knackers in pyjamas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Ah it goes on here in crumlin, but it doesn't effet me, i've been known to go into the garden in my vest and shorts on occasion (as far as the car anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

OK I'll admit too that I once went to the shop down the road in my pj's. I was only a kid at the time, but I was a good few years ahead of the fashion industry. Oh yeah!!! How stylish am I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

Spike wrote:
    Just think of them as the volunteers that test out new forms of fashion.

Tracksuits? No.
    Pyjamas? No.

One day, they might get it right. One day.

Tracksuit/pyjamas?...*vomits*

I Hate those scummy pink pyjama tracksuit bottoms and loads of non-knackers wear them, absolute scuzzbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I live up around Parnell St. and see this the whole time.

I think it's gross tbh. I mean, what are they wearing under those pyjamas? And did they just roll out of bed and walk straight out the front door? Or did they stop to have a wash first.. maybe brush their teeth?

A big jacket, a pair of boots.. would it be too much hassle to put some more clothes on?

ick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Brilliant thread title!!! :D:D:D

I study on Thomas St, and have to walk through Chuch St. to get there, from that area (Sometimes from just before Capel St.) the Pj Parade are out...Some of them have the worst f*cking pajamas too. Purple silk bottoms with red cotton tops with teddy bears... What are they thinking...like? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

So is knacker just a more general derogatory term now? When did that happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

So is knacker just a more general derogatory term now? When did that happen?

At the moment it's only an offensive term to those who haven't come in contact with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I live in Coolock.. I still think it's an offensive term right up there with ni gger

Anyway.. the prefered term for this particular social grouping is 'Pyjama People'... and it's been going on for at least half a decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Maybe make that negative contact then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

sing in the theme tune of bananas in pyjamas

knackers in pyjamas are comin down your stairs, knackers in pyjamas are comin down in pairs, knackers in pyjamas are robbin your table and chairs knackers in pyjamas are smokin john players.................and so on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

" The Knackers in Pyjamas are coming down the street,
    The Knackers in Pyjamas will hit you in the teeth,
    They'll steal your phone
    Then leave you alone
    In the middle of Athlone. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Well living barely 2 mins from Thomas St. i see this every day, have done for a long time, it's not a new thing btw it's been going on well over 10 years Seeing as the area is a s*ithole it's quite normal to see people doing this sort of thing. Normally the girls do it, while smoking a johnny blue and going to the shops for whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

fade2black wrote:
    At the moment it's only an offensive term to those who haven't come in contact with them.

So when are we planning to come in contact with you?

I recall about 15 years or so ago, one of my first jobs the manager (a girl) wore an Aran sweater, Doc Martins and long johns as pants (which as you know have a flap in front).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

See it almost every time I go to the local super-valu in this place.
    Once asked a woman behind the till what is it all about, her response was "its always young girls isnt it, I think when they have babies its just for comfort"

(it is a bit weird, if it IS a "fashion" thing that ya never once see guys doing it do ya)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Hobbes wrote:
    ..long johns as pants (which as you know have a flap in front).

A cat flap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

I was on campus for a few weeks in an american college in january, and most people wandered around in thier PJ's. In the canteen all youd see was chicks in pj's everywhere you looked. Not that i was complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

American students are a little wierd.

I worked in the athletic department in a college in the U.S. for a while. I was working with a female soccer team and while they would never shower after a match (communal shower rooms etc) they had no problem changing in the hall of the sports complex even though there were changing rooms available.

Or at an away match in the middle of the Bronx NY they got changed on the sideline after the match (again no showers). Turning their backs to the crowd. Just cos they had their backs to the supporters they couldn't be seen??!!!!

When I was there it was really baggy sweatpants, an overside hoodie and the requisite flip flops were the campus fashion. I suppose the Pj's were only the next step.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

I only noticed this last summer; initially I wondered whether "yer wan" was a patient from somewhere. As fashions go, i dont know which is worse - this or the open-belly-ripples-of-fat-look :eek: :eek:

Send them to Saudi for a holiday - that'll sort them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭dalk

Was in DIT in '92 and had a class on Sean MacDermott Street, and i used to see the locals going to the local shop in their pj's... so it's not a new phenomenon. I have only ever seen women/girls though...

Have seen the same in Rialto, Drimmnagh, Thomas Street, Inchicore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Rogueish wrote:
    American students are a little wierd.

I worked in the athletic department in a college in the U.S. for a while. I was working with a female soccer team and while they would never shower after a match (communal shower rooms etc) they had no problem changing in the hall of the sports complex even though there were changing rooms available.

Or at an away match in the middle of the Bronx NY they got changed on the sideline after the match (again no showers). Turning their backs to the crowd. Just cos they had their backs to the supporters they couldn't be seen??!!!!

When I was there it was really baggy sweatpants, an overside hoodie and the requisite flip flops were the campus fashion. I suppose the Pj's were only the next step.

Name of college and a list of fixtures for ladies soccer team please.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

The lower your social standing the less likely you are going to conform with social niceities. When you are young or suddenly free(college) you might not care or understand the social norms.
    Any adult walking around ireland in the PJs cares little for their own apperenace or their social standing. It is a sign of poor manners and poverty but the people who do it will not accept that and say only snobs think that.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Sure let them off, they can look like feckin idiots if they want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I've seen this in many parts of Dublin

Foxrock,knocklyon,firhouse,Dalkey....

Are they still knackers?

Or is it ok if they're designer PJ's? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Spike wrote:
    All in favour of redesignating knackers as bananas?
    Bananas will henceforth be known as those long yellow things you peel before you eat and if you leave them for too long they go black.
    So as to avoid confusion.
    Bananas really should be rebranded as 'yellow fatty beans'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 hpotter10

I don't know what people are complaining about - what's wrong with lovely girls in their pajamas on the street - it's better than boring jeans/jumpers like the rest of you girls that we don't take any notice of (you want to be anonymous or something?). Don't you realise the reason these girls do this is because they probably like the attention? And they definitely do get attention from men and women from the replies here it appears - why wouldn't they love it? Regarding the attractiveness of the look, just because you think it is not sexy does not make it so, I happen to have a (fetish/perversion or is it normal?) for young, curvy (you would say fat) girls and if they are wearing light pajamas then all the better to show off the curves! Obviously the skinny crack head look does nothing in pajamas or not! It's the same as you women linking looking at men in their shorts/tracksuits so you can look at our arses isn't it?

Maybe they were filming a new childrens show for RTE?

"Ye's know what might be good fer a laugh, K1?"
    "Dunno, K2. What might be good fer a laugh?"
    "Goin' down to Ratzo's shop and robbin' the f***er..."

Damn you. I was going to say that it sounds like the worst kids show ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

ntlbell wrote:
    I've seen this in many parts of Dublin

Foxrock,knocklyon,firhouse,Dalkey....

Are they still knackers?

Or is it ok if they're designer PJ's? :rolleyes:

They don't wear PJ's in Foxrock and Dalkey -- its Cantos, American Eagle and Abercrombie hoodies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

One thread is enough on this bool ****e. Lacked!