Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why I dislike Irish people

• 16-04-2006 3:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭

Tonight was a typical night for me.

I was in the Odeon, having a beer, minding my own business. Normally I would stay away from a bar like this. But anyway... I smile at a girl. She replies, "Is there a problem?" in a highly aggressive Irish accent. I walk away. Later on, I am talking to some German girls. My friend says "Sprechen sie Deutsch?". An Irish girl goes mental shouting at him for being racist and basically tries to start a fight. Yes, his joke was stupid. But did it deserve a reaction like this from a stranger?

When I left the Odeon, I witnessed a fight between some Irish people. I tried to break it up, but immediately some Irish girls started giving me abuse because of my "southside" accent. I'm used to this, so it was no major problem, but I still thought it was odd, considering I saved their boyfriends from broken noses.

Later in the night I was in Burger King. I was talking to a friend about business. As is usual for me, the Irish in front of me turned around and started asking where I was from and who I was. I replied (as is usual) along the lines of "I don't want any trouble, I'm just chatting". The guy wanted to "punch me if I don't move away". Again, another Irish person trying to ruin my night.

So I left Burger King and was walking home. Another fight. A girl claiming she will "get him knee capped in the morning". I tried to stop the fight (it was very serious) which resulted in more "where are you from/who do you think you are".

I am highly tolerant of weird/different people. But getting scummy reactions based on accents or because someone is trying to make something of their life - I just hate this.

I really really really want to like Irish people (females in particular) but they are such animals.

They hate anyone who does not conform to their small world view.

Is anyone else tired of this aggressive angry scummy Irish bull****?

PS Sorry if this post is a bit disjointed, but I'm a little drunk. I'm so tired of small minded, aggressive, anti-different, anti-middle-class, Irish bollox.
    PPS I'M IRISH.

DOLEMAN wrote:

I was in the Odeon, having a beer, minding my own business. Normally I would stay away from a bar like this. But anyway... I smile at a girl. She replies, "Is there a problem?" in a highly aggressive Irish accent. I walk away. Later on, I am talking to some German girls. My friend says "Sprechen sie Deutsch?". An Irish girl goes mental shouting at him for being racist and basically tries to start a fight. Yes, his joke was stupid. But did it deserve a reaction like this from a stranger?

When I left the Odeon, I witnessed a fight between some Irish people. I tried to break it up, but immediately some Irish girls started giving me abuse because of my "southside" accent. I'm used to this, so it was no major problem, but I still thought it was odd, considering I saved their boyfriends from broken noses.

Later in the night I was in Burger King. I was talking to a friend about business. As is usual for me, the Irish in front of me turned around and started asking where I was from and who I was. I replied (as is usual) along the lines of "I don't want any trouble, I'm just chatting". The guy wanted to "punch me if I don't move away". Again, another Irish person trying to ruin my night.

So I left Burger King and was walking home. Another fight. A girl claiming she will "get him knee capped in the morning". I tried to stop the fight (it was very serious) which resulted in more "where are you from/who do you think you are".

I am highly tolerant of weird/different people. But getting scummy reactions based on accents or because someone is trying to make something of their life - I just hate this.

I really really really want to like Irish people (females in particular) but they are such animals.

PS Sorry if this post is a bit disjointed, but I'm a little drunk. I'm so tired of small minded, aggressive, anti-different, anti-middle-class, Irish bollox.
    PPS I'M IRISH.

I think you'd call it 'me-syndrome', in that it is difficult to acknowledge others apart from themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Crimson...

Thats does sound abit ****ty but you get that everywhere, are you from Ireland?

Crimson... wrote:

See the PPS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

Crimson... wrote:

Yes I'm Irish. I normally only associate with non-irish people (they're nicer) so it shocks me when I'm forced to be around people from the same country as me.

We may have the "Celtic Tiger", but that doesn't seem to have stopped us being scumbags.

I really hate this. I really really want to feel like I belong to this country - but I seem to be surounded by small minded scum.

I feel guilty about this, but i've tried so hard to be tolerant and fit in. I just cannot see myself risking being around Irish people anymore. Yes, maybe they'll be lovely people, but more than likely they'll be small minded and extremely aggressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

DOLEMAN wrote:
    PPS I'M IRISH.

According to my card, PPS Im 7784291 M.

Anyway, what the fcuk is wrong with trying to chat up German birds with junior cert ordinary level German knowledge? Its savage drunk craic :) On any occasion I happen to run into German/Austrian birds while on the tear Ill break into my German spielen from funf jahren ago. A bit of guten tag, was ist du name, ask them if theyre enjoying die tanz muzik, what bier theyre trinke, telling them their blonde/schwarze haare looks sehr gut, discussing the fussball world cup am Deutschland, its all gut man!

Unfortunately, its consistency and accuracy is about as good as Delboy attempting his hand at French. Id describe my German as being good enough to work a menial job in the fatherland (cleaner, fast food, and, though its not menial, builder probably).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

why break up all thses fights? and what's with your accent thatgives somuch grief?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Good lord, sounds like you had a crappy night :( I know you mean well breaking up fights and all but I dont think people appreciate stuff like that anymore, instead you get more grief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

why break up all thses fights? and what's with your accent thatgives somuch grief?

I hate fights. I cannot help but try to break them up. However, normally I don't see many fights, but I would get the "where are you from" bull**** from another situation.

I don't know where the accent problem comes from. I have a very neutral accent. But I'm "well spoken" and pronounce my words correctly. When someone asks where do I work, and I say "I run my own company" followwd by (where are you from) "I grew up in Blackrock", the abuse starts...

Yes, I grew up in a nice area, yes I am trying to make a good life for myself (running a company), but is that really a reason to give me awful abuse? Forerigners do not react this way. Only Irish people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

You are better off staying out of other people's business. I hate fighting too but unless I know someone involved its never worth it. Leave them at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭ullu

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I normally only associate with non-irish people (they're nicer) so it shocks me when I'm forced to be around people from the same country as me.

I'm sorry but that makes no sense to me at all. How can you successfully decide to instigate that sort of social policy?
    I feel guilty about this, but i've tried so hard to be tolerant and fit in. I just cannot see myself risking being around Irish people anymore

Risk being around Irish people? You'll have to explain that one. Granted, being in town on a weekend night is a larger risk than being there at any other time of the week but that statement seemingly relates to your general thinking. How is it a risk to be around Irish people in day to day life as opposed to Austrians, Spanish, French, for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

DOLEMAN wrote:
    Yes, I grew up in a nice area, yes I am trying to make a good life for myself (running a company), but is that really a reason to give me awful abuse?

Your problem isn't Irish people. Your problem is drunk Dublin scumbags. We're talking about uneducated, drunk, close minded idiots here. Why blame the Irish as a whole? Do you mean to suggest that inner city filth from other nations won't act like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

weeps

PS I'm female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I normally only associate with non-irish people

You sir are a racist, you should be ashamed of yourself, I mean come on you have your own company, and you grew up in a nice area you really should know better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

why break up all thses fights?
    aye. don't try to interfere with natural selection:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Pigman II wrote:
    Shouldn't this thread be "why I dislike violent drunken yobs (of any nationality) out for trouble on a Saturday night"? :confused:

My thougths exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Mr. Jones

Im not sure about all this,
    Yea sometimes people are just big arseholes
    And sometimes you have nights were you run into a lot of arseholes But to honest thats just club life. Go do something a bit better with your nights and you dont have to run into people like that. If your not comfy with the sceen go find a better one. Trust me your not missing anything Dublin nightlife can be very very ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Sorry to hear about your crap night OP, but honestly your better off just walking away or some night you will get involved in something VERY dangerous and that will be that. As regards the Irish women starting on you, I don't go out in town for similar reasons.

Actually the last time I was out I was in the Odeon and there where girls so drunk they where just dropping there glasses on the dance floor, it made me feel sick that women can allow themselves to get to that drunken state where they are just falling all over the place. Things have changed dramatically in the last four years and I just can't put my finger on what exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I tend to find that trouble finds certain people. I have never been involved in a fight, never goten involved in one and dont intend to. People are never agressive towards me out of the blue the way they are with you. Have you considered that involving yourself in certain situations your bringing some of it on yourself?

If you dont want to be around Irish people, why are you going out in town and involving yourself in they're business (ie fights). What business is it of yours who wants to knock the crap out of each other. I'm not going to beat around the bush here, because your asking for trouble getting invovled and have no one to blame but yourself if it backfires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Stekelly wrote:
    If you dont want to be around Irish people, why are you going out in town and involving yourself in they're business (ie fights). What business is it of yours who wants to knock the crap out of each other. I'm not going to beat around the bush here, because your asking for trouble getting invovled and have no one to blame but yourself if it backfires.

I agree completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Try keeping you nose out of other peoples business and they mightn't be so aggressive.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Lump I think you're being a bit unfair. What about the girl who was agressive toward him when he just smiled?

I do think the OP should stay out of fights though, for his own safety! Trying to break up several fights in one night is definitely 'acting the hero' and you're lucky you didn't end up with a broken nose.

I do agree with your comments about people in Dublin. You only really notice it when you're out at night in pubs/clubs because they're more of a social situation. The only times i've gone to a pub/club at night this year i've had my boyfriend with me because there's always some d*ckhead who ruins your night. Last weekend in the TBMC for instance, we're on our way to the bar, having a great night, and some dickhead grabs my arm and says 'You've nice tits'. Things like that really f*ck up my night. Irish men turn into vile, lecherous disgusting people when they have drink in them, and the same goes for women.

And have you ever noticed, if you're walking round the city and you're sober, it's like being in a zombie movie? I've only ever noticed this phenomenon in Ireland and i've been out clubbing in lots of cities in Europe and Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

eth0_ wrote:
    And have you ever noticed, if you're walking round the city and you're sober, it's like being in a zombie movie? I've only ever noticed this phenomenon in Ireland and i've been out clubbing in lots of cities in Europe and Canada.
    i'd say that's mostly down to the crap licencing laws here.
    if all of the clubs didn't kick out at the same time, we'd have less people getting as drunk as possible in the few short hours that clubs are open for. (i for one would still be giving it socks at a sunday morning club :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

to be honest, you could have had this experience with any nationality of person in any large town or city in any country.

however i have to admit, that doublin appears to be getting rougher as time goes on. whenever im back i always witness fights and agressive behaviour.

i go out in london and i see nothing. but i would suggest leaving people who fight to their own devices. i once had a night similar to yours when i was out in navan once. it put me off the place and gave me the impression that navan is just full of arseholes and not a nice place.
    now, both those statements are actually true, but not all the people from navan are arseholes :)

but the point is if you are not happy with these sorts of things, then you either a) avoid them, or b) do something about them.

me, id rather just avoid them. i tend not to go out in dublin much any more when im back there. i actualyl dont feel safe anymore.

i just really dont understand what people get out of it though. perhaps the fighting irish stereotypical characture is right?

If you haven't seen that kind of behaviour in London, you've been walking around with your eyes closed!

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Why not emigrate to Nigeria where there are no Irish to bother you? I think you made up that story. Good trolling.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Lump wrote:
    If you haven't seen that kind of behaviour in London, you've been walking around with your eyes closed!

John
    i didnt say i was everywhere at once, but i dont actually think i can say ive seen a fight in london.
    now, i have no doubt that it happens every night of the week hundreds fo times, but i see this on dublin streets every time i go back.in fact, i cant recall the last time i was at home and didnt witness a fight.
    heinrick wrote:
    Why not emigrate to Nigeria where there are no Irish to bother you? I think you made up that story. Good trolling

yawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

The OP is entirely correct in my opinion. Clearly, all Irish people are scum, including myself. Naturally, we can all be easily placed under the same umbrella of shame due to the actions of a minority of toerags. This is entirely reasonable.

In fact, OP, I can't understand how you can live with yourself, knowing that Irish blood courses through your veins. I'm off to hang myself now, to end my miserable Irish existence. I hope the rest of the Irish readers of Boards.ie will join me.

OK, we need a much bigger rolleyes gif than this ---> :rolleyes: for these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

DOLEMAN wrote:
    I don't know where the accent problem comes from. I have a very neutral accent. But I'm "well spoken" and pronounce my words correctly. When someone asks where do I work, and I say "I run my own company" followwd by (where are you from) "I grew up in Blackrock", the abuse starts...
    It is more to do with the words you use and how you use them. A lot of these people aren't bright enough to place accents but will notice that you are using words they don't understand and assume you are from the Southside because of that. I get it all the time in my local pub, and I've lived in Coolock for 28 years.

Can't say I've come across the behaviour you've described, but then I don't go to the odeon or burger king while I'm out... I haven't had to break up fights since I was a teenager... I'm not familiar with the odeon, what age group goes there? What age group are these people involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

I think it's hillarious that people will give out about your "southside" accent while at the Odeon.. Last time I checked, that was on the southside!!!

TBH, as much as you may want to get involved and break up other peoples fights, noone (unless someone is being beaten savagely or raped) will thank you for it.

Friends and colleagues have told me that Dublin used to be a much friendlier place a few years back and I've noticed a huge difference in the attitudes of people in different places around the country however I'm thinking that if the OP is constantly finding people are getting in his face, then perhaps it's time for the OP to start looking at the attitude he's projecting when he's out on the town.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I'd pretty much expect the reaction you got if I'd done the same thing.

Jesus, getting involved in a fight between two people is extremely shortsighted, you come into it with no idea of the motivation behind the fight.

The only fight I would even consider is one where someone was outnumbered, and at that I'd want to be pretty damn sure I was coming out of it without getting knifed.

You literally take your life into your hands intervening in Dublin fights, and you are bringing this upon yourself for some reason.

Yes, there are a large amount of obnoxious people populating this city, but it's not difficult to avoid them, or if you can't avoid them, to verbally disarm them. I have never been mugged, attacked or seriously threatened in the city, and I attribute this simply to being streetwise enough.

Scumbag is looking to goad me? I put on a slightly rough accent. Where do you work? The local Spar/Chipper/Whatever doesn't invite envy.
    It's not hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I know he generally talks a lot of $hite, but I remember reading a quote from Bono along the lines of....

"if an american person, sees a guy whos doing well, has a nice car house etc etc, they say: I want to be that guy. If they are irish, they say: Im going to get that guy"

i didnt say i was everywhere at once, but i dont actually think i can say ive seen a fight in london.
    now, i have no doubt that it happens every night of the week hundreds fo times, but i see this on dublin streets every time i go back.in fact, i cant recall the last time i was at home and didnt witness a fight.

I witnessed a fight in broad daylight yesterday, a black bloke ran across the road chasing a skater looking bloke, the chaser was battering the other guy over the head with a bit of 2*1 timber. Also, I always see fights when I'm out in London, I broke one up the other night.... I was drunk and it seemed like a good idea at the time ;)

Saying that, I see where you're coming from.... maybe I just drink in dodgy areas :)

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Burger King or any fast food joint in the wee small hours is not a place you can expect civil conversation. As for the Odeon - if the people are so unpleasant stay out of there. I have been once and that was enough. And if you do see a fight don't assume anyone will be grateful if you break it up. Dublin can be a cesspool in the wee small hours - no more than many other towns around the country. Sadly the behaviour is not exclusively male either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

On the subject of fights, whats the deal with foreign people fighting in the streets in braod daylight? 3 times in the last two weeks I'v had to swerve due to people (men and women) swinging and knocking lumps out of each other. Once were africans, once pakistani/indian and once eastern european? None had any regard for the fact they were on main road and running right into traffic.

Last week I was driving up infimery hill and there was a large man lying spark out at the bus terminus about 4 or 5 feet from the kerb on the road. Another smaller guy was trying to flag down a car ( a van in front of me stopped). Didnt look the result of a fight , more drunkeness. There were Irish lads.

So the conclusion: Irish are drunks and foreigners fight:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Reopen the Curragh prison camp - a convoy of Paddy Wagons and let them walk home. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Sico wrote:
    In fact, OP, I can't understand how you can live with yourself, knowing that Irish blood courses through your veins. I'm off to hang myself now, to end my miserable Irish existence. I hope the rest of the Irish readers of Boards.ie will join me.

OK, we need a much bigger rolleyes gif than this ---> :rolleyes: for these threads.

Jaysus mate, wait for me!!! Have you got the rope with you or will jumping off Dun Laoire pier do the job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Doleman, every single person who was rude to you was probably off their faces on coke. Fact.

Maybe the dealers around the area of the Odeon are selling at bargain prices?

EDIT: Have to admit I don't go out in Dublin any more because I'm always hassle from little twirps/ random abuse off rude people. It is bad enough during the day but Dublin at night is a nightmare. Everywhere you go people are trying to act the smart arse or the mad lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Have to aggree there, compared to the rest of the country a much higher percentage of the Dublin population is very aggressive, and act "yobbish". Going out in other cities accross Europe and North America, there is not nearly as much hassle. Also i would like to think that most foreigners that come here, workers or tourists, will realise that Dublin is not a representation of the rest of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

You just need to go out to nicer places. Also, I know you mean well but getting involved in a fight that has noting to do with you is a bad idea and can get you killed. Best to call the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Doleman first of all never get involved in a fight between others, most times all that will happen is they will turn on you.

I was out last night with several other boardsies for a few pints. Started off in the Foggy Dew, went onto Dominion (someone promised women in corsets which never materialised) and then to Bruselles. The were all filled with people enjoying each others company and good music. The remaining 2 decided to go and get some food. Headed to Burger King on Grafton Street, twas packed so decided to go to Pizza Time (may have the name wrong) opposite Break for the Border for a few slices.

At this time Break for the Border vomited out its contents as it was closing time and the various assortment of pure and utter base Dublin trash I witnessed was frightening. people so drunk they couldn't stand, others who wanted to smash each others faces in and so on and so on. We headed off towards Stephens Green and around Major Toms I saw a lovely Southside Chap getting his jollies jumping up and down on a bike that was chained to a tree being egged on by all his mates and matettes and another couple of chaps knocking seven shades of ****e out of themselves.

Maybe I am getting old but from my experience of heading out in Dublin over the years it is getting more and more yob driven and violent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

this thread is really slightly insulting! But you are right! i have a tendency to just stay in at the weekend. less trouble and anything for the quiet life!!!

But really we arent all the same! I'm an Irish girl and would never, nor have i ever acted like an animal!

Try not to tar us all with the one brush! you havent met every single Irish girl on the planet! some of us are actually nice!!! suprise suprise!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Replace the word Irish with Dublin, and this thread is 100% spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

zabbo wrote:
    On my last trip to Cork city I saw far worse behavior in the city centre than I've ever seen in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yeah it is a pity that a lot of boggers seem to judge Dubs based on the worst of what the see around town on the w/e. However whilst I'm not a yob or a drunkard I am definetly as prejudiced as the next guy tho so I guess I can understand that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

zabbo wrote:

Nope you are wrong. My personal opinion is as a people our attitude to drink and personal/civic responsibility is extremely immature.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

What? Drunk people are causing social disturbances now? Pull the other one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

The city centre of Dublin is as rough as a badger's arse these days. But it's not unusual for the centres of capital cities to be this way.

With Dublin being so small, you still look upon the city centre bars as "your local" in a way - hence it's such a wrench to realise hte place has gone to hell in a handcart.

I can still go out for a night in Ireland without getting any hassle, same way I can go for a night out in England without getting any hassle. But if you drink where the hassle goes, expect to see lots of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Jane1983

DOLEMAN wrote:

PPS I'M IRISH.

Maybe you should leave Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

doleman you do have slight superiority complex from your other posts I've read, running a company doesn't mean you qualify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

DOLEMAN wrote:

That bit there is the bit that pisses me off. You are posting to a Irish based boards/forumn full of Irish people saying that Irish people are such animals. With that attitude I am surprised you are not in a lot more fights to be honest. And the city centre is probably safest in my opinion because if you put forward that attitude in some parts of our suburbs I hate to think what would happen.