Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderators for this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Uh..."cartillery"? Did they make the commander's stuff mobile or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Commander can now drop a vehicle (Dune buggy) in the same way you can drop a crate. Possible to drop it on top of an unsuspecting sniper and kill him too. ;)

Omg that is so cool!

(This coming from a poor spec ops whos been stranded in the middle of nowhere far too often...)

EDIT: While we're at it, what are choppers like these days? The last update I saw was the one where they radically changed choppers, giving them about half the armour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Zillah wrote:
    While we're at it, what are choppers like these days? The last update I saw was the one where they radically changed choppers, giving them about half the armour.

Choppers are still the same , mostly but you'll see crafty commanders trying to nail your heli with an airdropped buggy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Sorry I dident get a chance to reply sooner and Its taken me a while to read through these posts. There were some good sugestions there. Possibally the best was to have no clan members mods here but I dont want to see people de throned either. It was not just a problem with us not getting our stuff added to the sticky it was having one of our threads locked in 3 hours and a TIG member made a similar thread and it took 6 days to lock, both threads should have been locked yes. While I admid these may well have been over sights the still gave rise to suspision.
    There may well be to many clans here to give each one moderator but as it is 1 clan has 2. The way I see it the best way to keep me happy for one then would be to apoint one more moderator who is neutral and not in any clan and not likely to join any. Then we have 2 tig, 1 X-tig and 1 joe blogs. May help keep things on a more equal footing.

But thanks for all the input lads, I wasent out to hang any one just see if there was a better way to do things here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

The way I see it the best way to keep me happy
    Eh no one cares about keeping you happy. Winters/kdjac lockage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

I like to make spooky happy ! ;-)

Well you can do that in your own way...i'd just rather not know about it thanks. ;)

No one cares about keeping me happy true but they cared enough about what I had to say to make this a 3 page thread. Its not about keeping me happy but about keeping a sense of fairness here to all, not just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭MrShadow

Spooky if you have a problem with a thread that needs moderating then use the report a post option. Just cause some ppl have no lives and can spend all there time making sure that they read every post straight after it goes up does not mean that every mod can give that commitment. That high a level of moderation is not required here, its not religion or some other highly controversial type of forum.

Ist-IB (or any other crowd) nothing to stop you creating a thread with your server and bumping it up with comments until it got added to the sticky. its not as though there are many new threads on here each day.

And whats this horse sh*t about TiG shouldnt have any rights to have anyone here cause they dont play bf2 anymore? There are still members playing bf2 and lots playing mods which still count under the battlefield heading.

This is NOT a BF2 forum! its Battlefield in its many varities for everyone.

Shadow

MrShadow wrote:

Ist-IB (or any other crowd) nothing to stop you creating a thread with your server and bumping it up with comments until it got added to the sticky. its not as though there are many new threads on here each day.

Shadow

There is, it would get locked it against the rules. And it seems its against the rules more for some than others. witch was one of my points.

well i think you posting should be against the rules but like you don't see me starting a thread and getting all my lil m8's to post on it. :rolleyes:

And spoky FYI the majority of the posts here have been in support of the status quo, not keeping you happy, its infact the opposite.

where in the charter rules does it say you cant put up a post with a server address?

Strange thing is 1st-IB started off as a call of duty clan and on the call of duty forum there is 1 mod (other than amp) and no sign of any bitchin going on about wanting to have mods for each clan.

nothing happens there. And when I made requests of the moderator to do something he either did it or game me a reason why not. But I wanent ignored and that was only one guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭Scruff

As a non-unionised part time bf2 player, regular reader and a bit less regular poster on this forum the words "storm in a teacup" spring to mind about this whole moderator debacle. Fact of the matter is that if there are more than 1 team\clan\ideology\sect\etc involved in anything someone from one side is going to occasionally bitch and moan about the other side but on this forum i haven’t seen anything that i'd remotely describe as evidence of blatant favouritism towards one clan or another. To me its all seemed like healthy slagging and banter up to this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

MrShadow wrote:
    There are still members playing bf2 and lots playing mods which still count under the battlefield heading.
    I think ive seen shadow play bf2 once since it came out... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

Listen most replies on here seem to go with the view that things are fine as they are. This inter clan sniping is crap and boring etc etc etc.

Lets have a bit of fun and get all the clans together and have a little competition of sorts, so that we can clear the air and move on.

I for one think that would be a bit of fun, along with the in game shennagins that goes on.

Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Yeah all is fine here as i've said already. Maybe time to lock it up? Spooky you've been added to the sticky now which was your original aim, So lets just move on and leave it as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

So the point of this thread was about the server not being added after 3 days? When BTC had to wait 3 weeks. Is there something else i missed Spooky you refer to some thread that was locked and another that wasnt.

You also fail to nominate anyone who you feel could moderate the forum better, imo only Ponster would be suitable should any moderator resign. As he has fixed probably everyones BF at some stage posted news and mods and fixes for the games and took a Boards.ie team into the Inf league and generally helped the boards.ie players play. Which is something you seem to neglect this forum isnt for 1stIB of TIG its for boards.ie members

Have any of 1st IB/BTC/TIG/GFF/NRG/ASCI ever had a member who posted as much as Ponster or myself in the above respect, if so nominate them for mods. Offthe top ofmy head i can only think of 2 possible clan players who post here with unbiased opinions, both having joined clans after the forum was created.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭jonski

So while everyone else comes in a posts trying to sort this out as or atleast be helpful , you come in with that ?

Both clanmembers and non clanmembers have come on here with suggestions and opinions , how does this effect you so much that you decided it should be locked ?
    KdjaC wrote:

You also fail to nominate anyone who you feel could moderate the forum better, imo only Ponster would be suitable should any moderator resign.
    kdjac

hmmm think you could be wrong there kdjac , cause now that you mention him , it reminds me that I should be trying to sign him up :D

KdjaC wrote:
    imo only Ponster would be suitable should any moderator resign.
    Seconded

jonski wrote:
    So while everyone else comes in a posts trying to sort this out as or atleast be helpful , you come in with that ?
    Both clanmembers and non clanmembers have come on here with suggestions and opinions , how does this effect you so much that you decided it should be locked ?
    I suggested it should be locked as obviously nothing more constructive was going to come of it. Heck nothing good as come from this thread at all apart from confirm several people's view of SpookyD, but thats a whole other topic.Threads within boards are no place to suggest any moderator change as is well known, this should have been in feedback if it was to be taken anyway seriously, anything else is just asking for abuse.

KdjaC wrote:

So the point of this thread was about the server not being added after 3 days? When BTC had to wait 3 weeks. Is there something else i missed Spooky you refer to some thread that was locked and another that wasnt.

You also fail to nominate anyone who you feel could moderate the forum better, imo only Ponster would be suitable should any moderator resign. As he has fixed probably everyones BF at some stage posted news and mods and fixes for the games and took a Boards.ie team into the Inf league and generally helped the boards.ie players play. Which is something you seem to neglect this forum isnt for 1stIB of TIG its for boards.ie members

kdjac

Yeah I agree Ponster was the first one to come to mind also as he just helped me out this morning on something and he is the one., and as far as I know he was not in any clan so he would also be top of my list.

On the point of the sticky it was not a 3 day wait, it was 3 days from my request but 3 weeks since our clan leaders request.

The other issues I raised was a " we are recruting thread " we did one had it locked very sharpish and TIG did one and it took 6 days or so to lock.

I will even admit that these could have been over sights and that im not 100% sure that we were being excluded. But that is what this thread was started for to find out, not to get added to a sticky and to also see if other clans were in the same boat. It seems that there have been little if any other examples of other clans being left out in the cold, but then like I said this was something I also wanted to find out.

I still say Ponster for the job as he is the most helofull and fair minded person in here and dont join a clan Dude :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 molc

My dear sweet jesus, will ye listen to yourselves. It's a public forum for the battlefield series. Who cares who the hell moderates it.

Instead of a forum for players to meet, discuss the game and get some games going, we have inter-clan bitching and chest puffing.

Lock the thread and lets move on to actually having some decent games together lads.

:salute:

The other issues I raised was a " we are recruting thread " we did one had it locked very sharpish and TIG did one and it took 6 days or so to lock.

As far as I am concerned any clan can recruit here within reason ie not 15 threads a week. All the other clans know this yet yours does not. I dont remember that thread but i do rememebr NRG posting they were recruiting Winters locking it and i unlocked or told them to post again.

kdjac

freekick5rj9be.jpg
    Handbags at dawn, ladies :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

lol @ pic

anyway, this has probably been one of the most entertaining threads to date - what we need now is a new boards.ie inf league where we can use all this pent up aggression to virtually anniliate eachother on the battlefields of bf2.

freekick5rj9be.jpg
    Handbags at dawn, ladies :)

lmao

lol @ pic

anyway, this has probably been one of the most entertaining threads to date - what we need now is a new boards.ie inf league where we can use all this pent up aggression to virtually anniliate eachother on the battlefields of bf2.

Yeah it would be interesting to see how the inf league would play out with the new patch? Are clans and boardsies interested at all? I'll organise if the need is there. However with tighter rules as it all fell away last time.

Fairy

Yeah it would be interesting to see how the inf league would play out with the new patch? Are clans and boardsies interested at all? I'll organise if the need is there. However with tighter rules as it all fell away last time.

Fairy

That be great but all the clans nailed the Boards.ie players :(

We be lucky to get one team.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

Very entertaining thread lads !!:D
    I have even grinned through pain reading this as i have a bad dose of the Johnny Giles ,even just typing this is like sitting on a frying pan.
    But other than my bum grapes .Lads its only a game.Enjoy & have fun ;)

Well if it was to be a goer then it would be 1 team per clan. Each clan could nominate say 10/12 players and can only select a team from that group.

Again we could do sunday nights, maybe have shorter rounds of 15 mins and 150 tickets. Should run smoother then.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 molc

Just an idea.

Lets actually make it a boards.ie leaque and draw players and teams from a hat ors. Forget about the clans and just be a bunch of lads playing together.

Or even scratch that and just organise a once off night of competitions in that format. Could throw up some TS channels somewhere I'm sure...

Aye good idea Molc, anything for a laugh.

Fairy

KdjaC wrote:
    That be great but all the clans nailed the Boards.ie players :(

Correction, the clans nailed the board's teams, I recal a couple of players that did well :D
    Aye good idea Molc, anything for a laugh.

I also like this idea.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Much a do about nothing this thread tbh.
    Get rid of existing muppets and give Pornster only mod slot :D

Dcully wrote:

Dont tell me you feel oppressed too?

kdjac

Dcully wrote:

I second this !! (and Kdjac as his personal secretary lol)

Drapper wrote:
    I second this !! (and Kdjac as his personal secretary lol)
    And by personal secretary you mean bitch. right? :p

irlrobins wrote:
    And by personal secretary you mean bitch. right? :p

yeah girlfriend!

Fairy we are up for a new league (1st-ib), eventhough the last time we were only a bf2 clan about 2 months! after the big BFV move!

Set up a league and we are in ! However, there is a few irish clan in the enemy down league (NRG. ASCII and 1st-IB) so it might be tricky to co-ordinate matches!

Tbh i dunno if NRG would be able to take part, we had a Counter strike match sunday, a BFV match tonight, and a BF2 match tomorrow. And more next week. not ruling us out alotgether, but wed have to talk it out among ourselves and see if we have enough time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Wavey

Another league would be good.
    Different format though.

I think Molc's idea is a good one. It would make it fairer.
    All the clan heads could be medics and shout at the rest of us for getting shot all the time :D

I, for one, would like longer rounds.

Base it on BFMAX mod. Excellent infantry maps. I think we all grow weary of Vanilla.

GO SUICIDE SQUAD.......FCUK YEAHH.

Straight down the middle every time :D

Whats this thread about?

Big Nrg Meeting in the Blue Oyster tonight then :D

Wavey wrote:
    Whats this thread about?
    Pigeon Racing i think

Jackabo wrote:
    Big Nrg Meeting in the Blue Oyster tonight then :D
    da da da da daaaaaaaaa!!!!!
    [/blue oyster music]
    haha i actually used to blare that music out of the hueys in BFV..was a real shame only you could hear it tho. That, and the benny hill theme. God i loved killing people to the benny hill music.
    But if this league was mixed teams we could probably play as wed have some subs and stuff that could be spared im sure

lol class days,i had the benny hill tune myself..that and ice cream van music ,ya couldnt beat driving around in a tank with the Mr Whippy tune blasting out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

The names outta a hat idea sounds great, bit difficult to get all the people together for it but would be fun nonetheless. :D

EDIT: Oh and although ponster has never helped fix my bf2 (i feel left out now) he's a sound lad and fecking fast with patch updates and the like. PONSTER FTW!! (eh Modship too)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Dont tell me you feel oppressed too?

lol as if,
    Was a joke btw,wheres your humour ? :D:p:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Jesus...you leave Paris to head back to Tipp for the week and the entire Irish BF2 world has turned upside-down !

Do bitches have to be paid or not, that's what I need to know?