extremely bad for you, mixing it with alcohol is asking for trouble.

Luckily I hate Red Bull but know lots of people who drink tonnes of the stuff together......why, what did it do? :confused:

buts its only 3.50 and its makes me excel on the dance floor!:D i was thinking of changing to red diesel though as it has a nicer taste!

it must be considered that heavy drinking in ireland and heavy drinking in the rest of the world are very different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

21 units per week is the maximum recommended by doctors.

Thats 12-13 pints per week. More than this and you will die younger than necessary, possibly in an unpleasant way (cancer etc) :(

I know most of you will choose to pretend this isn't true but there ya go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Ag marbh wrote:
    You can't really generalise on whats heavy drinking.
    to a certain extent you can...

i.e. 5 drinks is alot for a 14 year old skinny person who cant hold their drink

but anything over 10 pints for anyone is excessive

unless you're an elephant... and even then

to a certain extent you can...

i.e. 5 drinks is alot for a 14 year old skinny person who cant hold their drink

but anything over 10 pints for anyone is excessive

unless you're an elephant... and even then

You don't know everyones height, weight or tolerance. 10 pints on a nightout doesn't strike me as excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i know an elephant who gets stotious on 2 pints!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

4-5 pints followed by 3-4 double southy and reds is a night out for me, only once a week mind you. I wouldnt classify myself as a heavy drinker, and I see no point in drinking 10+ pints in a night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

Yea its mental stuff!!!.... I drank that on holidays for 2 weeks straight.... i couldn't sleep or anything over it i was getting hilusinations (i know that isn't the way to spell it... before anyone starts getting smarty pants on me!!)... anyway after I came back from hols my mind was racing for about 4 weeks!!... Wierd!!
    ... 16 pints isnt excessive for someone who is used to drinking that many pints!!... Where as someone who would rarely drink would probably be hospitalised if they tried to drink 16 pints!!.... It just depends on what you are used to yourself!!... and if your a man or a woman... and if your fat... I think fat people can drink more??
    ...... Me I can't drink to save my life!... But hey its cheap!

4-5 pints followed by 3-4 double southy and reds is a night out for me, only once a week mind you. I wouldnt classify myself as a heavy drinker, and I see no point in drinking 10+ pints in a night.

Well what you're already drinking is probably the equivelant to drinking 10 pints?

I would drink 10 + because I like the taste. How many would everyone else have on a night out

Ag marbh wrote:
    You don't know everyones height, weight or tolerance. 10 pints on a nightout doesn't strike me as excessive.

Thats the point im making... no matter how big or how much tolerance you have... i would classify over 10 pints as excessive... not enough to kill or cause brain damage... but excessive

'Heavy' drinking may not mean drinking till your ****faced. it may simply refer to the intake of an unhealthy amount of alcohol, weather or not it causes complete drunkeness

10 drinks over a night isn't too damaging.

i only drink to have the craic with the lads and get a bit of courage to talk to all the fine girls!:o

I don't drink for confidence. It's more of a breather/relaxation after a weeks work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

During one two week period during the summer I drank 2 bottles of Malibu, 30 cans of Carlsberg, 34 pints of Carlsberg, 2 Naggins of vodka, 1 shoulder of vodka, 3 1/2 bottles of wine,10 shots of tequilla, 8 slippery nipples, 5 bottles of Stella, Half a bacardi breezer.

I Read an article the other day about the dangers of drinking and it scared the shite out of me. So I decided from toaday, no more reading for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Ag marbh wrote:
    10 drinks over a night isn't too damaging.

It is if you do it regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Ag marbh wrote:
    Well what you're already drinking is probably the equivelant to drinking 10 pints?

It probably is but as the OP has said, he would have 10 pints and a few shorts in a night out. Plus I like to think that I can handle my drink well because of my stature.

but i think that anybody that likes the taste of alcohol has a problem to some extent!it doesnt have a nice taste to tell us we shouldnt drink too much of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

10 + drinks over a night probably is excessive, but sure it's easily done ... :D

Ya wouldn't want to do it more than once a week tho...

Binge drinking is where it's at :v:

Binomate wrote:
    During one two week period during the summer I drank 2 bottles of Malibu, 30 cans of Carlsberg, 34 pints of Carlsberg, 2 Naggins of vodka, 1 shoulder of vodka, 3 1/2 bottles of wine,10 shots of tequilla, 8 slippery nipples, 5 bottles of Stella, Half a bacardi breezer.

I Read an article the other day about the dangers of drinking and it scared the shite out of me. So I decided from toaday, no more reading for me.

But you were still sober enough to count them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

but i think that anybody that likes the taste of alcohol has a problem to some extent!it doesnt have a nice taste to tell us we shouldnt drink too much of it!
    A cold beer is very refreshing.

I personally like the first taste of an ice cold can. It's lovely and refreshing...just because people have developed an acquired taste that doesn't mean its a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭annR

CCD

How often would you drink 10 pints over a night . . .have you tried to add up your alcohol units per week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Thats a mad statement. A good pint is very tasty imo!!

but a cold bottle of water is more refreshing but thats just me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

All the above are examples of binge drinking, not heavy drinking. I would associate heavy drinking with time rather than volume, maybe a mixture of the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd consider around 10 pints to be heavy... I'm quite a light drinker, though. Maybe 3/4 pints if I'm out... 5/6 cans or 8 bottles if I'm in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Ya, redbull is one messed up chemical concoction

http://www.cbc.ca/consumers/market/files/health/redbull/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Depends... Generally about 5 pints would be normal for me on a night out, but I used to drink a lot more, 10-12 or so.

I see you're getting old too.

Beer is an acquired taste, at this stage I absolutely love a nice pint of Budweisers, whereas a few years ago I hated, hated the taste of beer.

Actually, even until last year I hated beer and drank cider. Oh how times have changed...

But to the question, it depends on the age/weight etc. of a person. Whatever it takes to get someone messy, that's too much. However, a big fellow might drink 12 pints and not get hammered, but it could be destroying him inside. Very variable dependent issue altogether.

Lastly about red bull & vodka's, I drink them because I have a hereditary dependancy to fall asleep when drunk, these perk me right back up and banish the 'slumped over on a table with head in hands' syndrome.

They have ****ed me up a few times before, my heart started going crazy with palpitations, nearly fainted. I only have one now tops. That was scary when they affected my heart like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Sarsfield wrote:
    21 units per week is the maximum recommended by doctors.

Ah yes, but 10 units per day is the minimum recommended by publicans.

Who are you going to trust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Funkstard wrote:
    ...the 'slumped over on a table with head in hands' syndrome...
    Ah, I often get that myself. All the next day everyone you meet is going "You were so locked you passed out" and will refuse to believe you actually just got exhausted and fell asleep. I suppose I wouldn't believe that if it didn't happen to me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Heavy drinkers are great. They give the local economy (well, pubs and offlicences) a good kick up the bum, and then remove themselves from the gene pool by being too drunk to get it up and dying soon after from terminal liver damage. They're like catalysts.

Crucifix wrote:
    Ah, I often get that myself. All the next day everyone you meet is going "You were so locked you passed out" and will refuse to believe you actually just got exhausted and fell asleep. I suppose I wouldn't believe that if it didn't happen to me though.

Yeh it's terrible isn't it? "Man I can't believe you KO'd last night"

No I ****ing didn't....it's just the temptation is absolutely irresistable when you're drunk.

I think I'll just close my eyes.........rest my head in my hands for two seconds.....

"AY! WAKE UP OR GET THE FOOK OUT!"