Do you get regular checks for STD's?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

had a test once after a rather promiscious year in New Zealand actually ive been doing pretty well this year so i reckon im due one soon:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

A blood test alone will not pick up all STIs, you have to get a full screen, which includes a blood test and swabs. The only one I know aboutis the one in Cork, it's the Youth Health Service across the river from the gate cinema and just up Shandon Street a little bit on the left hand side. The only thing is, is that it's a Youth health service so you have to be under 25, otherwise you have to go to the Victoria I think it is, I'm not sure. But you could call into Shandon Street to ask anyway. Very nice people working there.

They do tests on Fridays only and there's a few weeks of a wait but if you're in a rush to get it done they came sent you to the hospital. Results take two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

Oh and it is true about some health insurance companies increasing premiums if they hear you got an STI test done, but the place in Cork (if not all of them) doesn't give anyone access to your records.

They mentioned it to me about the insurance companies and said that if they ask I can answer how I like because they can't find out from them.

And it is an absolute disgrace that insurance companies get away with it, even asking the question in the first place. Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Haven't had one myself, but considering I've been with both my current partner & my ex for 5 + years each, I reckon I'm safe..

If I was venturing out there again though, I reckon I would get one & ask any future partner to have one! You never know whats out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Seraphina wrote:
    no.
    however i've given blood numerous times and they check that for all std's and let you know if anything turns up.

All the blood transmissble STDs you mean. Granted, that covers all the worst ones but it still won't tell you if you have genital warts or public lice(although I'd imagine you wouldn't need a blood test to tell you if you have them).

Speaking of which - I'm due to give blood again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,406 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

i haven't had one yet, and probably hoping that i won't have to. Currently with girlfriend 7 (or maybe 8) years and we didn't need to get one before we started going out. If i ever did have to go back into the dating game i would at that point start getting regular check ups depending on how lucky or unlucky i was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

DubGuy wrote:
    Ok, so here's what you need to know:

You can get checked in St.James's for free, here's the info on what will happen, what to expect etc.
    http://www.guide2guide.ie/whatwillhappen_sti.html

And here is when they are open
    http://www.guide2guide.ie/openingtimes.html
    The feckin times, 9 - 5 mondy - friday, thats what really pisses me off about these clinic's, how the hell can you get tested if you're always working those hours!

Can your local GP do it, have to go about another issue, might as well get a full service :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,539 ✭✭✭Blisterman

When you donate blood, don't they test for AIDS? Do they tell you if they find any?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Nope, never had one myself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

US Army has mandatory HIV testing every few years and before deployment. Test positive, you're out.

Given the amount of blood that flows around on a battlefield (Esp if transfusions are required), it's not that unreasonable.

NTM

this is the number i called when i wanted one done wait times are long but what can ya do?
    Mater ID clinic - 018032063

the poll results are worrying no wonder std'd are getting more prevalent in ireland
    people are too fcking ignorant and stupid to get tested

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

She said she was clean :(
    (no)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

Wheres the

"Male - i have sex with women but don't get any complaints" option, i consider that testing negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Got tested regularly before I got married. And I can second that the swab hurts like hell but is over very quickly.

Another time had the wonderful experience of a doctor (GP) incorrectly telling me I had Herpes. Was driving myself and my wife (then girlfriend) insane with worry for weeks until I went to a specialist (urologist) who told me that I had been completely misdiagnosed and there was nothing wrong with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

She said she was clean :(
    (no)

Well, she most likely caught it from a "he" who said that he was clean. Symtoms won't necessarily show up before anything becomes transmissible (is that a word?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

Shocking results.

I dont know if all the lads who ticked No are sexually active or not...

But lads cop on, if you are sexually active get tested for goodness sake.

You might think you're clean but how do you know the next chick you sleep with aint lying or doesnt know if she's got an std.

since there are so many of you lads ticking No, chances are she has slept with someone like you who never got tested... and she could be riddled.

A lot of std's dont have symptons.

i know especially for guys
    its actually funny and really sad
    ...the ignorance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

although in all fairness to the lads, if the poll is accurate, 85 guys have voted and only 22 woman, which is quite interesting in itself.. Why aren't the women voting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

hmm yes and actually the girls aint that great either...

8 women have ticked yes, but 14 have ticked no

so cop on too girls

edit/ if you are sexually active... get a test regularly even once a year ... better safe than sorry... there are std's out there that will make you infertile.