Oxegen sell-out speed?

• 02-03-2006 03:06PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

The talk is that its going to sell fast, anyone think they know the story? I can afford it but really dont wanna buy it just yet. And if i turn up at 8am to buy it and its still on sale in May id feel quite the twat.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

It will be a few weeks, at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Scoops

I think it's going to sell out in record speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Tha Gopher wrote:
    The talk is that its going to sell fast, anyone think they know the story? I can afford it but really dont wanna buy it just yet. And if i turn up at 8am to buy it and its still on sale in May id feel quite the twat.....
    your only option, alas, is to buy tomorrow (or today, if you're feeling flush - head along to www.mtv.co.uk and use the presale from there) and if you decide you subsequently don't want to go, sell the tix at face value on boards...

I don't think it'll sell out at 'record' speed...a lot of Who fans would dearly love to see (what's left of) the band but whether they'd want to do that in a big field surrounded by *ahem* youngsters remains to be seen. I'd nearly think that everybody who wants to see the RHCP has seen them already, so the cachet of them of sunday headliners isn't as big as I'd think....

the fact that all the oxegen blurb is making a big deal of the 'sister festival' selling out in record time smacks of a promoter trying to hype up the gig...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Scoops wrote:
    I think it's going to sell out in record speed.
    only for some x amounts of tickets to go on sale in april/may... as per usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Oxegen won't sell out for ages, judging by the poor reactions to the line up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

not till at least april paddy.

they release the tikets in blocks anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

It clashes with the world cup final, that could slow sales a tad. Saturday day tickets could be popular on the same basis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

I think in many respects the quality of the Oxegen lineup has become irrelevant, a big percentage of the crowd will be going because its a weekend away and a gang of their friends are going. This year has a mix of decent acts. I think this will be the fastest selling yet but thats not saying a lot. At a guess i think by the middle of April tickets will be gone. As posted above if you are half thinking of going its not a bad idea to buy now, you'll have no problem selling the ticket here closer to the time if you need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Thats pre sale has been goin for a week now and my mate who works in ticketmaster says a large proportion of camping tix have gone. Expect them to sell out immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Garret wrote:
    Thats pre sale has been goin for a week now and my mate who works in ticketmaster says a large proportion of camping tix have gone. Expect them to sell out immediately.

I'm just playing - were you worried?
    Itl be weeks if not months in my opinion

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Same thing happens every year.

1. It's selling out quickly. Buy! Buy! Buy!
    2. Camping is nearly sold out! Oh noes!!eleven!
    3. Another tranche of tickets appears from the ether.
    4. Sales maintain a healthy pattern until eventual sell out a couple of weeks before.

A few things to bear in mind here. MCD as many ticket sales as far in advance as possible, this means they have more money to take down the bookies. Secondly, it's good PR to liberally plant rumours about record sales, keeps advertisers happy and raises the event profile. Thirdly, as I see it, the current lineup is as weak as it's ever been so spurious rumours of a sellout from internet cranks is a great way to mask this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

I wouldn't say it'll sell out until "Good luck on your Leaving Cert, here's an Oxegen ticket" time. So, June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

It will sell out in record time this year but I'd be shocked it if sells out tomorrow.

If it sells out tomorrow it will be very bad news because MCD will realize they can put out an average lineup like they have done this year and get away with it year on year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭spartacus93

After Eminem selling out Slane straight away, nothing will surprise me anymore.

There's a lot of hype around Oxegen this year, Id will sell out pretty quick id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

Hype Hype HYPE! Buy Buy BUY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 almv

tickets will be gone by Saturday - large number of people planning to come over from the uk as there is no Glato this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mr Rivers wrote:
    Hype Hype HYPE! Buy Buy BUY!

lol. quality

.....must buy......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

After Eminem selling out Slane straight away, nothing will surprise me anymore.

Good point. That was a very surprising sellout.

I would give it till May, but ye never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Hoojah Nickabolokov

Funk oxegen, it's the picnic that you want. Camping will sell out soon there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Day tickets are "sold out" already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

seems strange its normally camping that go first isn't it, might be just one of their tricks to get people buying weekend tickets for an hour or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

true, bugger

it doesnt make sense that 2 day tickets are still on sale though? ticket master get 136 for a 2 day online and 76 for a 1 day. So surely it is in their interest to sell single day tickets and claim the 2 day ones are sold out. If they have a quota for camping places then they should only be selling camping tickets.

How does a 2 day ticket work? could I go saturday and easily sell it for sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

For some reason Irish people ignore whos on these days and just buy tickets in record time for pretty much everything.

Eminem, can't stand him think he is crap but played in punchestown a few years back and after the gig the crowd were booing it was that bad. Obviously no encore then.

Comes back to slane and it sells out in record time!!! why!!!

I think for some people a trip to slane or oxygen or what ever is now like a pilgrimage something you have to do as opposed to right who is playing and are we interested kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Id say its more got to do with the craic people have at these events that has them going back time and again,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Toast

Day tickets are gone because people can make the most money off them with their touting... I hope they get badly burned.... actually like.. in a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I doubt they will be sold out for another few weeks at least. They must be holding back the day tickets for some reason.

Lux23 wrote:
    I doubt they will be sold out for another few weeks at least. They must be holding back the day tickets for some reason.
    Makes no sense for the reasons I gave. Only makes sense to hold back camping ones.

UNLESS! they have sold feck all so are in effect forcing people to buy the 2 day ones now where people would have only bought a single day one, I am thinking of getting the 2 day just to be sure now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭bammccabe

from what ive heard over the past week or so nobody is impressed with the line up or the price of tickets but are still going to buy a today just because it sold out so soon last year and dont want to make the same mistake this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bigpoppa

Very odd the reaciton to festivals over in ireland? Oxegen is a superb festival and one of the largest in europe, even mtv fall over themselves to come and cover it? I have been two years and loved it? Do we irish always put down the success stories?

I have no doubt it will sell out incredibly fast. I suggest then the rest of you then go and argue over who is the coolest inde band playing at "the picnic" (and I am starting to suspect some of you are involved in the picnic by the partisan comments).

Just like the bloody hip hop boards, everyone trying to outcool each other with how popular the latest new inde rapper is.

OXEGEN SELLS OUT BECAUSE IT IS POPULAR AND A SUCCESS.

Duhh