Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting refused

• 11-03-2006 7:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

About 4 weeks ago me and another male friend came late to a birthday so we ended up going into Qbar together. BUt before my friend even showed I.D we got refused.

It still etches me because I don't know why. It is the only over-age time I was refused.

We weren't drunk, we wore the proper attire and we are over 18... the only thing I can think of is the fact that I smiled at the bouncer (don't know why) or that we were the only two in the queue at that point and because we were both male they refused us....

It really puts a dampener on things, I was afraid going to Barcode in case it happened again (but I got in fine).

ANyway the point of this topic is: why do bouncers refuse? NOTE: I'm never going to Qbar again because the dancefloor was LEAKING the last time I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Could've been packed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Oh my GOD!! That is so like, WHATEVER!! It was probably packed or they didn't like the look of you...boo hoo, it happens everyone at some stage, there's nothing you can do about it and at the end of the day, they're only doing their job and contary to popular belief, i doubt ever bouncer is a bitter prick angry at the world, and likes to piss people off for no reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Oh yeah... cudda been. But what reasons are there? And I don't get why they like males going in with girls as opposed to a group of guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Oh yeah... cudda been. But what reasons are there? And I don't get why they like males going in with girls as opposed to a group of guys.

Because who enjoys a sausage fest?

Ye just thought of that there too! That's something I can NEVER understnad. How come everywhere I go is a sausagefest?! Where do all the girls go? (I bet you somebody will reply and say "all the girls go wherever you aren't going" har har har).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

A guy with girls is not likely to cause trouble.. a bunch of guys are more likely.

When you say refused... what EXACTLY did they say? Word for word....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

all the girls go wherever you aren't going" har har har).
    ok. that's that out of the way.

i seem to recall a law being passed a couple of years back that stated that you couldn't refuse access to a pub to anyone over 18 unless they were drunk or the place was full. you should have asked why you were being refused. the "you're not a regular" line is no longer allowed.

Thanks. And obviously they can refuse people wearing runners if it's a non-runners.

We asked them why and they said "management has the right to refuse anyone".

There is a sign outside Qbar saying that and not ANYWEHRE else. I really can't stand Qbar.

Once a friend from school who I hadn't seen in AGES came over to talk to me in Qbor, he gave me a punch in the arm (a FRIENDLY punch) to get my attention and guess what? THey kicked him out for fighting. Funny since I don't actually get along with this friend but still really stupid.

Thanks. And obviously they can refuse people wearing runners if it's a non-runners.

We asked them why and they said "management has the right to refuse anyone".

There is a sign outside Qbar saying that and not ANYWEHRE else. I really can't stand Qbar.

Once a friend from school who I hadn't seen in AGES came over to talk to me in Qbor, he gave me a punch in the arm (a FRIENDLY punch) to get my attention and guess what? THey kicked him out for fighting. Funny since I don't actually get along with this friend but still really stupid.
    "management has the right to refuse anyone"

ask to see the manager.

julep wrote:

ask to see the manager.

There can be more than one manager on duty cant there? They probably give managerial rights to the bouncers for this very reason, you cant beat the system :D.

i know. but you can hope that the bouncer in question doesn't know this.
    not that it bothers me. i rarely if ever get refused anywhere. probably because i don't go anywhere, but that's a moot point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Get over it-move on.......

julep wrote:
    i know. but you can hope that the bouncer in question doesn't know this.
    not that it bothers me. i rarely if ever get refused anywhere. probably because i don't go anywhere, but that's a moot point.

I know, i was so amazed the first few times i went out in this country, i REALLY dont look 19 :o , and yet the bouncers rarely give me any stick. In SA i was asked for ID everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Here is a shocking idea why don't you decide not to go to places where they randomly decide you aren't going in. One thing I never understood was pepole who keep going back to places they were refused from repeatedly.

If they don't want you in there one night why would you give them your money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

The Q-Bar are notorious for thinking they're exclusive. The management won't give a ****, they're the ones telling the bouncers to act the way they do.

The Q-Bar were sued a number of years ago for refusing entrance to a man and his family. The man was celebrating his 70th (I think... it was a while ago) birthday and they made up some excuse about insurance.
    Saruman wrote:
    A guy with girls is not likely to cause trouble.. a bunch of guys are more likely.
    Not even remotely true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Lodgepole wrote:

Not even remotely true.

I worked in night clubs years ago and it certainly is true that a group of lads are more lkely to cause trouble than anybody else. I have even worked the door for a while. Some people approach the door very aggressively and we just didn't let them in. THey have the right to stop you going in and didn't have to give you a reason but somebody says they have to gicve you a reason now not sure if that is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭40YardScreamer

Lodgepole wrote:
    The Q-Bar are notorious for thinking they're exclusive. The management won't give a ****, they're the ones telling the bouncers to act the way they do.

The Q-Bar were sued a number of years ago for refusing entrance to a man and his family. The man was celebrating his 70th (I think... it was a while ago) birthday and they made up some excuse about insurance.

Not even remotely true.
    Well they know insurance inside out as they are part of the quinn group. Dont like insurance companies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭dirtyharry1971

Well I'd just like to say that it seems that Ireland is the worst country for this type of cra.p

I lived in the UK for a year and their attitude is completely different. I was never refused from anywhere (even when I probably should have been) In fact a group of my mates came over for a weekend (mostly blokes) we went out on a mad one. One of they guys dressed up in the most ridiculous outfits for the laugh (dungarees, runners, bright ... he looked like a clown) Admittedly we got stopped once or twice that night but after a bit of conversation with the bouncers we all got into every pub/club we went to. The attitude seems to be give you a chance and if you f.uck up then your out and barred. In Ireland this just wouldn't happen as a lot of the time you won't be given a chance. In fact I hate going out in Dublin cos the group always get's split up. Plus I don't understand why I get refused sometimes. I always dress well if I know I'm going out and am rarely locked as I work late hours and most of the time I am going straight out after work.

I've also noticed that in other countries the policy seems more relaxed too. Ireland seems to be the worst for bouncers literally picking and choosing Particularly Dublin. God I hate that attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

they do it sometimes because they have a reason and sometimes just because they can (have to admit if I was a bouncer id probably do it if I was bored to). They have the right to refuse admission and they dont need to give you a reason - best to get over it and find another club for the night.

I lived in the UK for a year and their attitude is completely different.
    Hasn't it been regulated for a quite a while in the UK? I believe they have very specific training there, thus you get professional doormen. In Ireland it would be appear they hire people with the physical ability, but not necessarily the mental*.

* this is not to say that all bouncers are thick... many are very good at their job... just that mental agility doesn't seem high on bar owner's lists of requirements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭dirtyharry1971

Lodgepole wrote:
    * this is not to say that all bouncers are thick... many are very good at their job... just that mental agility doesn't seem high on bar owner's lists of requirements.
    subtle :D

That said It still doesn't justify the way things are at the moment

Lodgepole wrote:
    Hasn't it been regulated for a quite a while in the UK? I believe they have very specific training there, thus you get professional doormen. In Ireland it would be appear they hire people with the physical ability, but not necessarily the mental*.

I think its a clever idea to hire one femal bouncer to be on the scene (as long as she's there to keep the peace and not rough people up aswell). I got pushed down the stairs of the West bar in blanchardstown (no longer there) because a bouncer thought one of my mates was feeling up his girlfriend (abolsute crap). He grabbed my friend my the throat and pushed him up against the railings. I went over 'whoa whoa, whats going on'. He came towards me, pushed me (I had a few) and I went backwards down the stairs. Total craziness. Went back to my seat and I was very angry. I made a fist and said 'i hate that stuff'. The bouncer saw it and grabbed me by the front of my shirt and threw me out. I went to one of the other bouncers to explain. The bouncer saw this and ran over grabbed me again and knocked me into the other bouncers forehead. I thought i was in it then. But after talking calmly to the head bouncer he told me that that guy was known for it. Anyway, I felt I was dealing with some sort of mob. Didnt want to take it too far as I live in that area and could easily have caused some sort of grief for myself if I went to the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭yawn

Sigh. when you see someone punching someone from across the floor, they don't know if they're being serious or if it's friendly. Perhaps they just stopped a fight happening and thought this was another 1. Anyway sounds to me like, they saw u and ur friend messing, he got kicked out they remembered u and refused you. simple as and u can't argue

happens in the club I work in. Fights broke out, doormen stopped it, came back in and two lads were about to start another one, one got thrown out, and both barred. the reason they only throw one guy out is to minimise the chance of a fight outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

julep wrote:
    all the girls go wherever you aren't going" har har har).
    ok. that's that out of the way.

i seem to recall a law being passed a couple of years back that stated that you couldn't refuse access to a pub to anyone over 18 unless they were drunk or the place was full. you should have asked why you were being refused. the "you're not a regular" line is no longer allowed.

The Regular line is still being used,
    I had planned on goin to pogo on sat nite with a friend of mine, I'm 22 and He's 19 but we didnt even get asked for ID, 1st we went to the bleeding horse, Up to the door and WHAM, not 2nite, Regulars only, I replied with"I come here at least once a week" Which i do, And he said Well i aint seen ya before, Not tryin to be smart but i said "Thats cause they dont need bouncers on a wed evening around 6 o clock," He and the other bouncer were pretty adament we werent gettin in, He said again "Regulars only" So i looked in the window and seen at least 20 scottish lads in there, So i looked at him and said "I suppose There regulars" and walked away, I was pretty p1ss3d off at this stage and headed over to POGO where to my fookin amazement i got stopped, I handed over my ID cause that why i thought i was gettin stopped and Then This 6"2 "Fijian i think" bloke with dreads says "Regulars only" I started laughin, Again i replied I come here all the time, Which i do, And he said not 2night, Couldnt be bothered arguing with him so i went 2 spirit

Neither of the bouncers were nice about it, They just said Regulars only not "Sorry lads, Regulars only"
    How can they get away with this, The dude in pogo was leaving chicks in left right and centre, Passin the Q and all, And there was a few groups that were not from Dublin"Could tell by the accent etc," And they were all gettin in,

Is there an actual LAW where i can see what the bouncers are and are not allowed to do,

Kellxor

The Regular line is still being used,
    I had planned on goin to pogo on sat nite with a friend of mine, I'm 22 and He's 19 but we didnt even get asked for ID, 1st we went to the bleeding horse, Up to the door and WHAM, not 2nite, Regulars only, I replied with"I come here at least once a week" Which i do, And he said Well i aint seen ya before, Not tryin to be smart but i said "Thats cause they dont need bouncers on a wed evening around 6 o clock," He and the other bouncer were pretty adament we werent gettin in, He said again "Regulars only" So i looked in the window and seen at least 20 scottish lads in there, So i looked at him and said "I suppose There regulars" and walked away, I was pretty p1ss3d off at this stage and headed over to POGO where to my fookin amazement i got stopped, I handed over my ID cause that why i thought i was gettin stopped and Then This 6"2 "Fijian i think" bloke with dreads says "Regulars only" I started laughin, Again i replied I come here all the time, Which i do, And he said not 2night, Couldnt be bothered arguing with him so i went 2 spirit

Neither of the bouncers were nice about it, They just said Regulars only not "Sorry lads, Regulars only"
    How can they get away with this, The dude in pogo was leaving chicks in left right and centre, Passin the Q and all, And there was a few groups that were not from Dublin"Could tell by the accent etc," And they were all gettin in,

Is there an actual LAW where i can see what the bouncers are and are not allowed to do,

Kellxor
    Now, I'm not defending that type of behaviour, however, if you owned a club of your own, would you prefer anyone getting in or to be selective about it? Just want your view.

But i dress up really well, I drink but i dont get Locked to the point of fallin over, All i wanna do when i go to a club is have a few drinks and dance my feckin as* off, SOME not all bouncers just think there the Sh1t, Stoppin whoever they want when they want to, I always accept it if i get blown out,"Doesnt happen a lot" Since i turned 18 i'd say i was refused less than 15 times, And I'll just walk away and accept it, From now on though i'm gonna ask why,
    I dont wanna sound like i'm blabbering but I dont look like a troublemaker/Scumbag, I'm pretty well spoken, Kinda posh enough Cork accent"but i'm not posh though;) and i'm just out for a craic, Thats it

So from now on if i ever get blown out i'm gonna ask why,
    If not i'll ask for the manager

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd also like to see some set of rules or laws that doormen have to follow!

I mean, do they ACTUALLY have to give you a reason? I don't imagine so... If you ask to see the manager do they have to let you? Does that ever amount to you getting in?

I think I read somethin on here about someone bein refused, saw a Garda goin by and told them, and the Garda sided with him :confused:

I've heard that garda thing before,

Supposedly If your stopped by a doorman, You can go and get a garda, Show him your id and tell him your not drunk, I HEARD that ppl have been let in because of doin that,

I suppose the best thing is if it's a pub ur gettin refused from, Go in during the day and ask to speak with a manager, Explain to him nicely what happend and ask him to explain to you why u are being refused, I plan on askin the manager from the Bleeding horse on Wed when i go up,

Kellxor

ask to see the manager and if they say ok, 9/10 times manager will side with the doorstaff cause he pays them to make these decisions. Your not drunk and don't go out to get drunkto the point of falling over you say. well that's well and good but the doorstaff can't see into the future and know for a fact your not gonan start a fight etc. Last weekend, doorstaff basically did not refuse anybody into the nightclub and at the end of the night 12 riot vans had to be called in.

If people are not refused, the palce gets too packed with people who cannot handle drink and fights will start. Doorstaff generally tend to stick with each other and are usually backed up by managers otherwise what's the point in hiring them if you don't trust their judgements.

We had a guy going crazy in the lounge because he was asked to leave for wearing sportswear and runners after 7pm on a saturday night. He was asked nicely that if he could go home and change he could come back but he kicked a huge fuss and got banned.

innocent people will get stopped which is a shame if you really are not a scumbag who cannot handle drink, but as someone asked, if you own your own nightclub, would you let everyone and wait to see who fights then ban them, or refuse people to prevent fights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

In france when i go out,the bouncers never ask for ID.Added to that,we dont dress up like at home..the lads wear runners,girls wear casual clothes. Very relaxed atmosphere regarding discos,and not half as many problems it seems.

At home the places i go,the bouncers know me,and know that i NEVER cause trouble :D plus a tiny skirt and heels helps ;) Seriously though i have seen when out with a group of lads,they get stopped/refused for no valid reason, it would seem

Oh and on anther note, if you do go in early hours and ask a manager about the incident, don't do the stupid mistake of being hostile as I have seen from sober people.

"why the **** was I refused the other night? I'm always in here." - I mean cop on :(

In regards to England and France clubs. Who cares? Different countries different cultures, different rules. i wanna drive on the opposite side of the road cos they do that in a different country?

I don't mean to sound mean or anything here btw, i just have a headache. I apologise if i come across offensive to anyone.

So where do u work yawn,

If a place is full i have no problem in being turned away, But when a bouncer says sorry were full, and i see him leave plenty of ppl in after me i do get a little pissed off, How do i look different from any1 else, I do look quite respectable so how can bouncers ever decide who to let in, I've seen men in the late 20's early 30's start fights for stupid reasons like bumping into sum1 in a packed bar, Again, I do think bouncers/doormen do a good job, There's always on top of fights in double quick time and they can be nice, In cork i knew a load of doormen and they were all very nice to me, But thats because i worked in a cafe where they all turned up at after work, I would like to see a charter though on doormen policy

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Because who enjoys a sausage fest?

QUOTE=Bartronilic] How come everywhere I go is a sausagefest?! [/QUOTE]

Christ I fcuking hate that term. It always seems to be used by students who watch American sh1te like The O.C and who couldnt pull in a brothel.

Just my 2 cents......

How much are bouncers paid per hour? Presumably more at the weekend than weeknights, when Im old and past it re clubbing Id consider it for a bit of extra money.

Right now though there is no way Id work anywhere on a Friday/Sat night. Ive got two jobs as it is.

First of all, I won't be saying where I'm working for several reasons. if a place is full and I get turned away that's ok with me too. As for just turning you away and letting others in, well it happens. There's no way in telling if anyone is gonan start a fight or not, so random turn aways will happen. if your a regular in my place, I havn't seen them turned away.

I havn't witnessed a regulars only tonight either, not saying it hasn't happened, i just havn't heard it being used as an excuse.

i have heard the "sorry lads/girls, not tonight". Where I work there's doorstaff watching who enters the queue as most muppets enter the queue messing and only act mature as they near the top, the doostaff at the start of the queue radio up and just say stop x and x if they think it's necessary.

If 4 lads and 4 girls go up. seperate groups now, and if 1 groupwas to be turned away, more than likely it would be the guys simply because if a fight breaks out, the guys are gonna do more damage in a fight than a girl.

If you can come up with a better solution to knowing who's gonna start a fight, let me know and i'll pass it on and we'll see how that works. But the fact is there's no better solution than to just not let everyone in. Turn some people away. If you look like a scumbag, i wouldn't want you in my club. If you look respectable i'd more than likely let you in.

Best option is to stand in queue near someone who looks like he wants to start a fight, you know the way some people do have that sort of look, just walk near him but make sure the doorstaff know your not with him. You'll breeze in without being asked for id prob :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

julep wrote:

ask to see the manager.

ffs. asking to see the manager is the most ridiculous thing you can do as it is always followed by 1 of 2 responses:

1) I am the manager

2) the manager is not here

went to a club in tallaght a few years back (can't think of its name). there was five of us and the first four got in without any hassle. the fifth guy was refused because the bouncer deemed him to be too drunk. we all turned around and walked right back out, but not before i pointed out to the bouncer that not only was the guy he refused completely sober, but that he had never touiched a drink in his entire life. i think he just didn't like the look of my friend and was just being a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I was turned away from the POD cos it was "regulars only". I was asked for ID buying blackcurrant and water in the Foggy Dew in Temple Bar. I was refused entry to the Venue in Kilkenny because they said my Age Card was fake (the refused me a few weeks previously with my Drivers Licence, saying that it was fake). I called over 2 guards who were walking up the street and asked them to look at my age card and explain to the doormen that it was real, which they did and the doorman just turned to me and said "You're Barred".

Dermington wrote:
    ffs. asking to see the manager is the most ridiculous thing you can do as it is always followed by 1 of 2 responses:

1) I am the manager

2) the manager is not here
    the point i was making was that if a bouncer refuses admission on account of "the management right" issue, then you are at least entitled to an explanation.
    if they say the manager is not there, then you could argue that "how can the management refuse admission if the management are not present".
    of course, that's if you want to argue. i learned many years ago that these arguements are pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Bars and nightclubs are private premises, that means they don't have to let you in. They may not advertise it but legally in all of them "Management reserve the right to refuse admission". And they don't have to give you a reason why. I've never heard the "Regulars only" reason used though, I work in a busy city center bar and it's one we never use.

Nightwish wrote:
    I was turned away from the POD cos it was "regulars only". I was asked for ID buying blackcurrant and water in the Foggy Dew in Temple Bar. I was refused entry to the Venue in Kilkenny because they said my Age Card was fake (the refused me a few weeks previously with my Drivers Licence, saying that it was fake). I called over 2 guards who were walking up the street and asked them to look at my age card and explain to the doormen that it was real, which they did and the doorman just turned to me and said "You're Barred".

When did u get turned away from POD

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

It was about year and a half ago. I live in Dublin and my boyfriend and 2 of his friends came up for the weekend and, I'd been there plenty of times, midweek and the doormen just took one look at us and said Regulars Only.

Nightwish wrote:
    It was about year and a half ago. I live in Dublin and my boyfriend and 2 of his friends came up for the weekend and, I'd been there plenty of times, midweek and the doormen just took one look at us and said Regulars Only.

I was turned away from the POD a couple of years back. The bouncer said that i'd been in the week previously causing trouble with my "long haired" friend. Which wasn't true at all, in fact I hadn't been there in eighteen months or so. When I called him on that and accused him of lying he feigned personal insult. Shane I believe his name was. The other lads on the door (foreigners mostly) were sound enough. Complaints to the manager after the fact didn't make a tap of difference.

I've had issues with the doormen from The Orchard in Templeogue as well. Five days after spening over €150 between me and a friend having dinner there, and going to the bar about twice a month since my school days (I have friends close to it, so that is where we would drink) I got the regulars line. Written complaint went nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Sherlock

When were you in the Orchard, I don't go there as often as before but I thought they did away with doormen a long time ago?

Sherlock wrote:
    When were you in the Orchard, I don't go there as often as before but I thought they did away with doormen a long time ago?
    It's going back a few years. I finished school in '99 and it was the year after that when I was in there regularly meeting up with school friends. So it was around the Christmas of 2000 leading into 2001 when it first happened. It's under new management now but I still won't go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

Q Bar are notorious for not letting people in.....not surprised it happened, haven't been there in about 2 years- it's over rated- over packed and the drink is a rip-off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Here is a shocking idea why don't you decide not to go to places where they randomly decide you aren't going in. One thing I never understood was pepole who keep going back to places they were refused from repeatedly.

Now that is an absolutely brilliant idea, shocking in its simplicity but which could have a huge effect if enough people did it. The problem is, in this country at any rate, there are far too many deferential people who are quite happy to tolerate handing over arbitrary power of admittance to a couple of meatheads in bomber jackets and still come back for more.

Attitudes like poster X who says
    Oh my GOD!! That is so like, WHATEVER!! It was probably packed or they didn't like the look of you...boo hoo, it happens everyone at some stage, there's nothing you can do about it and at the end of the day, they're only doing their job

or poster Y [no personal attacks, hit the post not the poster] who says "move on and forget about it" are indicative of people with self-esteem issues who are more comfortable attacking the bullied than the bullies.

If such attitudes were held by black people in the deep south in the 1960s, they would still be pissing in different pots and sitting in different parts of hte bus to the white folks. they stood up for themselves and said, we ain't taking this **** no more and things changed.

This type of post has been made many times before. It has never ceased to amaze me how many people are prepared to tolerate a crass illmannered admissions policy and still come back for more. i'm convinced it has little to do with security, it's largely about marketing and trying to convey an up-market 'exclusive' image for your drinking den. Why do some pubs on the same street have bounceers and others don't?

Morning Star is right. Don't go to pubs with bouncers on teh door. that way you'll never get refused.

I don't.

Any more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Well as someone touching 29 ive had a fair share of refusals and shenidigans getting in to pubs n clubs! I seem to be in the age group now tho where no one stops me unless im hammered. but then again i gave up goin to wayneker bars (like QBar) years ago.

With regards to refusing entry, the Equality status act of 2000 dictates on the provision of goods/services to the public. Since then an establish/business MUST give you a reason if they are refusing you service/goods. "Not a regular" is not an acceptable reason. Altho if ur hammered or a troublemaker then no judge wud rule in ur favour. That being said, arguing the point with knucklehead bouncers who are bein givin a "policy" by management isnt worth your time. Asking for the manager is just plain silly.

Someone said it already but if u are being refused entry to a pub then its not worth spending your money there. Find somewhere else!

When i was younger meself and the lads wud build up a friendship with bouncers by chattin to them before n after a pub/club. They get to know u that way n it helps.

For the buzz onetime, a bunch of us were visiting (a few years ago) a club where a few of us were refused entry. So for the buzz we asked them if they were refusing us cos we were travellers. They ignored us. So we went to the local garda station and asked if they could take a note of our story and note on their records that we were sober. We wrote a letter to the club and cc'd some traveller association. They were on to us like a light supporting our plee if we chose to pursue it! We obviously didnt take it further (cos we aint travellers) but it was great buzz!!!

Before I read on in this topic: I HAD to go unfortunately. For a birthday thingy

Okay I read on. Since I'm 18 I have to go to these loud music, sticky floor, over heated and over priced places! Some of my friends are copping on while most aren't since being in College means everyone ends up in places like it :(. Me and few friends even started going out on our own to Turk's Head a good enough place where they practically force us into (beacuse it's an oldie place so they like young 'uns I think). But I ruined that all one eventful night :( (no fighting or extreme drunkness, just a clumsy little fall over a table smashing alot of stuff and soaking jackets, people etc.). In fact the bouncer was nice about it, they're all nnice. I like that place. Anyway, Messer's seems like a nice place to go until I smash it up (funny thing that the first time I was there I wasn't asked for I.d - this was five minutes after being refused from Qbar (which is what caused me to start this topic), but, as I said earlier I HAD to go there, urgh I HATE IT I HATE IT I HATE IT)).

Anyway continue on cos this topic is interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Aporia

it's definitley corrupt. i'm 17 and have been using my friends i.d. who looks nothing like me for 2 years and i've very rarely been refused. she has short blonde hair in the picture and i have long brown hair. even are facial features are completely different. i just smile or flirt with the bouncer/s and they let me in. i think it's really unfair that a guy in the same situation as me would be refused. i even get into over 21's. my ex boyfriend who was 23 knew allot of bouncers around in certain clubs and when i went out with him i never got asked.

i don't like the whole club scene though it's very fake and repetitive. i think before anyone goes out they shouldn't expect anything. it's as if some bouncers feel superior. rejecting certain people for no reason makes them feel above. but that's just some you can get really fair bouncers too