Kunle begins his battle against deportation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

miju wrote:
    they can be detained for not have their ID card but has soon as they've confirmed their ID and corss referenced they'd be let go, he would be charged with not having his ID card that's bull

Correct. I meant "Arrested" rather then charged.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

aye i figured that was what you meant, just wanted to make sure no-one else reading the thread thought differently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

The sad fact of the matter is that is makes no legal difference to his application that he is now the father of an Irish child. While is would be a shame to break a family, an unmarried father has no rights to his children unless a mutual consent form is signed by the mother.
    (not a hint to his mrs in anyway!:D ) And that mostly deals with visiting/support. So his new reason is at best weak, and thats if the form has been signed.

jsr wrote:
    And that mostly deals with visiting/support. So his new reason is at best weak, and thats if the form has been signed.

Even if it was signed it would probably have no effect on his case. Heck if he got married to her it wouldn't help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

Hobbes wrote:
    Even if it was signed it would probably have no effect on his case. Heck if he got married to her it wouldn't help either.

Yeah, as I said weak at best. Looks like he will be given a one way ticket, but you gotta give it to the guy, he is putting up one hell of a fight(even if you don't aggree with him). He has a future in PR, assuming he has a future.

jsr wrote:
    While is would be a shame to break a family

personally i hate when people say that as this works in reverse also

the family dont have to break up simply move to Nigeria with him, the mother and child would be free to enter the state as and when they wish as they'll have Irish passports

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

How many seperate discussionsare we going to have about Kunle. Is there not a discussion here already and one in politics and one in law and on and on and on.

Tough Luck for Kunle that he has become symbolic of bogus asylum seekers. (and don't tell me that is an oxymoron; if you are lying to the examining officer you are a 'bogus' asylum seeker). One can cerainly argue that middle class nigerians turning up in Ireland claiming to be refugees is damaging to the interests of the genuinely persecuted. Most non nIgerian africans hate them and Nigerian women seem to be the ugliest in Africa. Nevertheless I don't understand the vehemence attached to this case. To some people Kunle is like the victim of the 5 minute hate in 1984.

The tax and insurance issue shows that he is a fool but lets can the phony horror people,nobody would get more than a fine for a first offence.

Nuttz if your point is that he commited fraud at Dublin aiport and why are you posting links that indicate that Kunle commited no crime in the Dublin airport incident. Other than not having his Alien registration card (so what that's not a real crime).

As regards his age the dept of justice send unaccomapnied minors for medical examination and if he was in his thirtie we would know by now. He looks early 20s to me though maybe Africans look young to white people.

I don't see how he could be sent home if he got married to an Irish citizen who is pregnant with his child by the way.

As for the people calling his girlfriend a skanger on the other discussion. You let the cat out of the bag there. The people who hate Kunle hate everyone different from them. Poor people (if they're rich), rich people (if they're poor), travellers, heroin addicts, southsiders, northsiders, culchies, dubs, brits, nordies, jaffas, taigs and most of all themselves.

MM

I was out drinking on Sunday night and Kunle must have broken into my house because someone puked in my upstairs bathroom and it got on the floor. I don't remember who it was because I was drinking heavily and smoking grass. It must have been Kunle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

why does the country seem to have a love affair with this chancer ? Singing ole ole when he returns like a World cup hero ? I lived illegally in the U.S. in the mid eighties, and it was head down not trying to get attention, with no social welfare - you just had to get what work you could to survive and we did . This guy just craves media attention about his perceived injustice, while he himself flaunts the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭rkeane

I work in the immigration area myself. Yesterday I was speaking to a very respected solicitor over a coffee - he has told me that the chances of Kunle winning this case are very slim indeed. He also said to me that I'd have a better chance of surviving a walk through Baghdad draped in the U.S flag than Kunle winning his case. Basically he hasn't a bulls chance of staying here and his sudden fatherhood is not going to assist him in any fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I was out drinking on Sunday night and Kunle must have broken into my house because someone puked in my upstairs bathroom and it got on the floor. I don't remember who it was because I was drinking heavily and smoking grass. It must have been Kunle.

I'm trying to figure what the hell your point is here, but you've got me stumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

if he had any sense the last thing he'd do is mess up tax & insurance, or hell, get a car (somehow?). he got a second chance, has gotten into some fairly dodgy situations and upon court deciding his sentence, he's suddenly a father.

enjoy the weather in nigeria, i say.

rkeane wrote:
    I work in the immigration area myself.

whereabouts you work outta curiousity?

rkeane wrote:
    I work in the immigration area myself.

As what exactly? The reason I ask is you clearly had no clue about what is contained in the 1951 convention and also calling your customers "feckers" and "scumbag criminal" and "chancers" seems very unprofessional for someone working in GNIB.

I work within the GNIB. We see chancers like Kunle the whole time, very soon we will be seeing the last of him. There are enough domestic criminals, we certainly don't need anymore like Kunle. By the way in relation to an earlier comment, the vast majority of cocaine discovered in Ireland recently has Nigerian connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

rkeane wrote:
    the vast majority of cocaine discovered in Ireland recently has Nigerian connections.
    Where did you get that little gem of information from? Your local green grocer? A cab driver? Your cousins fathers uncle twice removed?

There seems to be an awful lot of misinformation in the publin domain surrounding this fella. I think we need to look at his situation a little more rationally. He's a young man who's desperate to stay in the country. He's already employed (there was a segment on RTÉ showing him working in a Super-Valu). He's well settled here and has roots, friends, attachments, etc. Is it really so wrong that he'd do everything in his power to stay? Is it so wrong that we let him stay? It's not like he's depriving some an Irish person of a job or claiming welfare.

That last comment was pathetic tripe. If we were to allow this criminal leave to remain in Ireland we might as well do me out of a job and abolish the GNIB (Garda National Immigration Bureau). We might as well have no laws/rules on immigration into this state if chancers like him were perfectly acceptable. I share McDowell’s view that allowing him to stay would be contrary to the common good. He failed ALL STAGES of his asylum process, he then commits crimes in the State, I'm only to happy he wasn't jailed yesterday, that means he will be free to take his place on the charted plane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

nuttz wrote:
    *Fact 1: Illegal entry into the country, without visa or proper assylum status.
    Fact 2: Attempting to withdraw money from a bank account with a forged passport
    Fact 3: Motor traffic offences
    Fact 4: Deported legally
    Fact 5: 6 month extension to stay in country
    Fact 6: Further Motor traffic offences
    Fact 7: 1 year driving ban for last motor traffic offences

Fact 8: Deportation for good: when???

*feel free to modify as further criminal offences are added to the list.

Yeah it's crazy! I bet I couldn't get residency anywhere in any country with a criminal record like that!

How different the title of the thread would be if it was more the correct: Kunle begins resistance of deportation orders

rkeane wrote:
    I work within the GNIB. We see chancers like Kunle the whole time, very soon we will be seeing the last of him. There are enough domestic criminals, we certainly don't need anymore like Kunle. By the way in relation to an earlier comment, the vast majority of cocaine discovered in Ireland recently has Nigerian connections.

what section of GNIB you work in?
    He's a young man who's desperate to stay in the country. He's already employed (there was a segment on RTÉ showing him working in a Super-Valu).

so what it doesnt have any bearing on his case apart from harming it actually, i'm not sure when he arrived into the country to claim asylum but if it's been in the last few years he wont have a work letter or permit to work in Super-valu so therefore he's working illegaly
    He's well settled here and has roots, friends, attachments, etc. Is it really so wrong that he'd do everything in his power to stay? Is it so wrong that we let him stay?

yes, he came to this country to claim asylum and he has to abide by the rules of the process and the laws of the land (which he's already flouted)
    It's not like he's depriving some an Irish person of a job or claiming welfare.

you have to be trolling seriously,

do you think he's paying for solicitors (legal aid board), accomodation, the JR process his deportation and subsequently being brough back and his subsequent deportation again, it's the IRISH GOVERNMENT or just so your clear on this YOU, ME AND EVERY OTHER TAX PAYER IN THIS COUNTRY

it's humanitarian liberals like you who have helped create this asylum problem, "ah sure let him stay what harm will it do" that similiar mentality resulted in the issuing of work letters to help clear backlogs years ago and what happened???? word got around at the speed of light and asylum claims TRIPLED within 2 months

bogus and failed asylum seekers (and i'm stating they'res a difference between them) hoover government resources which can be better used elsewhere in ireland, not just via direct provision but the manpower and wage costs involved in processing / keeping them and getting rid of failed asylum seekers, kunle and countless others like him really should be rounded up and shipped home ASAP as they have no basis for claiming asylum under the geneva convention

cue the miju is a racist remarks :-)

He's already employed (there was a segment on RTÉ showing him working in a Super-Valu)..

I thought refugees are legally not allowed to work? Anyone like to clear this up for me?

see my post above karl

rkeane wrote:
    I work within the GNIB.
    In that case please clarify exactly how Kunle might have permission to work?
    rkeane wrote:
    There are enough domestic criminals, we certainly don't need anymore like Kunle.
    He is not a criminal by any reasonable definition of the term
    rkeane wrote:
    By the way in relation to an earlier comment, the vast majority of cocaine discovered in Ireland recently has Nigerian connections.
    Irrelevant to Kunle's specific case. I would be grateful for further and specific information.
    miju wrote:
    miju wrote:
    it's humanitarian liberals like you who have helped create this asylum problem, "ah sure let him stay what harm will it do"
    Humanitarian liberals like John O'Donoghue and McDowell? What harm would it do to allow these people stay if they were made work? The expansion in numbers has all taken place under right wing regimes. You might think that it is liberals who have created the problem but you just show that you haven't thought about the issue.
    miju wrote:
    no basis for claiming asylum under the geneva convention
    Dublin convention. Again you show that you haven't thought about the issue.
    miju wrote:
    Much vehemence little knowledge. You certainly have some sort axe to grind.

MM

I can only say I am attached to the GNIB in Burgh Quay. Refugees are allowed to work like you and I, they have been granted Refugee status. Regarding Asylum seekers: "On the 26th July 1999 the Irish Government permitted asylum seekers who had made their applications for asylum in Ireland 12 months prior to the 27th of July 1999, to work. It was also agreed that this right would be extended to those who had applied for asylum in Ireland, on or before the 27th July 1999, and who would subsequently have been in the state for twelve months. Thus, an initial group of some 2,100 asylum seekers were given the right to work on 27th July 1999. That number had increased to 3,241 by 30th June 2000." Source: Irish Refugee Council

This is not something I had even considered - Kunle should never have been working in Supervalue b4 his first deportation as he arrived in Oct 2001.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Apparently Kunle is 21? From the pic in my attachment which was printed in todays Daily mail he more looks like 29 or 30 :confused: I read a thread on stormfront a while back that claims he is much older. Bin him back to Nigeria and his "Girlfriend" & kid too IMO.

rkeane wrote:
    ... Yesterday I was speaking to a very respected solicitor...
    No such thing.

MM

netwhizkid wrote:
    Apparently Kunle is 21? From the pic in my attachment which was printed in todays Daily mail he more looks like 29 or 30 :confused: IMO.
    Your are always :confused: (see the converation about Kelly Brook's piss). They do medical tests on Unaccompanied Minors to check their ages.

MM

I'm trying to figure what the hell your point is here, but you've got me stumped.
    There was vomit on my floor; Kunle was in Ireland ...
    Do I have to draw you a picture Karl?

In that case please clarify exactly how Kunle might have permission to work?
    only if he is granted refugee status (which he hasn't been), has been naturalised or has a high value skill (nurses, doctors) shelf stacker isn't a high skill job (i should know i used to be one :-)

He is not a criminal by any reasonable definition of the term
    he has a criminal convication by definition he's a criminal

Dublin convention. Again you show that you haven't thought about the issue.
    dude before you post again seriously at least get a basic grasp of what you are talking about before you try and counter someones argument

Much vehemence little knowledge. You certainly have some sort axe to grind.

MM
    i've no axe to grind i know many asylum seekers and immigrants and indeed would class them as my friends - in fact my boards username is a russian word that i picked up from one of my ukranian friends

considering i worked in the repat unit in immigration for many a moon i think you'll find your wrong about my level of knowledge on the subject

There was vomit on my floor; Kunle was in Ireland ...
    Do I have to draw you a picture Karl?

No, but a point would be handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

miju wrote:
    what section of GNIB you work in?

so what it doesnt have any bearing on his case apart from harming it actually, i'm not sure when he arrived into the country to claim asylum but if it's been in the last few years he wont have a work letter or permit to work in Super-valu so therefore he's working illegaly

yes, he came to this country to claim asylum and he has to abide by the rules of the process and the laws of the land (which he's already flouted)

do you think he's paying for solicitors (legal aid board), accomodation, the JR process his deportation and subsequently being brough back and his subsequent deportation again, it's the IRISH GOVERNMENT or just so your clear on this YOU, ME AND EVERY OTHER TAX PAYER IN THIS COUNTRY

it's humanitarian liberals like you who have helped create this asylum problem, "ah sure let him stay what harm will it do" that similiar mentality resulted in the issuing of work letters to help clear backlogs years ago and what happened???? word got around at the speed of light and asylum claims TRIPLED within 2 months

bogus and failed asylum seekers (and i'm stating they'res a difference between them) hoover government resources which can be better used elsewhere in ireland, not just via direct provision but the manpower and wage costs involved in processing / keeping them and getting rid of failed asylum seekers, kunle and countless others like him really should be rounded up and shipped home ASAP as they have no basis for claiming asylum under the geneva convention

Ding dong - you are right. You've articulated my exact feelings on it. I'm all for asylum seekers - but, once you fail, you're out. The proceedures are fair. There should be no 'if's or 'but's about it after that.

EDIT: Yes, we need immigrants. Not necessarily brilliant mathematicians or doctors (though that'd be great) - no, we need people from all walks of life. What we don't need though are people like Kunle who attempt to manipulate the system and, worse, manipulate the people of this country with his 'rational fear'/'I just want to stay for my education' antics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 noanarchistfan

Kunle does not meet the criteria for asylum. His case was processed fairly. Our asylum system has to cope with huge volumes of applications every year and consequently, this has costed the Government over €350 million last year. Tightening up the immigration checks would help lower this cost.