'Goths'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Goth in Dublin these days means buying very expensive labled ripped shirts and jeans from Urban Outfitters and posing at the central bank.

The creative tought and meaning has been long removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

goths are losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    goths are losers.

so are generalisations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

D wrote:
    http://www.encyclopediadramatica.com/index.php/Goth
    I think this site accurately describes many levels of subculture.

Oh roffle:
    Sisters of Mercy (technically a rock and roll band, since the singer is a prat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Goths! Yay! Goths! Boo!

/runs

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Get back here, you are the biggest goth I know...because of your state of mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

So Tar...you're the only person who wont slag me if I end up at the next beers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Get back here, you are the biggest goth I know...because of your state of mind.

Moi? Gloomy? Inconceivable! I've got lollers in my sig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Jesus! My eyes!!! Clicked back to another web-site after reading the "Tennants of Goth" and nearly blinded myself, apparently Darkness isn't a tenant of goth, but dam they're fond of it in their backgrounds.

Actually that's really my only quibble, the whole things goes on about black, and misery, and all that fashion garbage not being necessary, it being just a load of media driven junk. And yet the whole aesthetic of the site is just that, dark, dark, dark, and melancholy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Goth is a way of expressing yourself, and it's about colour of mind. It's not about the clothes or music or depression.

Yeah, I suppose that site is probably a fairly accurate description of 'goth'. The adjective. Which, in this post, is referring to this definition from wiki:

"Goth is a modern subculture that first became popular during the early 1980s within the gothic rock scene, a sub-genre of post punk. It is associated with characteristically "gothic" tastes in music and clothing."

The fact of the matter is that "goths", the people in question, the self-proclaimed goths of today, believe it is all about the clothes, and the music, and the depression.

It's a cache-22 at this stage really, for any wannabe goth. They dress the way they do because they dont care what other people think, but they get judged because they dress that way.

I myself listen to a huge variety of music, some goth included! If i tried to dress appropriately to fit my tastes i'd be the most ecclectically dressed person on the planet!

As for the
    Marilyn Manson hoody wearing teenagers who walk around in gangs and think the whole world is out to get them
    I happen to be personally aqquainted with many of the people you all see every saturday afternoon loitering around Central Bank, and can assure you that none of them are even REMOTELY goth, simply they are the attention seeking losers we try to avoid.

Bottom line is, OP, you're right and wrong. The ideology of goth is easily researched by any of us, if we were so inclined. But the misconceptions you refer to are not based on this ideology. They are based on what "goth" has become in this day and age, and the sad fact is that it is precisely what you wish it wasn't.

egan007 wrote:
    so are generalisations

the majority of goths are losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

SpAcEd OuT wrote:

hate to nitpick but that's also a generalisation :D

SpAcEd OuT wrote:

And you have had personal engagements with the majority of goths around the world have you?

In my opinion, you are a loser.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭BigArnie

Boo Hoo. My parents don't understand me and I need some attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

BigArnie wrote:
    Boo Hoo. My parents don't understand me and I need some attention.
    Isn't that emo?
    Oh no wait emo is when they tell their diary that no one understands them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Bottom line is, OP, you're right and wrong. The ideology of goth is easily researched by any of us, if we were so inclined. But the misconceptions you refer to are not based on this ideology. They are based on what "goth" has become in this day and age, and the sad fact is that it is precisely what you wish it wasn't.
    Precisely right.
    I dont know where some people are coming from with these storys of people in Fibbers or Bruxelles giving them dirty looks and threatening them. Id say some of its made up. Ive been going to Bruxelles for years and ive ALWAYS worn some kind of tracksuit/hoodie and jeans and i always wear my white runners and noone has ever looked twice at me.

Funny too that ive never met a "smelly rocker" in all me years...

I was called a norm when I went back to Fibbers at the age of 20, having not been there in about two years. I instantly called bull**** on the 18 year old in the low cut black dress with the stupid ****ing spikes around her neck. The irony that a bar which is frequented by so many people who took slaggings in school over their music and fashion tastes should have such ridiculous snobbery in it. It does take place, although not to any greater degree than would happen if a goth took a stroll into the Q Bar. Still, one doesn't justify the other.

The funniest thing i've seen in a while...

Dd_13.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

pesonally I really like their gripe about wikipedia.
    http://www.encyclopediadramatica.com/images/d/d2/Wiki-deathstar.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Lodgepole wrote:

I was called a norm when I went back to Fibbers at the age of 20, having not been there in about two years.

That's like the biggest Goth stereotype ever, she should have been ashamed to conform to it ;)

And you have had personal engagements with the majority of goths around the world have you?

no why would I hang around with those freaks?? :v:

to be honest I just remember the 15 lads in our year that were rockers we're all losers, at battle of the bands all their rocker mates came down who we're also all losers, walking through temple bar you see plenty of goth losers.

goths are generally attention seeking losers, they and other attention seeking losers, meet at the bank in temple bar where they run around shouting out 666 and bragging to their other goth mates about how little they've showered in the past year or how many times they've slit their wrists in worship of satan I think they're stupid and if ever made taoiseach will bulldoze the area surrounding the bank and shut down asha. They are bad for society, and the sooner they realise they're idiots the better.

damn smelly rockers.

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    no why would I hang around with those freaks?? :v:

to be honest I just remember the 15 lads in our year that were rockers we're all losers, at battle of the bands all their rocker mates came down who we're also all losers, walking through temple bar you see plenty of goth losers.

goths are generally attention seeking losers, they and other attention seeking losers, meet at the bank in temple bar where they run around shouting out 666 and bragging to their other goth mates about how little they've showered in the past year or how many times they've slit their wrists in worship of satan I think they're stupid and if ever made taoiseach will bulldoze the area surrounding the bank and shut down asha. They are bad for society, and the sooner they realise they're idiots the better.

damn smelly rockers.

Well at this stage I think you're talking through you're arse. First of all the topic is goths, and the mere fact that you're equating goths to rockers implys your true ignorance of the subject at hand.

As i stated earlier I know the majority of the people you're referring to that supposedly run around Central Bank shouting out 666 and bragging about how many times they've slit their wrists, and can assure everybody who has read your post that none of them are Satan worshippers. Nor have they ever bragged about slitting their wrists publicly, certainly not at the raised tones one would imagine necessary in order for you to hear them in the 10-20 seconds it takes you to walk past them.

On another note, i have never known any of them to have particularly big issues with personal hygiene. On the contrary, most of the extreme haircuts i'm sure you would characterize as goth take more care than your average head of hair, speaking from the experience of recently sporting a lengthy mohawk myself. Does that make me bad for soceity? To be honest SpAcEd OuT, if we took it to a poll here between myself and yourself i think you would be sooner deemed "bad for soceity" than I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

SPACED OUT People can do and dress whatever way they feckin' want to. I agree with Fade To Grey. I myself am not a Goth but I used to play gigs in the Temple Bar Music Centre some Saturdays and some of these 'smelly rockers' you talk about just happen to be some of the soundest people Ive ever met.

Rockee wrote:
    SPACED OUT People can do and dress whatever way they feckin' want to. I agree with Fade To Grey. I myself am not a Goth but I used to play gigs in the Temple Bar Music Centre some Saturdays and some of these 'smelly rockers' you talk about just happen to be some of the soundest people Ive ever met.

Cheers Rockee!

On that night, I recall the Foo Fighters gig in December last which my girlfriend and I attended. Top gig, but thats not where i'm going with this :D

During the break between the last support act and the main event we went out to the smoking area for a cigarette, and while we stood around on our own, a young guy approached us, and said "Hi! Do you's mind if i talk to ya for a while?"

It turned out he was from Down, it was his 18th birthday, and he had lost the rest of his mates! Which didnt bother him at all, oh no. The reason he approached us was merely to compliment us for being us! Or rather, what he classified us as at least!

To be fair, if my girlfriend and i were to be categorized on our drense sense it would probably fall under metal/grunge, and he picked up on this. And he had asked to talk to us in order to tell us that "you lot" (meaning metal/grunge/rockers etc. though he did use the word goth in reference to us) were the soundest people he ever met! He said that we were always "really sound" and "easy to talk to", which was emphasised by the fact that he had chosen to approach us!

And I have to say I agree. I often dress 'normally', like any other guy not influenced by taste in music. And even then, any encounters with said group is pleasant, they're usually very nice people, up for a laugh etc.

Bottom line on this one is, if you approach anyone with a 'your bad for soceity' attitude, you're not going to be well received. Be nice, they'll return the gesture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Exactly, gotta keep an open mind. I used to go to college and have Slayer and Sepultura blaring in my headphones whilst wearing a Liverpool F.C. tracksuit and Nike runners....Its not essential to subscribe to any uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭sturgo

The whole goth thing, (like a lot of trends) is boring, safe, unprovocative, mainstream, and predictible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

goth chicks are very undesirable

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Be a Goth & celebrate Halloween everyday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Cantab.

Goth = every mother's nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭thafitz

sooner or later everybody grows up. goths are more image concious than your average person. see if their still a goth in a few years when they need to get a job and live in the real world ie. not funded by their parents. fair enough its a phase and 99% of them will grow out of it (the image i mean maybe not music).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

There was a time when Sally used to just say to Sophie and Rosie, "Go and play girls" when she wanted to have a serious chat about something with Kevin. But ever since Rosie turned goth shes been nothing but trouble. I dont like goths, theyre so reckless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

ColHol wrote:
    There was a time when Sally used to just say to Sophie and Rosie, "Go and play girls" when she wanted to have a serious chat about something with Kevin. But ever since Rosie turned goth shes been nothing but trouble. I dont like goths, theyre so reckless.
    Oh you must be kidding.
    Never judge a book by it's cover and that applies to everyone.No matter what style they may be. Goths, D4 heads, rockers whatever.