President MacAleese condemns publication of cartoons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Time for a new ribbon cutter of Ireland (President). Preferably someone with enough balls to stand up to a bunch of angry Muslims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

Basically, yeah.
    There are alot of aspects of eastern society that I don't like.
    So I won't go there.
    And if I did, how do you think people would react if I started demanding they change their ways to suit mine? SO that I could have a drink in my home or deman my children be thought about Chirstianity in school?

this here is really progressive!!!
    lets get mac aleese to abdicate her throne in the park and replace her with senordingdong!
    The people that protested are allowed to protest, as is their right (freedom of speech)
    All they are saying is that they dont want their prophet depicted like that. Are they not allowed to do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Eastern society? Im talking about respect for Muslims born in Dublin. Im sure Mary McAleese were thinking of Irish Muslims when she made that statement.

And do you think the whole country should change it's ways to suit Islam?
    I very much doubht it. She was keeping political and economic ties sweet.
    1. If you drank in your own home, they would react by doing nothing. If you drank in a pub, got plastered and staggered home, I doubt they'r react much differently. I cant guarantee that - I cant guarantee I could get drunk on O Connell St and walk home safely either, though.

2.As for "demanding" having your kids being taught Christianity there, Im sure you'd only have to ask the director of one of the Christian schools politely mate.
    Is alcohol not illeagal by Islamic law?

And I'm sure the Chrisitain schools are ten a penny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

adonis wrote:
    All they are saying is that they dont want their prophet depicted like that. Are they not allowed to do that?

Ofcourse they are.
    But that is not all they are saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

And do you think the whole country should change it's ways to suit Islam?

I dont think this country should change its ways at all. In terms of civil rights, Ireland suits Islam down to the ground, it's a great place! I just hope that doesn't change, and as long as people like Mary Mac keep on speaking out against disrespect be it 9/11 or the cartoons wrongly depicting islam as a terrorism infested 'cult', then we'll all be happy, right?
    Is alcohol not illeagal by Islamic law?

Yes under islamic moral teaching, alcohol is wrong. But you can still buy drink in countries that have a Muslim population.
    And I'm sure the Chrisitain schools are ten a penny.

Mweh, cant speak for everywhere (Islam is a world religion...) but Christian schools in places I know are much more common than Muslim schools here in Ireland

Senordingdong if these were an Irish-Muslim series of cartoons making objectionable insinuations about the catholic/ christian faith and laughing at the christian way of life, and published in the RTE Guide or The Independant, how would you feel. Would you expect a politician to comment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

1. She said "I abhor the pictures", not "Ireland abhors the pictures". While she is supposed to represent us, she was asked for and gave her own personal opinion, what's she to do, lie?

2. As someone said -- at a conference in Saudi Arabia, if she started thumbing her nose at them, it might not go down well :p Might be dangerous, in fact. She's only the president, not the Taoiseach, so she doesn't choose the policies of the state, and so it's different Bertie saying what she said, since he can back it up and it can come back to him.

(As a side-note, I think that every newspaper should publish the pictures, and we should all stop being afraid of Islam. What's the next step, do we start making women wear Burkas?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭The Shol'va

OK, a Danish newspaper prints cartoons that are offensive to Islam and its followers. A bunch of them protest against the cartoons, boycott Danish goods and some even burn down an embassy or two.

Is that not completely overreacting?

How many times is Catholicism and Christianity in general mocked in incredibly offensive manners? Should we boycott all American goods because Drawn Together shows God using a glory hole? Should we march through the streets with banners? Should we torch the American embassy?

It's one thing to be offended by something, but this is completely over the top and McAleese is doing the typical Irish thing and kissing their asses, just like our government kisses everyone's ass so everything stays nice and friendly.

She doesn't speak for me, I am in no way "abhorred" by the cartoons, I don't give a **** about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

DaveMcG wrote:
    1. She said "I abhor the pictures", not "Ireland abhors the pictures". While she is supposed to represent us, she was asked for and gave her own personal opinion, what's she to do, lie?

2. As someone said -- at a conference in Saudi Arabia, if she started thumbing her nose at them, it might not go down well :p Might be dangerous, in fact. She's only the president, not the Taoiseach, so she doesn't choose the policies of the state, and so it's different Bertie saying what she said, since he can back it up and it can come back to him.

(As a side-note, I think that every newspaper should publish the pictures, and we should all stop being afraid of Islam. What's the next step, do we start making women wear Burkas?)

She is the figure head of Ireland. It doesn't matter if she says I or we, otherwise there would be no point in having a president. She represents us. She shouldn't be visiting a country that entises anti-western behaviour and personally giving a personal ass kissing oppinion. You know there are more than just the muslim minority that she has to stand up for, she has to stand up for all of us non muslims aswell. I dont agree with her. She's (as someone said) denting her PR over here by giving in to people over there. The world is completely split at the moment, its not a good time for her to be throwing around her 'peronsal oppinion'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

She was in Saudi Araiba. One of the most Muslim states in the world. I doubt she would have gotten out of there alive had she not condemned the cartoons.

Yook wrote:
    She shouldn't be visiting a country that entises anti-western behaviour and personally giving a personal ass kissing oppinion.

Alright so we should all stick to where we came from? Thats racial seperatism, yook. What about the Danish magazine that enticed anti-Islamic reactionism?

The president was right to comment, publishing those pictures showed a blatent lack of respect for religion, not just Islam. It's a big deal because Muslims are especially vulnerable at the moment as easy targets for those who cannot distinguish between peaceful followers of Islam and ignorent defectors

OK, a Danish newspaper prints cartoons that are offensive to Islam and its followers. A bunch of them protest against the cartoons, boycott Danish goods and some even burn down an embassy or two.

Is that not completely overreacting?

Protesting against the cartoon: no
    Boycotting Danish goods: maybe
    Burning the embassy: over reacting and carried out by a small number of vandals who are clearly not real Muslims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Piste wrote:
    She was in Saudi Araiba. One of the most Muslim states in the world. I doubt she would have gotten out of there alive had she not condemned the cartoons.

The point I was making is that she shouldn't be visiting Saudi Arabia at all if they promote this sort of thing. Well then they obviously do overreact then if she should fear for her life making a pro danish point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yook wrote:
    She is the figure head of Ireland. It doesn't matter if she says I or we, otherwise there would be no point in having a president. She represents us. She shouldn't be visiting a country that entises anti-western behaviour and personally giving a personal ass kissing oppinion. You know there are more than just the muslim minority that she has to stand up for, she has to stand up for all of us non muslims aswell. I dont agree with her, Saudi and you're crap about her not representing us. She's (as someone said) denting her PR over here by giving in to people over there. The world is completely split at the moment, its not a good time for her to be throwing around her 'peronsal oppinion'.

Dry your eyes mate, I clearly said "While she is supposed to represent us", so don't misquote me and then get aggressive.

What would you have suggested that she said when asked "What is your opinion on the Danish cartoons depicting Muhammed with a bomb on his head?"

She's a diplomat, she doesn't set policy for this state, so I think her answer was justified. Maybe she was expecting "What does Ireland think of the cartoons?" and she might have had the reply that you'd like, complete with the opinion poll she carried out to gather the information, but she was asked her own opinion, so she gave it, and then followed it up with a condemnation of the violence, essentially saying that she agrees with the Muslim community, but that Ireland and herself think ye're out of order for burning sh!t -- a reasonably balanced reply, considering the question.

And as I said, she was at a conference in Saudi Arabia, and she's only the president. There's no need for her to start giving a speech about how Muslims need to get over it and keep with the times of the Western World -- it's dangerous and unnecessary, since she's the president, not the Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Dammit this thread is really making me want a Danish Pastry :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

shes not exactly going to stand up in the most fundamentalist Islamic state in the world and go off on one, she was being diplomatic while also condeming the violent protesting

shuushh wrote:
    shes not exactly going to stand up in the most fundamentalist Islamic state in the world and go off on one, she was being diplomatic while also condeming the violent protesting

is it so unbelievable that what she said about abhorring those pictures might actually be her genuine opinion? If she has a problem with a picture depicting Muslims as terrorists, why do some of you find that offensive??:confused:

I love the quote on the right "Ireland abhors publication". Of all sorts? :D

On a serious note, I wish people would get over themselves. Both sides of the issue have a lot of immature people getting too offended over too little.

The cartoons were "designed to provoke, to be rude and to inflame."
    And I should hope that "the Muslim community in Ireland shared with the Irish community an equal abhorrence at the use of violent protest" since it's uncalled for and taking things WAY too far.

What on earth is everyone's problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,764 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

shuushh wrote:

I bet the trade mission were also praying (to Allah?) that she wouldn't say anything that might be construed as being in support of publishing the Cartoons of Satan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

InFront wrote:
    The president was right to comment, publishing those pictures showed a blatent lack of respect for religion, not just Islam. It's a big deal because Muslims are especially vulnerable at the moment as easy targets for those who cannot distinguish between peaceful followers of Islam and ignorent defectors

I have no problem with peaceful advocates of any religion. However an increasingly large volume of zealots who happen to come under the banner of Islam, are rightly portrayed as war-mongering idiots who have not progressed significantly in a thousand years. Extremism in any religion does more harm than good. Would you have us all bend the knee to fundamentalism of any sort rather than be seen to be disrespectful? Don't make me laugh. When the muslim hordes who agree with violence of any form stop being sheep and actually show themselves capable of reasonable independent thought, then they will have earned my respect. It is also interesting that the genuine grievances that the Middle East has vis a vis Western interference in its affairs is almost never mentioned. These lemmings have their priorities all wrong, and they deserve the publicity they court. The moderate Islam majority is noticeably quiet this weather doncha think?

You can turn the other cheek if you want, all four...

I have no problem with peaceful advocates of any religion. However an increasingly large volume of zealots who happen to come under the banner of Islam, are rightly portrayed as war-mongering idiots who have not progressed significantly in a thousand years. Extremism in any religion does more harm than good. Would you have us all bend the knee to fundamentalism of any sort rather than be seen to be disrespectful? Don't make me laugh. When the muslim hordes who agree with violence of any form stop being sheep and actually show themselves capable of reasonable independent thought, then they will have earned my respect. It is also interesting that the genuine grievances that the Middle East has vis a vis Western interference in its affairs is almost never mentioned. These lemmings have their priorities all wrong, and they deserve the publicity they court. The moderate Islam majority is noticeably quiet this weather doncha think?

You can turn the other cheek if you want, all four...

Did you miss the part where she condemned the violent protesting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'd say if 'The Irish Times' were the originators of the images she'd be the first one down on her knees begging for her life.

bluewolf wrote:
    Did you miss the part where she condemned the violent protesting?

I never miss anything. You obviously missed the part just above where (s)he alluded to boycotting Danish goods. While we're at it we better boycott the UK for Monty Python's production of "Life Of Brian" in 1977, and any nation that has ever indulged in religious based satire.

That cartoonist only said what a lot of people were thinking, and if you think that this issue is only about mild satire published in a Copenhagen periodical then you better take the blinkers off your eyes fairly quickly before you hit a wall.

I ask again, where are all the strenuous denials from the heads of the Islam faith? You won't find many because they are playing politics and fear upsetting the vocal under-estimated minority...

Binomate wrote:
    I'd say if 'The Irish Times' were the originators of the images she'd be the first one down on her knees begging for her life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

What a disgraceful action by our president:mad:

Can't we see that we will be puppy dogging to our allies in the coming months
    and years...

We must stand up against these tyranical Muslims and be strong, we cannot
    take this intimidation to heart. We must side by our allies and staunchly support
    democracy and free speech.

We *MUST* wake up, our world is facing increasingly uncertain times an
    attack on Iran which could lead to WW3 is just months away.

It's time our country lost its neutrlity label and started standing up for itself
    and realligning while it still can..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

note:didn't read all the posts, but I've got the gist.
    For what it's worth I agree with her. Freedom of speech is great an all but not when its at the expense of others, especially in already tenuous (sp?) circumstances. people need to cop the fùck on and apply some tact with reagrd to others sensibilities and situations.
    fùcking idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

solas wrote:
    note:didn't read all the posts, but I've got the gist.
    For what it's worth I agree with her. Freedom of speech is great an all but not when its at the expense of others, especially in already tenuous (sp?) circumstances. people need to cop the fùck on and apply some tact with reagrd to others sensibilities and situations.
    fùcking idiots.

But can you not understand that this cartoon is just a scapegoat in order
    for the muslims to cause uproar?

War is on the horizon and im sorry to say but Iran must be dealt with,
    Can you picture the Iranian government with a NUKE?? It wouldnt be
    a pretty sight.. An attack on Iran is likely as early as late March/April
    and this could lead to a whole host of problems.

Unfortunately we cannot show any weakness to our enemies.

Enemies of democracy, free speech and human rights..

We cant talk anymore and we cant play nice unfortunately we've got
    a crazy man as the head of the US but at least he's gonna take action
    before its too late:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

People are babbling on about freedom of speech but you most likely wouldn't get away with the cartoons in Ireland under our 'free speech' laws.

Would you have us all bend the knee to fundamentalism of any sort rather than be seen to be disrespectful? Don't make me laugh.

Insult the terrorists all that you want, are you forgetting that by being disrespectful, the cartoons were being disrespectful to Islam as an entirity? Most Muslims are peaceful, and most Muslims find these cartoons very very offensive and that should be acknowledged.
    When the muslim hordes who agree with violence of any form stop being sheep and actually show themselves capable of reasonable independent thought, then they will have earned my respect

Considering the size of the Muslim population on a global scale, the tiny violent minority hardly deserve the term 'hoards'.
    The moderate Islam majority is noticeably quiet this weather doncha think?
    From muslimnews.co.uk:

In Baghdad, Iraq's top Shiite political leader criticized attacks on foreign embassies by Muslims.

''We value and appreciate peaceful Islamic protests,'' said Abdul Aziz al-Hakim. ''But we are against the idea of attacking embassies and other official sites.''

Many people I know would come under your term 'moderate Islam' and I can tell you have been far from quiet on this topic. Difference is they're complaining about it to their neighbours/ friends/ families/ patients/ colleagues/ clients and not burning down buildings. Unfortunately many elements of the media are only giving airtime to those doing the latter. The Grand Comore march the other day, peaceful march in an overwhelmingly muslim place, got negligible airtime.

Just to clarify, destruction to other people's property and disrespect of others' faiths is overtly condemned in the Qu'ran. Advocates of these cartoons would do well to hold a similar respect.

in front wrote:
    apologies only saw this now and I agree, I'm only sorry I wasn't able to express it as well.

Oh great now that she has solved the problem in the north.She is going to start building bridges with the muslim community:rolleyes:

But can you not understand that this cartoon is just a scapegoat in order
    for the muslims to cause uproar?

War is on the horizon and im sorry to say but Iran must be dealt with,
    Can you picture the Iranian government with a NUKE?? It wouldnt be
    a pretty sight.. An attack on Iran is likely as early as late March/April
    and this could lead to a whole host of problems.

Unfortunately we cannot show any weakness to our enemies.

Enemies of democracy, free speech and human rights..

We cant talk anymore and we cant play nice unfortunately we've got
    a crazy man as the head of the US but at least he's gonna take action
    before its too late
    I truly don't understand why anyone would use a carton as a scapegoat to incite hatred in order for us to then quell it?
    I'm not sure who our enemies are either but somehow I doubt its your average muslim on the street. But I can understand why they feel the need to protest so loudly and in a way I'm gald this has given them that oppertunity.
    It was a blatent act of disrespect and consequently has caused even greater segregation at a time when we should be doing everything in our power to breach that gap.
    I don't believe our freedom to talk or discuss reasonably has been compromised, if and when it is I'll be the first one there to voice my opinion.