Why I dislike Irish people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I know he generally talks a lot of $hite, but I remember reading a quote from Bono along the lines of....

"if an american person, sees a guy whos doing well, has a nice car house etc etc, they say: I want to be that guy. If they are irish, they say: Im going to get that guy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

i didnt say i was everywhere at once, but i dont actually think i can say ive seen a fight in london.
    now, i have no doubt that it happens every night of the week hundreds fo times, but i see this on dublin streets every time i go back.in fact, i cant recall the last time i was at home and didnt witness a fight.

I witnessed a fight in broad daylight yesterday, a black bloke ran across the road chasing a skater looking bloke, the chaser was battering the other guy over the head with a bit of 2*1 timber. Also, I always see fights when I'm out in London, I broke one up the other night.... I was drunk and it seemed like a good idea at the time ;)

Saying that, I see where you're coming from.... maybe I just drink in dodgy areas :)

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Burger King or any fast food joint in the wee small hours is not a place you can expect civil conversation. As for the Odeon - if the people are so unpleasant stay out of there. I have been once and that was enough. And if you do see a fight don't assume anyone will be grateful if you break it up. Dublin can be a cesspool in the wee small hours - no more than many other towns around the country. Sadly the behaviour is not exclusively male either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

On the subject of fights, whats the deal with foreign people fighting in the streets in braod daylight? 3 times in the last two weeks I'v had to swerve due to people (men and women) swinging and knocking lumps out of each other. Once were africans, once pakistani/indian and once eastern european? None had any regard for the fact they were on main road and running right into traffic.

Last week I was driving up infimery hill and there was a large man lying spark out at the bus terminus about 4 or 5 feet from the kerb on the road. Another smaller guy was trying to flag down a car ( a van in front of me stopped). Didnt look the result of a fight , more drunkeness. There were Irish lads.

So the conclusion: Irish are drunks and foreigners fight:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Reopen the Curragh prison camp - a convoy of Paddy Wagons and let them walk home. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Sico wrote:
    In fact, OP, I can't understand how you can live with yourself, knowing that Irish blood courses through your veins. I'm off to hang myself now, to end my miserable Irish existence. I hope the rest of the Irish readers of Boards.ie will join me.

OK, we need a much bigger rolleyes gif than this ---> :rolleyes: for these threads.

Jaysus mate, wait for me!!! Have you got the rope with you or will jumping off Dun Laoire pier do the job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭aphex™

Doleman, every single person who was rude to you was probably off their faces on coke. Fact.

Maybe the dealers around the area of the Odeon are selling at bargain prices?

EDIT: Have to admit I don't go out in Dublin any more because I'm always hassle from little twirps/ random abuse off rude people. It is bad enough during the day but Dublin at night is a nightmare. Everywhere you go people are trying to act the smart arse or the mad lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Have to aggree there, compared to the rest of the country a much higher percentage of the Dublin population is very aggressive, and act "yobbish". Going out in other cities accross Europe and North America, there is not nearly as much hassle. Also i would like to think that most foreigners that come here, workers or tourists, will realise that Dublin is not a representation of the rest of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Puck

You just need to go out to nicer places. Also, I know you mean well but getting involved in a fight that has noting to do with you is a bad idea and can get you killed. Best to call the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Doleman first of all never get involved in a fight between others, most times all that will happen is they will turn on you.

I was out last night with several other boardsies for a few pints. Started off in the Foggy Dew, went onto Dominion (someone promised women in corsets which never materialised) and then to Bruselles. The were all filled with people enjoying each others company and good music. The remaining 2 decided to go and get some food. Headed to Burger King on Grafton Street, twas packed so decided to go to Pizza Time (may have the name wrong) opposite Break for the Border for a few slices.

At this time Break for the Border vomited out its contents as it was closing time and the various assortment of pure and utter base Dublin trash I witnessed was frightening. people so drunk they couldn't stand, others who wanted to smash each others faces in and so on and so on. We headed off towards Stephens Green and around Major Toms I saw a lovely Southside Chap getting his jollies jumping up and down on a bike that was chained to a tree being egged on by all his mates and matettes and another couple of chaps knocking seven shades of ****e out of themselves.

Maybe I am getting old but from my experience of heading out in Dublin over the years it is getting more and more yob driven and violent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

this thread is really slightly insulting! But you are right! i have a tendency to just stay in at the weekend. less trouble and anything for the quiet life!!!

But really we arent all the same! I'm an Irish girl and would never, nor have i ever acted like an animal!

Try not to tar us all with the one brush! you havent met every single Irish girl on the planet! some of us are actually nice!!! suprise suprise!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Replace the word Irish with Dublin, and this thread is 100% spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

zabbo wrote:
    On my last trip to Cork city I saw far worse behavior in the city centre than I've ever seen in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yeah it is a pity that a lot of boggers seem to judge Dubs based on the worst of what the see around town on the w/e. However whilst I'm not a yob or a drunkard I am definetly as prejudiced as the next guy tho so I guess I can understand that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

zabbo wrote:

Nope you are wrong. My personal opinion is as a people our attitude to drink and personal/civic responsibility is extremely immature.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,841 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

What? Drunk people are causing social disturbances now? Pull the other one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

The city centre of Dublin is as rough as a badger's arse these days. But it's not unusual for the centres of capital cities to be this way.

With Dublin being so small, you still look upon the city centre bars as "your local" in a way - hence it's such a wrench to realise hte place has gone to hell in a handcart.

I can still go out for a night in Ireland without getting any hassle, same way I can go for a night out in England without getting any hassle. But if you drink where the hassle goes, expect to see lots of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Jane1983

DOLEMAN wrote:
    Tonight was a typical night for me.

I was in the Odeon, having a beer, minding my own business. Normally I would stay away from a bar like this. But anyway... I smile at a girl. She replies, "Is there a problem?" in a highly aggressive Irish accent. I walk away. Later on, I am talking to some German girls. My friend says "Sprechen sie Deutsch?". An Irish girl goes mental shouting at him for being racist and basically tries to start a fight. Yes, his joke was stupid. But did it deserve a reaction like this from a stranger?

When I left the Odeon, I witnessed a fight between some Irish people. I tried to break it up, but immediately some Irish girls started giving me abuse because of my "southside" accent. I'm used to this, so it was no major problem, but I still thought it was odd, considering I saved their boyfriends from broken noses.

Later in the night I was in Burger King. I was talking to a friend about business. As is usual for me, the Irish in front of me turned around and started asking where I was from and who I was. I replied (as is usual) along the lines of "I don't want any trouble, I'm just chatting". The guy wanted to "punch me if I don't move away". Again, another Irish person trying to ruin my night.

So I left Burger King and was walking home. Another fight. A girl claiming she will "get him knee capped in the morning". I tried to stop the fight (it was very serious) which resulted in more "where are you from/who do you think you are".

I am highly tolerant of weird/different people. But getting scummy reactions based on accents or because someone is trying to make something of their life - I just hate this.

I really really really want to like Irish people (females in particular) but they are such animals.

They hate anyone who does not conform to their small world view.

Is anyone else tired of this aggressive angry scummy Irish bull****?

PS Sorry if this post is a bit disjointed, but I'm a little drunk. I'm so tired of small minded, aggressive, anti-different, anti-middle-class, Irish bollox.
    PPS I'M IRISH.

Maybe you should leave Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

doleman you do have slight superiority complex from your other posts I've read, running a company doesn't mean you qualify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I really really really want to like Irish people (females in particular) but they are such animals.

That bit there is the bit that pisses me off. You are posting to a Irish based boards/forumn full of Irish people saying that Irish people are such animals. With that attitude I am surprised you are not in a lot more fights to be honest. And the city centre is probably safest in my opinion because if you put forward that attitude in some parts of our suburbs I hate to think what would happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Sico wrote:
    The OP is entirely correct in my opinion. Clearly, all Irish people are scum, including myself. Naturally, we can all be easily placed under the same umbrella of shame due to the actions of a minority of toerags. This is entirely reasonable.

In fact, OP, I can't understand how you can live with yourself, knowing that Irish blood courses through your veins. I'm off to hang myself now, to end my miserable Irish existence. I hope the rest of the Irish readers of Boards.ie will join me.

OK, we need a much bigger rolleyes gif than this ---> :rolleyes: for these threads.

Roffle! Sico, you really know how to throw a good parody. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

A lot of the problems are down to the Irish obsession with alcohol. People are way too obsessed with it, so much so that you can't go out without the intention of getting pissed. It's not just a Dublin problem either, that's a ridiculous statement. I'm sure the likes of Cork have similar problems, just the scale of Dublin relative to them makes it seem worse here than it actually is.

I don't think you'll get trouble unless you look for it, really. Fair enough the girl you smiled at was being a bitch basically but if you had kept your head down nothing would've happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭magick

Doleman , u had a bad night , everyone does

get over yourself .......

that is all.

P.S. Get off the Dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shanethemofo

hmmm sounds like a good night out on the town then? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Hank Wankford

I too would like to punch you in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Macker

I too would like to punch you in the face.
    Oi! stop reading my mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Stay out of fights that have nothing to do with you

and

Next time someone speaks to you in the queue in Burker King or wherever it might be better to just respond in a pleasant manner instead of automatically assuming they're out for a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

Sounds to me like Doleman was trying desparately for social contact all night, and nobody wanted to accept a couple of lame losers into their group, especially the girls.

>having a beer, minding my own business.......

No you weren't..... you were trying to work your way into other groups, smiling at women who didn't want to know you.... then you forced yourself into other peoples business by trying to break up fights that didn't involve you. You're lucky you didn't get the head smacked off you by BOTH sides of the fight. But don't take my word for it.... some lessons in life are best learnt the hard way.

I'm just going to write Doleman off as a naive idiot.... probably a little twenty-something living in a grotty bedsit in Rathmines.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

thats a nasty evening, town is full of fith these days, its getting worse too, it used to be 'certain club' or 'certain areas' you encounter these 'i don't like your southside accent, i'll deck ya so me bord thinks i hard' types, but they seem to pop up everywhere theses days. the girls can be worse than the lads too. just smile and walk away in the knowledge that its pure envy thats makes them so...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

A lot of the problems are down to the Irish obsession with alcohol. People are way too obsessed with it, so much so that you can't go out without the intention of getting pissed. It's not just a Dublin problem either, that's a ridiculous statement. I'm sure the likes of Cork have similar problems, just the scale of Dublin relative to them makes it seem worse here than it actually is.

I don't think you'll get trouble unless you look for it, really. Fair enough the girl you smiled at was being a bitch basically but if you had kept your head down nothing would've happened.

alcohol doesnt make you a scumbag, being a scumbag makes you a scumbag