Why do girls do this?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

Not all girls are like that , some are well im not i would be happy with what i get. I ts the thought that counts.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 55,038 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

And here was me planning on just giving her my last Rolo. Never even thought of a card let alone a present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

http://www.firebox.com/index.html?dir=firebox&action=product&pid=739 ..
    This last Rolo ?
    That's what I got my gf..
    TK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

pepper wrote:
    And do all girls do it??

On Valentines EVERY YEAR my bf(not d same 1 every year) would ask"what do u want for valentines day"- and i (trying to sound modest)would say- nothing - im ok- when really i ment" i want flowers/chocs/BIGGEST teddy you can find"

Then come Valentines day id get- a card!!!!!!!!

And id go MAD!!!!!!

Do all girls do this

Expect nothing, and you will be pleased when you get the 1 hour of love voucher (ala joey in friends)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭lazydaisy

This one doesnt.

Women who do do this, want to be seen as demure and undemanding but want to reap the rewards of a woman who isnt.

Ladies, men dont pick up on hints. SPELL IT OUT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

but theres a scatty reason behind it - they want their men to do something 'thoughtful' for them and 'prove' your love.
    Its taken far too seriously imo.

I was actually going to post this,but since it's already nicely worded and all..

Which,to me, brings a bit of a contradiction. Women are supposed to be better communicators. But since they cant communicate their needs with men,wouldn't that imply that they're not?

Hmm. I suppose it's all the method of communication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I think the question should be what do you get your BF? Life being a two way thing what stuff do you do specificcally for him that is out of your way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

The best Valentines day gift for a guy would be knowing what the hell she wants so you don't have to worry about it or the reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Retr0gamer wrote:
    And here was me planning on just giving her my last Rolo. Never even thought of a card let alone a present.

An old girlfriend once gave me a rolo in a special box and all, on which was written the famous phrase.

I still have it, about 3 years on. Wonder how it would taste.

For Valentines, I just do the usual - dinner, cinema, small gift. Although this year my girlfriend has insisted she's bringing me to dinner....bonus :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

My girlfriend says that at Christmas an all aswell. But I still get her something and she loves it,because like some people have said,its the thought that counts. Giving her Rodrigo y Gabriela tickets for Valentines day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Roxy* wrote:
    ye i know what you mean, men are the worst!! like they cant even get you the right birthday present not a mind valentimes!!

If you told them they would get it right! Men are happy with whatever you get them. Women seem to base it on price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Beruthiel wrote:
    because most women don't get the one simple rule that would make life a hell of a lot easier - MEN DON'T GET HINTS
    once you learn that you have to talk straight and honestly to a man and say what you mean you are on the road to success.
    simple as.

Rubbish, men can get hints alright! Its reading your fecking minds we can't do!

The girl actually said she didn't want anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

:D The funniest thing about this thread is that you'd swear we were talking about monkeys based on the comments pointed towards men.

We do have the - gasp - intelligence to pick up a hint, half the time women want something different every day of the week, and then have the cheek to blame it on a mans lack of understanding of women when they get last weeks fad!

Women are just as crap at getting men presents as well you know, and besides that, men aren't "happy with everything they get", I could fill out an a4 pad with the rubbish I'e gotten over the years I've had to pretend to like.

Oh wait, maybe thats it! Men pretend to like it, and that's the end of it - women don't bother to pretend, or "pretend" in such a way that you know straight away you're in the bad books for your crimes. :p

We are just that - men - not incoherent apes. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

pepper wrote:
    i am a GIRL- obviously my BF wouldnt go near a FELLA IN A SCHOOLGIRL OUTFIT!!! think about it- if my best friend was a fella why would he dress up as a schoolgirl??????

lol! legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

HavoK wrote:
    Oh wait, maybe thats it! Men pretend to like it, and that's the end of it - women don't bother to pretend, or "pretend" in such a way that you know straight away you're in the bad books for your crimes. :p

reckon youve hit the nail on the head there mobile. We might be one step closer to solving the meaning of life now too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Ruaidhri wrote:
    Women are supposed to be better communicators. But since they cant communicate their needs with men,wouldn't that imply that they're not? Hmm. I suppose it's all the method of communication.

Who said they are better communicators? Some women won't shut the fcuk up, theres a big difference . half of it is game-playing bullsh*te. Only a small percentage, imo - can actually say what they mean, ask for what they want etc.

The sooner the better women realise that men aren't insensitive, they just aren't mind readers - the better.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

pepper wrote:
    i (trying to sound modest)would say- nothing - im ok- when really i ment" i want flowers/chocs/BIGGEST teddy you can find"
    Then come Valentines day id get- a card!!!!!!!!
    And id go MAD!!!!!!

if u rely on ur bf to be romantic like a sheep in valentines day then dump him! but failing that and u want to be subtle with ur hints then when he asks u next time, rather than say "nothing", why not say "Surprise me"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

faceman wrote:
    when he asks u next time, rather than say "nothing", why not say "Surprise me"?

I was just going to say that.. hehehe. ;)

But yeah... just appreciate anything he may get you; like it's been posted before, if he even thinks about getting you something, then that thought alone counts for something!! You'll make him really happy when you are very appreciative for whatever he gets you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

It is the thought that counts, I'm with my g-f a year this friday, With v-tines pretty close by i told her not to expect 2presents,"She actually would have expected to recieve 2presents if i hadnt said anything" I'm pretty broke around this time of year so i didnt splash out but If the lads really wanna treat your g-f's, Get 2 tickets to see Gemma Hayes in Vicar street on the 15th, She's brilliant live so it wouldnt be that unbearable for the lads, And the girls will love ya for it, Always remember keep it simple, No point in tryin to put rose petals in the house leading to the bedroom while also cookin a romantic meal and running a hot bath for her, Odds are she'll find sumthing wrong with everything ;) Jokes

Kellxor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭keevita

i like valentines day, cards and all that but not a big fan of those ridculous valentines presents, roses are so expensive and to be honest i know all the fluffy-wuffy-cuddly-crap my sisters boyf buys her will be gathering dust in a corner soon. more money than sense.

*starts mubbling to self á la crazy cat lady*

a card with something suggestive scrawled in it is the best thing methinks!:D