Getting refused

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭yawn

Oh and on anther note, if you do go in early hours and ask a manager about the incident, don't do the stupid mistake of being hostile as I have seen from sober people.

"why the **** was I refused the other night? I'm always in here." - I mean cop on :(

In regards to England and France clubs. Who cares? Different countries different cultures, different rules. i wanna drive on the opposite side of the road cos they do that in a different country?

I don't mean to sound mean or anything here btw, i just have a headache. I apologise if i come across offensive to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

So where do u work yawn,

If a place is full i have no problem in being turned away, But when a bouncer says sorry were full, and i see him leave plenty of ppl in after me i do get a little pissed off, How do i look different from any1 else, I do look quite respectable so how can bouncers ever decide who to let in, I've seen men in the late 20's early 30's start fights for stupid reasons like bumping into sum1 in a packed bar, Again, I do think bouncers/doormen do a good job, There's always on top of fights in double quick time and they can be nice, In cork i knew a load of doormen and they were all very nice to me, But thats because i worked in a cafe where they all turned up at after work, I would like to see a charter though on doormen policy

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Because who enjoys a sausage fest?

QUOTE=Bartronilic] How come everywhere I go is a sausagefest?! [/QUOTE]

Christ I fcuking hate that term. It always seems to be used by students who watch American sh1te like The O.C and who couldnt pull in a brothel.

Just my 2 cents......

How much are bouncers paid per hour? Presumably more at the weekend than weeknights, when Im old and past it re clubbing Id consider it for a bit of extra money.

Right now though there is no way Id work anywhere on a Friday/Sat night. Ive got two jobs as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭yawn

First of all, I won't be saying where I'm working for several reasons. if a place is full and I get turned away that's ok with me too. As for just turning you away and letting others in, well it happens. There's no way in telling if anyone is gonan start a fight or not, so random turn aways will happen. if your a regular in my place, I havn't seen them turned away.

I havn't witnessed a regulars only tonight either, not saying it hasn't happened, i just havn't heard it being used as an excuse.

i have heard the "sorry lads/girls, not tonight". Where I work there's doorstaff watching who enters the queue as most muppets enter the queue messing and only act mature as they near the top, the doostaff at the start of the queue radio up and just say stop x and x if they think it's necessary.

If 4 lads and 4 girls go up. seperate groups now, and if 1 groupwas to be turned away, more than likely it would be the guys simply because if a fight breaks out, the guys are gonna do more damage in a fight than a girl.

If you can come up with a better solution to knowing who's gonna start a fight, let me know and i'll pass it on and we'll see how that works. But the fact is there's no better solution than to just not let everyone in. Turn some people away. If you look like a scumbag, i wouldn't want you in my club. If you look respectable i'd more than likely let you in.

Best option is to stand in queue near someone who looks like he wants to start a fight, you know the way some people do have that sort of look, just walk near him but make sure the doorstaff know your not with him. You'll breeze in without being asked for id prob :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

julep wrote:
    "management has the right to refuse anyone"

ask to see the manager.

ffs. asking to see the manager is the most ridiculous thing you can do as it is always followed by 1 of 2 responses:

1) I am the manager

2) the manager is not here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

went to a club in tallaght a few years back (can't think of its name). there was five of us and the first four got in without any hassle. the fifth guy was refused because the bouncer deemed him to be too drunk. we all turned around and walked right back out, but not before i pointed out to the bouncer that not only was the guy he refused completely sober, but that he had never touiched a drink in his entire life. i think he just didn't like the look of my friend and was just being a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I was turned away from the POD cos it was "regulars only". I was asked for ID buying blackcurrant and water in the Foggy Dew in Temple Bar. I was refused entry to the Venue in Kilkenny because they said my Age Card was fake (the refused me a few weeks previously with my Drivers Licence, saying that it was fake). I called over 2 guards who were walking up the street and asked them to look at my age card and explain to the doormen that it was real, which they did and the doorman just turned to me and said "You're Barred".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dermington wrote:
    ffs. asking to see the manager is the most ridiculous thing you can do as it is always followed by 1 of 2 responses:

1) I am the manager

2) the manager is not here
    the point i was making was that if a bouncer refuses admission on account of "the management right" issue, then you are at least entitled to an explanation.
    if they say the manager is not there, then you could argue that "how can the management refuse admission if the management are not present".
    of course, that's if you want to argue. i learned many years ago that these arguements are pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Bars and nightclubs are private premises, that means they don't have to let you in. They may not advertise it but legally in all of them "Management reserve the right to refuse admission". And they don't have to give you a reason why. I've never heard the "Regulars only" reason used though, I work in a busy city center bar and it's one we never use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

Nightwish wrote:
    I was turned away from the POD cos it was "regulars only". I was asked for ID buying blackcurrant and water in the Foggy Dew in Temple Bar. I was refused entry to the Venue in Kilkenny because they said my Age Card was fake (the refused me a few weeks previously with my Drivers Licence, saying that it was fake). I called over 2 guards who were walking up the street and asked them to look at my age card and explain to the doormen that it was real, which they did and the doorman just turned to me and said "You're Barred".

When did u get turned away from POD

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

It was about year and a half ago. I live in Dublin and my boyfriend and 2 of his friends came up for the weekend and, I'd been there plenty of times, midweek and the doormen just took one look at us and said Regulars Only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Nightwish wrote:
    It was about year and a half ago. I live in Dublin and my boyfriend and 2 of his friends came up for the weekend and, I'd been there plenty of times, midweek and the doormen just took one look at us and said Regulars Only.

I was turned away from the POD a couple of years back. The bouncer said that i'd been in the week previously causing trouble with my "long haired" friend. Which wasn't true at all, in fact I hadn't been there in eighteen months or so. When I called him on that and accused him of lying he feigned personal insult. Shane I believe his name was. The other lads on the door (foreigners mostly) were sound enough. Complaints to the manager after the fact didn't make a tap of difference.

I've had issues with the doormen from The Orchard in Templeogue as well. Five days after spening over €150 between me and a friend having dinner there, and going to the bar about twice a month since my school days (I have friends close to it, so that is where we would drink) I got the regulars line. Written complaint went nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Sherlock

When were you in the Orchard, I don't go there as often as before but I thought they did away with doormen a long time ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Sherlock wrote:
    When were you in the Orchard, I don't go there as often as before but I thought they did away with doormen a long time ago?
    It's going back a few years. I finished school in '99 and it was the year after that when I was in there regularly meeting up with school friends. So it was around the Christmas of 2000 leading into 2001 when it first happened. It's under new management now but I still won't go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

Q Bar are notorious for not letting people in.....not surprised it happened, haven't been there in about 2 years- it's over rated- over packed and the drink is a rip-off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Here is a shocking idea why don't you decide not to go to places where they randomly decide you aren't going in. One thing I never understood was pepole who keep going back to places they were refused from repeatedly.

If they don't want you in there one night why would you give them your money?

Now that is an absolutely brilliant idea, shocking in its simplicity but which could have a huge effect if enough people did it. The problem is, in this country at any rate, there are far too many deferential people who are quite happy to tolerate handing over arbitrary power of admittance to a couple of meatheads in bomber jackets and still come back for more.

Attitudes like poster X who says
    Oh my GOD!! That is so like, WHATEVER!! It was probably packed or they didn't like the look of you...boo hoo, it happens everyone at some stage, there's nothing you can do about it and at the end of the day, they're only doing their job

or poster Y [no personal attacks, hit the post not the poster] who says "move on and forget about it" are indicative of people with self-esteem issues who are more comfortable attacking the bullied than the bullies.

If such attitudes were held by black people in the deep south in the 1960s, they would still be pissing in different pots and sitting in different parts of hte bus to the white folks. they stood up for themselves and said, we ain't taking this **** no more and things changed.

This type of post has been made many times before. It has never ceased to amaze me how many people are prepared to tolerate a crass illmannered admissions policy and still come back for more. i'm convinced it has little to do with security, it's largely about marketing and trying to convey an up-market 'exclusive' image for your drinking den. Why do some pubs on the same street have bounceers and others don't?

Morning Star is right. Don't go to pubs with bouncers on teh door. that way you'll never get refused.

I don't.

Any more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Well as someone touching 29 ive had a fair share of refusals and shenidigans getting in to pubs n clubs! I seem to be in the age group now tho where no one stops me unless im hammered. but then again i gave up goin to wayneker bars (like QBar) years ago.

With regards to refusing entry, the Equality status act of 2000 dictates on the provision of goods/services to the public. Since then an establish/business MUST give you a reason if they are refusing you service/goods. "Not a regular" is not an acceptable reason. Altho if ur hammered or a troublemaker then no judge wud rule in ur favour. That being said, arguing the point with knucklehead bouncers who are bein givin a "policy" by management isnt worth your time. Asking for the manager is just plain silly.

Someone said it already but if u are being refused entry to a pub then its not worth spending your money there. Find somewhere else!

When i was younger meself and the lads wud build up a friendship with bouncers by chattin to them before n after a pub/club. They get to know u that way n it helps.

For the buzz onetime, a bunch of us were visiting (a few years ago) a club where a few of us were refused entry. So for the buzz we asked them if they were refusing us cos we were travellers. They ignored us. So we went to the local garda station and asked if they could take a note of our story and note on their records that we were sober. We wrote a letter to the club and cc'd some traveller association. They were on to us like a light supporting our plee if we chose to pursue it! We obviously didnt take it further (cos we aint travellers) but it was great buzz!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Here is a shocking idea why don't you decide not to go to places where they randomly decide you aren't going in. One thing I never understood was pepole who keep going back to places they were refused from repeatedly.

If they don't want you in there one night why would you give them your money?
    Before I read on in this topic: I HAD to go unfortunately. For a birthday thingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Okay I read on. Since I'm 18 I have to go to these loud music, sticky floor, over heated and over priced places! Some of my friends are copping on while most aren't since being in College means everyone ends up in places like it :(. Me and few friends even started going out on our own to Turk's Head a good enough place where they practically force us into (beacuse it's an oldie place so they like young 'uns I think). But I ruined that all one eventful night :( (no fighting or extreme drunkness, just a clumsy little fall over a table smashing alot of stuff and soaking jackets, people etc.). In fact the bouncer was nice about it, they're all nnice. I like that place. Anyway, Messer's seems like a nice place to go until I smash it up (funny thing that the first time I was there I wasn't asked for I.d - this was five minutes after being refused from Qbar (which is what caused me to start this topic), but, as I said earlier I HAD to go there, urgh I HATE IT I HATE IT I HATE IT)).

Anyway continue on cos this topic is interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Aporia

it's definitley corrupt. i'm 17 and have been using my friends i.d. who looks nothing like me for 2 years and i've very rarely been refused. she has short blonde hair in the picture and i have long brown hair. even are facial features are completely different. i just smile or flirt with the bouncer/s and they let me in. i think it's really unfair that a guy in the same situation as me would be refused. i even get into over 21's. my ex boyfriend who was 23 knew allot of bouncers around in certain clubs and when i went out with him i never got asked.

i don't like the whole club scene though it's very fake and repetitive. i think before anyone goes out they shouldn't expect anything. it's as if some bouncers feel superior. rejecting certain people for no reason makes them feel above. but that's just some you can get really fair bouncers too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Pongo

With regards to refusing entry, the Equality status act of 2000 dictates on the provision of goods/services to the public. Since then an establish/business MUST give you a reason if they are refusing you service/goods

Not exactly. The act makes it illegal to refuse service on the grounds of, among others, sexual orientation, nationality, religion and membership of the travelling community. The act doesn't actually say that a reason must be given, although in practice a valid reason will be given if an allegation of discrimination is made. However, the reason for refusal does NOT have to be given at the time of refusal of service, which effectively means that 'not tonight' is all your going to get. Unless you are being discriminated against on one of the grounds mentioned in the act, then you have very few rights in a situation where you've been refused. Being refused because they don't like the look of you is not discrimination as defined in the act.

Also, bear in mind that a pub or club has a duty to run an 'orderly house'. The Intoxicating Liqour Act of 2003 makes it an offence to be drunk in a licensed premises, or to attempt to gain entry to a licensed premises while drunk. A Pub or Club could argue that you were refused on the grounds that you were drunk, and 'drunk' isn't defined, but remember 'binge drinking' has been classed as having more than 5 pints.

'Regulars only' means 'We don't like the look of you', plain and simple. As previous posters have said, take your hard earned money elsewhere.

Equal Staus Act 2000:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA8Y2000.html

Intoxicating Liquor Act 2003:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA31Y2003.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

About 4 weeks ago me and another male friend came late to a birthday so we ended up going into Qbar together. BUt before my friend even showed I.D we got refused.

It still etches me because I don't know why. It is the only over-age time I was refused.

We weren't drunk, we wore the proper attire and we are over 18... the only thing I can think of is the fact that I smiled at the bouncer (don't know why) or that we were the only two in the queue at that point and because we were both male they refused us....

It really puts a dampener on things, I was afraid going to Barcode in case it happened again (but I got in fine).

ANyway the point of this topic is: why do bouncers refuse? NOTE: I'm never going to Qbar again because the dancefloor was LEAKING the last time I was there.

The bouncers in that particular bar are the biggest showe or cu*nts ive come across in a long time :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

About 4 weeks ago me and another male friend came late to a birthday so we ended up going into Qbar together. BUt before my friend even showed I.D we got refused.

Qbar is notoriously picky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Qbar is notoriously picky
    And shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭_Turismo4

DaveMcG wrote:
    And shite.
    As in a bad place to go to :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I haven't been in the qBar in years, never really had probs getting in there, but would usually be going in with a girl or a mixed group anyways.

Places like that often like being picky as well as it increases its status somewhat (falsely).

There's nothing much you can do any more about getting refused, as (as far as I remem.) the Equality Authority no longer takes cases against publicans and nightclubs etc., which means if you want to take a case against a venue, you have to do it with your own money.
    The other reason being obviously the retraction of the necessity to allow anyone over 18 into a pub/club, so they can now make it over whatever age. And also places tend not to give reasons, because if they don't give a reason what law have they broken? It's their policy not to give a reason. It also means that any arguing you do is pointless and so you give up and walk away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

_Turismo4 wrote:
    As in a bad place to go to :confused:

Yer I hate it!

Just realising the second way my previous post could be taken, btw... :eek:

Qbar is notoriously picky.

And sh!te.

...ew...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

most bouncers are pricks,,, especially on the q bar and club m.

they have their head so far up each others arse they havnt got a clue how to do the door, the must go to complete arse hole college to to the door on these places.

I don't like qbar. I've been refused once (I only had college id with me) and got in once. It's far too expensive and packed. And I think my bf (who was meeting me there later in the evening) might not have gotten in if he hadn't told the bouncer "I'm meeting my gf in there".
    Now, I'm not a fan of clubs, and I mostly go to quiet pubs not in dublin, but once in a while a couple friends drag me out into dublin.
    D2 is another place that's a bit packed for my liking. I've not really had trouble getting in there, it's usually 21s only when I go in and I'm 20 but after 'sorry love 21s only' and I say pleaseplease they say ok.

The joys of being female I suppose.

I like messrs, it's much nicer.

I guess there's a lot of problems with refusing guys who are harmless, but tbh I've not heard of too many girls starting vicious fights and wrecking the place. I'm not saying it's fair, but I think from their point of view there's not much else they can try.