Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderators for this forum.

• 26-05-2006 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭

Just looking at the moderator ship on this forum and realised that there are 2 from tig and one netural moderator . I feel there should be one from each clan and one netural mod. How does every one else feel about this. As AK47 pointed out we from 1st-ib have requested the moderators from this forum to add our server to the sticky several times and it has not happened. Also when AK was new to boards he made a post ( recruting ) that was out of order it got locked within 4 hours, fair enough. Then a few weeks later someone from another clan did the same ( I wont mention names here ) and it took 6 days for said thread to get locked. Seeing that TIG dont play BF2 any more do the really need 2 mods here? OK leave the lads as they are but every clan needs repersantation here.

OK im not in favour of over moderating a forum but in the sense of fairness to all involved should we have at least one from each clan. One form TIG one from NRG, one from BTC, one from ASCII, one from GFF, and one from 1st-IB and of cource KAJAC who is netural ( fair enough ). Does this sound fair I know they are not all 100% Irish but they are close enough and all deserve representation on this forum as it is a forum for all the players.

What say you all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

Just looking at the moderator ship on this forum and realised that there are 2 from tig and one netural moderator . I feel there should be one from each clan and one netural mod. How does every one else feel about this. As AK47 pointed out we from 1st-ib have requested the moderators from this forum to add our server to the sticky several times and it has not happened. Also when AK was new to boards he made a post ( recruting ) that was out of order it got locked within 4 hours, fair enough. Then a few weeks later someone from another clan did the same ( I wont mention names here ) and it took 6 days for said thread to get locked. Seeing that TIG dont play BF2 any more do the really need 2 mods here? OK leave the lads as they are but every clan needs repersantation here.

OK im not in favour of over moderating a forum but in the sense of fairness to all involved should we have at least one from each clan. One form TIG one from NRG, one from BTC, one from ASCII, one from GFF, and one from 1st-IB and of cource KAJAC who is netural ( fair enough ). Does this sound fair I know they are not all 100% Irish but they are close enough and all deserve representation on this forum as it is a forum for all the players.

What say you all?

I agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I would like 3 active mods who promote the forum and the game related and encourage the regular posters to play the said game, doubt that gonna happen.

All clans can pimp their wares here as much as they want recruiting or server or whatever.

Also their should be no mods from any clan here as that creates certain allegiances.

I also recalling a pm i got during the week about a server :o ehh yeah my bad.

kdjac

Drapper wrote:
    I agree.

LOL linked to thread and told to endorce....hehehheheh

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

Sure KD's brother is in our clan, that means he shouldnt be a moderator either. TBH I personally dont care who are mods and who are not?

In a couple of months this forum will be dead anyways.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

What say you all?

Why should there be mods from supposed irish clans when the mods chosen were chosen without any allegience ?

Amp is the games mod.
    Kdjac was in tig " does that mean he is biased" ?
    Winters is an honourary member of tig.
    Jimeatsmenu is in tig but more background.

Mods are chosen not given the job because of some whiny posts.Of all the above mentioned supposed irish clans only nrg would fit the bill to be given a mod job though i doubt mod jobs are given through bitchin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Does the soccer forum have a mod for every football team?

Does this forum even need more than 1 mod?

If you have someone that isn't doing their job as mod then the solution isn't to get more but get rid of the bad ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

d22ontour wrote:

Mods are chosen not given the job because of some whiny posts.Of all the above mentioned supposed irish clans only nrg would fit the bill to be given a mod job though i doubt mod jobs are given through bitchin.

I dont really care who mods the forum but thought i should point out:
    Winters was an active bfv player for tig (i should know i remember playin against him), he also designed the tig website
    Jimeatsmenu was also a pretty big bfv player for tig, and even played against nrg when tig played thier team of ringers against us in inf league, so honorary members, hardly.
    And yeah tbh i dont mind WHO mods here but imo its always been a bit tig biased around here if you ask me. I sincerely doubt itll be dead in 2 months either. Ulike bfv which dies a death the second bf2 came out, i cant see bf2 goin anywhere soon, too many people playing it for stats and rankings to let it just die out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭[AK47][JONNYNEW

Simply, i Think if your in a clan. you should not be a mod..

= no more people being biased

My 10 pence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

catch a grip of yourselves, tig bias? are you joking

It should also be pointed out that both winters and jim were mods on this forum long before tig existed, and tig were born out of folk who posted on these forums. We have played our part in promoting the success, or lack thereof in the irish community of the battlefield series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Funlinkz

Can We All live in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Kdjac - hates all things clan associated, but is a great mod and good bf2 player
    Winters - sound lad, good player, but may be biased to tig
    Jimeatsmenu - Never seen him do anything mod orientated on the bf forum (although i think my post may be his first in awhile)
    Amp - i don't wanna cross and he's the mod of the games so he qualifies as super mod or whatever.

IMO (and thats all it is my opinion) kdjac (and amp) is the only valid mod cause he cares about the boards bf2 community (as he led most of their team in the inf league) and he as far as i can see hates all clans equally. :D

AK is right in some way and wrong in some ways

anyone know if they are bringing out a patch for for patch V1.3 yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

I dont really care who mods the forum but thought i should point out:
    Winters was an active bfv player for tig (i should know i remember playin against him), he also designed the tig website
    Jimeatsmenu was also a pretty big bfv player for tig, and even played against nrg when tig played thier team of ringers against us in inf league, so honorary members, hardly.

Ah yes bfv, great game but not bf2.Clans move from game to game but members don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

New logo maybe, seeing as we have some say in boards.ie?

vbulletin3_logo_white.gif

iv got my BF2 disc. LOL

Skin and Blisters

anyone know when the next patch is out for the crap patch V1.3
    and when is armour fury out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Evd-Burner

lol what the hell am i missing out on her? fooking shlag mick

pepper13bb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Imho this forum is too clan oriented. Having Clan mods would just worsen an already bad situation.

I'm all for support Irish clans, but this is not a clan website/forum. It is a Battlefield forum and should be open to all people interested in BF, regardless of Clan they may or may not be a member of.

Too often threads on this forum go off topic and end up in an inter clan chat/ slagging match. This thread being a prime example.

Any decent mod would have locked this thread ages ago.

my 2c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

The way i see it is that the mod's here got the whole thing going long before there were any Irish BF clans, and the obvious natural progression was for them to set up a clan...

IMO they do a great job, I've always got great help and i always see even new guys get the same great help.

Ok so the Irish BF community has really taken off, But it's not the mods fault, It's just the way yhings turned out.

Yes it certainly can be TiG driven at times...But a once upon a time that wasn't a bad thing because they were driving the whole thing forward.

Plz don't let ANY clan ppl be mods.The ones who are in clans started the whole thing in the first place so its different.

IMO it would be to elitist(sp?) if a memeber from each clan was a mod(ok it makes sense alright but it might just turn new ppl off) i know i would have been if it was like that.

Just leave it the way it is..ok so Kdjac forgot to link 1stIRB but thats no reflection on how he runs this forum..which has always been fair imo.

And Jackabo = one mad funny f**ker who should be on stage:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

To whatever fecker actually went off and registered new accounts jus to throw crap onto this thread. Go get a life and grow on up.

As re: the moderation of this forum a lot of you are new and actually dont even remember what this was when it started off. When the mod's were decided upon there actually was no irish bf clan. And this was back in the days of BF42 which many of you have not either heard of or even played I'd imagine. At one stage all the three mods of this forum were actually in tig AS back then TiG were the only BF clan in Ireland, however then came NRG and the two of them have had fun and stuff together for along time.

I will be one of the first to stand up and admit there has been bias and occasional wrong-doing in the past, I have been biast to tig over other clans however that does not happen at all anymore. I do not play competitive games in BF these days. I am really just (as d22 said in IRC last night) an honourary member of tig, I do the site and throw my view in here and there.

I will honestly say there is nothing wrong with the mod's in this forum atm. We are always very quick with patche news/updates and I usually have a mirror up asap for you so you can get it at super fast speeds instead of waiting for hours to get it off fileplanet etc. Kdjac and I catch most of your useless spam etc. There is little or no bias given to any clan these days, unlike it has been back in the DC/Vietnam days .. <3 you all though

As re: the clan bitching. I think its all done in good spirits. If it was to get out of hand at all then Kdjac and I will throw our feet in and stop it. However as its is the little digs left and right just add to the enjoyment and can be quite amusing at times. If you ever feel that ANY post has gone too far then you just have to click on the report a post button and we will put a stop to it.

If any of you have ever had a problem you can just PM myself or report a thread/post and I'll deal with it. Please do feel free to PM me and report posts, do it more often for chirst's sake. Im quite busy and dont always have time to read all the crap :)

Im going to lock this thread later tonight. I'm gonna leave it open so you can throw your views in it for the rest of the day.

The way i see it is that the mod's here got the whole thing going long before there were any Irish BF clans, and the obvious natural progression was for them to set up a clan...

IMO they do a great job, I've always got great help and i always see even new guys get the same great help.

Ok so the Irish BF community has really taken off, But it's not the mods fault, It's just the way yhings turned out.

Yes it certainly can be TiG driven at times...But a once upon a time that wasn't a bad thing because they were driving the whole thing forward.

Plz don't let ANY clan ppl be mods.The ones who are in clans started the whole thing in the first place so its different.

IMO it would be to elitist(sp?) if a memeber from each clan was a mod(ok it makes sense alright but it might just turn new ppl off) i know i would have been if it was like that.

Just leave it the way it is..ok so Kdjac forgot to link 1stIRB but thats no reflection on how he runs this forum..which has always been fair imo.

And Jackabo = one mad funny f**ker who should be on stage:D

*applauds* :)

Ehhh..winters you forgot to lock the thread man. :D
    btw agree with ya on most of those points tho.
    EDIT: just saw your edit, oops

but agrre totally with this
    "As re: the clan bitching. I think its all done in good spirits. If it was to get out of hand at all then Kdjac and I will throw our feet in and stop it. However as its is the little digs left and right just add to the enjoyment and can be quite amusing at times."

Whats BF without drama??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

If people did create user names etc to slag off ppl...thats just f**kin sad. I agree with pretty much all winters said, And i admire his honesty about bias etc...everthing back to normal now.

Mod Notice
    Banning following troll accounts:
    - spudnuts
    - ScottishMick

Thread Spam/****e cleared up.
    Jack's attempts to obtain peopels sisters for sexual expierments moved to thread of its own for lol'ing at.

With the thread cleared up I cant see any need for locking it later so discuss if you need to discuss.
    *g

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

Sorry about that winters :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

don't apologise, its the most entertainment in this board in ages....even better than ur post on the tig boards last week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

apologies too if I was acting the egit! few to many beers last night, celebrating the end of tig (only joking) ! but where the fook did those two come outa! mick and spudnuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 hougl0xdktibzv

Silly and stupid idea. This is a very small forum. This forum has had man a day gone by without a single post or thread. There are maybe 15 regular posters on this forum, all get along fine and enjoy the odd bit of banter. No clan is given specific bias over another anymore and has not for a long time. I have constantly URGED people to use the report a post/thread option if they feel anyone is being biast/off topic/abusive etc. I have not had a port reported to me in well over a year.

Also, if the silly idea of giving a mod to each clan was to be inplace how would it work? Any clan? If a random american clan starts to use this forum should they be granted a mod? And why only clans? There are plenty of players who are not in clans. Will we give each indivudal player mod rights too?

As I said before, I will stand up and say that in the past there was a bit of bias given to certain clans. However this has stopped. As I said, if you see any special treatment been given to one side over another REPORT it for crying out loud.

This is not a forum specific for clans. Hence another reason that giving each clan a mod is a bad idea. This is a public battlefield forum where everyone weather they are in a clan or not can throw up their views. A lot of people here are involved in some way with clans, however that just adds to the fact that they all know each other and most of them have played with each other. They all trutefully know how good/etc. another clan can be and any slagging going on is usually done in good spirits. As I said before, If you take offense at something why not just fúcking report it then? At least that way I will have a record of it.

I see no reason for any change in mod's. As it stands Jimeatsmenu is far away in WoW ranking up the levels and sleeping with slutty wow whores who claim to be women but in reality are just horny 15 year old german boys, and so its just myself and Kdjac looking over things. Two [active] mod's are more then enough for this forum. As I said its a small low traffic forum. This is not a big forum with 20 threads a day and hundreds of post each hour.

Mods are not there to give each clan an equal status in power. They are there to ensure people stick to the rules of the forum and dont post crap and off topic ****e. As it stands I believe both myself and Kdjac are doing fine at this. We want to give an equal voice to all clans and players, weather they be tig, nrg or some fresh faced 12 year old n00b with an RPG.

If someone reccomended some 15 year old n00b with his l33t ch00per skillz be given mod powers im sure a lot more of you would be complaining ;)

I have to give my say here. iv asked 3 mods to add 1st-ib servers to the sticky.

Not one of them reply or acknowledged my pm.

Spooky has asked 2. and ray made a general post about it.

And you says there is no Bias. Fook me if that's not being bo, i don't know what is.

Ps 2 of the mods i asked are in tig...

And the'v been added now, because we mad a stinck..

Well, I cant find any email from boards.ie in my inbox about a pm form yourself.

Also, I have not been on boards much over the last few months ... well, actually since the summer Id say ... due to college. I have not had the time to go over threads as much as I have wanted to or even look at my PM's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 hougl0xdktibzv

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

That's got nothing to do with clans and everything to do with mods that aren't modding.

This btw isn't even a matter to be decided here. If anyone has issues with mods then it should be delth in PM and taken to the feedback forum.

And the'v been added now, because we mad a stinck..

Heh cos we have nothing esle to do but moderate a forum on the intnernet.

kdjac

Well, in reality a mod should not have to read each and every single post on the forum. If any of you have had a problem you could just have used the report a post/thread feature and I would have had an email in my inbox informing me.

If you want to take some of my workload off my hands so I can shift through each and every post on this board I would love it. However with college and exams now over I have the time now to get back to reading everything that goes on in here.

If you were really *that* desperate to get your servers up on the sticky why didnt you say it to me on IRC (I have a shell so im connected to that 24/7 and will notice that), send me a mail (my MSN is sitting there on my profile for all to see), send me more PM's or even just reported the Server Sticky thread and said it was out of date.

Also ... this "Servers Sticky" thread we started just to try and keep a record of all the bf servers. If any of you had felt it was out of date and needed a good jazzing you could have easily just psoted up a new one and we would have unstickied the existing one and stickied your updated one.

I would like to point out that BF2 is NOT "Battlefield". This forum caters for all the Battlefield franchise of games, BF42, Vietnam and BF2. It is not just a forum for BF2 clans to post to each other, it is a forum for all people who play ANY of the Battlefield franchise to talk and discuss things.

And RAYZER, this may be a bit of a personal insult but I dont see why you are giving out about my inactivity over the past few months when the first ever post you made on the Battlefield forum here was "Yesterday, 19:16". You talk about me being "inactive" yet you have never engaguge in regular posting on this forum or reported any posts that you may have felt were unfair/abusive etc.

On the bright side winters has posted more times on this thread than in the BF forum this year :p

Also Mods are not picked by the forum members but by the boards.ie admins, so if anyone feels that they should be changed post on the feedback forum.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just looking at the moderator ship on this forum and realised that there are 2 from tig and one netural moderator
    Simple reason: back in the day, a few from this forum (like, ZOMG!!!) decided to goto an IOL server to play against each other. This became a common occurance, and a clan was formed. Thus, two of the mod's were also playing from the start.

=-=

The Admins decide who the mods are.

=-=

So, basiclly, STFU. The mods were here before TiG was formed, became part of TiG, because they played with others from here, and thus are still part of TiG, and are still mods.

KdjaC wrote:
    On the bright side winters has posted more times on this thread than in the BF forum this year :p

Yes .. the fun of not having any more college, exams or having to use other peoples laptops to browse the net are over :)

the_syco wrote:
    The mods were here before TiG was formed, became part of TiG, because they played with others from here, and thus are still part of TiG, and are still mods.

Im not, Tig are gay.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

KdjaC wrote:
    Im [strike]not, Tig are[/strike] gay.
    Aye. Forgot about that:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭jonski

1: [BTC] not being an Irish clan I reckon they have no right to anything on these boards .

2: Winters , if he never did anything as a mod here the mirrors he provides are worth their weight in gold .

3: Jim , no idea , never had any dealings with him

4: 1st-IB having to ask a few times to get their server in the sticky , in fairness shouldn't have happened , but these things do , when I had to pm and mention about getting the BTC server listed a few times I didn't think much about it tbh , just figured it was nothing personal ( I also didn't think we had much right to have it up there anyways ).

Kdjac seems to do the lions share of the work in here and doesn't seem to grumble about it . Not being in a clan ( and seeming to despise them all equally ){something I know I could get him to change if he wasn't to shy to come on our ts } he does a fine job here .

Kdjac , Winters , TiG ( Hairyfairy in particular ) have done alot to further the BF2 community both on boards and in Ireland in general ( thinking along the lines of mirrors and the infantry war to name but two ) . I would never be in favour of more than 3 active mods , and think that one keeping an eye on these pages on a daily basis is enough . Equall rights to the server and general info 'sticky's' for the Irish clans should be a given , but if they are not forth coming then ask why in a pm .

My 2 cents ( and I'm looking for change )

John

jonski wrote:
    4: 1st-IB having to ask a few times to get their server in the sticky , in fairness shouldn't have happened , but these things do , when I had to pm and mention about getting the BTC server listed a few times I didn't think much about it tbh , just figured it was nothing personal ( I also didn't think we had much right to have it up there anyways ).

3 weeks it took me to put it on :o

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

What the hell do clans have to do with it?

A moderator should be a neutral fair moderator, regardless of who he plays with. And if someone is showing bias then they should be removed. Adding more biased people to counteract it is retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Zillah wrote:
    What the hell do clans have to do with it?

A moderator should be a neutral fair moderator, regardless of who he plays with. And if someone is showing bias then they should be removed. Adding more biased people to counteract it is retarded.

Zillah where the feck have you been, i haven't seen you in bf2 in about a month, get on 1st-ib's ranked server or irc tonight i wanna shoot you some. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

I disagree with everyone !!!
    Liquorice Allsorts are biased towards people that dont like liquorice !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

been drinking again jack have we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

why does it matter who mods? as long as they keep the muppets out it doesn't make a lick of difference. i've never seen a TiG mod come down on an NRG member or whatever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

R0ot wrote:
    Zillah where the feck have you been, i haven't seen you in bf2 in about a month, get on 1st-ib's ranked server or irc tonight i wanna shoot you some. :D

First I found Oblivion, then exams started, then a new job started, then my BF2 wasn't updated, and now im thinking I need to update it and play BF2 again :D Hell, I bought euro forces, played once and didn't get back to it. Whats the latest patch these days?

Although I can't play tonight, im working, and then drinking. Maybe not drinking, we'll see :p

EDIT: And "shoot me some"? What always remember about you is your insufferable joy in running after me with a knife like a mad man.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,760 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Zillah wrote:
    First I found Oblivion, then exams started, then a new job started, then my BF2 wasn't updated, and now im thinking I need to update it and play BF2 again :D Hell, I bought euro forces, played once and didn't get back to it. Whats the latest patch these days?

1.3 and the joys of cartillery.