Traveller street riot leaves locals terrified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Cause there fat and lazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

When some sectarian scuffle kicks off in the north and some young lad is kicked to death, it is headline news for weeks.

With all these major traveller scuffles, how come no one dies.

Most of the violence in the republic are scum druggies all part of IRA.

Whether Dublin or Limerick, scum druggies are killing everyone all the time. Travellers seem to have clean, wholesome fun, hardly any fatalities just racist farmers shooting them in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Plug wrote:
    There was another riot in Kilkenny the other day. It was a funeral and they litreally battered the butter out of each other and someone pulled the body from the cofin on the ground:eek: Gardi were in riot gear and sorted it out but most of them had to go to hospital.

Jesus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Heinrich wrote:
    More of the same.

.. I see the thread filled with the usual crap. Any sources on where the first post story came from?

I found Heinrichs second story and its dated Feb 1998. Delboy05 appears to be the only recent story.

Well ok after some rummaging around I found a number of stories on it but none so colorful as the original post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Hiya Hobbes! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Wertz wrote:
    They pay 5K each...there's maybe 10X that riding in bets behind the scenes...

One of the "refs" in that video (short guy with the grey hair) lived in our locale, he'd facillitate the fights and make some good money out of it.
    He died a while back and instead of having his caravan burned after his funeral (which is a traveller tradition) it was his then brand new Landcruiser that was burned instead. Not short of a few bob then...

He's called a "fair play man",usually an older bloke who stops them bitin',buttin',kickin' or scrabbin'.He usually gets a good chunk ofthe winner's purse as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Hobbes wrote:
    .. I see the thread filled with the usual crap. Any sources on where the first post story came from?

Good god, it was 3 pages in and no sign of oul Hobbsey with the "usual crap" comment and the demanding of links to this ridicilous nonsense that settled people are promoting (travellers fighting at a funeral? Good god, the thought!).

But I reached page 4 and my faith in the man was restored:D

Hobbes, really, when are you going to realise that the fact that most people in this country have negative experiences to tell of travellers may be a sign that they are disproportionately more prone to violence/crime/anti social behaviour than most people? Do you know how many people Ive met who have had very positive experiences with them? The answer is two. One is a friend of mine whos uncle had a market stall, he said there was a decent traveller there back in the day who was a horse trader, bang on chap apparently. The other was a taxi driver. After dropping some lads off in Finglas he was taking me back to Blanch and we were passing by some very large halts on the way. He remarked that the people in one small halt were generally decent, good folks.

He also remarked that the people in the next one (very large settlement) were 100% scum, drivers refused to take fares from it.

Now, there you have it. Of all the hundreds and thousands of people Ive met in my time, I can name two who have had anything good to say about a traveller. Now, call me naive but I think this is a pretty good measure of the type of people most travellers seem to be. I just wait for the day that Hobbes arrives home from holiday to find travellers have burgled his home, or if he ever parks beside a caravan for a few minutes and comes back to find his tyres slashed, but a friendly traveller just down the way who is offering to sell him brand new tyres at knockdown prices :) See how many we love them posts hes making then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Tha Gopher Now, there you have it. Of all the hundreds and thousands of people Ive met in my time, I can name two who have had anything good to say about a traveller. Now, call me naive but I think this is a pretty good measure of the type of people most travellers seem to be.

My God ,of all the hundreds and thousands of people you have met you have asked every single one of them their thoughts on travellers?You must lead a very exciting life. Mate i wouldnt say you have asked 5%,surely you have better things to talk about.If this is your idea of a good measure then i would say its worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Good god, it was 3 pages in and no sign of oul Hobbsey with the "usual crap" comment and the demanding of links to this ridicilous nonsense that settled people are promoting (travellers fighting at a funeral? Good god, the thought!).

Yea well some of us have lives instead of just posting anti-traveller **** on the web.
    I just wait for the day that Hobbes arrives home from holiday to find travellers have burgled his home, or if he ever parks beside a caravan for a few minutes and comes back to find his tyres slashed,

I don't think I have ever rejected the fact that there are scumbags in life. Where I draw the line is people like you who feel happy about tarring everyone with the same brush. Incidently how would you know your house was burgled by travellers? Do they leave a calling card or something? :rolleyes:

I asked for the source of the first post because, I couldn't find it (eventually did find the stories). the second story is from 8 years ago. Thats all I asked.

You may continue on with your bigotted crap in the thread. I won't be reading it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭smiling_time

OMcGovern wrote:
    I've no problem with travellers attacking and killing each other, just as long as they don't bother decent folk. Give them a field, filled with weapons, and tell them that the last man standing gets a brand new hiace.
    !!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

Wertz wrote:
    it was his then brand new Landcruiser that was burned instead. Not short of a few bob then...

that land cruiser was the only one ever insured by a traveller i bet.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

JimmySmith wrote:
    that land cruiser was the only one ever insured by a traveller i bet.:)
    Not nice at all:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

rofl :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Hobbes wrote:
    Yea well some of us have lives instead of just posting anti-traveller **** on the web.
    as opposed to pro-traveller ****?
    At one stage, a female mourner was standing on a pew screaming obscenities while holding a Yorkshire terrier dog in her hands.
    the knacker version of a shitzu or poodle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

I read recently that a publican who was terrified of travellers was convicted of "Unlawful discharge of a gun", when he fired it into the air to scare a bunch of them away after continued harrassment. Wish I could find the article.

He should have been convicted of "Irresponsible discharge of a gun", due to the fact that he pointed it in the wrong direction.

The Ward case in County Mayo is another example where political correctness has gone mad in defending criminals and sociopaths in this country.

Sad to say, between working in pubs and betting offices I have had nothing but negative experiences with travellers. Attempts to not pay for drink, or say "I gave you twenty", knowing damn well it was a ten, attempts to invoke the racism card, vomiting, random threats of violence. Alright, I got elements of the same crap from the regular public, but that was maybe 10% of the general public, whereas it was 75% or more of travellers.

I started off idealistic. I was 17. Serving a traveller, I expected no problems. After 2 hours, and every combination of alcohol imaginable thrown in, they vomited on the carpets.

The betting office experience with travellers was dreadful. There is much less scope for defence, or even back up from Head Office, since the company I worked for back then had a policy of "The customer is always right". Now there are limits to this policy, after all, a lot of managers were ivory tower people who did not understand or comprehend the day to day nonsense that happened. Late bets, dubiously written bets, all kinds of skullduggery and delaying tactics, when I was settling bets, and the trainee girl was very stressed.

Of course, eventually i had enough, and when one of them started arguing, I said I had enough, voided another late bet, and put the money in the St Vincent de Paul box. All kinds of threats were made. I just laughed them off.

When a complaint was made at Head office, I explained myself. For once, I was backed up.

"Take twenty from the till and get yourselves a drink"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hobbes wrote:
    I don't think I have ever rejected the fact that there are scumbags in life. Where I draw the line is people like you who feel happy about tarring everyone with the same brush.
    TBH 90% of my dealings with travellers have been negative to some degree or other. The other 10% were extremely nice people. Because of the latter I operate on the principle of wait and see. The same way I deal with anyone else. I don't blind myself to the dodgier aspects of their culture either. That said the perception that they are all scumbags may just serve as a self fulfilling prophecy. If you're treated with suspicion and contempt all your life, the chances are good you will respond in kind. This would be magnified even more in a small close knit society that feels under threat. Just my 2 cents.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I dont see how postings your negative experiences with travellers is painting them all with the same brush ? I certainly think that anyone who says ALL travellers are scum is an idiot...it cant be true. I have never met a nice one myself but I would say there are a large ammount of them out there. That doesnt mean Im not going to be cautious though. If truth be told, I avoid them where-ever possible. If I see a group of them, I will stay away, is this wrong ? About as wrong as sharing my many negative experiences with others I would say. I treat them in the same way as I would treat people dressed in full tracksuits with heavy Dublin accents, with caution. If one turned out to be nice, of course I would be nice in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Hobbes wrote:

I found Heinrichs second story and its dated Feb 1998. Delboy05 appears to be the only recent story.

Well ok after some rummaging around I found a number of stories on it but none so colorful as the original post.

rather than read this thread i just skippped through the pages to find the inevitable hobbes post. hey hobbes, travellers smell like poo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

rather than read this thread i just skippped through the pages to find the inevitable hobbes post. hey hobbes, travellers smell like poo :D

The first part of the post speaks volumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Why are these threads even allowed to stay open? The same shíte over and over again:

Person the 1st: All Pikey scum are smelly and drive vans LOL and dey drink and fight! Dey should all be KILT!!!!!

Person the 2nd: Yeah I'm wit you :D:D:D PIKEY SCUM!

Person the 15th: No! You're all wrong! They're all beautiful people with fabulous singing voices and mystical tales of yore!

Jesus. Is it beyond all of you to judge people on an individual basis? Sure there are travelling scumbags, but I've lived in the City Centre of Dublin for the last 5 yrs. I would hazard a guess that a large portion of Ireland seem to be scumbags, including the animals on this thread who honestly seem to be supporting genocide.

Have you seen the 30 something suits coming out of Leeson st. at half four in the morning? Animals. The 10 yr olds on Gardiner st. whose parents honestly don't seem to give a crap about raising them? The disaffected men in their twenties who scream at the footie on the telly in Shanahan's, who shout at their girlfriends on the street, who kick cars coming out of pubs? The 19 yr old girls who piss on the road, punch their boyfriends and flash their gee at strangers? Racist culchies shouting at asians? We are a NATION of scum, folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

settle down kids please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭X-SL

someone just had to ruin the fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

I do think its strange that this didn't make national news, but I think thats just dublin biases

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Anybody know dunsink lane in finglas?Come down and see what travellers have done to an area,sinks,fridges and every conceivable kind of crap dumped in the middle ofthe road for the council to clean up.Illegal dvd rackets,stolen cars and white diesel for sale.The place is raided rougly once a month and stolen property,counterfeit dvds and weapons are recovered every time.A barrier was erected to stop access to the (unnoficial) site and they rioted for a week,throwing petrol bombs,firecrackers,rocks and iron bars at thepolice.This is less than 50 yards from a quiet residential road.When the council finally decided the travellers had to be evicted,they are refusing to move unless they get cash compensation.Who's fault is all this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

X-SL wrote:
    someone just had to ruin the fun

shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Rather than read through this thread, I just banned Commander Vimes for trolling. Hey Vimes, b&

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Degsy wrote:
    Anybody know dunsink lane in finglas?Come down and see what travellers have done to an area,sinks,fridges and every conceivable kind of crap dumped in the middle ofthe road for the council to clean up.Illegal dvd rackets,stolen cars and white diesel for sale.The place is raided rougly once a month and stolen property,counterfeit dvds and weapons are recovered every time.A barrier was erected to stop access to the (unnoficial) site and they rioted for a week,throwing petrol bombs,firecrackers,rocks and iron bars at thepolice.This is less than 50 yards from a quiet residential road.When the council finally decided the travellers had to be evicted,they are refusing to move unless they get cash compensation.Who's fault is all this?

did you develope your sh1t attitude to people before or after the travellors moved there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Degsy wrote:

Welcome to settled person territory
    http://thelimerick.blogspot.com/2006/02/st-marys-park-wins-tidy-townsnot.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

Shabadu wrote:
    Why are these threads even allowed to stay open? The same shíte over and over again:

Person the 1st: All Pikey scum are smelly and drive vans LOL and dey drink and fight! Dey should all be KILT!!!!!

Person the 2nd: Yeah I'm wit you :D:D:D PIKEY SCUM!

Person the 15th: No! You're all wrong! They're all beautiful people with fabulous singing voices and mystical tales of yore!

Jesus. Is it beyond all of you to judge people on an individual basis? Sure there are travelling scumbags, but I've lived in the City Centre of Dublin for the last 5 yrs. I would hazard a guess that a large portion of Ireland seem to be scumbags, including the animals on this thread who honestly seem to be supporting genocide.

Have you seen the 30 something suits coming out of Leeson st. at half four in the morning? Animals. The 10 yr olds on Gardiner st. whose parents honestly don't seem to give a crap about raising them? The disaffected men in their twenties who scream at the footie on the telly in Shanahan's, who shout at their girlfriends on the street, who kick cars coming out of pubs? The 19 yr old girls who piss on the road, punch their boyfriends and flash their gee at strangers? Racist culchies shouting at asians? We are a NATION of scum, folks.

Shabadu has a point here. The same racist ****e over and over again. Where are the moderators, don't they give a stuff?

If my parents were travellers and I was reading most of the posts on this thread, I'm sure I would just dump more krap over hedges, set new records for drunkeness and violence and invent new ways of upsetting so called decent folk because I reckon I could be forgiven for being a down trodden product of an increasingly racist and polarised society wrapped up in chasing more money and furthering inequality between rich and poor, taking more cocaine, getting insanely pissed, offering a crappier service to the general public whilst finding better ways of ripping them off and offering a schittier service, at the same time slagging travellers off.

Society has to sort itself out and if it is seen by other countries as being a krap hole because it can't sort itself out, it cannot just go and blame its own minorities for its own problems.

Irish society is far from perfect as Shabadu has pointed out in his experience, and I will add that most of the current generation are pampered mothers boys and girls that cannot take criticism because they scream and cry when they are questioned about what ballocks they talk and to avoid answering questions they just blame minorities to divert the sort of shi'ite they are responsible for themselves.

I know there were mass protests about a farmer that beat up and shot and killed a traveller that may have been on his land, up to no good, but where were the mass protests on the streets and cities of ireland about the paedofile catholic priests that have gone beyond what can be described as cold blooded murder and have systematically disintegrated the lives of countless innocent souls and their families by acts that are beyond imagination and human belief and what they have gotten away with in their pompous protected lives and their crimes against humanity and the abject destruction of minds and souls.

Compared to travellers, they are scum, and as for the many many so called decent, money grabbing, ignorant, drug taking, racist rubbish that ireland is now so often turning out, is this some sort of ideal that society is happy with. Forget having a go at travellers, leave them alone you feckin cowardly scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

There's one thing people never seem to realise about travellers - a lot of them look & sound so much like the settled community you don't notice them.

The ones you meet with the chip on their shoulder do their best to show everyone how much of a traveller they are - they even make themselves look more like the stereotypes - like the worst of all minorities

Thats why we think 75% of travellers are scum - The ones we note as travellers are the stereotypical ones whp are generally just skangers with odd accents. But the ones we don't recognise as travellers we don't get a chance to judge.

Homosapiens prefer sanitary conditions & a non-violent existance - Be pretty crap of us to completely give up on them.