Traveller street riot leaves locals terrified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

More of the same.

Part of the large force of Gardai on duty during the funeral of Martin McDonagh in Ballymote yesterday. On right are some of the weapons confiscated earlier in the day.

AN OUTBREAK of serious violence was averted by gardai in the Sligo town of Ballymote yesterday morning when hundreds of travellers, many armed with deadly weapons, converged for a funeral.
    In a major security operation involving gardai from five different divisions, two men were arrested and two firearms and an arsenal of over 100 assorted weapons was seized in searches at five checkpoints mounted on all routes into the town.

From early morning groups began arriving in the south Sligo town for the funeral of Martin `The Priest Groundshaker' McDonagh (79), originally from Mayo, who died in the English city of Leicester over a week ago.

ONGOING FEUD

Gardai were notified of the death by their English colleagues and were aware of what is believed to be an ongoing feud between members of the McDonagh and Ward travelling families, and drew up the the plan to avert the feared clash.

``A similar situation occurred here less than a year ago and at that time we recovered weapons. With the help of our overseas colleagues and intelligence in Dublin and Galway we set about a similar operation,'' local Superintendent Tom Gallagher explained.

More than 100 gardai from divisions in Donegal, Sligo-Leitrim, Cavan-Monaghan, Roscommon and Galway were deployed to the checkpoints where comprehensive searches of vehicles and their occupants were carried out from 9am.

In a search of a car near the graveyard, a sawn-off shotgun and a small handgun were recovered and two men were arrested and detained at Sligo garda station under Section 30 of the Offence Against the State Act.

MEAT CLEAVERS

Other searches yielded an arsenal which included sledge hammers, lump hammers, machetes, swords, pitchforks, knives, hatchets, meat cleavers, wheel braces, hurley sticks and chains.

Half a dozen hatchets which were included in the seizure still had price tags, and had been purchased in a hardware store in a neighbouring town. According to Supt Gallagher the intention was clear.

``There is no doubt that they all here anticipating violence. We suspected as much and that is why we mounted the checkpoints. I am certain many lives could have been lost if a fight had gone ahead,'' he said.

Gardai continued to maintain a presence at the funeral mass and burial but the event passed off peacefully.

They had advised local shopkeepers and publicans to keep their premises closed for the morning, and the advice was heeded. By 2pm all those attending the funeral had departed towards Dublin and Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

whats the crack with them funerals like? i would assume that if theres 2 rival factions of creamers, and one fella dies from faction A, then Faction B wouldn't be invited to the funeral. or is it standard practice for funerals to have a big mill up?

MAybe the real reason is that they all love each other so much but are afraid to say it in case it compromises their masculinity, and they love seein each other again so they all kick the jaysus outta each other and hope someone dies so they can meet up again at another funeral for a chat and a quick murder! make sense? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

They must have an abnormal capacity to absorb injury and pain.I would imagine that being whacked with a machete,slash hook,iron bar,sword or cleaver would sting just a little and i wouldn t like to face somebody weilding one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Giblet wrote:
    Things that shouldn't be happening in this thread:

(A) LET'S CULL THE KNACKERS!
    (B) I SEE THE LOONY LOOPY LEFT LIBERAL LOUT LOVING LADS ARE LOST, WHERE ARTH THOU! HAHA THIS PROVES ALL MY OPINIONS! MAN THEY'RE IDIOTS

See once they are knocking the ****e outta one another then it shouldnt really bother you, you have nothing to complain about really,so your opinions are........ erm unproven:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Anyone ever see that "Pikeys in Nikies" clip of a traveller fight, I think its on Lemonzoo.com or somwhere.. Its quite frightening..

And a little funny

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

xzanti wrote:
    Anyone ever see that "Pikeys in Nikies" clip of a traveller fight, I think its on Lemonzoo.com or somwhere.. Its quite frightening..

And a little funny

Youtube has it i think put in gypsies fighting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭lukeUCD

Originally Posted by OMcGovern
    I've no problem with travellers attacking and killing each other, just as long as they don't bother decent folk. Give them a field, filled with weapons, and tell them that the last man standing gets a brand new hiace.

this is giving me an idea for a new reality show :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Natural selection at work again

xzanti wrote:

And a little funny

Frightening? I think its great .A well organised event with great refereeing:D
    "No headin or bitin and if a mans inside no one can stop him":p
    Id rather watch that anyday to some poor unfortunate random person getting numerous kicks to the head on a Sat night or like that poor guy in the other vid being stabbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

Angels wrote:
    I might sound synical here but do they all have a screw loose in them??

Well they've obviously got a smaller gene pool than the rest of the population.
    The womenfolk must think the hyper-aggressive ones are "alpha-males", so they're selectively breeding angry children. Nature and nurture... both gone badly wrong....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

FFS, and they wonder why every pub in any given town closes its doors when there is a traveller wedding, funeral, christening , communion or confirmation in town!!

Mildly funny story. Have a few regular traveller blokes get their smokes in our shop everyday on their way to the one arm bandit arcade around the corner. they spend most of the day there btw. Anyway, they seem nice enough and have never had any trouble or bad word from them. Had to laugh though when one of the lads had his kids aged about 12 and 15 with him one day. Both kids start pocketing chocolate in front of me and their old man. "Whaddaya doin' Rocky!! Sure I told ye outside, you're not allowed rob from this shop!"........not "I told ye not to rob any shops". :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

padi89 wrote:
    Id rather watch that anyday to some poor unfortunate random person getting numerous kicks to the head on a Sat night or like that poor guy in the other vid being stabbed.

You did see the and a little funny bit on the end of my post right??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Heinrich wrote:
    The violence erupted after a large group of Travellers emerged from a local pub following what locals claimed were birthday party celebrations for a 10-year-old and 17-year-old in their community.

"They were swinging slashers and iron bars at each other and seven to eight of the men had no tops on. They were beating the heads off each other,
    " said local butcher John O' Dwyer.

These people have a wierd way of celebrating...!
    Degsy wrote:
    They must have an abnormal capacity to absorb injury and pain.I would imagine that being whacked with a machete,slash hook,iron bar,sword or cleaver would sting just a little and i wouldn t like to face somebody weilding one.

Wuss :cool:
    padi89 wrote:

"No dirty ol' punches!"

xzanti wrote:
    You did see the and a little funny bit on the end of my post right??
    Sorry mate i missed that one.I feel like defending the pikeys today:D !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Delboy05

Here the story on the Kilkenny 'incident' the other day - they actually attacked each other in a church!!! They even ahd a dog in the church with them.
    But the funniest thing is....I have'nt heard a word from Pavee Point, The Equality Tribunal or any of the other myriad of 'agencies' in this country who live off the tax payer and spend their time telling us how racist/unjust we are....

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1622284&issue_id=14113
    Priests shocked as family feud erupts at funeral

MOURNERS were sent diving for cover at a funeral Mass yesterday as a family feud broke out inside a church.

The drama occurred shortly before 11am at St Patrick's Church on the edge of Kilkenny city as the funeral of Josephine 'Judy' Harty (67), a settled Traveller, was about to begin.

A scuffle erupted between two young male relatives close to the altar as three priests were preparing to conduct the ceremony.

The row then spread through the church among members of the dead woman's family.

At one stage, a female mourner was standing on a pew screaming obscenities while holding a Yorkshire terrier dog in her hands.

Pushing and shoving continued for sometime as chief celebrant Fr Dan Carroll and two other priests tried to calm the situation.

Three altar boys looked on in silence, afraid about what was going to happen next.

After five to 10 minutes, some sort of calm was restored, allowing the brief ceremony to proceed.

Fr Carroll reminded Mrs Harty's relatives they were inside "a sacred and holy place" and that they "should not offend God in any way" with their conduct.

As the white coffin of Mrs Harty, who died of a heart attack, was carried from the church by her sons, a large number of gardai surrounded the horse-drawn funeral carriage in an effort to ease tensions.

Mrs Harty was laid to rest in St Kieran's cemetery without any further incident.

On Sunday night at her removal, up to 40 members of the Travelling community were involved in a fight at the funeral home.

Gardai wearing riot gear entered the home and arrested five men. Two were taken to hospital.

Sarah Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

"No Blades! No Bows! Leave your weapons here"

Ode to a simpler time.

Where are they when you need them.

So far we have melees in
    • a church
    • a cemetry
    • outside a pub

These people urgently need protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

If they are looking for protection, they'ld find sanctuary in a job office / recruitment agency.... other travellers won't step foot in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

But its only a small percentage of travellers, who all happened to be in the one place at one time, and I see meat hook fights involving settled people every day of the week! ;)

OMcGovern wrote:
    If they are looking for protection, they'ld find sanctuary in a job office / recruitment agency.... other travellers won't step foot in there.

Racist!

How would you get 40 travellers into an employment agency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Someone posted above about the body falling out of the coffin, but it wasnt mentioned in the press report quoted above.

As for the Equlaity Tribunal, i'm sure they would ensure there was a good, clean fight. As for Pavee Point? Probably too busy getting worked up about the rights of travelers to have a special area in a&e where caravans can be parked cos the ambulances are getting in their way.

Someone posted above about the body falling out of the coffin, but it wasnt mentioned in the press report quoted above.

As for the Equlaity Tribunal, i'm sure they would ensure there was a good, clean fight. As for Pavee Point? Probably too busy getting worked up about the rights of travelers to have a special area in a&e where caravans can be parked cos the ambulances are getting in their way.

Or maybe they are worn out after their herculean efforts recently in St Partick's on behalf of the Afghani "guests" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Heinrich banned. Jesus I guess there's no telling some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

MrJoeSoap wrote:

I always wondered where the cash prize came from. Take away the refs and the cameramen and there seems to be an audience of about 2 at this sporting event. Surely they didn't pay an admission fee of 5k each? :confused:

Ah ya gotta love them,they have made discussion on serious amounts of threads!:D

Heinrich wrote:
    Where are they when you need them.

So far we have melees in
    • a church
    • a cemetry
    • outside a pub

These people urgently need protection.

Spend a weekend in A&E and see how many "civilised settled people" come in with their heads split open after beatin 8 shades of ****e outta one another.Come on the travellers!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

They pay 5K each...there's maybe 10X that riding in bets behind the scenes...

One of the "refs" in that video (short guy with the grey hair) lived in our locale, he'd facillitate the fights and make some good money out of it.
    He died a while back and instead of having his caravan burned after his funeral (which is a traveller tradition) it was his then brand new Landcruiser that was burned instead. Not short of a few bob then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

OMcGovern wrote:
    I've no problem with travellers attacking and killing each other, just as long as they don't bother decent folk. Give them a field, filled with weapons, and tell them that the last man standing gets a brand new hiace.
    LOL:D I'm 100% with you there;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

this was going on for up to 2 hours?

Thurles isnt exactly a 1,000,000 miles away from Killenaule so why werent some Gardaí deployed? :rolleyes: