Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adrian Scumbag Phone Show

• 15-02-2006 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Does anyone listen to this tripe..."eh adrian ya know like..I done that 2 year ago when I was takin me methadone when I was the game with me young ones Mercedes and Jacinta while pushin me pram and smoking me john player blue 15 single mother handy pack"....scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Just looking at your sig..... who the hell is the Tood?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Gator wrote:
    Does anyone listen to this tripe..."eh adrian ya know like..I done that 2 year ago when I was takin me methadone when I was the game with me young ones Mercedes and Jacinta while pushin me pram and smoking me john player blue 15 single mother handy pack"....scumbags

rarely do i listen to it myself,tripe is the correct word to describe it alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Hmmmm....That would be the Todd..Cheers for bringing that to my attention:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Yea....damn those scumbags...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Gator wrote:
    linkage? I have never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

dont know it kinda helps me fall asleep. so i cant really sleep without it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Gator wrote:
    Hmmmm....That would be the Todd..Cheers for bringing that to my attention:p
    Very good....... now hammock up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Some amount of flippin ads on that station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I think it's broadcast live (i.e. a camera trained on the radio host) on City Channel (123 on NTL, not sure about Sky)...unless it's some other shit radio phone in show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Entertaining to say the least.

I used to believe it was staged, not believing that people in the first world could actualyl be that thick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Adrian Kennedy is the biggest legend of a radio presenter of all time. The show about people throwing rocks off bridges at moving cars was the best one I've ever heard. Quality entertainment. Some scumbags ring in and try to justify it which angers the drivers ringing in. Priceless stuff. I still have it on tape. If I ever find a way of transfering it to some kind of a digital form I'll definatly upload it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

My radio has teh ability to tune to more than one station, so ....................meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

He's bad, but he's no Una Power. She pisses me off so much!!! (And yes, I do HAVE to listen to her in work)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

i think thats the whole appeal of it that ppl listen to it to see how thick some ppl really are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

C'mere to me, I do be listenin' to the show every noih and there does be some awful eejits on in fairness. Me sister Concepta did ring in dere de uddar week and she had some aul one lashin' her ouravih about her 20 kids, sayin' she shouldn't be scabbin' off the taxpayers for the allewence, I says c'mere to me it's nothin' got to do wih dah, at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

tintinr35 wrote:
    i think thats the whole appeal of it that ppl listen to it to see how thick some ppl really are

And some of those people, in turn ring in :eek:

I didn't even know he was still going til I saw a thread to that effect on the Radio forum. I used to listen when I lived in Dublin, as you say purely to hear the mongs and the femongs doin' the dutch gold dance...

In Cork we have a guy called Victor Barry, not the brightest spoon in the drawer, but the skanger/chav quota is fairly low on his show for some reason. Occasionally worth a listen, his best moment recently was when Ming the Merciless (Deputy Lord Mayor of Galway) hung up in a huff during a phone in debate on the legalisation of hash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Sico wrote:
    ouravih
    Best single word I've read on boards today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

the show was good a few years back.

they sent a reporter to some scum joy riding estates at night, "oi rab cares an ge a ch'ace off d garrds!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭lyrama

God that man and his callers aggravate me! AAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH! Can they not get anyone better:rolleyes: ? Ah well, FM104'll probably follow 98FM's footsteps anyways....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

I find it to be the most entertaining thing on radio... I laugh constantly when it's on... the fact that people take such small matters to be of such importance, and that the presenter couldn't care less about the matter, and just cuts people off in the middle.
    The best battle I heard was the Northside v Southside one a year ago. Now that was classic. Caller after caller from each side, saying exactly what the caller before them had said, and adding a complementary "at the end of the day" somewhere in there too. Classic. I'll cry the day it goes off the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just like on bulletin boards, you get plenty of people with the dumbest most ridiculous points, who seem so stupid that they have to be taking the piss, yet no, they're deadly serious. They keep these idiots on as long as possible so that people will keep ringing up just to shout them out of it. It's the troll factor.

I used to listen to it a lot (when I spent an hour driving home every night at 10pm), and if the topics were a bit weak, they had some regulars that they'd bring on, who would stir things up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Rantorama

Awful stuff.Shows about refugees always has brain-dead bigots ringing in whose first words are 'Adrian I'm not a racalist but'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Used to love it when Chris Barry presented it..
    Wasn't too bad when Adrian first started presenting it, but whats de craic now with 2 people presenting it? That other guy sounds like a right dope. Only listen to it if I have to drive at night which might only be once a week, but it really is a load of tripe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

In Cork we have a guy called Victor Barry, not the brightest spoon in the drawer

I used to work down in Red with him for a short but colourful period.. what a toolbag. He's a computer fixit man and is only on d'radio as a hobby pfft.. and here's the rest of us willing to break limbs to get some airtime :rolleyes:

But, back to the AK phoneshow.. who makes anyone listen to it? Do you not see that by getting riled up and posting about how crap it is, you are in turn creating more hype and interest in the show amongst people who knew nothing about it in the first place. In fairness, when Jerry Springer was on the telly, it was the biggest pile of crap ever - but it achieved outrageous viewership figures purely because it didn't pretend to be anything other than what it was: crap.

You wanna show how annoyed you are about the show? Then don't talk about it at all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Sico wrote:
    C'mere to me, I do be listenin' to the show every noih and there does be some awful eejits on in fairness. Me sister Concepta did ring in dere de uddar week and she had some aul one lashin' her ouravih about her 20 kids, sayin' she shouldn't be scabbin' off the taxpayers for the allewence, I says c'mere to me it's nothin' got to do wih dah, at the end of the day.
    LOL!!!
    I listen to it sometimes, Its pretty entertaining!! Hard to tell whether the callers are taking the pi$$ or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I havent' listend to the show in Yonks , well Chris barry was still hosting it back then as well.

I was on it one night , it was about some D00d , a refugee who was going for politcial asylum but decided to wreck 39 cars ( ripping wing mirrors off , scratch pain work , smashing windows) so even though is application would still be processed he was garunteed to stay in the country for 3 years.

He pleaed in his case to take into account that if sent home he could be killed.

My point was , Why put your self in the position where you could be sent back to a place where you had a higher chance of getting killed ?

had some lad on saying that i was racist ... when i asked ok , say it was me , and the Irish goverment was a dictatorship and i escaped to another country did the same as the lad , and then procded to do a shoit load of damage and face getting sent home , do i have any right to say Please don't ... i could be killed if you sent me back.

He did the damamge because he was drunk . Nothing more.

I'm sorry but if you have the smarts to evade a countries security system , make it all the way to a far off land , why put yourself in jepordy of being sent back by simply cuasing trouble that will put your application in jepordy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭X-SL

I listen to it whenever I'm not too tired and I'm not doing anything else. it's pretty funny what some people say and how they say it lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

They do actually set up some of the initial calls to get people riled up. So good bit of it is fake.

And some of those people, in turn ring in :eek:

I didn't even know he was still going til I saw a thread to that effect on the Radio forum. I used to listen when I lived in Dublin, as you say purely to hear the mongs and the femongs doin' the dutch gold dance...

In Cork we have a guy called Victor Barry, not the brightest spoon in the drawer, but the skanger/chav quota is fairly low on his show for some reason. Occasionally worth a listen, his best moment recently was when Ming the Merciless (Deputy Lord Mayor of Galway) hung up in a huff during a phone in debate on the legalisation of hash!

Ming is a county councillor in roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Ha... actually myself and Ming were on the Chris Barry show together many years ago.

I worked on his original campaign with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

That is a great phone show. "Dublin's most listened to late night talk show." It is entertaining. Adrian Kennedy is a true ledgend of radio. If you want to give out about a phone show, I would suggest Jerry Ryan, now that is bad. Adrian lets people know what is happening. The best part of that show is Get It Off Your Chest, really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Ming is a county councillor in roscommon.

You're correct. He is the Deputy Mayor of Roscommon County Council, not Galway. He did live in Galway for a time, hence the confusion on my part...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I've been on it a few times myself. Only the competitions though. Never won anything, unfortunatly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Gator wrote:

Yeah it's basically there for entertainment value, I'm sure it would be much more interesting if it was about people ringing in saying "whell rish, I'm from D4 yaah? I wash in daadies mearc yesherdaay, and I saaw sum fellow gesh on a boos wishout paayingfh, and I thoush, well I fink I should ring theee ashorities and reeporsh him rish?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭SandyVN

It only got that bad over the last two years or so... They use to make fun of the knackers that rang in, if they done that now they would basically just make fun of their entire audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Adrian himself is an absolute tool, TBH. If I ever went on the show I'd spend my air-time ripping him 'ouravih', lol.
    Jeremy, on the other hand, is a legend. Really funny guy, knows when to basically step back and say "this caller has to be taking the piss here".

One of the best shows they had on was a kind of "Dubs vs Culchies" affair, with one Dub aul one telling a "culchie"; "Ah, ye dont even know howte speak yer language proper" :p

Yeah I remember when Chris Barry was presenting it. Twas a good deal better then.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

adrian is a legend, even if you just listen to and laugh at the scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

About 5 years ago there was a bus & train strike on a weekday, and some unsympathetic bosses were saying they would fire any staff that used the strike to take a day off work.
    One "howayeh" rang up and told Adrian:
    "These bosses need to learn the meaning of the word compromisisisation [sic]" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

fjon wrote:
    About 5 years ago there was a bus & train strike on a weekday, and some unsympathetic bosses were saying they would fire any staff that used the strike to take a day off work.
    One "howayeh" rang up and told Adrian:
    "These bosses need to learn the meaning of the word compromisisisation [sic]" :D
    :D Classic. I like the phoneshow, you always get the extremes ringing in and it's hilarious to listen to them talk ****e and bicker with each other. Sometimes the topics aren't the best though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

i used to listen to it in bed a few years ago but not any more ever time i listen to it now theres always knackers on it eg last night(thursday) a lady came on and said she puts washing up liquid or something stupid in the kids mouth when he used to say the f word., now thats sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

We rob carrrss cos deres no facccilllities here aaaaaaddriaaannnnn......

Yid find less junkies in a rehab clinic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

I've started listening to it in bed since i've moved into town as i can't get Beat 102103 on my radio in the house. when i listened to it a few years ago it was ok but now i do think it is quite a load of crap. was a woman on it last night who kept going on that her son had add and thats why he beat her but yet he hasn't been tested for it. When people rang in telling her to wise up and stand up to her son she just started crying saying "you don't know him" everyone was like wise up ya fool!! Get him tested if you think thats the prob. Its gone really down hill