Drugs ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Hash really f***s your memory up. Whats this thread about again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

In my opinion drugs (of any kind) are fine when you're young-ish and having the wild time that you're due.
    However someone past the age of say 30 who still finds it neccesary to regularly use drugs is just a bit sad...

E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,296 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I've smoked hash the odd time myself and I don't really see a problem with it. As many have said here before any drug, be it alchohol, nicotine or even cheese can have a long term effect on you if you drink/sleep/eat it 20 times a day.

I too have a problem with people who are extremelly snobby about the whole thing. Recently when I told a friend of mine that I had smoked a few joints in the past she was all like OMFG YOU BIG EEJIT! YOU'RE DOING DRUGS NOOO STEVEN WHHHYYY?!

I was like jesus christ calm down... and what's worse is she goes out most weekend and comes home completely pissed. Of course when I tried to explain this to her, apparently alchohol isn't a drug because it's legal.

*sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Achilles wrote:
    Of course when I tried to explain this to her, apparently alchohol isn't a drug because it's legal.

*sigh*

yep :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,296 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Aye some people are just so.. gah what's the word for it? Closed off and too forward thinking sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

tunnel vision? They see a problem and focus in on the big cause of it ignoring other things that can cause it

Also a bad thing to have in a FPS match :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

Alcohol isn't a drug cocksuckers, it's the nectar of the gods.
    Everyone knows thi................................s..........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Ozzy wrote:

Irish Government Warning: Alcohol can cause you to type way to many full stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Wertz wrote:
    Cocaine is god's way of telling you you have too much money.
    That used to be the old line, nowadays buying spirits & mixers in a pub is a more expensive habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭shroomfox

I didn't realise I was the only cheese addict around. It's ruining my life.

Drugs are for hugs, people.

mayhem# wrote:
    However someone past the age of say 30 who still finds it neccesary to regularly use drugs is just a bit sad...
    Jesus, I know guys who are 80 and still enjoy a pint in the local, you must think they are really sad.

30!!, I presume you are in your early 20's, just like 16 year olds think 25 year olds should be at home doing the knitting on a saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭The OP

Wertz wrote:
    Cocaine is god's way of telling you you have too much money.
    Try telling the homeless junkies they have too much money....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

if u want to do drugs, do drugs - Ive no problem with people doing coke or hash. Not keen on being round people on pills cos they just act the eejit and it wrecks my head. Heroin is another story though. While someone can go about their normal life, have a proper job, do a bit of coke and the weekend and be grand - heroin is a killer and takes over a life. at the same time though I think theres too much emphasis on drugs - why not legalise them all? Its the murderers, rapists and peadophiles we shoul dbe after. the yuppie in the bathroom of a nightclub snorting a line isnt harming anyone -
    yet what about the parnets out there abusing their kids, the rapist prowling the streets looking for young drunk girls to prey on etc they are harming someone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

at the same time though I think theres too much emphasis on drugs - why not legalise them all? Its the murderers, rapists and peadophiles we shoul dbe after. the yuppie in the bathroom of a nightclub snorting a line isnt harming anyone -
    yet what about the parnets out there abusing their kids, the rapist prowling the streets looking for young drunk girls to prey on etc they are harming someone

As you said yourself some drugs may kill you the one time you take them, legalising them all is giving the responsibility back to peple, and I'm sorry, but most people are donkeys, you suddenly legalise all drugs, and you're going to have an epidemic of drug related problems, problems which are curently limited to smaller numbers, not saying these people are somehow irrelevant, b that's a problem we have some hope of managing, if drugs were all legalised the problem would amplify to nightmare proportions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

As badger says, legalizing drugs will not help solve the problem and only make it worse. Suddenly all these drugs are made legal and you'll have people who would never think of touching drugs in the first place experimenting with them now because they are now legal. Now something that was bad and forbidden is now acceptible, so of course people will become more easily tempted into experimenting with them. So what happens then with drugs like Ecstasy which reacts differently to different people, one pill could kill one person while another person could pop ten dozen pills and live to tell the tale. Legalizing drugs will no doubt lead to an increasing amount of cases of drug abuse and will destroy a large number of people's lives.

Of course legalizing drugs will cause major damage to the huge amounts of money that drug lords make from the illegal sale of drugs. But it will never solve the problem that it causes to people's lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Ozzy wrote:

banned.

Heroin is another story though. While someone can go about their normal life, have a proper job, do a bit of coke and the weekend and be grand - heroin is a killer and takes over a life.
    There are plenty of heroin addicts leading perfectly normal lives, just like functional alcoholics and nicotine addicts. There was a documentary showing heroin use in the Uk before with housewives and doctors who were heroin addicts using it daily, but because it was pharmacuetical grade in known doses it was controllable and they lead normal lives. The only people you normally see are extreme junkies, the business man next to you may on the train may be using just a bit less than the junkie in front of you. The use is totally hidden and taboo. If alcohol was illegal everybody would think all users are like destitute winos you see on the streets, just like many think all heroin users are out of their minds robbing grannies handbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭AnTaoiseach

As you said yourself some drugs may kill you the one time you take them, legalising them all is giving the responsibility back to peple, and I'm sorry, but most people are donkeys, you suddenly legalise all drugs, and you're going to have an epidemic of drug related problems, problems which are curently limited to smaller numbers, not saying these people are somehow irrelevant, b that's a problem we have some hope of managing, if drugs were all legalised the problem would amplify to nightmare proportions.

What makes you think you have the right to decide what other people put into their bodies?
    Really, a law banning something should never have worse effects on society than the the thing being banned. this seems to be the case with drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

THe real truth is there is probably more damage being done by th eillegal trade in drugs than the actual drugs themselves. Like in the US when proabition was in place it is believed more alcohol was consumed. The people that became powerfull as a result were the mafia. Look around and you can see the majority of crime here is a derivitive of drugs.

The dangers of drugs are those who sell it and make a profit from it. Where they get this money to buy drugs tends to be from crime. such as shop lifting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Gurgle

silas wrote:
    Suddenly all these drugs are made legal and you'll have people who would never think of touching drugs in the first place experimenting with them now because they are now legal.
    So the people who don't do any drugs but would if they were legal (both of them) would turn into bottom-feeding junkies ?

Isnt there a chance that legal drugs would be safely regulated so that an experiment doesn't end up fatal ?
    Warnings on labels, instructions, side effects etc.

Seriously, I reckon anyone inclined to try drugs will get some to try whether they're legal or not.
    Most of the immediete medical problems are caused by taking stuff improperly, taking too much, or getting contaminated drugs. I'd imagine quality, contents and strength could be controlled just as well as they currently do with alcohol and pharmaceuticals.

Also, as pointed out earlier, the addicts you see on the streets are not true representatives of Irelands drug culture. Same way the alcoholics begging on the streets don't represent the proffessionals in their 20s and 30s who go out and get blitzed every friday and saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭psilocybe

It is ridiculous to class MDMA as harmfull as cocaine. MDMA has a bad reputation
    because because of extremely biased media coverage and adulterated pills. Here's an interesting documentury on the subject. It is very interesting to see the type of people who were using it before it was made illegal in the States.
    http://www.pot-tv.net/archive/shows/pottvshowse-2610.html

And if drugs were legal there would be far fewer fatalities, due to known purity, quality control etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

ok so regardless of legalising or not I cant figure what the issue is - again, if people want to do drugs, they are spending their own money, not hurting me or anyone else - whats the problem its their choice -let them on! is it really any worse than being a raving alchoholic or addicted to cough mixtures?

MDMA I would think is more harmfull than cocaine - stays in your system longer and less predictable and more likely to cause problems if its bad. Most cocaine in Ireland is cut to bits with laxatives and glucose so its not like people are actually doing much drugs at all thats the irony of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭ZiabR

I was a heavy Hash user during my college years but i am off it now and to be honest i feel 100% better :). Have never touched anything else and never will. The other drugs scare me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Never done drugs and never will and that includes never doing hash which 90% of people seem to do/have done.

I tend to stay away from people that do drugs too (even if they're my friends) because you never know what you're getting from that person. I've stopped talking a to a few people (1 in particular has been excluded more or less from our group of friends due to his coke habit) because of their drug habits because it's not something that I want in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

Exactly it's your choice,

I started smoking J's when i was 17, I hadnt even touched a cigarette before then, I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, I've been smokin heavily for 5years, and i dont get lazy or anything, My memory is fine, Now i dont have spliffs for breakfast"i have the odd time" but as time went on i did progress to more drugs,

1st thing i chose after hash was weed, Then uppers and downers, Then i did a few lines over a few weekends, That wasnt too bad, I'm far from addicted to coke but i'll have some when i want it, Then i tried pills and i just thought they were brilliant, Again Different strokes for different folks, In the space of 2 years i've prob done pills 12 times, thats 6 times a year, aint done any in at least 6 months, Not that i've given them up it's that i choose when i want to take them, Same with most ppl i know,

The hardest thing i've tried was Ketamine, and i wouldnt advise any1 on takin it unless you've been round the block a few times, It does put you on another planet but again, No longterm effects in my mind,

I've never touched a substance without reading about it 1st,
    www.erowids.com
    This website is prob the best in the world regarding information on any drugs from barbituates to drink,

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Never done drugs and never will and that includes never doing hash which 90% of people seem to do/have done.

Do you not drink or smoke either? Fair play then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭shroomfox

Some guy takes mushrooms, falls, dies = Government bans mushrooms.

Oodles of people die from alcohol related injuries or deaths annually (not to mention the people who live in fear or are abused due to living with violent alcoholism or the street violence which can occur when people are drunk) = Bertie goes for a pint of finest Bass.

Hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Solution = Bertie taking shrooms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

ok so regardless of legalising or not I cant figure what the issue is - again, if people want to do drugs, they are spending their own money, not hurting me or anyone else - whats the problem its their choice -let them on! is it really any worse than being a raving alchoholic or addicted to cough mixtures?

MDMA I would think is more harmfull than cocaine - stays in your system longer and less predictable and more likely to cause problems if its bad. Most cocaine in Ireland is cut to bits with laxatives and glucose so its not like people are actually doing much drugs at all thats the irony of it!

My god how can anyone actually claim that drug users dont hurt anyone else?

Are you serious? The majority of muggings are done by drug users. the majority of syringe robberies (shock horror) are done by junkies. Drug rehab costs the tax payer a fortune every year not too mention the damage their eventual deaths cause to families.

Yes some are capable of using without ever becoming addicted or ending up jumping a shop counter but doctors and housewifes are not regular heroin junkies or they would not last for long (I believe the majority were actually using Foy and Meth not heroin in the documentary)

Cocaine causes serious damage too your body and tests have repeatedly shown that users will more often that not elevate to heroin or higher and higher doses which in turn have effects mentally as well as physically at increasing rates.

Spend some time around real drug users and not flash gits in suits snorting 1 line a weekend in Spirit and then tell me theres no harm.

As for alcohol and tobacco, isnt this the same sad attitude of people that have problems? Dont address your problem just pouint out a different one. Alcohol is a problem in Irish society but considerign there is a far higher % of users that there is for drugs its not as easily combated. Add to that the fact that it existed and was in use before the government even existed in this country.

Cigarettes are being addressed as a problem, the ban being the most obvious pointer but again like alcohol, they were in use for a hell of a lot longer.

There will come a time in this country when cigarettes as we know them will be banned. Alcohol, well thats a different story but it is neither as harmful or addictive as cocaine, heroin or various other 'safe' drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

shroomfox wrote:
    Some guy takes mushrooms, falls, dies = Government bans mushrooms.

Oodles of people die from alcohol related injuries or deaths annually (not to mention the people who live in fear or are abused due to living with violent alcoholism or the street violence which can occur when people are drunk) = Bertie goes for a pint of finest Bass.

Hmm.

PWNED

Kellxor