Who here will vote and who will vote to Keep FF in power?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I will be canvassing against this government. And if they win by some corrupt means I am Immigrating and will claim political asylum in Cuba. They have completely ruined this country beyond belief. Their free-market policies have every person here almost on their knees, except the 0.01% of the super rich which they have helped get even richer, by political interfering. The fact is that most Millionaires here pay no tax, except those stealth taxes like VAT 21% and other things we pay on stuff like food, petrol etc. They are actively engaged in assassinating all public services so they can privatise the whole lot to their brown envelope friends. I would love to see this government get a kicking 1997 Tory style. There is no doubt but if they don't that when the economy do collapse which will happen quite soon considering every cent of it is based on credit and slave labour from Eastern Europe. We I am afraid find ourselves back in the 80's and the American President will be our new best friend..... Visa's anyone?? The fact of the matter is that however bad things were before this government cam e to power, heck the country was broke... yet we still had half decent services unlike today. Hospital trolley were something that was used to get patients from the ambulance to the bed not to be used for the entire stay in hospital. They sold Eircom and now Aer Lingus...This government are nothing short of a mafia and the same men who fought ninety years ago in the GPO, I am sure if they were alive today and saw what was going on would shoot at those Fianna Fail party cronies as quick as any Black & Tan Auxiliary.

Pat Rabbitte for Taoiseach... Ahern & Harney for Mountjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I will vote FF as I am pleased with my prosperity.

Maybe the others will win.
    So be it.
    Perhaps that will be a good thing.

It's disturbing that anybody will vote for SF.

netwhizkid wrote:
    I will be canvassing against this government. And if they win by some corrupt means I am Immigrating and will claim political asylum in Cuba. They have completely ruined this country beyond belief. Their free-market policies have every person here almost on their knees, except the 0.01% of the super rich which they have helped get even richer, by political interfering. The fact is that most Millionaires here pay no tax, except those stealth taxes like VAT 21% and other things we pay on stuff like food, petrol etc. They are actively engaged in assassinating all public services so they can privatise the whole lot to their brown envelope friends. I would love to see this government get a kicking 1997 Tory style. There is no doubt but if they don't that when the economy do collapse which will happen quite soon considering every cent of it is based on credit and slave labour from Eastern Europe. We I am afraid find ourselves back in the 80's and the American President will be our new best friend..... Visa's anyone?? The fact of the matter is that however bad things were before this government cam e to power, heck the country was broke... yet we still had half decent services unlike today. Hospital trolley were something that was used to get patients from the ambulance to the bed not to be used for the entire stay in hospital. They sold Eircom and now Aer Lingus...This government are nothing short of a mafia and the same men who fought ninety years ago in the GPO, I am sure if they were alive today and saw what was going on would shoot at those Fianna Fail party cronies as quick as any Black & Tan Auxiliary.

Pat Rabbitte for Taoiseach... Ahern & Harney for Mountjoy!

You old enough to vote ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Pal wrote:
    It's disturbing that anybody will vote for SF.

same could be said for giving FF the vote :)

Pal wrote:
    You old enough to vote ?

Yes I am... Thankfully and I will cast my vote with glee, I am even considering marking it in blood considering how much these tramps have screwed the country.
    Mossy Monk wrote:
    same could be said for giving FF the vote

TBH, Mossy anyone who votes for this government should clearly report to their hospital to have their Brain inserted as eith the one the got has turned to mulch or they never got one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Pal wrote:
    I will vote FF as I am pleased with my prosperity..
    and that what its all about right? money.
    you make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I always vote. Usually Fianna Fail are the last party to get my votes, after some sort of FG/Labour/PD-type combo. I never put a number beside the shinners, or Independant Fianna Fail.

Interestingly, I've found my local opposition politicans to be very receptive. Jim Higgins, the local FG MEP responded to my letters about software patents promptly, and voted against them in the EU parliment in the end, the local FG Dáil candidate is very good and there's a couple of local council Independants that are very good, one of whom (FF I think, sadly) who posts on the North-West forum from time to time.

netwhizkid wrote:
    TBH, Mossy anyone who votes for this government should clearly report to their hospital to have their Brain inserted as eith the one the got has turned to mulch or they never got one.
    they'll probably die on a trolly before they get seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Burts Bee wrote:
    I was talking with my boyfriend about this the other night and I was getting pretty upset at the state of the roads and hospitals - as I'm sure many of you are.

Irelands problems stem from mis-management. Each sucessive budget has more and more money thrown at health and roads and education but it's all thrown away.

The solution? **** politicians, all they know how to do is get elected and spend cash.

Get some CEO's and directors of Fortune 500 companies in those positions, give them targets and set KPI's and let them manage things. You can bet that money would stop getting wasted, it would get where it needs to go.

If the minister for Finance can have 5 aids, earning up to 160,000 a year, i'm sure we can afford to replace the bastards with people who know what they are doing!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Burts Bee

Thank you all for your replies, it's given me back a little bit of faith in our generation actually putting their mouths where their money is!

I would probably vote Green or Labour when the time comes. I don't think not voting is an option - even if you have to pick the best out of a bad lot, at least educate yourselves (me included) on the parties and go with the one that has SOME policies you agree with.

We are in the process of building a house/getting married/having kids after coming back from London recently and to be honest sometimes I REALLY find myself questioning my reason for living here. I guess if it wasn't for my family I don't think I would.

This isn't an anti-all things Irish rant here, I love my country and it's people but I really want to see it shining!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

i'll be voting SF, any independant, FG and will spoil my vote rather than put down greens or FF

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'm not registered yet, but I will be by the next election. I'll be voting, not for FF or the PDs though. I'll have to read up on the rest, but Labour is likely.

It doesn't matter really, they'd have to really try to do worse than the current government, so why not just give them a shot for 5 years?

I totally agree with you. The current Government has become WAY to comfortable with itself. Says all the right things but does NOTHING much I can see anyway. Get them on their toes again - Vote!

miju wrote:
    i'll be voting SF, any independant, FG and will spoil my vote rather than put down greens or FF

Miju - why wouldn't you vote Green? Just out of interest

ferdi wrote:
    they'll probably die on a trolly before they get seen.

How true, Or of course they may die waiting in traffic while on the way to the hospital also. I think FF PD's Supporter should be made take a dose of modern day reality in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

For as long as i can remember (not very long) i've always voted independant, just because the pric*s in any of the parties people are talking about are not fit to run a country.

The idea about the directors of fortune 500 companies has merit. Its not the lack of revenue at the governments disposal, its the mismanagment of it. 500million for a stadium that didn't get built, anyone remember that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

I want to know who keeps voting for the PD's..

ferdi wrote:
    and that what its all about right? money.
    you make me sick.

I earn my living by working hard.
    Your comment is offensive.

Burts Bee wrote:

just don't really like their policies and i personally think they appear very disorganised / dont know what they want

now with that said i know they're starting to get a bit more organised with more of a definitive direction so between now and next election i may change my tune if i like what i see / hear

Pal wrote:

Pal here sounds like a typical FF voter. The hell with everything once you are making money and stay wrapped up in your own little cocoon. The day will come when hard-working people like yourself Pal will end broke and on the dole believe me. This country is very soon going to go AWOL.. And my biggest fear is that it might happen under a new government. Typical FF that, when they know they are F*cked lay the seeds for disaster so the opposition can get the blame and they can have another 10yrs of Corruption and lies to feed the masses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

silas wrote:
    Take the example of Richard Bruton, well when McDowell ripped into him the other week, calling him Joseph Gobbels he just wasn't confident (spluttering and stumbling to get a sentence out) and I feel was very poor at fighting his corner and he's the 2nd in command in FG.
    You do know that Michael McDowell was in FG. And was tipped for Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Most likely FG.

The current Government are an absolute sham, with any hope they'll be gone after the next election.

Burts Bee wrote:

just dont really like their policies and generally the come across as disorganised / not really knowing what they want

that said i know they had their AGM recently and they seem to be rallying the troops so to speak and have a more definitive policy / direction, so if i like what i see / hear then i may change my tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

You do know that Michael McDowell was in FG. And was tipped for Taoiseach.
    I heard not so long ago that he was in FF or FG before joining the PD's, but never heard which one he was in. Thankfully he never became taoiseach that's all I can say. But as I was saying about Bruton, was that he is a very un-confident and defends himself in debates in a very weak manner. I just wouldn't like to see him in any position of power.

Pal wrote:
    Write to your local TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I honestly think Labour are the only mainstream party that have a realistic chance of improving things. The Greens would get my second vote, but they're never going to make a real impact.

The Greens would get my second vote, but they're never going to make a real impact.
    thats because irish people still dont give a **** about green issues. if more people cared, then more people would join and the party wouldnt be so crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Maxwell

Dragan wrote:
    Irelands problems stem from mis-management. Each sucessive budget has more and more money thrown at health and roads and education but it's all thrown away.

The solution? **** politicians, all they know how to do is get elected and spend cash.

Get some CEO's and directors of Fortune 500 companies in those positions, give them targets and set KPI's and let them manage things. You can bet that money would stop getting wasted, it would get where it needs to go.

If the minister for Finance can have 5 aids, earning up to 160,000 a year, i'm sure we can afford to replace the bastards with people who know what they are doing!!! :D

Excellent post and exactly my point of view aswell

Just to add that there is absolutely NO accountability in the public sector. When something goes wrong, money is wasted, delays etc - the person in charge is just moved to another high paying job in another department and NO one gets sacked. That is the problem, there is no risk to anyone in the public sector when they don't do their job properly. Yes politicians are to blame for not managing the properly, but the blame must be attached to the senior public officials that really pull the strings.

As one poster said, we are spending the most amount of money we have ever done on the health service, but the money is being mis managed. If you don't sort that out, then it doesn't matter if you spend 10billion or 20billion, the problems will remain.

I will be voting, but have not decided who yet.

Increasingly worrying is that people are getting so frustrated by FF in government and are starting to think about voting for Sinn Fein.

Don't be surprised to see Sinn Fein hugely increase their vote.

Does is bother other people when you hear bits of the convesations from the Dail - does it bother you that these are the people 'leading' our country? It's like a class full of 6 years old. Have these people never heard of dialogue? It's disgusting the way they roar over eachtother and have a big laugh when they are discussing serious things. And call eachother names for fricks sake. I could do a better job. And how come all these bills to protect people take so long to pass. I'll bet if it was a bill to get them more pay it'd be passed smart enough.:mad:

http://www.fiannafail.ie/multimedia/BA.wmv
    a speech by bertie - its got the hook from that Killer's song 'Mr Brightside' playing at the start. just listen to the start of hs speech, the smug hackneyed rhetoric is enough to make ye puke.

tell FF what you think of them here: http://www.fiannafail.ie/contact.php4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

If the election is in 2006 FF will have been running the Government for 17.5 of the last 19 years. That's not a healthy situation for a democratic country. Unfortunately they'll just do their usual thing of nicking the competitions good ideas, rubbishing the ones that are unpopular but have to be done for the good of the country (which they'll bring in anyway once they get reelected) and generally splurging bucketloads of cash in marginal constituencies so they get the numbers to reform a Govt. People can harp on and on about how the Govts bad decisions/dithering are affecting their lives but once they get a bit of cash/promise of cash they'll just vote the shower back in again. Sad state of affairs.