Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderators for this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭[AK47][JONNYNEW

I have to give my say here. iv asked 3 mods to add 1st-ib servers to the sticky.

Not one of them reply or acknowledged my pm.

Spooky has asked 2. and ray made a general post about it.

And you says there is no Bias. Fook me if that's not being bo, i don't know what is.

Ps 2 of the mods i asked are in tig...

And the'v been added now, because we mad a stinck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Well, I cant find any email from boards.ie in my inbox about a pm form yourself.

Also, I have not been on boards much over the last few months ... well, actually since the summer Id say ... due to college. I have not had the time to go over threads as much as I have wanted to or even look at my PM's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 hougl0xdktibzv

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

That's got nothing to do with clans and everything to do with mods that aren't modding.

This btw isn't even a matter to be decided here. If anyone has issues with mods then it should be delth in PM and taken to the feedback forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

And the'v been added now, because we mad a stinck..

Heh cos we have nothing esle to do but moderate a forum on the intnernet.

kdjac

Well, in reality a mod should not have to read each and every single post on the forum. If any of you have had a problem you could just have used the report a post/thread feature and I would have had an email in my inbox informing me.

If you want to take some of my workload off my hands so I can shift through each and every post on this board I would love it. However with college and exams now over I have the time now to get back to reading everything that goes on in here.

If you were really *that* desperate to get your servers up on the sticky why didnt you say it to me on IRC (I have a shell so im connected to that 24/7 and will notice that), send me a mail (my MSN is sitting there on my profile for all to see), send me more PM's or even just reported the Server Sticky thread and said it was out of date.

Also ... this "Servers Sticky" thread we started just to try and keep a record of all the bf servers. If any of you had felt it was out of date and needed a good jazzing you could have easily just psoted up a new one and we would have unstickied the existing one and stickied your updated one.

I would like to point out that BF2 is NOT "Battlefield". This forum caters for all the Battlefield franchise of games, BF42, Vietnam and BF2. It is not just a forum for BF2 clans to post to each other, it is a forum for all people who play ANY of the Battlefield franchise to talk and discuss things.

And RAYZER, this may be a bit of a personal insult but I dont see why you are giving out about my inactivity over the past few months when the first ever post you made on the Battlefield forum here was "Yesterday, 19:16". You talk about me being "inactive" yet you have never engaguge in regular posting on this forum or reported any posts that you may have felt were unfair/abusive etc.

On the bright side winters has posted more times on this thread than in the BF forum this year :p

Also Mods are not picked by the forum members but by the boards.ie admins, so if anyone feels that they should be changed post on the feedback forum.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just looking at the moderator ship on this forum and realised that there are 2 from tig and one netural moderator
    Simple reason: back in the day, a few from this forum (like, ZOMG!!!) decided to goto an IOL server to play against each other. This became a common occurance, and a clan was formed. Thus, two of the mod's were also playing from the start.

=-=

The Admins decide who the mods are.

=-=

So, basiclly, STFU. The mods were here before TiG was formed, became part of TiG, because they played with others from here, and thus are still part of TiG, and are still mods.

KdjaC wrote:
    On the bright side winters has posted more times on this thread than in the BF forum this year :p

Yes .. the fun of not having any more college, exams or having to use other peoples laptops to browse the net are over :)

the_syco wrote:
    The mods were here before TiG was formed, became part of TiG, because they played with others from here, and thus are still part of TiG, and are still mods.

Im not, Tig are gay.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

KdjaC wrote:
    Im [strike]not, Tig are[/strike] gay.
    Aye. Forgot about that:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭jonski

1: [BTC] not being an Irish clan I reckon they have no right to anything on these boards .

2: Winters , if he never did anything as a mod here the mirrors he provides are worth their weight in gold .

3: Jim , no idea , never had any dealings with him

4: 1st-IB having to ask a few times to get their server in the sticky , in fairness shouldn't have happened , but these things do , when I had to pm and mention about getting the BTC server listed a few times I didn't think much about it tbh , just figured it was nothing personal ( I also didn't think we had much right to have it up there anyways ).

Kdjac seems to do the lions share of the work in here and doesn't seem to grumble about it . Not being in a clan ( and seeming to despise them all equally ){something I know I could get him to change if he wasn't to shy to come on our ts } he does a fine job here .

Kdjac , Winters , TiG ( Hairyfairy in particular ) have done alot to further the BF2 community both on boards and in Ireland in general ( thinking along the lines of mirrors and the infantry war to name but two ) . I would never be in favour of more than 3 active mods , and think that one keeping an eye on these pages on a daily basis is enough . Equall rights to the server and general info 'sticky's' for the Irish clans should be a given , but if they are not forth coming then ask why in a pm .

My 2 cents ( and I'm looking for change )

John

jonski wrote:
    4: 1st-IB having to ask a few times to get their server in the sticky , in fairness shouldn't have happened , but these things do , when I had to pm and mention about getting the BTC server listed a few times I didn't think much about it tbh , just figured it was nothing personal ( I also didn't think we had much right to have it up there anyways ).

3 weeks it took me to put it on :o

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

What the hell do clans have to do with it?

A moderator should be a neutral fair moderator, regardless of who he plays with. And if someone is showing bias then they should be removed. Adding more biased people to counteract it is retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Zillah wrote:
    What the hell do clans have to do with it?

A moderator should be a neutral fair moderator, regardless of who he plays with. And if someone is showing bias then they should be removed. Adding more biased people to counteract it is retarded.

Zillah where the feck have you been, i haven't seen you in bf2 in about a month, get on 1st-ib's ranked server or irc tonight i wanna shoot you some. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

I disagree with everyone !!!
    Liquorice Allsorts are biased towards people that dont like liquorice !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

been drinking again jack have we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

why does it matter who mods? as long as they keep the muppets out it doesn't make a lick of difference. i've never seen a TiG mod come down on an NRG member or whatever...

R0ot wrote:
    Zillah where the feck have you been, i haven't seen you in bf2 in about a month, get on 1st-ib's ranked server or irc tonight i wanna shoot you some. :D

First I found Oblivion, then exams started, then a new job started, then my BF2 wasn't updated, and now im thinking I need to update it and play BF2 again :D Hell, I bought euro forces, played once and didn't get back to it. Whats the latest patch these days?

Although I can't play tonight, im working, and then drinking. Maybe not drinking, we'll see :p

EDIT: And "shoot me some"? What always remember about you is your insufferable joy in running after me with a knife like a mad man.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Zillah wrote:
    First I found Oblivion, then exams started, then a new job started, then my BF2 wasn't updated, and now im thinking I need to update it and play BF2 again :D Hell, I bought euro forces, played once and didn't get back to it. Whats the latest patch these days?

1.3 and the joys of cartillery.

Uh..."cartillery"? Did they make the commander's stuff mobile or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Commander can now drop a vehicle (Dune buggy) in the same way you can drop a crate. Possible to drop it on top of an unsuspecting sniper and kill him too. ;)

Omg that is so cool!

(This coming from a poor spec ops whos been stranded in the middle of nowhere far too often...)

EDIT: While we're at it, what are choppers like these days? The last update I saw was the one where they radically changed choppers, giving them about half the armour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Zillah wrote:
    While we're at it, what are choppers like these days? The last update I saw was the one where they radically changed choppers, giving them about half the armour.

Choppers are still the same , mostly but you'll see crafty commanders trying to nail your heli with an airdropped buggy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Sorry I dident get a chance to reply sooner and Its taken me a while to read through these posts. There were some good sugestions there. Possibally the best was to have no clan members mods here but I dont want to see people de throned either. It was not just a problem with us not getting our stuff added to the sticky it was having one of our threads locked in 3 hours and a TIG member made a similar thread and it took 6 days to lock, both threads should have been locked yes. While I admid these may well have been over sights the still gave rise to suspision.
    There may well be to many clans here to give each one moderator but as it is 1 clan has 2. The way I see it the best way to keep me happy for one then would be to apoint one more moderator who is neutral and not in any clan and not likely to join any. Then we have 2 tig, 1 X-tig and 1 joe blogs. May help keep things on a more equal footing.

But thanks for all the input lads, I wasent out to hang any one just see if there was a better way to do things here.

The way I see it the best way to keep me happy
    Eh no one cares about keeping you happy. Winters/kdjac lockage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

Eh no one cares about keeping you happy. Winters/kdjac lockage?

I like to make spooky happy ! ;-)

Well you can do that in your own way...i'd just rather not know about it thanks. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

No one cares about keeping me happy true but they cared enough about what I had to say to make this a 3 page thread. Its not about keeping me happy but about keeping a sense of fairness here to all, not just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭MrShadow

Spooky if you have a problem with a thread that needs moderating then use the report a post option. Just cause some ppl have no lives and can spend all there time making sure that they read every post straight after it goes up does not mean that every mod can give that commitment. That high a level of moderation is not required here, its not religion or some other highly controversial type of forum.

Ist-IB (or any other crowd) nothing to stop you creating a thread with your server and bumping it up with comments until it got added to the sticky. its not as though there are many new threads on here each day.

And whats this horse sh*t about TiG shouldnt have any rights to have anyone here cause they dont play bf2 anymore? There are still members playing bf2 and lots playing mods which still count under the battlefield heading.

This is NOT a BF2 forum! its Battlefield in its many varities for everyone.

Shadow