Adrian Scumbag Phone Show

And some of those people, in turn ring in :eek:

I didn't even know he was still going til I saw a thread to that effect on the Radio forum. I used to listen when I lived in Dublin, as you say purely to hear the mongs and the femongs doin' the dutch gold dance...

In Cork we have a guy called Victor Barry, not the brightest spoon in the drawer, but the skanger/chav quota is fairly low on his show for some reason. Occasionally worth a listen, his best moment recently was when Ming the Merciless (Deputy Lord Mayor of Galway) hung up in a huff during a phone in debate on the legalisation of hash!

Ming is a county councillor in roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Ha... actually myself and Ming were on the Chris Barry show together many years ago.

I worked on his original campaign with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

That is a great phone show. "Dublin's most listened to late night talk show." It is entertaining. Adrian Kennedy is a true ledgend of radio. If you want to give out about a phone show, I would suggest Jerry Ryan, now that is bad. Adrian lets people know what is happening. The best part of that show is Get It Off Your Chest, really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Ming is a county councillor in roscommon.

You're correct. He is the Deputy Mayor of Roscommon County Council, not Galway. He did live in Galway for a time, hence the confusion on my part...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I've been on it a few times myself. Only the competitions though. Never won anything, unfortunatly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Gator wrote:
    Does anyone listen to this tripe..."eh adrian ya know like..I done that 2 year ago when I was takin me methadone when I was the game with me young ones Mercedes and Jacinta while pushin me pram and smoking me john player blue 15 single mother handy pack"....scumbags

Yeah it's basically there for entertainment value, I'm sure it would be much more interesting if it was about people ringing in saying "whell rish, I'm from D4 yaah? I wash in daadies mearc yesherdaay, and I saaw sum fellow gesh on a boos wishout paayingfh, and I thoush, well I fink I should ring theee ashorities and reeporsh him rish?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭SandyVN

It only got that bad over the last two years or so... They use to make fun of the knackers that rang in, if they done that now they would basically just make fun of their entire audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Adrian himself is an absolute tool, TBH. If I ever went on the show I'd spend my air-time ripping him 'ouravih', lol.
    Jeremy, on the other hand, is a legend. Really funny guy, knows when to basically step back and say "this caller has to be taking the piss here".

One of the best shows they had on was a kind of "Dubs vs Culchies" affair, with one Dub aul one telling a "culchie"; "Ah, ye dont even know howte speak yer language proper" :p

Yeah I remember when Chris Barry was presenting it. Twas a good deal better then.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

adrian is a legend, even if you just listen to and laugh at the scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭fjon

About 5 years ago there was a bus & train strike on a weekday, and some unsympathetic bosses were saying they would fire any staff that used the strike to take a day off work.
    One "howayeh" rang up and told Adrian:
    "These bosses need to learn the meaning of the word compromisisisation [sic]" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

fjon wrote:
    About 5 years ago there was a bus & train strike on a weekday, and some unsympathetic bosses were saying they would fire any staff that used the strike to take a day off work.
    One "howayeh" rang up and told Adrian:
    "These bosses need to learn the meaning of the word compromisisisation [sic]" :D
    :D Classic. I like the phoneshow, you always get the extremes ringing in and it's hilarious to listen to them talk ****e and bicker with each other. Sometimes the topics aren't the best though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭drdre

i used to listen to it in bed a few years ago but not any more ever time i listen to it now theres always knackers on it eg last night(thursday) a lady came on and said she puts washing up liquid or something stupid in the kids mouth when he used to say the f word., now thats sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

We rob carrrss cos deres no facccilllities here aaaaaaddriaaannnnn......

Yid find less junkies in a rehab clinic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

I've started listening to it in bed since i've moved into town as i can't get Beat 102103 on my radio in the house. when i listened to it a few years ago it was ok but now i do think it is quite a load of crap. was a woman on it last night who kept going on that her son had add and thats why he beat her but yet he hasn't been tested for it. When people rang in telling her to wise up and stand up to her son she just started crying saying "you don't know him" everyone was like wise up ya fool!! Get him tested if you think thats the prob. Its gone really down hill