Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traveller street riot leaves locals terrified

• 01-06-2006 7:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭

Good to see law and order in our rural towns. Have we seen it all? Reminds me of the Great Chinese Take Away in Abbey Street so many years ago.

I just love the last paragraph!

A RIOT involving up to 40 Travellers in a small town has left the local community terrified and angry about the lack of gardai in the area.

Locals said it was impossible for the one garda stationed in Killenaule, Co Tipperary, to have coped with the situation which erupted at around 11.30pm on Tuesday and lasted for up to two hours.

The culprits fought with slash hooks and iron bars and were covered in blood after the incident in Pike Street.

The violence erupted after a large group of Travellers emerged from a local pub following what locals claimed were birthday party celebrations for a 10-year-old and 17-year-old in their community.

"They were swinging slashers and iron bars at each other and seven to eight of the men had no tops on. They were beating the heads off each other," said local butcher John O' Dwyer.

"The neighbours were absolutely terrorised. We had six to seven people living alone on the street. I saw one 50-year-old man who lives alone crying on the street.

"The toughened glass in the big window of my butcher's shop was shattered when an old iron hand cart was thrown at it during the riot."

Mr O' Dwyer, who lives in another area of the town, said he got out of bed after he was alerted about the incident.

"I wanted to go down the street to see my shop, but the neighbours wouldn't let me down. I think I'm lucky now that I didn't go down."

Locals said that up to six patrol cars from the neighbouring towns of Cashel, Clonmel and Thurles were on the scene about a half-hour after the riot started. One terrified woman who witnessed the riot from her bedroom window said there was little that gardai could do to quell the riot.

"The crowd was just totally and absolutely out of control. They had big hooked weapons fashioned out of timber and there was nothing the gardai could have done, because these people were capable of taking your head off," she said.

Eyewitnesses said that up to half the group were women and children. Some of the women had small babies.

Witnesses also said that one of the rioters was seriously injured. An ambulance was called to the scene, but the culprits had vanished in cars by the time it arrived.

Supt Tony Cogan of Thurles Garda Station said there were no serious injuries in the riot. He said one person was charged with a public order offence. "It is now up to eyewitnesses to make statements to the gardai," he said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

heh Pikey Street.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

There was another riot in Kilkenny the other day. It was a funeral and they litreally battered the butter out of each other and someone pulled the body from the cofin on the ground:eek: Gardi were in riot gear and sorted it out but most of them had to go to hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I love a good ol traveller row,sher it wouldnt be Ireland without one,Slashooks,women and children the works! "One terrified woman who witnessed the riot from her bedroom" ,Id say she loved it.If she was so terrified why did she watch it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

I've no problem with travellers attacking and killing each other, just as long as they don't bother decent folk. Give them a field, filled with weapons, and tell them that the last man standing gets a brand new hiace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Heinrich wrote:
    I just love the last paragraph!

why?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Sure, they're all misunderstood. Right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Femmy wrote:
    why?:confused:

I suppose because there were 40 drunken maniacs with iron bars and slash hooks tearing into one another, blood all over the place and no serious injuries! And looking for eyewitnesses...
    • Would you believe the first part?
    • Would you go forward as a witness when there might be 40 maniacs interested in your welfare afterwards?
    • Do you think the Gardai only had reason to arrest one person in this melee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

OMcGovern wrote:
    I've no problem with travellers attacking and killing each other, just as long as they don't bother decent folk. Give them a field, filled with weapons, and tell them that the last man standing gets a brand new hiace.

Agreed. One man arrestred. :D Although I wouldnt be rushing into the middle of that to arrest them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Where are all the liberal Pikey lovers today?

Let me guess, they are not representative of the Pikey community as a whole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

OMcGovern wrote:

Seriously brillant idea!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Slunk wrote:
    Although I wouldnt be rushing into the middle of that to arrest them.
    It is a bit harder than giving out parking tickets I'll admit but isn't that what they're paid to do?
    Keeping the peace, "An Garda Siochana", they definitely don't do what it says on the tin.

Hagar wrote:
    It is a bit harder than giving out parking tickets I'll admit but isn't that what they're paid to do?
    Keeping the peace, "An Garda Siochana", they definitely don't do what it says on the tin.

Are the poulets any better? You are just jealous of our men in blue. Did you get one parking ticket too many ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Why are you ALWAYS blaming the traveling community, these guys are just people who through time and tradition choose not to settle but instead entertain us with street violence and bad accents.

Where are all the pro-pikeys now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Heinrich wrote:
    Are the poulets any better? You are just jealous of our men in blue. Did you get one parking ticket too many ? :D
    I can honestly say I never got a parking ticket from a Garda. I did get one down here though.

OMcGovern wrote:

Just giving natural evolution a nudge to hurry up eh?

Does anyone have a field.... and a hiace you could loan to us boardsters for a day?

Hagar wrote:
    I can honestly say I never got a parking ticket from a Garda. I did get one down here though.

Maybe the Gardai are too busy dealing with travelling rioters.

Serves you right for illegally parking. Cluttering up the streets... :D

a part de ca, la vie est belle la bas?

Peace wrote:
    Where are all the liberal Pikey lovers today?

Let me guess, they are not representative of the Pikey community as a whole?

Of course they are its their tradtition to beat eight shades of ****e outta one another to settle a dispute,at least the feckers handle their disputes face to face weapons and all,instead of debateing anonymously behind a computer screen!:D Ya have to admire it....hehehe

padi89 wrote:
    Of course they are its their tradtition to beat eight shades of ****e outta one another,at least the feckers handle their disputes face to face weapons and all,instead of debateing anonymous behind a computer screen!:D

You don't get broadband in a caravan! :D

I don't know how you operate but I'm working in FRONT of my screen.

Heinrich wrote:
    I don't know how you operate but I'm working in FRONT of my screen.

Thats gone over my head?:confused:

Heinrich wrote:
    You don't get broadband in a caravan! :D

Sher what would ya need broadband for when you drive around in a 06 Landcruiser!

padi89 wrote:
    Thats gone over my head?:confused:

Got ya,sorry bit slow this morning:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I posted a few months back about one of these "disagreements" some travellers had on the Tuam road in Galway. Was like something out of Medieval times. 4 travellers with shirts off using weapons against each other (hammers/wooden weapons/hatchets/cars etc).

I read there was a follow-up where one of them ran onto a football match with a mask on wielding a fúcking hatchet.

Personally I've no problem with them killing each other. Inevitably innocent people get injured or their property which is not on.

I like the field full of travellers/weapons idea..

What usually happens then is they all end up back at casualty togeather.......ding ding ding Round 2!!!!!

padi89 wrote:
    What usually happens then is they all end up back at casualty togeather.......ding ding ding Round 2!!!!!

Look, the field will operate somthing similar to Thunderdome (the one in Mad Max, not the boards one) - many pikeys enter, one pikey leave.

One pikey turning up in A&E should be managable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

what if this filed is filled with mines? would be that be ok? or just less entertaining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

There was a ruck in a chuch at a childrens communion down in Waterford a couple of weeks ago, involving travellers -- apparently it was chaotic -- childrens communion in a church .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

They should surround the field with barb wire so the rest of us can watch the mad fcukers kill each other!

I might sound synical here but do they all have a screw loose in them?? or is it just certain members of the travelling community (I know some settled travellers to see & they are quite nice people)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

when I was coming home from work on Sunday, there was a Paddywagon-load of cops outside St Patricks church in Kilkenny as a coffin was being brought in. They were keeping two feuding factions apart...well its been widely reported what happened afterwards. The coffin was knocked over in the resulting melee in the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Things that shouldn't be happening in this thread:

(A) LET'S CULL THE KNACKERS!
    (B) I SEE THE LOONY LOOPY LEFT LIBERAL LOUT LOVING LADS ARE LOST, WHERE ARTH THOU! HAHA THIS PROVES ALL MY OPINIONS! MAN THEY'RE IDIOTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Leinster

Fight ya for a fiver - no shirt, no shoes!

More of the same.

Part of the large force of Gardai on duty during the funeral of Martin McDonagh in Ballymote yesterday. On right are some of the weapons confiscated earlier in the day.

AN OUTBREAK of serious violence was averted by gardai in the Sligo town of Ballymote yesterday morning when hundreds of travellers, many armed with deadly weapons, converged for a funeral.
    In a major security operation involving gardai from five different divisions, two men were arrested and two firearms and an arsenal of over 100 assorted weapons was seized in searches at five checkpoints mounted on all routes into the town.

From early morning groups began arriving in the south Sligo town for the funeral of Martin `The Priest Groundshaker' McDonagh (79), originally from Mayo, who died in the English city of Leicester over a week ago.

ONGOING FEUD

Gardai were notified of the death by their English colleagues and were aware of what is believed to be an ongoing feud between members of the McDonagh and Ward travelling families, and drew up the the plan to avert the feared clash.

``A similar situation occurred here less than a year ago and at that time we recovered weapons. With the help of our overseas colleagues and intelligence in Dublin and Galway we set about a similar operation,'' local Superintendent Tom Gallagher explained.

More than 100 gardai from divisions in Donegal, Sligo-Leitrim, Cavan-Monaghan, Roscommon and Galway were deployed to the checkpoints where comprehensive searches of vehicles and their occupants were carried out from 9am.

In a search of a car near the graveyard, a sawn-off shotgun and a small handgun were recovered and two men were arrested and detained at Sligo garda station under Section 30 of the Offence Against the State Act.

MEAT CLEAVERS

Other searches yielded an arsenal which included sledge hammers, lump hammers, machetes, swords, pitchforks, knives, hatchets, meat cleavers, wheel braces, hurley sticks and chains.

Half a dozen hatchets which were included in the seizure still had price tags, and had been purchased in a hardware store in a neighbouring town. According to Supt Gallagher the intention was clear.

``There is no doubt that they all here anticipating violence. We suspected as much and that is why we mounted the checkpoints. I am certain many lives could have been lost if a fight had gone ahead,'' he said.

Gardai continued to maintain a presence at the funeral mass and burial but the event passed off peacefully.

They had advised local shopkeepers and publicans to keep their premises closed for the morning, and the advice was heeded. By 2pm all those attending the funeral had departed towards Dublin and Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

whats the crack with them funerals like? i would assume that if theres 2 rival factions of creamers, and one fella dies from faction A, then Faction B wouldn't be invited to the funeral. or is it standard practice for funerals to have a big mill up?

MAybe the real reason is that they all love each other so much but are afraid to say it in case it compromises their masculinity, and they love seein each other again so they all kick the jaysus outta each other and hope someone dies so they can meet up again at another funeral for a chat and a quick murder! make sense? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

They must have an abnormal capacity to absorb injury and pain.I would imagine that being whacked with a machete,slash hook,iron bar,sword or cleaver would sting just a little and i wouldn t like to face somebody weilding one.

Giblet wrote:
    Things that shouldn't be happening in this thread:

(A) LET'S CULL THE KNACKERS!
    (B) I SEE THE LOONY LOOPY LEFT LIBERAL LOUT LOVING LADS ARE LOST, WHERE ARTH THOU! HAHA THIS PROVES ALL MY OPINIONS! MAN THEY'RE IDIOTS

See once they are knocking the ****e outta one another then it shouldnt really bother you, you have nothing to complain about really,so your opinions are........ erm unproven:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Anyone ever see that "Pikeys in Nikies" clip of a traveller fight, I think its on Lemonzoo.com or somwhere.. Its quite frightening..

And a little funny

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

xzanti wrote:
    Anyone ever see that "Pikeys in Nikies" clip of a traveller fight, I think its on Lemonzoo.com or somwhere.. Its quite frightening..

And a little funny

Youtube has it i think put in gypsies fighting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭lukeUCD

Originally Posted by OMcGovern

this is giving me an idea for a new reality show :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Natural selection at work again

xzanti wrote:

And a little funny

Frightening? I think its great .A well organised event with great refereeing:D
    "No headin or bitin and if a mans inside no one can stop him":p
    Id rather watch that anyday to some poor unfortunate random person getting numerous kicks to the head on a Sat night or like that poor guy in the other vid being stabbed.

Angels wrote:
    I might sound synical here but do they all have a screw loose in them??

Well they've obviously got a smaller gene pool than the rest of the population.
    The womenfolk must think the hyper-aggressive ones are "alpha-males", so they're selectively breeding angry children. Nature and nurture... both gone badly wrong....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

FFS, and they wonder why every pub in any given town closes its doors when there is a traveller wedding, funeral, christening , communion or confirmation in town!!

Mildly funny story. Have a few regular traveller blokes get their smokes in our shop everyday on their way to the one arm bandit arcade around the corner. they spend most of the day there btw. Anyway, they seem nice enough and have never had any trouble or bad word from them. Had to laugh though when one of the lads had his kids aged about 12 and 15 with him one day. Both kids start pocketing chocolate in front of me and their old man. "Whaddaya doin' Rocky!! Sure I told ye outside, you're not allowed rob from this shop!"........not "I told ye not to rob any shops". :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

padi89 wrote:
    Id rather watch that anyday to some poor unfortunate random person getting numerous kicks to the head on a Sat night or like that poor guy in the other vid being stabbed.

You did see the and a little funny bit on the end of my post right??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Heinrich wrote:
    The violence erupted after a large group of Travellers emerged from a local pub following what locals claimed were birthday party celebrations for a 10-year-old and 17-year-old in their community.

"They were swinging slashers and iron bars at each other and seven to eight of the men had no tops on. They were beating the heads off each other,
    " said local butcher John O' Dwyer.

These people have a wierd way of celebrating...!
    Degsy wrote:
    They must have an abnormal capacity to absorb injury and pain.I would imagine that being whacked with a machete,slash hook,iron bar,sword or cleaver would sting just a little and i wouldn t like to face somebody weilding one.

Wuss :cool:
    padi89 wrote:

"No dirty ol' punches!"

xzanti wrote:
    You did see the and a little funny bit on the end of my post right??
    Sorry mate i missed that one.I feel like defending the pikeys today:D !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Delboy05

Here the story on the Kilkenny 'incident' the other day - they actually attacked each other in a church!!! They even ahd a dog in the church with them.
    But the funniest thing is....I have'nt heard a word from Pavee Point, The Equality Tribunal or any of the other myriad of 'agencies' in this country who live off the tax payer and spend their time telling us how racist/unjust we are....

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1622284&issue_id=14113
    Priests shocked as family feud erupts at funeral

MOURNERS were sent diving for cover at a funeral Mass yesterday as a family feud broke out inside a church.

The drama occurred shortly before 11am at St Patrick's Church on the edge of Kilkenny city as the funeral of Josephine 'Judy' Harty (67), a settled Traveller, was about to begin.

A scuffle erupted between two young male relatives close to the altar as three priests were preparing to conduct the ceremony.

The row then spread through the church among members of the dead woman's family.

At one stage, a female mourner was standing on a pew screaming obscenities while holding a Yorkshire terrier dog in her hands.

Pushing and shoving continued for sometime as chief celebrant Fr Dan Carroll and two other priests tried to calm the situation.

Three altar boys looked on in silence, afraid about what was going to happen next.

After five to 10 minutes, some sort of calm was restored, allowing the brief ceremony to proceed.

Fr Carroll reminded Mrs Harty's relatives they were inside "a sacred and holy place" and that they "should not offend God in any way" with their conduct.

As the white coffin of Mrs Harty, who died of a heart attack, was carried from the church by her sons, a large number of gardai surrounded the horse-drawn funeral carriage in an effort to ease tensions.

Mrs Harty was laid to rest in St Kieran's cemetery without any further incident.

On Sunday night at her removal, up to 40 members of the Travelling community were involved in a fight at the funeral home.

Gardai wearing riot gear entered the home and arrested five men. Two were taken to hospital.

Sarah Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

"No Blades! No Bows! Leave your weapons here"

Ode to a simpler time.

Where are they when you need them.

So far we have melees in
    • a church
    • a cemetry
    • outside a pub

These people urgently need protection.

If they are looking for protection, they'ld find sanctuary in a job office / recruitment agency.... other travellers won't step foot in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

But its only a small percentage of travellers, who all happened to be in the one place at one time, and I see meat hook fights involving settled people every day of the week! ;)