Laptop Stolen South Circular Road Any Info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭drdre

Get the laptop back? No? Who's wasting their time then?

thats mean, what would you do if your laptop got robbed.just leave him alone:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭riptide

Man this thread really brings out the muppets.... from top to bottom...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

for those people interested, no I didnt get any word on it and the gardai werent much help either but what can they do really, they took the prints so thats about all they can do.
    Ok im asking a mod to close the topic now. The only purpose its serving now is for people to talk ****e cos they got nothing else to do..
    Thanks.

Tiesto wrote:
    for those people interested, no I didnt get any word on it and the gardai werent much help either but what can they do really, they took the prints so thats about all they can do.
    Ok im asking a mod to close the topic now. The only purpose its serving now is for people to talk ****e cos they got nothing else to do..
    Thanks.

This thread should be called

"If you don't give me good information about finding a laptop in a vague location I will throw a hissy fit"

or

"Total strangers do me a favour and I may or may not call you names"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

drdre wrote:
    thats mean, what would you do if your laptop got robbed.just leave him alone:(

Did you read the abuse this guy was throwing at the people who were trying to be helpful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

No, the reason the OP's was getting pissed off was that he was hoping that people might actaully be able to get back to him with some usfull information rather than just random crap that people thought would be worth throwing in for absolutly no apparent reason. I totally understand his annoyance and aggrivation and the fact that people get insulted is recidulous and they really should go back and read...

1/ What he asked for in the first place.

2/ What pointless drivel they posted that in no way was going to get him the laptop back.

As to the OP, this isn't on topic either so sorry and sorry that you have had no luck.

thanks anyways Wolf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Wolf wrote:
    No, the reason the OP's was getting pissed off was that he was hoping that people might actaully be able to get back to him with some usfull information rather than just random crap that people thought would be worth throwing in for absolutly no apparent reason. I totally understand his annoyance and aggrivation and the fact that people get insulted is recidulous and they really should go back and read...

1/ What he asked for in the first place.

2/ What pointless drivel they posted that in no way was going to get him the laptop back.

As to the OP, this isn't on topic either so sorry and sorry that you have had no luck.
    True but he/she never needed to reply to the "muppetry" posts, by doing so they left themselves open to the "muppets". I think the OP's reactions were a little ott but i mean it didn't bother me but i can see how some people got wound up by them.

i agree blu-sock. Tiesto was completely out of order. Asking people to refrain from posting irrelevant information in a nice manner about 50 million times. He should get banned for that!!
    Terrible,terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

but your not nice proof:
    tiesto wrote:
    i agree blu-sock.
    obvious flame and personalgo at me, even though i was and am beig compleatly non aggresive
    tiesto wrote:
    people to refrain from posting irrelevant information in a nice manner about 50 million times
    fair enough and asking is onething but the thing about public boards is it public, and seeing as your not a mod you have no place telling people what to post and what not to post, until you are a mod don't bother.

tiesto wrote:
    He should get banned for that!!
    Terrible,terrible.

did i ask for a ban? i was just pointing out its the tone of your posts along with the short fuse of cettain posters (like you) that cause this to go off topic, you shouldn't have risen to the unhelpful commnts, read the ones that were attempts to help out ignore the rest. I wish i hadn't of posted a "helpful" comment look at te thanks i got.

away under your bridge, troll

He repeatedly and nicely asked people only to post realvent posts and the very next post would something someone had already said or something along the lines of "Oh you won't get it back you know." So of course he got annoyed.

I would agree however that when you bite with muppety trolls on boards it only makes things worse, but, this certainly doesn't mean that he was in the wrong does it?

I mean if someone tells you to go **** yourself and you say same to you buddy are you in the wrong when he walks over and smashes you in the face? His reaction was fair imho, but, sadly after being on boards this long I personally would have realised that any kind of stong reaction was only going to make it worse. However, trying to make the best out of other people being stupid is my solution to the problem, where as he just pointed out how annoying and stupid they were being and people got all offended for having their idiocy pointed out to them.

Basically, yes there was a better way to handle it, but, really you shouldn't have to find a better way in the first place.

PS Can't speak for monty, but, I would have thought that if he was around he would have already locked this thread and maybe been abit annoyed by not only the pointless posts in this thread, but, by many others I have seen recently on after hours.

Hey guys both my hands fell off.
    Can one of you clean my yard?

If you don't do it exactilly like I want it I will act like a total asshole.

TIA :)

ronoc wrote:
    Hey guys both my hands fell off.
    Can one of you clean my yard?

If you don't do it exactilly like I want it I will act like a total asshole.

TIA :)

What the OP was annoyed about was people that instead of helping him just decided that they needed to add something totally pointless. Oh wait, case in point, just like your post!

As to your point its more like My hands feel off, need help cleaning my yard and some people are playing the tin wistle!? How does that help? Try reading first and then posting.

Wolf wrote:
    What the OP was annoyed about was people that instead of helping him just decided that they needed to add something totally pointless. Oh wait, case in point, just like your post!

As to your point its more like My hands feel off, need help cleaning my yard and some people are playing the tin wistle!? How does that help? Try reading first and then posting.

You are not cleaning my yard, why are you posting such rubbish.

ronoc wrote:
    You are not cleaning my yard, why are you posting such rubbish.

Not sure what is meant by that?

Perhaps you could explain a bit better?

But yes that what I was getting at, I think from your one line reply, then again as you said "why are you posting such rubbish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Now now boys, thats enough!

Look he was looking for help, didnt get it (the laptop) so end of.

Lets all just forget about the laptop, its long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

:rolleyes: he did, he warned people to backup their ****, as for your reply how was that useful to the OP?

Perhaps a new thread on "Why do people feel the need to post pointless crap in threads?" would be the way forward here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

But the problem there was that people weren't posting pointless crap - they were posting things that might have been useful. And the OP did not ask "50 million times", he asked about twice, then proceeded to abuse people who were genuinly posting in the thread attempting to help him. Maybe they weren't able to be as helpful as the OP would like them to be - clearly from his attitude, unless someone was prepared to pull a laptop out of their arse for him, he wasn't going to be happy. And as I've already pointed out, there was precicely 0.5% chance of random internet nerds being able to usefully help out in the first place. If the OP had wanted to find the laptop, he should have talked to the doorman in the local pubs - any fool knows that. But hey, if I'd posted that I'm sure I would have gotten my head bitten off, so why bother?

As to whether we've wasted his time posting useless crap in threads, i repeat:

He's the one wasting space on the "recreation" board whinging about his idiot friend's stolen laptop. With a sticky no less. Post it somewhere where people give a **** mate - like the supermarket.

Wolf wrote:
    Not sure what is meant by that?

Perhaps you could explain a bit better?

But yes that what I was getting at, I think from your one line reply, then again as you said "why are you posting such rubbish."

He is paraphrasing Tiesto's behaviour in this thread. Any reasonable person knows that if you want help, you should be thankful for any help that's offered, instead of being ungrateful and spiteful. By his behaviour here, he clearly doesn't deserve any help.

This may seem over the top, but seeing as many of you seem to need to have thing pointed out point blank and I am bored out of my mind in work I have picked out the main posts that have lead to this abuse of the OP.
    Morale of the story?

Backup.

Post No 2, Becuase that will get the laptop back won't it? Its like saying Oh you stuck out in the middle of nowere with a falt and no spare. I'll help you! "Carry a spare mate."
    Precisely!

@OP

Best thing for your friend if portability is necessery would be a 1Gig flash stick, fits right on to your key ring. They may come in 2 Gig now, I'm not sure...

Post No 6, Great bit of advice but, in no way is information that in anyway would get the laptop back.
    ronoc wrote:
    She left a laptop. in her car. on the south circular road....

Oh dear.

Post No 10 Completely Useless!
    p~b wrote:
    did this really need to be made a sticky

Post No 14, Still a complete waste of space. If you have a problem take to a mod!
    Tiesto wrote:
    Please only those with info that could help, write back..
    no need for all the irrelevant replies thanks
    whether it should be a sticky or not is irrelevant, i asked one of the moderators if it was possible to do for a day and he was decent enough to help me out.

Post No 15, only now by the 15th post does the OP politely ask that people post things that will actually help in the return of the laptop.
    You are going to hate me for this. You are going to hate me. Your friends work has probably been erased and the laptop rebooted.

Post No 24, How in anyway, shape or form is this helpful to OP in retriving the laptop? At least he is right in the you are going to hate me part.
    Tiesto wrote:
    Christ how do i need to repeat myself!
    Thanks for that info but i already took that possibility into consideration.
    Sometimes i wonder is boards full of illiterates?
    I said i dont want anyone to reply with irrelevant info.
    kwinabeeste and is that so, thank you both for your relevant replies.
    Firespinner,thank you not.

Post No 25, So finally by the 25th! post the OP gets a bit annoyed, but, after some of the pointless crap who can blame him.

There are another few post that are just agreeing with what others have said and are still pointless.
    ronoc wrote:
    Maybe you shouldn't act like such a dick when you are expecting people to do favours for you.

Post No 33, In comes ronoc who clearly not reading the posts, decides to slag the OP in defence of one person that the OP gave out to for posting something totally usless.
    sinecurea wrote:

Post No 34, This will help get the laptop back?
    Can we please unsticky this thread now? Given that the OP is now jumping down people's throats when he thinks they are unworthy?

Note to OP:
    It's not our problem. We don't have to do anything for you. Bitching at people who are posting information intending to tell you what has most likely happened to the laptop isn't going to make us any more likely to help you.
    And for what it's worth, I don't think this should have been stickied in the first place, particularly not AH.

Post No 39, and this one for me is the best. Not only does slutmonkey not add anything at all to the topic, but, instead just jumps straight on the back of the OP for one remark. If you think it shouldn't be a sticky take it to a mod. If the mods thought its shouldn't be a sticky they would have taken it off. They do not need you to point it out.
    Tiesto wrote:
    slutmonkey can you not read either?
    I was getting nothing but useless replies at the beginning, and i said i dont want anyone to post "irrelevant" info. You think I dont know what is the likely outcome!!!

Post No 40, the OP only points out slutmonkeys stupidity in a rather clam way and what happens? Lets watch?
    nedoo wrote:
    If I did have it, you would do nothing for me to want to give it back.

Post No 43, What the hell is the point of this, one can only think that this migt be the knacker that knicked it? Why bother I mean?
    Tiesto wrote:
    where did that come from.
    Good job you dont have it then you weirdo.

No, no luck Heyes. Ahwell.
    Looks like she will have to get the camera out and start putting together another portfolio :)

Post No 45, The OP calls him a weirdo as he just throw in an insult for no good reason.
    ronoc wrote:
    He has a point you know.:)

Post No 46, Again we see ronoc with notthing good to add so he agrees with nedoo pointless post and does notthing but inflame the situation. Troll!
    NoelRock wrote:
    ...and they say there's no such thing as karma.

Post No 47, Again why not just say what on your mind? Why is this needed in anyway?

After this it mainly degenerates into kids trying to be smart arses.

Esp Slutmonkey (appt name) who posts that long one that make no sense at all.

Ill answer that one in a seperate post below however. Again, I felt summing it up like this would show what silly trolls the OP was getting annoyed at and how little his apperant abuse really was.

Its like no one read the posts in the first place, before feeling the need to post something that had no use. As I said Im bored in work so don't even botehr with the replys of "oh your so sad for posting all that", it's just that right now atm there are many trolls who are spoiling threads and this is one of the best expamples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Wolf: Maybe you should go lie down for a bit. Tiesto has asked for this thread to be closed so lets let it die?!?

Wolf wrote:
    This may seem over the top, but seeing as many of you seem to need to have thing pointed out point blank

My god you are right! Thank you for showing us the error of our ways! :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 244 ✭✭tails2

ok
    this is not going to help to op in anyway, shape, or form

quite honestly what was the point in th e OP posting this in after hours or on the board at all.

if you think about it, unless he thought one of the boardsies was the one who stole it or knew people who steal laptops, then there is no way we could have helped. even if someone was offered it there is no way we could have gotten it for him. i mean i am not going to buy stolen goods or risk being caught with them for someone i dont even know.

on top of that the posts that explained about how gosh darned stupid his friend must be for leavin a laptop in a car anywhere are a lesson to show how stupid she was...

ahhh jeez.

i know what its like to have things stolen from you but asking online for help like this is ridiculous.

ok heres some help. you should wait around where it was stolen as more than likely they will try to sell it in that area.. true fact.

bye bye

i had my wee doubts but now after reading wolfs summary im 110 % sure that im not one of the clowns that has nothing better to do in his/her time but to increase his/her post count by posting crap.

and tails2, yeah i understand and of course it was stupid of the person to leave the laptop in the car, even if it was only for 2 minutes. I think we established that by now :)
    I was hardly expecting a reply from someone who actually bought the laptop.. I saw no harm in posting, just maybe someone might have known someone who got a laptop stolen in the area before, or maybe someone was offered a laptop for sale.... I have no idea how many users boards has but i know its alot, especially from the Dublin area. So why not ask for any info.
    I did get some beneficial info, about the 2nd hand laptop shop for example. Checked the place out but the laptop wasnt there, still tho, was worth a try..

ronoc wrote:
    My god you are right! Thank you for showing us the error of our ways! :rolleyes:

another crappy pointless remark.
    And i ask again, could a mod please close the topic.
    thanks

Tiesto wrote:
    another crappy pointless remark.
    And i ask again, could a mod please close the topic.
    thanks

:rolleyes: <- This sums up my feelings right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Wow, shower of c*nts here for the most part. Always have to get the last word don't ye ronoc, lovely bloke.

Wolf, to respond to your points above:
    Post No 2, Becuase that will get the laptop back won't it? Its like saying Oh you stuck out in the middle of nowere with a falt and no spare. I'll help you! "Carry a spare mate."
    No, this is telling the girl that had her laptop stolen to take more care of her belongings, and to remind everyone out there that backing up isn't something you can afford to ignore. Hardly useless.
    Post No 6, Great bit of advice but, in no way is information that in anyway would get the laptop back.
    And how exactly were a bunch of anonymous nerds spread all over the world supposed to get the laptop back exactly? When the person that lost it was apparantly unable to work it out?
    Post No 10 Completely Useless!
    No, post#10 very useful: If the idiot who left her laptop in her car doesn't learn from her mistakes, she's going to get a lot more stolen.
    Post No 14, Still a complete waste of space. If you have a problem take to a mod!
    Actually the poster is wondering (legitimately) whether the sticky is a waste of space. People are perfectly entitled to debate the point, since, this is the AH board where we post all our random rubbish and community musings.
    Post No 24, How in anyway, shape or form is this helpful to OP in retriving the laptop? At least he is right in the you are going to hate me part.
    He's posting factual information about what happens to laptops that get stolen. It's helpful in that it tell the girl not to get her hopes up for getting all her material back, even if she does get the laptop back. That's useful information she might not know. And as others have stated, maybe she can get erased data back, but it will cost her. How is that not helpful? And more to the point, why does posting a fact on a bulletin board mean you should be hated? Again, only you and the OP seem to think this post deserved hate or abuse.
    Post No 25, So finally by the 25th! post the OP gets a bit annoyed, but, after some of the pointless crap who can blame him.
    There are another few post that are just agreeing with what others have said and are still pointless.
    OH MY GOD. People can post whatever they think and... THE THOUGHT POLICE CAN'T STOP THEM! Welcome to the internet, enjoy your time here.
    Who can blame hime? Anyone who was brought up with reasonable manners and knows that if you want something from someone else, you should be polite about it.
    Post No 39, and this one for me is the best. Not only does slutmonkey not add anything at all to the topic, but, instead just jumps straight on the back of the OP for one remark. If you think it shouldn't be a sticky take it to a mod. If the mods thought its shouldn't be a sticky they would have taken it off. They do not need you to point it out.
    Actually I did add something to the topic: Namely that if Tiesto wants our help, he should try being polite instead of being abusive. I didn't jump on his back, I asked why the board was doing this guy a favour stickying his thread (and wasting space in AH), when he clearly had no appreciation for anything that people were trying to do for him. The "report post" button is there because occasionally the mods do need us to point it out.
    Post No 40, the OP only points out slutmonkeys stupidity in a rather clam way and what happens? Lets watch?
    Precicely what was stupid about my, or for that matter, anyone else's comment at that point? Nobody was being abusive to the OP, nobody was being abusive about the girl whose laptop was stolen, people were just posting whatever they thought might be useful. The unfortunate fact was that we have no information to offer about the whereabouts of the laptop. Because we're not the sort of people who deal in stolen goods.
    Post No 43, What the hell is the point of this, one can only think that this migt be the knacker that knicked it? Why bother I mean?
    Excuse me? This person points out that he doesn't like the OP's attitude, and you think that makes him a theif? Why bother helping someone that thinks you're a scumbag just because you don't have his stolen property? Why bother posting this thread when in Tiesto's words you "knew what the outcome would be"?
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tiesto
    where did that come from.
    Good job you dont have it then you weirdo.

No, no luck Heyes. Ahwell.
    Looks like she will have to get the camera out and start putting together another portfolio

Post No 45, The OP calls him a weirdo as he just throw in an insult for no good reason.
    That poster did not insult Tiesto at all. He did not say anything abusive, or call him names. He then goes on to say "Looks like she's going to have to start another portfolio". DING! haven't people been posting that for the previous two pages? In an attempt to tell Tiesto what's most likely going to happen? Oh they did. What a pity they wasted his time with useless information.
    Post No 46, Again we see ronoc with notthing good to add so he agrees with nedoo pointless post and does notthing but inflame the situation. Troll!
    No, not a troll, just someone trying (again) to tell Tiesto that if he wants a community to help him, he might want to be a bit nicer about it, because if he isn't then we have no reason to help him, do we?
    Again, I'll only point out that the only person being bad-tempered and abusive on this thread was the OP. And again, for the final time, since Wolf and Tiesto don't seem to want to see it, is that people who were posting here initially were being as helpful as they possibly could. The simple fact of the matter is that middle class, professional educated nerds have little or no dealings with stolen goods and wouldn't know where to start. Short of having the laptop, there's nothing we can do here. The OP chose to react with insults and aggravation. So that's all he's going to get from this point forward.

Wolf wrote:
    Esp Slutmonkey (appt name) who posts that long one that make no sense at all.

Ill answer that one in a seperate post below however. Again, I felt summing it up like this would show what silly trolls the OP was getting annoyed at and how little his apperant abuse really was.

Its like no one read the posts in the first place, before feeling the need to post something that had no use. As I said Im bored in work so don't even botehr with the replys of "oh your so sad for posting all that", it's just that right now atm there are many trolls who are spoiling threads and this is one of the best expamples.

My post made no sense at all? And apparantly I'm the one that can't read... Strange that Tiesto was able to dismiss the whole thing as bull**** without having read it at all (allegedly). If I were being cynical I would say that he did read it but didn't have any response to what I'd brought up other than to pretend he hadn't read it and accuse me of wasting my time. Which I found amusing as it was costing me precicely nothing to post what I thought, whereas he was spending his time on a fool's errand and moaning at the very people who he'd asked to help him.

I don't think anyone was thread spoiling here. I think the OP shot himself in the foot being abusive to people who tried their best to be nice.