Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who here will vote and who will vote to Keep FF in power?

• 06-04-2006 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Burts Bee

I was talking with my boyfriend about this the other night and I was getting pretty upset at the state of the roads and hospitals - as I'm sure many of you are.

Many young people don't vote but see no problem in giving out about the state of the place. I've just currently registered to vote and I'm really going to educate myself on the parties. Will the rest of you do this too? (for the sake of ourselves and the country we live in!)

I don't know alot about politics at all but I do see the political party in power now throwing people down the drain and not really caring about the people of Ireland.

The worst form of apathy is just not voting at all, if we all got out there we CAN make a difference.

Ruth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Keep who in power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

FG in power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Burts Bee

Yes - sorry about that, of course I mean FF!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Why would anyone vote for ff, unless they are developers or public servents

Well are you going to vote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Chrissy

Nope, not voting!!!

One's as bad as the other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Chrissy

Why don't you put a poll on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Why would anyone vote for ff, unless they are developers or public servents
    good call, or a tribunal solicitor or a race horse owner.

FF and PDs are scum.

the problem is of course, are any of the other partys any better? answer: no, probably not.
    there are no viable alternatives - irish politics made up of stagnent, self assured, corrupt, incompitent goons who couldnt give a **** about anything but votes.

is the only way to shake things up to do the unthinkable and vote in the greens or something?

Yes, Labour or the greens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Chrissy wrote:
    Nope, not voting!!!

One's as bad as the other

As someone once said "Ireland has a third rate government, and a fifth rate opposition"

We should probably vote FF out, if for no other reason that they have been in power too long, and are too comfortable in it.
    But seeing as FG/labour et al are no better than the current FF/PD it seems a pretty pointless exercise.

ferdi wrote:

FF and PDs are scum.

the problem is of course, are any of the other partys any better? answer: no, probably not.
    there are no viable alternatives - irish politics made up of stagnent, self assured, corrupt, incompitent goons who couldnt give a **** about anything but votes.

is the only way to shake things up to do the unthinkable and vote in the greens or something?

This point is proven by the fact that they have had 9 years to sort out the health service- government coffers are overflowing and it is worse than it ever was......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ek942

Haven't voted once in the 12 years that i've been eligible.on anything.If I had voted for FF I would be ashamed of myself at this stage.

As someone once said "Ireland has a third rate government, and a fifth rate opposition"

We should probably vote FF out, if for no other reason that they have been in power too long, and are too comfortable in it.
    But seeing as FG/labour et al are no better than the current FF/PD it seems a pretty pointless exercise.

How can you tell untill you give them a chance!

This is propoganda used by FF to keep themselves in power....

ek942 wrote:
    Haven't voted once in the 12 years that i've been eligible.on anything.

You should excersise your right to vote,-people died to give you the option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

Voting for a party is not the solution to any of these problems..... Different faces doing the same thing ...best thing to do is plan for the next three elections , First every body in vote in a pile of independants , just to throw every thing into disary, when that falls apart , Vote for Green's maybe labour or Fine gael , when there term is up , Vote in a different party and so on make sure they all know there not secure , by then they should have started to realise , its us that are in control and may be we might actuall progress in some way.....whats that line for Vendetta

People shouldnt be afraid of there govements ,Goverments should be afraid of the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

You misunderstand me, i believe that there should be a change in government, but what i'm saying is that 2+ years from the next election we'll still all be logged in here, and there will be more or less the same level of grumbling about that government as there is about the current one.

just seems we'd be going in circles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ek942

I can't bring myself to believe anything a politician tells me.No matter what party they're in.They are all full of hope and promises before an election when they're knocking on your door.Try get them to do anything for you once they get their plush office or seat in Leinster house.unless of course you have money in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

ferdi wrote:

FF and PDs are scum.

Yeah I pretty much agree. Ill be voting FF, not because I like them, but because theyre the least worst option I can see, and I hate FG; theyre too pro-EU federalist for my liking, themselves an the European Peoples Party, for example.

You misunderstand me, i believe that there should be a change in government, but what i'm saying is that 2+ years from the next election we'll still all be logged in here, and there will be more or less the same level of grumbling about that government as there is about the current one.

just seems we'd be going in circles.

Your probably right, but why not give someone else a chance-we might be surprised
    They couldnt be any worse the present government!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've said it before and I'll say it again: Dev for Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Joeface wrote:
    Voting for a party is not the solution to any of these problems..... Different faces doing the same thing ...best thing to do is plan for the next three elections , First every body in vote in a pile of independants , just to throw every thing into disary, when that falls apart , Vote for Green's maybe labour or Fine gael , when there term is up , Vote in a different party and so on make sure they all know there not secure , by then they should have started to realise , its us that are in control and may be we might actuall progress in some way.....whats that line for Vendetta

People shouldnt be afraid of there govements ,Goverments should be afraid of the people

Well generally that is what happens in this country. I believe I am right in saying that when FF got re-elected that was first time in 25 years that a party had won re-election and we have had a lot of general elections elections in that time. Look at UK, conservatives in power for 18 years until 97 and labour have been power for 9 years and are guaranteed 12. So I doubt they really feel safe

Sleepy wrote:
    I've said it before and I'll say it again: Dev for Taoiseach
    dev?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

ferdi wrote:

Ive thought that for a while now, but id imagine Sinn Fein will be the rebelion party of choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm not registered yet, but I will be by the next election. I'll be voting, not for FF or the PDs though. I'll have to read up on the rest, but Labour is likely.
    ek942 wrote:
    I can't bring myself to believe anything a politician tells me.No matter what party they're in.They are all full of hope and promises before an election when they're knocking on your door.Try get them to do anything for you once they get their plush office or seat in Leinster house.unless of course you have money in the first place.

It doesn't matter really, they'd have to really try to do worse than the current government, so why not just give them a shot for 5 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

It'll be my first time voting I'll most likely vote for my local green candidate [if she runs] and whatever other candidate I feel will do best by my constituency/country. I'd be very wary of voting FF though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

Im not Talkin about giving them 12years or 9 im sayin one term , eventually if they want to stay in power they have to return some thing , I do believe Labour did turn england around and it is better for it ,FF do feel safe , There is no other party to compete with them , Fine Gael , Labour , Sinn F, Greens who ever have nothing more to offer and really thats the problem , They all seem to be able to point out whats wrong but no real solutions. Maybe if we throw out enough of goverments and change them enough of times they might learn as there in power how to fix problems ,instead of pointing out what the mistakes are of the previous goverments.

The Red in me is comming out i better go hide before the witch hunt starts...power to the ppl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭chubba1984

I'd love if we could vote for our government leader as well cos I've very little faith in Enda Kenny as an alternative to the bould Bertie. I'd prefer to see Pat Rabbitte as the future Taoiseach in a Fine Gael/Labour government to see what might happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I'd give my right arm to get FF/PD and bertie out of power, they really haven't made our economy any better. But looking at the alternative, I'd like to see FG in power because I've always liked FG as a party but just looking at their front-benchers I can't see them doing any better of a job, than the goons that are already in power.

Take the example of Richard Bruton, well when McDowell ripped into him the other week, calling him Joseph Gobbels he just wasn't confident (spluttering and stumbling to get a sentence out) and I feel was very poor at fighting his corner and he's the 2nd in command in FG.

Enda Kenny is an eejit, sorry but I just don't want him being the next taoiseach, I don't think he won't add anything as taoiseach. Pat Rabitte, on the other hand I think would make a much better taoiseach, he seems a much more confident and able politician than kenny is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

I will!...

Like **** I will! But where are the real alternatives? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i will vote for any alternative. they are all as bad as each other but i think its time for someone else to put the money where there mouths are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I will be canvassing against this government. And if they win by some corrupt means I am Immigrating and will claim political asylum in Cuba. They have completely ruined this country beyond belief. Their free-market policies have every person here almost on their knees, except the 0.01% of the super rich which they have helped get even richer, by political interfering. The fact is that most Millionaires here pay no tax, except those stealth taxes like VAT 21% and other things we pay on stuff like food, petrol etc. They are actively engaged in assassinating all public services so they can privatise the whole lot to their brown envelope friends. I would love to see this government get a kicking 1997 Tory style. There is no doubt but if they don't that when the economy do collapse which will happen quite soon considering every cent of it is based on credit and slave labour from Eastern Europe. We I am afraid find ourselves back in the 80's and the American President will be our new best friend..... Visa's anyone?? The fact of the matter is that however bad things were before this government cam e to power, heck the country was broke... yet we still had half decent services unlike today. Hospital trolley were something that was used to get patients from the ambulance to the bed not to be used for the entire stay in hospital. They sold Eircom and now Aer Lingus...This government are nothing short of a mafia and the same men who fought ninety years ago in the GPO, I am sure if they were alive today and saw what was going on would shoot at those Fianna Fail party cronies as quick as any Black & Tan Auxiliary.

Pat Rabbitte for Taoiseach... Ahern & Harney for Mountjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I will vote FF as I am pleased with my prosperity.

Maybe the others will win.
    So be it.
    Perhaps that will be a good thing.

It's disturbing that anybody will vote for SF.

netwhizkid wrote:
    I will be canvassing against this government. And if they win by some corrupt means I am Immigrating and will claim political asylum in Cuba. They have completely ruined this country beyond belief. Their free-market policies have every person here almost on their knees, except the 0.01% of the super rich which they have helped get even richer, by political interfering. The fact is that most Millionaires here pay no tax, except those stealth taxes like VAT 21% and other things we pay on stuff like food, petrol etc. They are actively engaged in assassinating all public services so they can privatise the whole lot to their brown envelope friends. I would love to see this government get a kicking 1997 Tory style. There is no doubt but if they don't that when the economy do collapse which will happen quite soon considering every cent of it is based on credit and slave labour from Eastern Europe. We I am afraid find ourselves back in the 80's and the American President will be our new best friend..... Visa's anyone?? The fact of the matter is that however bad things were before this government cam e to power, heck the country was broke... yet we still had half decent services unlike today. Hospital trolley were something that was used to get patients from the ambulance to the bed not to be used for the entire stay in hospital. They sold Eircom and now Aer Lingus...This government are nothing short of a mafia and the same men who fought ninety years ago in the GPO, I am sure if they were alive today and saw what was going on would shoot at those Fianna Fail party cronies as quick as any Black & Tan Auxiliary.

Pat Rabbitte for Taoiseach... Ahern & Harney for Mountjoy!

You old enough to vote ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Pal wrote:
    It's disturbing that anybody will vote for SF.

same could be said for giving FF the vote :)

Pal wrote:
    You old enough to vote ?

Yes I am... Thankfully and I will cast my vote with glee, I am even considering marking it in blood considering how much these tramps have screwed the country.
    Mossy Monk wrote:
    same could be said for giving FF the vote

TBH, Mossy anyone who votes for this government should clearly report to their hospital to have their Brain inserted as eith the one the got has turned to mulch or they never got one.

Pal wrote:
    I will vote FF as I am pleased with my prosperity..
    and that what its all about right? money.
    you make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I always vote. Usually Fianna Fail are the last party to get my votes, after some sort of FG/Labour/PD-type combo. I never put a number beside the shinners, or Independant Fianna Fail.

Interestingly, I've found my local opposition politicans to be very receptive. Jim Higgins, the local FG MEP responded to my letters about software patents promptly, and voted against them in the EU parliment in the end, the local FG Dáil candidate is very good and there's a couple of local council Independants that are very good, one of whom (FF I think, sadly) who posts on the North-West forum from time to time.

netwhizkid wrote:
    TBH, Mossy anyone who votes for this government should clearly report to their hospital to have their Brain inserted as eith the one the got has turned to mulch or they never got one.
    they'll probably die on a trolly before they get seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Burts Bee wrote:
    I was talking with my boyfriend about this the other night and I was getting pretty upset at the state of the roads and hospitals - as I'm sure many of you are.

Irelands problems stem from mis-management. Each sucessive budget has more and more money thrown at health and roads and education but it's all thrown away.

The solution? **** politicians, all they know how to do is get elected and spend cash.

Get some CEO's and directors of Fortune 500 companies in those positions, give them targets and set KPI's and let them manage things. You can bet that money would stop getting wasted, it would get where it needs to go.

If the minister for Finance can have 5 aids, earning up to 160,000 a year, i'm sure we can afford to replace the bastards with people who know what they are doing!!! :D

Thank you all for your replies, it's given me back a little bit of faith in our generation actually putting their mouths where their money is!

I would probably vote Green or Labour when the time comes. I don't think not voting is an option - even if you have to pick the best out of a bad lot, at least educate yourselves (me included) on the parties and go with the one that has SOME policies you agree with.

We are in the process of building a house/getting married/having kids after coming back from London recently and to be honest sometimes I REALLY find myself questioning my reason for living here. I guess if it wasn't for my family I don't think I would.

This isn't an anti-all things Irish rant here, I love my country and it's people but I really want to see it shining!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

i'll be voting SF, any independant, FG and will spoil my vote rather than put down greens or FF

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'm not registered yet, but I will be by the next election. I'll be voting, not for FF or the PDs though. I'll have to read up on the rest, but Labour is likely.

It doesn't matter really, they'd have to really try to do worse than the current government, so why not just give them a shot for 5 years?

I totally agree with you. The current Government has become WAY to comfortable with itself. Says all the right things but does NOTHING much I can see anyway. Get them on their toes again - Vote!

miju wrote:
    i'll be voting SF, any independant, FG and will spoil my vote rather than put down greens or FF

Miju - why wouldn't you vote Green? Just out of interest

ferdi wrote:
    they'll probably die on a trolly before they get seen.

How true, Or of course they may die waiting in traffic while on the way to the hospital also. I think FF PD's Supporter should be made take a dose of modern day reality in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

For as long as i can remember (not very long) i've always voted independant, just because the pric*s in any of the parties people are talking about are not fit to run a country.

The idea about the directors of fortune 500 companies has merit. Its not the lack of revenue at the governments disposal, its the mismanagment of it. 500million for a stadium that didn't get built, anyone remember that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

I want to know who keeps voting for the PD's..

ferdi wrote:
    and that what its all about right? money.
    you make me sick.

I earn my living by working hard.
    Your comment is offensive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Burts Bee wrote:
    Miju - why wouldn't you vote Green? Just out of interest

just don't really like their policies and i personally think they appear very disorganised / dont know what they want

now with that said i know they're starting to get a bit more organised with more of a definitive direction so between now and next election i may change my tune if i like what i see / hear

Pal wrote:
    I earn my living by working hard.
    Your comment is offensive.

Pal here sounds like a typical FF voter. The hell with everything once you are making money and stay wrapped up in your own little cocoon. The day will come when hard-working people like yourself Pal will end broke and on the dole believe me. This country is very soon going to go AWOL.. And my biggest fear is that it might happen under a new government. Typical FF that, when they know they are F*cked lay the seeds for disaster so the opposition can get the blame and they can have another 10yrs of Corruption and lies to feed the masses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

silas wrote:
    Take the example of Richard Bruton, well when McDowell ripped into him the other week, calling him Joseph Gobbels he just wasn't confident (spluttering and stumbling to get a sentence out) and I feel was very poor at fighting his corner and he's the 2nd in command in FG.
    You do know that Michael McDowell was in FG. And was tipped for Taoiseach.