Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen sell-out speed?

• 02-03-2006 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

The talk is that its going to sell fast, anyone think they know the story? I can afford it but really dont wanna buy it just yet. And if i turn up at 8am to buy it and its still on sale in May id feel quite the twat.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

It will be a few weeks, at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Scoops

I think it's going to sell out in record speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Tha Gopher wrote:
    The talk is that its going to sell fast, anyone think they know the story? I can afford it but really dont wanna buy it just yet. And if i turn up at 8am to buy it and its still on sale in May id feel quite the twat.....
    your only option, alas, is to buy tomorrow (or today, if you're feeling flush - head along to www.mtv.co.uk and use the presale from there) and if you decide you subsequently don't want to go, sell the tix at face value on boards...

I don't think it'll sell out at 'record' speed...a lot of Who fans would dearly love to see (what's left of) the band but whether they'd want to do that in a big field surrounded by *ahem* youngsters remains to be seen. I'd nearly think that everybody who wants to see the RHCP has seen them already, so the cachet of them of sunday headliners isn't as big as I'd think....

the fact that all the oxegen blurb is making a big deal of the 'sister festival' selling out in record time smacks of a promoter trying to hype up the gig...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Scoops wrote:
    I think it's going to sell out in record speed.
    only for some x amounts of tickets to go on sale in april/may... as per usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Oxegen won't sell out for ages, judging by the poor reactions to the line up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

not till at least april paddy.

they release the tikets in blocks anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

It clashes with the world cup final, that could slow sales a tad. Saturday day tickets could be popular on the same basis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

I think in many respects the quality of the Oxegen lineup has become irrelevant, a big percentage of the crowd will be going because its a weekend away and a gang of their friends are going. This year has a mix of decent acts. I think this will be the fastest selling yet but thats not saying a lot. At a guess i think by the middle of April tickets will be gone. As posted above if you are half thinking of going its not a bad idea to buy now, you'll have no problem selling the ticket here closer to the time if you need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Thats pre sale has been goin for a week now and my mate who works in ticketmaster says a large proportion of camping tix have gone. Expect them to sell out immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Garret wrote:
    Thats pre sale has been goin for a week now and my mate who works in ticketmaster says a large proportion of camping tix have gone. Expect them to sell out immediately.

I'm just playing - were you worried?
    Itl be weeks if not months in my opinion

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Same thing happens every year.

1. It's selling out quickly. Buy! Buy! Buy!
    2. Camping is nearly sold out! Oh noes!!eleven!
    3. Another tranche of tickets appears from the ether.
    4. Sales maintain a healthy pattern until eventual sell out a couple of weeks before.

A few things to bear in mind here. MCD as many ticket sales as far in advance as possible, this means they have more money to take down the bookies. Secondly, it's good PR to liberally plant rumours about record sales, keeps advertisers happy and raises the event profile. Thirdly, as I see it, the current lineup is as weak as it's ever been so spurious rumours of a sellout from internet cranks is a great way to mask this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

I wouldn't say it'll sell out until "Good luck on your Leaving Cert, here's an Oxegen ticket" time. So, June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

It will sell out in record time this year but I'd be shocked it if sells out tomorrow.

If it sells out tomorrow it will be very bad news because MCD will realize they can put out an average lineup like they have done this year and get away with it year on year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

After Eminem selling out Slane straight away, nothing will surprise me anymore.

There's a lot of hype around Oxegen this year, Id will sell out pretty quick id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

Hype Hype HYPE! Buy Buy BUY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 almv

tickets will be gone by Saturday - large number of people planning to come over from the uk as there is no Glato this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mr Rivers wrote:
    Hype Hype HYPE! Buy Buy BUY!

lol. quality

.....must buy......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

After Eminem selling out Slane straight away, nothing will surprise me anymore.

Good point. That was a very surprising sellout.

I would give it till May, but ye never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Hoojah Nickabolokov

Funk oxegen, it's the picnic that you want. Camping will sell out soon there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Day tickets are "sold out" already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

seems strange its normally camping that go first isn't it, might be just one of their tricks to get people buying weekend tickets for an hour or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

true, bugger

it doesnt make sense that 2 day tickets are still on sale though? ticket master get 136 for a 2 day online and 76 for a 1 day. So surely it is in their interest to sell single day tickets and claim the 2 day ones are sold out. If they have a quota for camping places then they should only be selling camping tickets.

How does a 2 day ticket work? could I go saturday and easily sell it for sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

For some reason Irish people ignore whos on these days and just buy tickets in record time for pretty much everything.

Eminem, can't stand him think he is crap but played in punchestown a few years back and after the gig the crowd were booing it was that bad. Obviously no encore then.

Comes back to slane and it sells out in record time!!! why!!!

I think for some people a trip to slane or oxygen or what ever is now like a pilgrimage something you have to do as opposed to right who is playing and are we interested kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Id say its more got to do with the craic people have at these events that has them going back time and again,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Day tickets are gone because people can make the most money off them with their touting... I hope they get badly burned.... actually like.. in a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I doubt they will be sold out for another few weeks at least. They must be holding back the day tickets for some reason.

Lux23 wrote:
    I doubt they will be sold out for another few weeks at least. They must be holding back the day tickets for some reason.
    Makes no sense for the reasons I gave. Only makes sense to hold back camping ones.

UNLESS! they have sold feck all so are in effect forcing people to buy the 2 day ones now where people would have only bought a single day one, I am thinking of getting the 2 day just to be sure now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭bammccabe

from what ive heard over the past week or so nobody is impressed with the line up or the price of tickets but are still going to buy a today just because it sold out so soon last year and dont want to make the same mistake this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭bigpoppa

Very odd the reaciton to festivals over in ireland? Oxegen is a superb festival and one of the largest in europe, even mtv fall over themselves to come and cover it? I have been two years and loved it? Do we irish always put down the success stories?

I have no doubt it will sell out incredibly fast. I suggest then the rest of you then go and argue over who is the coolest inde band playing at "the picnic" (and I am starting to suspect some of you are involved in the picnic by the partisan comments).

Just like the bloody hip hop boards, everyone trying to outcool each other with how popular the latest new inde rapper is.

OXEGEN SELLS OUT BECAUSE IT IS POPULAR AND A SUCCESS.

Duhh

Im not compalining about the line-up

Line up
    SATURDAY 8 JULY
    The Who (Worth a look)
    The Strokes(brutal)
    Arctic Monkeys (Worth alook)
    James Brown (legend)
    Richard Ashcroft (good)
    Primal Scream (class act)
    Editors (worth alook)
    Eels (good band)
    The Magic Numbers(worth a look)
    The Go! Team (?)
    Hard Fi (class)
    Damien Dempsey(bleedin Brutal)
    David Morales (class)
    Timo Maas (Ok)

SUNDAY 9 JULY
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers(the chilli's what more can I say)
    Kaiser Chiefs (not sure, )
    Paul Weller (genius)
    Franz Ferdinand (Ok)
    Bellx1 (Good)
    Pharrell Williams (should be shot)
    Sigur Ros (class act)
    Manu Chao (class Act)
    Goldfrapp (whooot, party)
    Placebo (brutal)
    Damian Marley (?)
    Ben Harper (class)
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah(ok)
    The Kooks (?)
    Felix Da Housecat(yips)
    Errol Alkan (?)

Not bad so far, what do you expect for 160yoyo's

And the campsite:D nuff said, plenty of fun to be had if your not to far up your own hole:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I have been three times and I only had a crap time one of those times. I got my ticket anyway, should be a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭bigpoppa

Meditraitor, we are not 14, it will be a long day if we sit round and argue over which bands we like?

It is for example possible someone doesnt think The Strokes are brutal.

bigpoppa wrote:
    Meditraitor, we are not 14, it will be a long day if we sit round and argue over which bands we like?

It is for example possible someone doesnt think The Strokes are brutal.

Sorry brother, I dont get your point?:rolleyes:

Just that it sorta seems like you may be trying to spark up arguments, though I doubt you are. I think the line up is good this year. More people tend to moan shout about being pleased. The whole point is a good mixture ye dont want every tent jammed for one band while another is empty. I am pleased to see you hate a lot of bands I am going specifically to see! and vice versa.

rubadub wrote:
    Just that it sorta seems like you may be trying to spark up arguments, though I doubt you are. I think the line up is good this year. More people tend to moan shout about being pleased. The whole point is a good mixture ye dont want every tent jammed for one band while another is empty. I am pleased to see you hate a lot of bands I am going specifically to see! and vice versa.

You know I wouldnt do that:D

Personally I cant wait, :)

You can still get day tickets off Wonderland, if you had your heart set on them. And the independent ticket outlets of course.

Surely this is all to get more people into a buying frenzy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

bigpoppa wrote:
    Very odd the reaciton to festivals over in ireland? Oxegen is a superb festival and one of the largest in europe, even mtv fall over themselves to come and cover it? I have been two years and loved it? Do we irish always put down the success stories?

I have no doubt it will sell out incredibly fast. I suggest then the rest of you then go and argue over who is the coolest inde band playing at "the picnic" (and I am starting to suspect some of you are involved in the picnic by the partisan comments).

Just like the bloody hip hop boards, everyone trying to outcool each other with how popular the latest new inde rapper is.

OXEGEN SELLS OUT BECAUSE IT IS POPULAR AND A SUCCESS.

Duhh

I think that the lineup is actually really good, and I always have the best weekend at oxegen, but I'm sick to the back teeth of being fleeced from the time I park the car to the time I'm in the fourth hour of sitting in the car, stuck on the way home. I'm sick of MCD providing just the absolute bare minimum facilities essential to stay within the law, and I'm sick of having to pay a fortune to eat crap on a stick.

but for those of you going: enjoy!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭BCB

Cant say im too impressed myself so far
    Line up
    SATURDAY 8 JULY
    The Who (legends to some not for me)
    The Strokes(dont really know them)
    Arctic Monkeys (Worth alook)
    James Brown (legend)
    Richard Ashcroft (good)
    Primal Scream (class act)
    Editors (never heard of them)
    Eels (never heard of them)
    The Magic Numbers(never heard of them)
    The Go! Team (never heard of them)
    Hard Fi (never heard of them)
    Damien Dempsey(not my cup of tea)
    David Morales (class)
    Timo Maas (Ok)

SUNDAY 9 JULY
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers(brutal)
    Kaiser Chiefs (very good )
    Paul Weller (very good)
    Franz Ferdinand (very good)
    Bellx1 (never heard)
    Pharrell Williams (dont really know)
    Sigur Ros (never heard of them)
    Manu Chao (never heard of them)
    Goldfrapp (average)
    Placebo (very good)
    Damian Marley (never heard of)
    Ben Harper (class)
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah(never heard of)
    The Kooks (never heard of)
    Felix Da Housecat(brilliant)
    Errol Alkan (never heard of)

Most of the lineup are an unknown quantity to me therefore i aint shelling out big money to go see maybe 1/2 acts i really like:confused:

BCB wrote:
    Most of the lineup are an unknown quantity to me therefore i aint shelling out big money to go see maybe 1/2 acts i really like:confused:
    but there are lots of bands playing! eliminate the bad ones and you would want to go! I remember a group of lads I know refused to go see shane mcgowan because support was the kelly family, I didnt want to see them either, so I didnt....

you dont have to watch them and there is no way you can see them all anyway. What pisses me off is that a lot of the bands I want to see will probably end up being on at the same time. It is not fair that they announce the actual times only a few days beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

SATURDAY 8 JULY
    The Who (em.. about 20 years too late and probably won't show)
    The Strokes (headline? headline!?? hahaha)
    Arctic Monkeys (guerilla marketing at it's finest, average at best)
    James Brown (wasn't so great when he came last time)
    Richard Ashcroft (the verve were good, ashcroft ain't)
    Primal Scream (great band, but well past their prime)
    Editors (good new band, maybe pay a tenner to see them in whelans)
    Eels (quality, although not with 20,000 other people)
    The Magic Numbers (zutons clone or vice versa? either way average)
    The Go! Team (good enough for early in the day)
    Hard Fi (lifestyle sports ads, one for the young 'ens)
    Damien Dempsey (the token oirish man)
    David Morales (em, sleazy, plays spirit all the time)
    Timo Maas (decent, but worth going to a festival for...?)

SUNDAY 9 JULY
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers (great live, good festival band even if they survive on past glories)
    Kaiser Chiefs (should be good craic, but mostly a flavour of the month)
    Paul Weller (his newer stuff is pure indulgent ****)
    Franz Ferdinand (rock is the new pop)
    Bellx1 (good about 8 years ago, they play to the choir of girls now)
    Pharrell Williams (responsible for such tunes as that Gwen Stefani "banana" ordeal, I'd go to lamp bottles at the guy)
    Sigur Ros (great band, but seriously I cant see this being enjoyable in the atmosphere oxegen)
    Manu Chao (excellent guitarist, fun and lively)
    Goldfrapp (a few good tunes, not great at the picnic last year, and same album)
    Placebo (should be a larf for the oldies, new stuff is weak)
    Damian Marley (remotely raggae, if he covers his dad he's onto a winner)
    Ben Harper (good enough)
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (a little average)
    The Kooks (only band I've not hear)
    Felix Da Housecat (Cant say I did the whole sleaze-house scene)
    Errol Alkan (Great mashuper should be a laugh)

Now add in 5000 odd scumbags, 2000 portaloos brimming with faeces, half cooked breakfast rolls, huge hikes from camp to stage....

Out of all of mates who've been going since the original Wittness... 0 are buying a ticket, and I certainly wont be either.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Altheus wrote:
    SATURDAY 8 JULY

SUNDAY 9 JULY
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers (great live, good festival band even if they survive on past glories)
    Kaiser Chiefs (should be good craic, but mostly a flavour of the month)

QUOTE]

Thanks for the run down on all the bands going there i foound these two to be the most use and used them as a yardstick to judge how accurate and useful your opinions are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It was this one - "The Magic Numbers (zutons clone or vice versa? either way average) " that did it for me. They sound nothing like each other! Seriously have you even heard them?

Of the bands announced already I want to see 15 of them. That's more than enough to justify the ticket price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I went to see the darkness in 2003 and enjoyed them a lot, but ive not gone b4 or since, and Im off to Download this year instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 aoifeg

hmmm... altheus i've noticed that the only positive remarks are towards the up and coming bands - up and coming to the point that they're not played on daytime radio... could your critique be any more cliched? do you stop liking bands once they get "too commercial, man"

and the magic numbers sound nothing like the zutons - at all... you must have them mixed up with someone else

i think the lineup sounds great so far - i think the arctic monkeys'll be great and the magic numbers'll be great during the day stuff (hope the sun shines this year!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

seems to be sold out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭lifegamer

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/promo/960?tm_link=tm__f3

oxegen is sold out. Mite be a few camping tickets but not many....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭bammccabe

lifegamer wrote:

no offence lifegamer but are you sure you dont work for mcd because you almost made me want to go and buy a ticket there.
    Although if you do happen to have inside knowledge of how many camping tickets are left i take it all back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

lifegamer wrote:

What do you mean by Sold Out?, Surely its not if there's a few tickets left. A friend of mine went in at lunch time and asked for a camping ticket. He was told there was none left. Where's the sense in that if there was some?

I'm confused, and tired

Ticketmaster site seems to be fúckered.

Contemplating getting a Sunday ticket nows...